DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fink et al [US 9208362 B1] in view of Suorsa et al [US 20140266850 A1].
As for claim 1, Fink discloses a composition of matter for electromagnetic shielding, comprising:
a polymer-containing matrix; and a metamaterial incorporated into or embedded within the polymer-containing matrix (column 8, lines 4-65) and a conveyance layer, wherein the conveyance layer comprises a conductive material configured to guide a flow of electromagnetic energy (column 4, lines 29-60; wherein the conductive layer acts as the claimed conveyance layer).
In an analogous art, Suorsa discloses that it was known for metamaterials to be incorporated or embedded within a polymer containing matrix, the metamaterial having a particular specific permittivity or permeability to absorb or reflect a particular frequency of electromagnetic energy (paragraphs 0033-0036 and 0038-0043). Having each of the references on hand, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that Fink includes metamaterials having known properties. The skilled artisan would have recognized that Fink’s metamaterial would have a particular specific permittivity or permeability to absorb or reflect a particular frequency of electromagnetic energy.
As for claims 2-3, Suorsa discloses that the metamaterial comprises carbon nanoparticles (paragraph 0033).
As for claim 4, the claim is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claims 1-3 above (see Suorsa paragraphs 0020, 0029, and 0050).
As for claim 5, Suorsa discloses that the polymer-containing matrix comprises a thermoplastic material (paragraph 0073).
Claim 6 is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 1 above.
As for claim 7, Suorsa discloses wherein the metamaterial is embedded within the polymer-containing matrix in at least one of a uniform distribution, a layered structure, a grid-like structure, or a random structure (paragraph 0010).
As for claim 8¸ the claim is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 1 above. See also Suorsa paragraphs 0020, 0029, and 0050.
Claims 10 and 12 are interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claim 1 above.
As for claim 13, Fink discloses that the metamaterial is configured to increase performance of at least one of: an antenna, a telemetry module, a communication device, a computing device, and a sensing equipment (column 8, lines 45-65).
Claim 17 is interpreted and rejected using the same reasoning as claims 1 and 12-13 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11, 14-16, and 18-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the cited references discloses the use of metamaterials as it were known in the art at the time of filing the instant application.
ERIC M. BLOUNT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2685
/Eric Blount/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685