Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by James et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,540,654B1)
With respect to claims 1,10 and 16, James et al. discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
identifying a request for a transaction to transfer a digital asset via a distributed digital ledger transaction network from a first user account to a second user account on a state data structure (i.e., “GUI for an interface with the digital asset exchange in which a user can deposit/redeem Gemini Dollar tokens into an public address associated with the digital asset exchange, in exchange for an corresponding amount of fiat in the user's account at the digital asset exchange. In embodiments, after the registered user of the exchange deposits the stable value token into the exchange's public address, the exchange will transfer from the bank account or other account associated with the stable value token, a corresponding amount of fiat, to the bank account associated with the fiat holdings of the user. In embodiments, the deposited token will then be burnt from circulation. In embodiments, the deposited token may instead of being burnt be redistributed to another customer, but in such case, an appropriate amount of fiat will need to be redeposited into the bank account or other stable investment vehicle associated with the stable value token.”(col. 55, lines 30-47) and “ the first transaction request includes: (1) a request to obtain the first amount of stable value digital asset tokens from the designated public address of the first user; and (2) a request to destroy the first amount of stable value digital asset tokens. In alternative embodiments, the first transaction request may include: (1) a request to obtain the first amount of stable value digital asset tokens from the designated public address of the first user; and (2) a request to provide the first amount of stable value digital asset tokens to a specific destination address’(col. 58, lines 9-18) and Examiner asserts “designated public address of the first user” or “an public address associated with the digital asset” are state of data structure as claimed invention), the digital asset comprising a resource that is a linear data type (i.e., “ a digital asset network may employ a proof of stake system. In a proof of stake system, asset ownership may be tied to transaction verification and/or asset creation. Asset ownership can include an amount of assets owned and/or a duration of ownership. The duration of ownership may be measured linearly as time passes while a user owns an asset. In an exemplary embodiment, a user holding 4% of all digital assets in a proof of stake system can generate 4% of all blocks for the transaction ledger.”(col. 67, lines 1-10));
determining, based on the linear data type, that the digital asset is subject to one or more linear typing rules that regulate transactions involving the digital asset on the distributed digital ledger transaction network (i.e., “ a digital asset network may employ a proof of stake system. In a proof of stake system, asset ownership may be tied to transaction verification and/or asset creation. Asset ownership can include an amount of assets owned and/or a duration of ownership. The duration of ownership may be measured linearly as time passes while a user owns an asset. In an exemplary embodiment, a user holding 4% of all digital assets in a proof of stake system can generate 4% of all blocks for the transaction ledger.”(col. 67, lines 1-10) and “Proof of stake velocity may rely upon asset ownership where the function for measuring duration of ownership is not linear”(col. 67, lines 23-26));
; and
executing the transaction by modifying the state data structure of the distributed digital ledger transaction network to reflect a transfer of the digital asset from the first user account to the second user account based on whether the request for the transaction satisfies the one or more linear typing rules associated with the linear data type of the digital asset (i.e., “At step 1706D, the digital asset computer system updates the fiat account ledger to reflect that the updated amount of available fiat of the first user is the third amount of fiat. At a step 1706E, the digital asset exchange computer system generates a first transaction request for the blockchain from a first digital asset exchange public key address on the blockchain to a first contract address associated with a stable value token issuer”(col. 57, lines 62-67 and col. 58, lines 1-5) or “ In step 1706F, the digital asset exchange computer system may update a stable value digital asset token issuer fiat ledger. The update may decrease the balance of fiat by the second amount of fiat’(col. 58, lines 20-25)).
With respect to claim 2, and 11, James et al. discloses wherein determining that the digital asset is subject to the one or more linear typing rules comprises determining that the digital asset is subject to a first linear typing rule that requires digital assets having the linear data type to be used exactly once per transaction that invokes the digital assets (i.e., “ a digital asset network may employ a proof of stake system. In a proof of stake system, asset ownership may be tied to transaction verification and/or asset creation. Asset ownership can include an amount of assets owned and/or a duration of ownership. The duration of ownership may be measured linearly as time passes while a user owns an asset. In an exemplary embodiment, a user holding 4% of all digital assets in a proof of stake system can generate 4% of all blocks for the transaction ledger.”(col. 67, lines 1-10).
With respect to claim 3, 12, and 20 , James et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining that the digital asset is subject to the one or more linear typing rules comprises determining that the digital asset is subject to a second linear typing rule that prohibits duplicating the digital assets having the linear data type (i.e., “In a proof of stake system, asset ownership may be tied to transaction verification and/or asset creation. Asset ownership can include an amount of assets owned and/or a duration of ownership. The duration of ownership may be measured linearly as time passes while a user owns an asset. ”(col. 67, lines 1-7) and Examiner asserts that assets owned and duration of ownership can prevent duplicating the digital assets).
With respect to claim 5, and 14, James et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein executing the transaction by modifying the state data structure based on whether the request for the transaction satisfies the one or more linear typing rules comprises:
determining that the request for the transaction violates at least one of the first linear typing rule or the second linear typing rule (i.e., “In a proof of stake system, asset ownership may be tied to transaction verification and/or asset creation. Asset ownership can include an amount of assets owned and/or a duration of ownership. The duration of ownership may be measured linearly as time passes while a user owns an asset. ”(col. 67, lines 1-7) and Examiner asserts that assets owned and duration of ownership can prevent duplicating the digital assets).
; and
rejecting the request for the transaction based on determining that the request for the transaction violates at least one of the first linear typing rule or the second linear typing rule (i.e., “In a proof of stake system, asset ownership may be tied to transaction verification and/or asset creation. Asset ownership can include an amount of assets owned and/or a duration of ownership. The duration of ownership may be measured linearly as time passes while a user owns an asset. ”(col. 67, lines 1-7) and Examiner asserts that assets owned and duration of ownership can prevent duplicating the digital assets). .
With respect to claim 6, and 15, James et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2 or 11, further comprising:
identifying an additional request for an additional transaction to transfer an additional digital asset having the linear data type via the distributed digital ledger transaction network from the first user account, wherein the additional request for the additional transaction fails to identify a recipient user account (i.e.,” (A) generating and sending, by the digital asset exchange computer system via the blockchain, a first transaction request: (i) to the fifth contract address; and (ii) including a first message comprising a first request to generate the fourth amount of digital asset tokens; wherein the first transaction request is digitally signed by the first designated private key, wherein the fifth smart contract executes, via the plurality of geographically distributed computer systems in the peer-to-peer network with reference to the blockchain, the first transaction request to: validate the authority of the first designated private key to call the second smart contract to execute the plurality of requests; and (iii) send a first call to the fourth contract address to generate the fourth amount of digital asset tokens”(col. 12, lines 57-67)); and
rejecting the additional request for the additional transaction as a violation of the first linear typing rule for failing to identify the recipient user account (i.e., The proof of stake protocol is another optional protocol that may be implemented by blockchains. In this type of protocol, the validator's stake is represented by the amount of digital assets held. Validators accept, reject or otherwise validate a block to be added to the blockchain based on the amount of digital assets held by the Validator on the blockchain “’(col. 41, lines 5-10)).
With respect to claims 7, and 17, James et al. discloses wherein identifying the request for the transaction to transfer the digital asset via the distributed digital ledger transaction network from the first user account to the second user account on the state data structure comprises identifying the request for the transaction to transfer a digital currency from the first user account to the second user account on the state data structure (i.e., “At step 1706D, the digital asset computer system updates the fiat account ledger to reflect that the updated amount of available fiat of the first user is the third amount of fiat. At a step 1706E, the digital asset exchange computer system generates a first transaction request for the blockchain from a first digital asset exchange public key address on the blockchain to a first contract address associated with a stable value token issuer”(col. 57, lines 62-67 and col. 58, lines 1-5) or “ In step 1706F, the digital asset exchange computer system may update a stable value digital asset token issuer fiat ledger. The update may decrease the balance of fiat by the second amount of fiat’(col. 58, lines 20-25)).
With respect to claim 8, and 18, James et al. discloses wherein determining that the digital asset is subject to the one or more linear typing rules comprises determining that the digital asset is subject to the one or more linear typing rules that are part of a programming language that is utilized to prevent use of non-complying transactions in modifying the state data structure of the distributed digital ledger transaction network (i.e., “In a proof of stake system, asset ownership may be tied to transaction verification and/or asset creation. Asset ownership can include an amount of assets owned and/or a duration of ownership. The duration of ownership may be measured linearly as time passes while a user owns an asset. ”(col. 67, lines 1-7) and Examiner asserts that assets owned and duration of ownership can prevent duplicating the digital assets).
. With respect to claim 9, and 19, James et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein determining that the digital asset is subject to the one or more linear typing rules (i.e., “ a digital asset network may employ a proof of stake system. In a proof of stake system, asset ownership may be tied to transaction verification and/or asset creation. Asset ownership can include an amount of assets owned and/or a duration of ownership. The duration of ownership may be measured linearly as time passes while a user owns an asset. In an exemplary embodiment, a user holding 4% of all digital assets in a proof of stake system can generate 4% of all blocks for the transaction ledger.”(col. 67, lines 1-10))that are part of the programming language comprises determining that the digital asset is divisible and mergeable pursuant to the programming language and the one or more linear typing rules (i.e.,. “A fraud analysis system can monitor transactions to detect fraudulent and/or unauthorized transactions. The exchange can also include a SVCoin system, which may comprise a purchase system, redemption system, and a dividend payment system”(col. 117, lines 20-25) or “a total amount of SVCoins to be purchased may be designated in the request of the Security Token issue with directions to equally or proportionally divide the total sum between the Security Token holders.’(col. 130, lines 63-66) or “collated sets of cards may be produced for a plurality of digital asset accounts. Each set may contain only one card per private key such that the private key segments for a single private key are divided among different sets of cards.”(col. 148, line 37-42) and “ An account with digital assets stored as multiple digital outputs can select any combination of those outputs for use as digital inputs in a spending transaction. In embodiments, a digital wallet may programmatically select outputs to use as inputs for a given transaction to minimize transaction change, such as by combining outputs that produce an amount closest to the required transaction amount and at least equal to the transaction amount.’(col. 64, lines 49-55)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed wherein executing the transaction by modifying the state data structure based on whether the request for the transaction satisfies the one or more linear typing rules comprises: determining that the request for the transaction satisfies the first linear typing rule and the second linear typing rule; and executing the transaction by modifying the state data structure to reflect the transfer of the digital asset from the first user account to the second user account based on determining that the request for the transaction satisfies the first linear typing rule and the second linear typing rule.
Conclusion
/HUNG T VY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163 February 19, 2026
/TONY MAHMOUDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2163