Status of the Claims
The following Office Action is in response to communications filed 3/19/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100256852 A1 hereinafter Mudalige in view of US 20170066450 A1 hereinafter Ko.
Regarding claim 1, Mudalige teaches an electronic device for platooning of vehicles, comprising: (controlling a plurality of vehicles to operate the plurality of vehicles in a platoon. Abstract)
a camera; (Host vehicle 10 is traveling proximate to target vehicle 20. Host vehicle 10 may include exemplary sensor devices including a radar system 30 and a camera system 40. Paragraph [0054])
memory storing instructions; and (A controller may have a set of control algorithms, including resident software program instructions and calibrations stored in memory and executed to provide the desired functions. Paragraph [0128])
a processor, (Control module, module, control unit, controller, processor and similar terms mean any suitable one or various combinations of one or more of Application Specific Integrated Circuit(s) (ASIC), electronic circuit(s), central processing unit(s) (preferably microprocessor(s)) and associated memory and storage (read only, programmable read only, random access, hard drive, etc.) executing one or more software or firmware programs, combinational logic circuit(s), input/output circuit(s) and devices, appropriate signal conditioning and buffer circuitry, and other suitable components to provide the described functionality. Paragraph [0128])
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: (A controller may have a set of control algorithms, including resident software program instructions and calibrations stored in memory and executed to provide the desired functions. Paragraph [0128])
obtain curvature information of a path to be entered by the vehicles performing the platooning, (Host vehicle 10 is traveling proximate to target vehicle 20. Host vehicle 10 may include exemplary sensor devices including a radar system 30 and a camera system 40. Additionally, host vehicle 10 receives signals from remote wireless communications system 50 and remote satellite system 60. Paragraph [0054] The position-maintenance assessment includes evaluation in all the following performance metrics: position error (RMS) during each of the following: constant speed driving, driving around a curve, completing an intersection turn, acceleration from a stop, and decelerating to a stop; velocity tracking error (RMS); and heading tracking error (RMS). Paragraph [0109])
determine, based on the information on the risk, speeds of the vehicles, for driving on the curved section, and (In order to accomplish these control functions, the platoon Leader Vehicle calculates real-time relative platoon position vectors and speeds for each follower vehicle in the group ensuring the best possible fuel savings and desirable operation. Exemplary calculations include selecting the best possible inter-vehicle distance (D.sub.g) for a known platoon position, for example, based on vehicle type, calculating a minimum desirable distance (D.sub.s) between a Follower Vehicle and a preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle, and determining a maximum of D.sub.g and D.sub.s as the desired platoon distance (D) between the preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle and the Follower Vehicle. D.sub.s can be calculated considering following: current V2V wireless communication quality (e.g., channel congestion, packet error rate); current vehicle positioning and sensor data accuracy; vehicle size and shape parameters, such as length, cross sectional area, bumper height; current and predicted vehicle speeds; dynamic capability of individual vehicles in the platoon (e.g., braking, acceleration, control error, latency); current road geometry; road surface; weather conditions; and current driving mode (manual or autonomous. Exemplary computation of D.sub.s will be described in greater detail below. Once D is calculated for a particular Follower Vehicle, the Leader Vehicle calculates a commanded position to transmit to the Follower Vehicle, for example, as described above, based upon the actual position of the Leader Vehicle of the particular follower vehicle, D, and other factors such as lane geometry and the formation of the platoon. The Leader Vehicle can use wireless communication, such as the DSRC system described above, to periodically transmit this information to the Follower Vehicles. Each Follower Vehicle receives the relative position vector and speed from the platoon Leader Vehicle and use that information as targets or set points for the steering, position and speed control values for use by each vehicle's control systems. Paragraphs [0134-1035])
transmit the determined speeds to the vehicles. (In order to accomplish these control functions, the platoon Leader Vehicle calculates real-time relative platoon position vectors and speeds for each follower vehicle in the group ensuring the best possible fuel savings and desirable operation. Exemplary calculations include selecting the best possible inter-vehicle distance (D.sub.g) for a known platoon position, for example, based on vehicle type, calculating a minimum desirable distance (D.sub.s) between a Follower Vehicle and a preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle, and determining a maximum of D.sub.g and D.sub.s as the desired platoon distance (D) between the preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle and the Follower Vehicle. D.sub.s can be calculated considering following: current V2V wireless communication quality (e.g., channel congestion, packet error rate); current vehicle positioning and sensor data accuracy; vehicle size and shape parameters, such as length, cross sectional area, bumper height; current and predicted vehicle speeds; dynamic capability of individual vehicles in the platoon (e.g., braking, acceleration, control error, latency); current road geometry; road surface; weather conditions; and current driving mode (manual or autonomous. Exemplary computation of D.sub.s will be described in greater detail below. Once D is calculated for a particular Follower Vehicle, the Leader Vehicle calculates a commanded position to transmit to the Follower Vehicle, for example, as described above, based upon the actual position of the Leader Vehicle of the particular follower vehicle, D, and other factors such as lane geometry and the formation of the platoon. The Leader Vehicle can use wireless communication, such as the DSRC system described above, to periodically transmit this information to the Follower Vehicles. Each Follower Vehicle receives the relative position vector and speed from the platoon Leader Vehicle and use that information as targets or set points for the steering, position and speed control values for use by each vehicle's control systems. Paragraphs [0134-1035])
Mudalige does not teach identify, based on the curvature information, a curved section having a curvature greater than a reference curvature on the path,
obtain information on a vehicle including at least one of a weight of a vehicle or a length of a vehicle from each of the vehicles,
obtain information on risk of each of the vehicles driving on the curved section using the information on the vehicle obtained from each of the vehicles and the curvature of the curved section.
However, Ko teaches identify, based on the curvature information, a curved section having a curvature greater than a reference curvature on the path, (Fig. 7, The curve guidance method may further include: when the computed centrifugal force is greater than the first threshold value and is smaller than the second threshold value, providing a first curve section guidance representing that the degree of risk of the curve section in which the vehicle is to be driven is the first risk level; and when the computed centrifugal force is greater than the second threshold value, providing a second curve section guidance representing that the degree of risk of the curve section in which the vehicle is to be driven is the second risk level. Paragraph [0021])
obtain information on a vehicle including at least one of a weight of a vehicle or a length of a vehicle from each of the vehicles, (Although the two cases described above describe the examples in which the weight computing unit 14-3 computes the weight according to the obtained link attribute information, the weight may also be varied according to mass of the vehicle. Since magnitude of the centrifugal force is increased in proportion to the mass of the vehicle, the degree of risk felt by the driver of a vehicle having light mass in relation to the curve section will be relatively smaller than that of a vehicle having heavy mass. Therefore, the weight computing unit 14-3 may set the weight to “1” or a “value smaller than 1” or a “value greater than 1” according to the mass of the vehicle. Paragraph [0122])
obtain information on risk of each of the vehicles driving on the curved section using the information on the vehicle obtained from each of the vehicles and the curvature of the curved section, (Meanwhile, the degree of risk judging unit 14-4 may judge the degree of risk of the curve section in which the vehicle is to be driven using the position of the vehicle at the future time point determined by the link position determining unit 13 and the speed of the vehicle at the reference time point (S405). Specifically, the degree of risk judging unit 14-4 may compute centrifugal force applied to the vehicle in the curve section using the plurality of determined positions 522, 523, and 533 and the speed of the vehicle at the current time point, which is the reference time point 521, and may judge the degree of risk of the curve section based on the computed centrifugal force. Paragraph [0202])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device for platooning vehicles of Mudalige to include the curvature risk analysis method of Ko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because it would enable the platooning device of Mudalige to accurately determine the correct speeds and lanes of vehicles driving through a curve by evaluating the risk of the curve to due various factors such as size of the curve and vehicle weight as suggested by Ko in paragraphs [0122] and [0202].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device of claim 1. Mudalige also teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to: determine travel paths for the vehicles to drive on the curved section based on the information on the risk, and transmit the determined speeds and the travel paths to each of the vehicles. (In order to accomplish these control functions, the platoon Leader Vehicle calculates real-time relative platoon position vectors and speeds for each follower vehicle in the group ensuring the best possible fuel savings and desirable operation. Exemplary calculations include selecting the best possible inter-vehicle distance (D.sub.g) for a known platoon position, for example, based on vehicle type, calculating a minimum desirable distance (D.sub.s) between a Follower Vehicle and a preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle, and determining a maximum of D.sub.g and D.sub.s as the desired platoon distance (D) between the preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle and the Follower Vehicle. D.sub.s can be calculated considering following: current V2V wireless communication quality (e.g., channel congestion, packet error rate); current vehicle positioning and sensor data accuracy; vehicle size and shape parameters, such as length, cross sectional area, bumper height; current and predicted vehicle speeds; dynamic capability of individual vehicles in the platoon (e.g., braking, acceleration, control error, latency); current road geometry; road surface; weather conditions; and current driving mode (manual or autonomous. Exemplary computation of D.sub.s will be described in greater detail below. Once D is calculated for a particular Follower Vehicle, the Leader Vehicle calculates a commanded position to transmit to the Follower Vehicle, for example, as described above, based upon the actual position of the Leader Vehicle of the particular follower vehicle, D, and other factors such as lane geometry and the formation of the platoon. The Leader Vehicle can use wireless communication, such as the DSRC system described above, to periodically transmit this information to the Follower Vehicles. Each Follower Vehicle receives the relative position vector and speed from the platoon Leader Vehicle and use that information as targets or set points for the steering, position and speed control values for use by each vehicle's control systems. Paragraphs [0134-1035])
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device of claim 1. Mudalige also teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to: identify candidate speeds for the vehicles based on the information on the vehicles obtained from each of the vehicles, (A Leader Vehicle of a formation must set a speed acceptable to all members of the formation. The Leader Vehicle checks the speed capabilities of a new vehicle joining the formation and periodically checks the speed capability of each participating vehicle Paragraph [0098])
determine the speeds of the vehicles, for driving on the curved section, as a lowest candidate speed among the candidate speeds. (A Leader Vehicle of a formation must set a speed acceptable to all members of the formation. The Leader Vehicle checks the speed capabilities of a new vehicle joining the formation and periodically checks the speed capability of each participating vehicle Paragraph [0098] An efficient method to control vehicles within a platoon from a Leader Vehicle is disclosed, wherein communication based upon GPS coordinates and determined simple values such as ranges and relationships between the vehicles, such as vehicle speed, is utilized. Because the disclosed method allows determination of vehicle location based upon simple GPS coordinates monitored with relation to each of the vehicles within the platoon, determination of necessary calculations within a Leader Vehicle, and communication of simple control terms from the Leader Vehicle to the Follower Vehicles, communication between the vehicles requires less information to be exchanged per communication cycle. Additionally, the method is more robust than communication methods that require large amounts of error-free information to be exchanged in each cycle. Whereas previous methods can be disabled for a communication cycle through the loss of individual values of information, the disclosed method can include simple redundancy. For example, even if a range from a Follower Vehicle to another vehicle in the platoon is corrupted or otherwise not received, a correctly received speed of the Follower Vehicle can act as redundant information, allowing a determination of the probable range of the Follower Vehicle for that communication cycle. Additionally, a Follower Vehicle can report an actual position, actual range, an actual speed, or other terms to allow for correction of determined values in the Leader Vehicle. Paragraph [0117])
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device of claim 1. Mudalige also teaches wherein the vehicles comprise a first vehicle and a second vehicle, (Controlling a plurality of vehicles to operate the plurality of vehicles in a platoon includes, within a leader vehicle selected from the plurality of vehicles: monitoring through a vehicle-to-vehicle communication a respective actual position of each of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle based upon data from a respective global positioning device within each of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle, determining distances to operate the plurality of vehicles in the platoon based upon the respective actual positions of each of the plurality of vehicles, and selecting a respective commanded vehicle position including a respective global positioning coordinate for each of the plurality of vehicles based upon the determined distances. Each respective commanded vehicle position is transmitted to the respective one of the plurality vehicles that is not the leader vehicle, and each respective one of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle is operated based upon the respective commanded vehicle position. Abstract)
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to:
determine an interval between the first vehicle and the second vehicle, based on information on first risk of the first vehicle and information on second risk of the second vehicle, and (determining distances to operate the plurality of vehicles in the platoon. Paragraph [0007] A lateral position offset is depicted, describing a lateral distance from the Leader Vehicle that a vehicle in a side-by-side formation position can be defined. This lateral offset is set by a number of factors, including lane geometry, vehicle type, and goals or priorities of the platoon. A longitudinal position offset is also depicted describing a longitudinal distance from the Leader Vehicle that a vehicle in an in-line vehicle position can be defined. This longitudinal offset is set by a number of factors and is defined in detail throughout this disclosure. Paragraph [0074] Each Follower Vehicle receives the motion guidance information and does its best to achieve the objectives, while maintaining a desirable buffer distance between itself and all other vehicles participating in the formation and other objects and simultaneously attempting to maintain a comfortable ride for occupants and energy efficiency. Paragraph [0108])
transmit the interval to the first vehicle and the second vehicle. (positions within the platoon includes communicating a relative small amount of information from the Follower Vehicles to the Leader Vehicle, determining commands including desired vehicle positions within the platoon, and utilizing those determined commands to operate the Follower Vehicles. Determining commands includes determining ranges or distances necessary to effectively operate the platoon. These distances can include inter-vehicle distances within the platoon, and can also include determination of a region that the platoon needs to effectively operate, or a desirable platoon envelope. Paragraph [0129])
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device of claim 1. Mudalige also teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to:
set a reference speed based on the determined speeds, (A Leader Vehicle of a formation must set a speed acceptable to all members of the formation. The Leader Vehicle checks the speed capabilities of a new vehicle joining the formation and periodically checks the speed capability of each participating vehicle and determines the fastest speed all the vehicles are capable of achieving. The Leader Vehicle may also check the joining vehicle braking capabilities and reviews performance critical vehicle diagnostics before granting the new member to join the platoon. This determination will also include analysis of the motion feedback data, including the speed error terms, so that a participant that is falling further and further behind, despite its reports that it is capable of additional velocity, is not stranded by the rest of the formation. This formation speed constraint is used as an upper limit for all navigation planning. Paragraph [0098])
divide, based on the reference speed, each of the vehicles as one of a first group or a second group, (Selection of and changes to platoon formations can be determined according to a number of factors. For example, road geometry is a consideration to platoon formation. Upon a single lane road, only an in-line formation can be used, while on a four-lane highway, a side-by-side formation can be properly used. In a platoon utilizing side-by-side formation upon a four-lane highway, the formation can be properly changed to an in-line formation as road conditions change. For example, if road construction is abruptly encountered, and four lanes are reduced to two, changing the platoon to an in-line formation might be advantageous in order to facilitate traffic flow through the bottleneck. Upon passing the bottleneck and traffic resuming to four lanes of travel, the platoon can be shifted back to a side-by-side formation. In another example, platoon goals or priorities are considerations to platoon formation. For example, if fuel efficiency is a priority for the platoon, an in-line formation with tight ranges can be the most advantageous in order to gain efficiencies from drafting. In another example of a priority, if social interaction is a priority between the occupants of the different vehicles, then a block formation, with nearly equal vehicles in-line and side-by-side might be the most advantageous, in order to facilitate the perception of community of the occupants traveling together. In another example of a factor affecting selection of formation, the number of vehicles in the platoon might affect the selection of the formation. For example, if three vehicles are in the platoon, an in-line formation might be easily maintained throughout the transit route. If fifteen vehicles are in the platoon, an in-line formation of fifteen vehicles would be difficult to maintain through a series of traffic signals. Paragraph [0075])
set a travel path of vehicles of the first group as an inner lane of the curved section and a travel path of vehicles of the second group as an outer lane of the curved section. (Selection of and changes to platoon formations can be determined according to a number of factors. For example, road geometry is a consideration to platoon formation. Upon a single lane road, only an in-line formation can be used, while on a four-lane highway, a side-by-side formation can be properly used. In a platoon utilizing side-by-side formation upon a four-lane highway, the formation can be properly changed to an in-line formation as road conditions change. For example, if road construction is abruptly encountered, and four lanes are reduced to two, changing the platoon to an in-line formation might be advantageous in order to facilitate traffic flow through the bottleneck. Upon passing the bottleneck and traffic resuming to four lanes of travel, the platoon can be shifted back to a side-by-side formation. In another example, platoon goals or priorities are considerations to platoon formation. For example, if fuel efficiency is a priority for the platoon, an in-line formation with tight ranges can be the most advantageous in order to gain efficiencies from drafting. In another example of a priority, if social interaction is a priority between the occupants of the different vehicles, then a block formation, with nearly equal vehicles in-line and side-by-side might be the most advantageous, in order to facilitate the perception of community of the occupants traveling together. In another example of a factor affecting selection of formation, the number of vehicles in the platoon might affect the selection of the formation. For example, if three vehicles are in the platoon, an in-line formation might be easily maintained throughout the transit route. If fifteen vehicles are in the platoon, an in-line formation of fifteen vehicles would be difficult to maintain through a series of traffic signals. Paragraph [0075] Each position within the formation has two main properties that define its overall state. The first is whether the position has a vehicle currently assigned to it or not. If a vehicle is assigned to a position, it is expected that the vehicle will maneuver into that position as it is appropriate to do so and maintain its relative placement there as long as it participates in the formation. The second property is the physical disposition of the area at and near the defined position. Together, these properties define a number of possible states. In an open state, no vehicle currently occupies the physical area of the position and nothing directly prevents a joined vehicle from maneuvering into this position. There are two significant sub-states for the open state: available, wherein no vehicle is assigned to this position in the formation; and reserved, wherein the assigned vehicle is not currently in position (but may take this position, given suitable conditions and enough time). In an unnavigable state, physical access to this position is prevented due to roadway geometry (the position would be off the drivable part of the roadway, over an embankment, et cetera). In an invaded state, a vehicle that has not joined the formation physically occupies that position (may be a non-equipped vehicle, or a vehicle in another formation). In a vacated state, a vehicle that was recently in the formation is leaving the formation, but may still be physically in or near the position. In an encroached state, a vehicle from the formation assigned to another position is instead occupying at least part of the position. In a blocked state, other vehicles in the formation are currently distributed in a manner that blocks direct maneuvering into the position; reassigning vehicles to the various positions may eliminate the blocked state. In an occupied state, the vehicle currently assigned to the position is physically occupying it. A number of other states are envisioned, for example, describing encouraged or prohibited conditions. For example, presence of a large truck in the platoon would limit placement of a vehicle just in front of the truck, and a state describing an undesirable arrangement could be defined. A dependent state could be defined, wherein family members might want to stay in proximate positions within the formation, and one family member position could be made dependent upon another family member position. Non-urgent preferences could be handled by convenience, for example, including a bubble-sort logic whenever a formation changes. For example, a person in the rear of a formation could request to move toward the front of the formation. Such a non-urgent request could be delayed until the next time the formation changes from a side-by-side formation to an in-line formation, at which time the requesting vehicle can move some or all of the way toward the front of the formation, past vehicles without similar requests. The states described herein are exemplary states that can be utilized in a platoon, and the disclosure is not intended to be limited to the particular examples described herein. Paragraph [0078])
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device of claim 1. Mudalige also teaches wherein the vehicles comprise a first vehicle, a second vehicle following the first vehicle, a third vehicle following the second vehicle; (Controlling a plurality of vehicles to operate the plurality of vehicles in a platoon includes, within a leader vehicle selected from the plurality of vehicles: monitoring through a vehicle-to-vehicle communication a respective actual position of each of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle based upon data from a respective global positioning device within each of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle, determining distances to operate the plurality of vehicles in the platoon based upon the respective actual positions of each of the plurality of vehicles, and selecting a respective commanded vehicle position including a respective global positioning coordinate for each of the plurality of vehicles based upon the determined distances. Each respective commanded vehicle position is transmitted to the respective one of the plurality vehicles that is not the leader vehicle, and each respective one of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle is operated based upon the respective commanded vehicle position. Paragraph [0007])
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to:
set a travel path of the first vehicle and the third vehicle, each of which has a length less than or equal to a designated length, as an outer lane of the curved section, and (An essential role of the Leader Vehicle is to define a path for the formation to follow and then help guide each participant along the way. FIG. 39 depicts an exemplary projection of a path for a platoon to follow, in accordance with the present disclosure. The Leader Vehicle must project a path for each position in the formation, and then define short-term objectives along the projected paths for each vehicle assigned to those positions. Paragraph [0107] Determining commands includes determining ranges or distances necessary to effectively operate the platoon. These distances can include inter-vehicle distances within the platoon, and can also include determination of a region that the platoon needs to effectively operate, or a desirable platoon envelope. Paragraph [0129] FIG. 43 depicts a PSE configured in accordance with Equation 7. W.sub.max, the maximum width of the depicted vehicles, is utilized to define the width of both columns in which the vehicles can be positioned. For simplicity sake, vehicles 1130 and 1140 are depicted being D.sub.LAT distance from each other. However, in relation to the PSE, it will be appreciated that D.sub.LAT describes a minimum distance between the columns of vehicles, and vehicles 1120 and 1140 can be located anywhere in the range defined by W.sub.max for that column and still have the PSE be a valid envelope for the platoon. Because D.sub.LAT in this example is defined to equal SM, the overall width of the PSE 1150 equals three times SM plus two times W.sub.max. In other exemplary embodiments, the PSE can take into account lane definitions, based upon lanes of travel that vehicles must travel within, for example as detected according to methods described herein. A number of methods to set the width of a PSE are envisioned, and the disclosure is not intended to be limited to the particular exemplary embodiments described herein. Paragraph [0156])
set a travel path of the second vehicle having a length greater than the designated length, as an inner lane of the curved section; and(An essential role of the Leader Vehicle is to define a path for the formation to follow and then help guide each participant along the way. FIG. 39 depicts an exemplary projection of a path for a platoon to follow, in accordance with the present disclosure. The Leader Vehicle must project a path for each position in the formation, and then define short-term objectives along the projected paths for each vehicle assigned to those positions. Paragraph [0107] Determining commands includes determining ranges or distances necessary to effectively operate the platoon. These distances can include inter-vehicle distances within the platoon, and can also include determination of a region that the platoon needs to effectively operate, or a desirable platoon envelope. Paragraph [0129] FIG. 43 depicts a PSE configured in accordance with Equation 7. W.sub.max, the maximum width of the depicted vehicles, is utilized to define the width of both columns in which the vehicles can be positioned. For simplicity sake, vehicles 1130 and 1140 are depicted being D.sub.LAT distance from each other. However, in relation to the PSE, it will be appreciated that D.sub.LAT describes a minimum distance between the columns of vehicles, and vehicles 1120 and 1140 can be located anywhere in the range defined by W.sub.max for that column and still have the PSE be a valid envelope for the platoon. Because D.sub.LAT in this example is defined to equal SM, the overall width of the PSE 1150 equals three times SM plus two times W.sub.max. In other exemplary embodiments, the PSE can take into account lane definitions, based upon lanes of travel that vehicles must travel within, for example as detected according to methods described herein. A number of methods to set the width of a PSE are envisioned, and the disclosure is not intended to be limited to the particular exemplary embodiments described herein. Paragraph [0156])
wherein an interval between the first vehicle and the third vehicle is greater than the length of the second vehicle. (An essential role of the Leader Vehicle is to define a path for the formation to follow and then help guide each participant along the way. FIG. 39 depicts an exemplary projection of a path for a platoon to follow, in accordance with the present disclosure. The Leader Vehicle must project a path for each position in the formation, and then define short-term objectives along the projected paths for each vehicle assigned to those positions. Paragraph [0107] Determining commands includes determining ranges or distances necessary to effectively operate the platoon. These distances can include inter-vehicle distances within the platoon, and can also include determination of a region that the platoon needs to effectively operate, or a desirable platoon envelope. Paragraph [0129] FIG. 43 depicts a PSE configured in accordance with Equation 7. W.sub.max, the maximum width of the depicted vehicles, is utilized to define the width of both columns in which the vehicles can be positioned. For simplicity sake, vehicles 1130 and 1140 are depicted being D.sub.LAT distance from each other. However, in relation to the PSE, it will be appreciated that D.sub.LAT describes a minimum distance between the columns of vehicles, and vehicles 1120 and 1140 can be located anywhere in the range defined by W.sub.max for that column and still have the PSE be a valid envelope for the platoon. Because D.sub.LAT in this example is defined to equal SM, the overall width of the PSE 1150 equals three times SM plus two times W.sub.max. In other exemplary embodiments, the PSE can take into account lane definitions, based upon lanes of travel that vehicles must travel within, for example as detected according to methods described herein. A number of methods to set the width of a PSE are envisioned, and the disclosure is not intended to be limited to the particular exemplary embodiments described herein. Paragraph [0156])
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device of claim 1. Mudalige also teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to:
identify a formation of the vehicles before the vehicles enter the curved section, (A formation is a special arrangement of two or more vehicles that travel together in a coordinated way. The general pattern of a formation will be consistent over extended periods of time (based on navigation goals and situations), but the specific details of the pattern may be adjusted on a moment-to-moment basis based on external factors and driving situation. At certain points in time, due to external factors or human intervention, a new formation may be enacted. Each vehicle in the prior formation will be assigned a unique position in the new formation. As conditions allow, each vehicle would maneuver into the proper place in the formation geometry. Paragraph [0071])
store information on the formation of the vehicles in the memory, and
control the vehicles to form the formation based on all of the vehicles being out of the curved section. (Each position within the formation has two main properties that define its overall state. The first is whether the position has a vehicle currently assigned to it or not. If a vehicle is assigned to a position, it is expected that the vehicle will maneuver into that position as it is appropriate to do so and maintain its relative placement there as long as it participates in the formation. The second property is the physical disposition of the area at and near the defined position. Together, these properties define a number of possible states. In an open state, no vehicle currently occupies the physical area of the position and nothing directly prevents a joined vehicle from maneuvering into this position. There are two significant sub-states for the open state: available, wherein no vehicle is assigned to this position in the formation; and reserved, wherein the assigned vehicle is not currently in position (but may take this position, given suitable conditions and enough time). In an unnavigable state, physical access to this position is prevented due to roadway geometry (the position would be off the drivable part of the roadway, over an embankment, et cetera). In an invaded state, a vehicle that has not joined the formation physically occupies that position (may be a non-equipped vehicle, or a vehicle in another formation). In a vacated state, a vehicle that was recently in the formation is leaving the formation, but may still be physically in or near the position. In an encroached state, a vehicle from the formation assigned to another position is instead occupying at least part of the position. In a blocked state, other vehicles in the formation are currently distributed in a manner that blocks direct maneuvering into the position; reassigning vehicles to the various positions may eliminate the blocked state. In an occupied state, the vehicle currently assigned to the position is physically occupying it. A number of other states are envisioned, for example, describing encouraged or prohibited conditions. For example, presence of a large truck in the platoon would limit placement of a vehicle just in front of the truck, and a state describing an undesirable arrangement could be defined. A dependent state could be defined, wherein family members might want to stay in proximate positions within the formation, and one family member position could be made dependent upon another family member position. Non-urgent preferences could be handled by convenience, for example, including a bubble-sort logic whenever a formation changes. For example, a person in the rear of a formation could request to move toward the front of the formation. Such a non-urgent request could be delayed until the next time the formation changes from a side-by-side formation to an in-line formation, at which time the requesting vehicle can move some or all of the way toward the front of the formation, past vehicles without similar requests. The states described herein are exemplary states that can be utilized in a platoon, and the disclosure is not intended to be limited to the particular examples described herein. Paragraph [0078] For less-dramatic changes of conditions, the Leader Vehicle will adjust the existing formation pattern instead of switching to a new pattern. For example, the Leader Vehicle may increase the following distances within the formation as the platoon speed increases to allow for adequate braking distances. Also, through turns, the formation spacing will be reduced for the portion toward the center of curvature, while it will be expanded on the opposite side. If two vehicles are swapping positions, additional space around them could be opened by adjusting the other vehicle positions within the formation, then the two vehicles could slowly guided through intermediate positions before they are given the new position assignment IDs. Paragraph [0097])
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device of claim 1. Mudalige also teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to:
identify, based on an electronic map, information on the path to be entered by the vehicles performing the platooning, (FIG. 6 depicts an exemplary GPS coordinate monitored through a GPS device combined with 3D map data for the GPS coordinate; Paragraph [0015])
obtain an image related to the path using the camera, and (As will be appreciated and as depicted in FIG. 5, boundaries of a visual field that can be analyzed through a visual image can be described as an angular area extending outward from the camera capturing the image. By utilizing image recognition methods, lane markers, road features, landmarks, other vehicles on the road, or other recognizable images can be utilized to estimate a vehicle position and orientation with respect to lane 110. From analysis of visual images, a lateral position within lane 110 can be estimated, for example, according to distances a and b from the lane markers. Similarly, orientation of vehicle 10 within the lane can be estimated and described as angle .phi.. Paragraph [0059])
obtain, based on the information on the path and the image, the curvature information of the path. (The Leader Vehicle may adjust the spacing of positions based on assessment of the position-maintenance performance of each participant vehicle. For example, if a Follower Vehicle is able to maintain its assigned relative position very well, that is, with very small divergences, the Leader Vehicle may guide it to follow at a smaller distance. Conversely, the Leader Vehicle may open additional space in the formation around a participant whose motion includes larger than expected divergences. The position-maintenance assessment includes evaluation in all the following performance metrics: position error (RMS) during each of the following: constant speed driving, driving around a curve, completing an intersection turn, acceleration from a stop, and decelerating to a stop; velocity tracking error (RMS); and heading tracking error (RMS). Paragraph [0109] hese factors can include a number of vehicles in the platoon; a speed of the platoon; platoon vehicle speed differentials; a determined accuracy of vehicle positioning, for example, quantifying variability in GPS positions; a wireless communications quality; dynamic capabilities of the vehicles inside the platoon, for example, including acceleration, braking, and controllability; a current travel plan; a geometry of the current roadway including curvature of the roadway; a condition of the road surface; and weather conditions. Additionally, desirable envelopes for the platoon can be dynamic, adjusting to changes in formations. A position of a particular vehicle and related ranges can be increased based upon a planned maneuver within the formation or changes to the shape of the overall formation. Paragraph [0157])
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device of claim 1. Mudalige also teaches wherein the electronic device is included in a leading vehicle among the vehicles. (controlling a plurality of vehicles to operate the plurality of vehicles in a platoon includes, within a leader vehicle selected from the plurality of vehicles: monitoring through a vehicle-to-vehicle communication a respective actual position of each of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle based upon data from a respective global positioning device within each of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle, determining distances to operate the plurality of vehicles in the platoon based upon the respective actual positions of each of the plurality of vehicles, and selecting a respective commanded vehicle position including a respective global positioning coordinate for each of the plurality of vehicles based upon the determined distances. Each respective commanded vehicle position is transmitted to the respective one of the plurality vehicles that is not the leader vehicle, and each respective one of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle is operated based upon the respective commanded vehicle position. Paragraph [0007] The single control scheme can be determined in a single Leader Vehicle. Platooning allows the vehicles to achieve a number of beneficial results, including increased fuel efficiency, collision risk mitigation, freeing the driver to focus attention away from the road, increased efficiency in urban traffic density and control, and other benefits. Paragraph [0072])
Regarding claim 11, Mudalige teaches a method of an electronic device for platooning vehicles, comprising:
obtaining curvature information of a path to be entered by the vehicles performing the platooning, (Host vehicle 10 is traveling proximate to target vehicle 20. Host vehicle 10 may include exemplary sensor devices including a radar system 30 and a camera system 40. Additionally, host vehicle 10 receives signals from remote wireless communications system 50 and remote satellite system 60. Paragraph [0054] The position-maintenance assessment includes evaluation in all the following performance metrics: position error (RMS) during each of the following: constant speed driving, driving around a curve, completing an intersection turn, acceleration from a stop, and decelerating to a stop; velocity tracking error (RMS); and heading tracking error (RMS). Paragraph [0109])
determining, based on the information on the risk, speeds of the vehicles, for driving on the curved section, and (In order to accomplish these control functions, the platoon Leader Vehicle calculates real-time relative platoon position vectors and speeds for each follower vehicle in the group ensuring the best possible fuel savings and desirable operation. Exemplary calculations include selecting the best possible inter-vehicle distance (D.sub.g) for a known platoon position, for example, based on vehicle type, calculating a minimum desirable distance (D.sub.s) between a Follower Vehicle and a preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle, and determining a maximum of D.sub.g and D.sub.s as the desired platoon distance (D) between the preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle and the Follower Vehicle. D.sub.s can be calculated considering following: current V2V wireless communication quality (e.g., channel congestion, packet error rate); current vehicle positioning and sensor data accuracy; vehicle size and shape parameters, such as length, cross sectional area, bumper height; current and predicted vehicle speeds; dynamic capability of individual vehicles in the platoon (e.g., braking, acceleration, control error, latency); current road geometry; road surface; weather conditions; and current driving mode (manual or autonomous. Exemplary computation of D.sub.s will be described in greater detail below. Once D is calculated for a particular Follower Vehicle, the Leader Vehicle calculates a commanded position to transmit to the Follower Vehicle, for example, as described above, based upon the actual position of the Leader Vehicle of the particular follower vehicle, D, and other factors such as lane geometry and the formation of the platoon. The Leader Vehicle can use wireless communication, such as the DSRC system described above, to periodically transmit this information to the Follower Vehicles. Each Follower Vehicle receives the relative position vector and speed from the platoon Leader Vehicle and use that information as targets or set points for the steering, position and speed control values for use by each vehicle's control systems. Paragraphs [0134-1035])
transmitting the determined speeds to the vehicles. (In order to accomplish these control functions, the platoon Leader Vehicle calculates real-time relative platoon position vectors and speeds for each follower vehicle in the group ensuring the best possible fuel savings and desirable operation. Exemplary calculations include selecting the best possible inter-vehicle distance (D.sub.g) for a known platoon position, for example, based on vehicle type, calculating a minimum desirable distance (D.sub.s) between a Follower Vehicle and a preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle, and determining a maximum of D.sub.g and D.sub.s as the desired platoon distance (D) between the preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle and the Follower Vehicle. D.sub.s can be calculated considering following: current V2V wireless communication quality (e.g., channel congestion, packet error rate); current vehicle positioning and sensor data accuracy; vehicle size and shape parameters, such as length, cross sectional area, bumper height; current and predicted vehicle speeds; dynamic capability of individual vehicles in the platoon (e.g., braking, acceleration, control error, latency); current road geometry; road surface; weather conditions; and current driving mode (manual or autonomous. Exemplary computation of D.sub.s will be described in greater detail below. Once D is calculated for a particular Follower Vehicle, the Leader Vehicle calculates a commanded position to transmit to the Follower Vehicle, for example, as described above, based upon the actual position of the Leader Vehicle of the particular follower vehicle, D, and other factors such as lane geometry and the formation of the platoon. The Leader Vehicle can use wireless communication, such as the DSRC system described above, to periodically transmit this information to the Follower Vehicles. Each Follower Vehicle receives the relative position vector and speed from the platoon Leader Vehicle and use that information as targets or set points for the steering, position and speed control values for use by each vehicle's control systems. Paragraphs [0134-1035])
Mudalige does not teach identifying, based on the curvature information, a curved section having a curvature greater than a reference curvature on the path,
obtaining information on a vehicle including at least one of a weight of a vehicle or a length of a vehicle from each of the vehicles,
obtaining information on risk of each of the vehicles driving on the curved section using the information on the vehicle obtained from each of the vehicles and the curvature of the curved section,
However, Ko teaches identifying, based on the curvature information, a curved section having a curvature greater than a reference curvature on the path, (Fig. 7, The curve guidance method may further include: when the computed centrifugal force is greater than the first threshold value and is smaller than the second threshold value, providing a first curve section guidance representing that the degree of risk of the curve section in which the vehicle is to be driven is the first risk level; and when the computed centrifugal force is greater than the second threshold value, providing a second curve section guidance representing that the degree of risk of the curve section in which the vehicle is to be driven is the second risk level. Paragraph [0021])
obtaining information on a vehicle including at least one of a weight of a vehicle or a length of a vehicle from each of the vehicles, (Although the two cases described above describe the examples in which the weight computing unit 14-3 computes the weight according to the obtained link attribute information, the weight may also be varied according to mass of the vehicle. Since magnitude of the centrifugal force is increased in proportion to the mass of the vehicle, the degree of risk felt by the driver of a vehicle having light mass in relation to the curve section will be relatively smaller than that of a vehicle having heavy mass. Therefore, the weight computing unit 14-3 may set the weight to “1” or a “value smaller than 1” or a “value greater than 1” according to the mass of the vehicle. Paragraph [0122])
obtaining information on risk of each of the vehicles driving on the curved section using the information on the vehicle obtained from each of the vehicles and the curvature of the curved section, (Meanwhile, the degree of risk judging unit 14-4 may judge the degree of risk of the curve section in which the vehicle is to be driven using the position of the vehicle at the future time point determined by the link position determining unit 13 and the speed of the vehicle at the reference time point (S405). Specifically, the degree of risk judging unit 14-4 may compute centrifugal force applied to the vehicle in the curve section using the plurality of determined positions 522, 523, and 533 and the speed of the vehicle at the current time point, which is the reference time point 521, and may judge the degree of risk of the curve section based on the computed centrifugal force. Paragraph [0202])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device method for platooning vehicles of Mudalige to include the curvature risk analysis method of Ko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because it would enable the platooning device of Mudalige to accurately determine the correct speeds and lanes of vehicles driving through a curve by evaluating the risk of the curve to due various factors such as size of the curve and vehicle weight as suggested by Ko in paragraphs [0122] and [0202].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device method of claim 11. Mudalige also teaches wherein the method further comprises: determining travel paths for the vehicles to drive on the curved section based on the information on the risk, and transmitting the determined speeds and the travel paths to each of the vehicles. (In order to accomplish these control functions, the platoon Leader Vehicle calculates real-time relative platoon position vectors and speeds for each follower vehicle in the group ensuring the best possible fuel savings and desirable operation. Exemplary calculations include selecting the best possible inter-vehicle distance (D.sub.g) for a known platoon position, for example, based on vehicle type, calculating a minimum desirable distance (D.sub.s) between a Follower Vehicle and a preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle, and determining a maximum of D.sub.g and D.sub.s as the desired platoon distance (D) between the preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle and the Follower Vehicle. D.sub.s can be calculated considering following: current V2V wireless communication quality (e.g., channel congestion, packet error rate); current vehicle positioning and sensor data accuracy; vehicle size and shape parameters, such as length, cross sectional area, bumper height; current and predicted vehicle speeds; dynamic capability of individual vehicles in the platoon (e.g., braking, acceleration, control error, latency); current road geometry; road surface; weather conditions; and current driving mode (manual or autonomous. Exemplary computation of D.sub.s will be described in greater detail below. Once D is calculated for a particular Follower Vehicle, the Leader Vehicle calculates a commanded position to transmit to the Follower Vehicle, for example, as described above, based upon the actual position of the Leader Vehicle of the particular follower vehicle, D, and other factors such as lane geometry and the formation of the platoon. The Leader Vehicle can use wireless communication, such as the DSRC system described above, to periodically transmit this information to the Follower Vehicles. Each Follower Vehicle receives the relative position vector and speed from the platoon Leader Vehicle and use that information as targets or set points for the steering, position and speed control values for use by each vehicle's control systems. Paragraphs [0134-1035])
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device method of claim 11. Mudalige also teaches the method further comprising: identifying candidate speeds for the vehicles based on the information on the vehicles obtained from each of the vehicles, (A Leader Vehicle of a formation must set a speed acceptable to all members of the formation. The Leader Vehicle checks the speed capabilities of a new vehicle joining the formation and periodically checks the speed capability of each participating vehicle Paragraph [0098])
determining the speeds of the vehicles, for driving on the curved section, as a lowest candidate speed among the candidate speeds. (A Leader Vehicle of a formation must set a speed acceptable to all members of the formation. The Leader Vehicle checks the speed capabilities of a new vehicle joining the formation and periodically checks the speed capability of each participating vehicle Paragraph [0098] An efficient method to control vehicles within a platoon from a Leader Vehicle is disclosed, wherein communication based upon GPS coordinates and determined simple values such as ranges and relationships between the vehicles, such as vehicle speed, is utilized. Because the disclosed method allows determination of vehicle location based upon simple GPS coordinates monitored with relation to each of the vehicles within the platoon, determination of necessary calculations within a Leader Vehicle, and communication of simple control terms from the Leader Vehicle to the Follower Vehicles, communication between the vehicles requires less information to be exchanged per communication cycle. Additionally, the method is more robust than communication methods that require large amounts of error-free information to be exchanged in each cycle. Whereas previous methods can be disabled for a communication cycle through the loss of individual values of information, the disclosed method can include simple redundancy. For example, even if a range from a Follower Vehicle to another vehicle in the platoon is corrupted or otherwise not received, a correctly received speed of the Follower Vehicle can act as redundant information, allowing a determination of the probable range of the Follower Vehicle for that communication cycle. Additionally, a Follower Vehicle can report an actual position, actual range, an actual speed, or other terms to allow for correction of determined values in the Leader Vehicle. Paragraph [0117])
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device method of claim 11. Mudalige also teaches wherein the vehicles comprises a first vehicle and a second vehicle, (Controlling a plurality of vehicles to operate the plurality of vehicles in a platoon includes, within a leader vehicle selected from the plurality of vehicles: monitoring through a vehicle-to-vehicle communication a respective actual position of each of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle based upon data from a respective global positioning device within each of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle, determining distances to operate the plurality of vehicles in the platoon based upon the respective actual positions of each of the plurality of vehicles, and selecting a respective commanded vehicle position including a respective global positioning coordinate for each of the plurality of vehicles based upon the determined distances. Each respective commanded vehicle position is transmitted to the respective one of the plurality vehicles that is not the leader vehicle, and each respective one of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle is operated based upon the respective commanded vehicle position. Abstract)
determining an interval between the first vehicle and the second vehicle, based on information on first risk of the first vehicle and information on second risk of the second vehicle, and (determining distances to operate the plurality of vehicles in the platoon. Paragraph [0007] A lateral position offset is depicted, describing a lateral distance from the Leader Vehicle that a vehicle in a side-by-side formation position can be defined. This lateral offset is set by a number of factors, including lane geometry, vehicle type, and goals or priorities of the platoon. A longitudinal position offset is also depicted describing a longitudinal distance from the Leader Vehicle that a vehicle in an in-line vehicle position can be defined. This longitudinal offset is set by a number of factors and is defined in detail throughout this disclosure. Paragraph [0074] Each Follower Vehicle receives the motion guidance information and does its best to achieve the objectives, while maintaining a desirable buffer distance between itself and all other vehicles participating in the formation and other objects and simultaneously attempting to maintain a comfortable ride for occupants and energy efficiency. Paragraph [0108])
transmitting the interval to the first vehicle and the second vehicle. (positions within the platoon includes communicating a relative small amount of information from the Follower Vehicles to the Leader Vehicle, determining commands including desired vehicle positions within the platoon, and utilizing those determined commands to operate the Follower Vehicles. Determining commands includes determining ranges or distances necessary to effectively operate the platoon. These distances can include inter-vehicle distances within the platoon, and can also include determination of a region that the platoon needs to effectively operate, or a desirable platoon envelope. Paragraph [0129])
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device method of claim 11. Mudalige also teaches wherein the method further comprises:
setting a reference speed based on the determined speeds, (A Leader Vehicle of a formation must set a speed acceptable to all members of the formation. The Leader Vehicle checks the speed capabilities of a new vehicle joining the formation and periodically checks the speed capability of each participating vehicle and determines the fastest speed all the vehicles are capable of achieving. The Leader Vehicle may also check the joining vehicle braking capabilities and reviews performance critical vehicle diagnostics before granting the new member to join the platoon. This determination will also include analysis of the motion feedback data, including the speed error terms, so that a participant that is falling further and further behind, despite its reports that it is capable of additional velocity, is not stranded by the rest of the formation. This formation speed constraint is used as an upper limit for all navigation planning. Paragraph [0098])
dividing, based on the reference speed, each of the vehicles as one of a first group or a second group, (Selection of and changes to platoon formations can be determined according to a number of factors. For example, road geometry is a consideration to platoon formation. Upon a single lane road, only an in-line formation can be used, while on a four-lane highway, a side-by-side formation can be properly used. In a platoon utilizing side-by-side formation upon a four-lane highway, the formation can be properly changed to an in-line formation as road conditions change. For example, if road construction is abruptly encountered, and four lanes are reduced to two, changing the platoon to an in-line formation might be advantageous in order to facilitate traffic flow through the bottleneck. Upon passing the bottleneck and traffic resuming to four lanes of travel, the platoon can be shifted back to a side-by-side formation. In another example, platoon goals or priorities are considerations to platoon formation. For example, if fuel efficiency is a priority for the platoon, an in-line formation with tight ranges can be the most advantageous in order to gain efficiencies from drafting. In another example of a priority, if social interaction is a priority between the occupants of the different vehicles, then a block formation, with nearly equal vehicles in-line and side-by-side might be the most advantageous, in order to facilitate the perception of community of the occupants traveling together. In another example of a factor affecting selection of formation, the number of vehicles in the platoon might affect the selection of the formation. For example, if three vehicles are in the platoon, an in-line formation might be easily maintained throughout the transit route. If fifteen vehicles are in the platoon, an in-line formation of fifteen vehicles would be difficult to maintain through a series of traffic signals. Paragraph [0075])
setting a travel path of vehicles of the first group as an inner lane of the curved section and a travel path of vehicles of the second group as an outer lane of the curved section. (Selection of and changes to platoon formations can be determined according to a number of factors. For example, road geometry is a consideration to platoon formation. Upon a single lane road, only an in-line formation can be used, while on a four-lane highway, a side-by-side formation can be properly used. In a platoon utilizing side-by-side formation upon a four-lane highway, the formation can be properly changed to an in-line formation as road conditions change. For example, if road construction is abruptly encountered, and four lanes are reduced to two, changing the platoon to an in-line formation might be advantageous in order to facilitate traffic flow through the bottleneck. Upon passing the bottleneck and traffic resuming to four lanes of travel, the platoon can be shifted back to a side-by-side formation. In another example, platoon goals or priorities are considerations to platoon formation. For example, if fuel efficiency is a priority for the platoon, an in-line formation with tight ranges can be the most advantageous in order to gain efficiencies from drafting. In another example of a priority, if social interaction is a priority between the occupants of the different vehicles, then a block formation, with nearly equal vehicles in-line and side-by-side might be the most advantageous, in order to facilitate the perception of community of the occupants traveling together. In another example of a factor affecting selection of formation, the number of vehicles in the platoon might affect the selection of the formation. For example, if three vehicles are in the platoon, an in-line formation might be easily maintained throughout the transit route. If fifteen vehicles are in the platoon, an in-line formation of fifteen vehicles would be difficult to maintain through a series of traffic signals. Paragraph [0075] Each position within the formation has two main properties that define its overall state. The first is whether the position has a vehicle currently assigned to it or not. If a vehicle is assigned to a position, it is expected that the vehicle will maneuver into that position as it is appropriate to do so and maintain its relative placement there as long as it participates in the formation. The second property is the physical disposition of the area at and near the defined position. Together, these properties define a number of possible states. In an open state, no vehicle currently occupies the physical area of the position and nothing directly prevents a joined vehicle from maneuvering into this position. There are two significant sub-states for the open state: available, wherein no vehicle is assigned to this position in the formation; and reserved, wherein the assigned vehicle is not currently in position (but may take this position, given suitable conditions and enough time). In an unnavigable state, physical access to this position is prevented due to roadway geometry (the position would be off the drivable part of the roadway, over an embankment, et cetera). In an invaded state, a vehicle that has not joined the formation physically occupies that position (may be a non-equipped vehicle, or a vehicle in another formation). In a vacated state, a vehicle that was recently in the formation is leaving the formation, but may still be physically in or near the position. In an encroached state, a vehicle from the formation assigned to another position is instead occupying at least part of the position. In a blocked state, other vehicles in the formation are currently distributed in a manner that blocks direct maneuvering into the position; reassigning vehicles to the various positions may eliminate the blocked state. In an occupied state, the vehicle currently assigned to the position is physically occupying it. A number of other states are envisioned, for example, describing encouraged or prohibited conditions. For example, presence of a large truck in the platoon would limit placement of a vehicle just in front of the truck, and a state describing an undesirable arrangement could be defined. A dependent state could be defined, wherein family members might want to stay in proximate positions within the formation, and one family member position could be made dependent upon another family member position. Non-urgent preferences could be handled by convenience, for example, including a bubble-sort logic whenever a formation changes. For example, a person in the rear of a formation could request to move toward the front of the formation. Such a non-urgent request could be delayed until the next time the formation changes from a side-by-side formation to an in-line formation, at which time the requesting vehicle can move some or all of the way toward the front of the formation, past vehicles without similar requests. The states described herein are exemplary states that can be utilized in a platoon, and the disclosure is not intended to be limited to the particular examples described herein. Paragraph [0078])
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device method of claim 11. Mudalige also teaches wherein the vehicles comprise a first vehicle, a second vehicle following the first vehicle, a third vehicle following the second vehicle; (Controlling a plurality of vehicles to operate the plurality of vehicles in a platoon includes, within a leader vehicle selected from the plurality of vehicles: monitoring through a vehicle-to-vehicle communication a respective actual position of each of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle based upon data from a respective global positioning device within each of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle, determining distances to operate the plurality of vehicles in the platoon based upon the respective actual positions of each of the plurality of vehicles, and selecting a respective commanded vehicle position including a respective global positioning coordinate for each of the plurality of vehicles based upon the determined distances. Each respective commanded vehicle position is transmitted to the respective one of the plurality vehicles that is not the leader vehicle, and each respective one of the plurality of vehicles that is not the leader vehicle is operated based upon the respective commanded vehicle position. Paragraph [0007])
setting a travel path of the first vehicle and the third vehicle, each of which has a length less than or equal to a designated length, as an outer lane of the curved section, and (An essential role of the Leader Vehicle is to define a path for the formation to follow and then help guide each participant along the way. FIG. 39 depicts an exemplary projection of a path for a platoon to follow, in accordance with the present disclosure. The Leader Vehicle must project a path for each position in the formation, and then define short-term objectives along the projected paths for each vehicle assigned to those positions. Paragraph [0107] Determining commands includes determining ranges or distances necessary to effectively operate the platoon. These distances can include inter-vehicle distances within the platoon, and can also include determination of a region that the platoon needs to effectively operate, or a desirable platoon envelope. Paragraph [0129] FIG. 43 depicts a PSE configured in accordance with Equation 7. W.sub.max, the maximum width of the depicted vehicles, is utilized to define the width of both columns in which the vehicles can be positioned. For simplicity sake, vehicles 1130 and 1140 are depicted being D.sub.LAT distance from each other. However, in relation to the PSE, it will be appreciated that D.sub.LAT describes a minimum distance between the columns of vehicles, and vehicles 1120 and 1140 can be located anywhere in the range defined by W.sub.max for that column and still have the PSE be a valid envelope for the platoon. Because D.sub.LAT in this example is defined to equal SM, the overall width of the PSE 1150 equals three times SM plus two times W.sub.max. In other exemplary embodiments, the PSE can take into account lane definitions, based upon lanes of travel that vehicles must travel within, for example as detected according to methods described herein. A number of methods to set the width of a PSE are envisioned, and the disclosure is not intended to be limited to the particular exemplary embodiments described herein. Paragraph [0156])
setting a travel path of the second vehicle having a length greater than the designated length, as an inner lane of the curved section; and(An essential role of the Leader Vehicle is to define a path for the formation to follow and then help guide each participant along the way. FIG. 39 depicts an exemplary projection of a path for a platoon to follow, in accordance with the present disclosure. The Leader Vehicle must project a path for each position in the formation, and then define short-term objectives along the projected paths for each vehicle assigned to those positions. Paragraph [0107] Determining commands includes determining ranges or distances necessary to effectively operate the platoon. These distances can include inter-vehicle distances within the platoon, and can also include determination of a region that the platoon needs to effectively operate, or a desirable platoon envelope. Paragraph [0129] FIG. 43 depicts a PSE configured in accordance with Equation 7. W.sub.max, the maximum width of the depicted vehicles, is utilized to define the width of both columns in which the vehicles can be positioned. For simplicity sake, vehicles 1130 and 1140 are depicted being D.sub.LAT distance from each other. However, in relation to the PSE, it will be appreciated that D.sub.LAT describes a minimum distance between the columns of vehicles, and vehicles 1120 and 1140 can be located anywhere in the range defined by W.sub.max for that column and still have the PSE be a valid envelope for the platoon. Because D.sub.LAT in this example is defined to equal SM, the overall width of the PSE 1150 equals three times SM plus two times W.sub.max. In other exemplary embodiments, the PSE can take into account lane definitions, based upon lanes of travel that vehicles must travel within, for example as detected according to methods described herein. A number of methods to set the width of a PSE are envisioned, and the disclosure is not intended to be limited to the particular exemplary embodiments described herein. Paragraph [0156])
wherein an interval between the first vehicle and the third vehicle is greater than the length of the second vehicle. (An essential role of the Leader Vehicle is to define a path for the formation to follow and then help guide each participant along the way. FIG. 39 depicts an exemplary projection of a path for a platoon to follow, in accordance with the present disclosure. The Leader Vehicle must project a path for each position in the formation, and then define short-term objectives along the projected paths for each vehicle assigned to those positions. Paragraph [0107] Determining commands includes determining ranges or distances necessary to effectively operate the platoon. These distances can include inter-vehicle distances within the platoon, and can also include determination of a region that the platoon needs to effectively operate, or a desirable platoon envelope. Paragraph [0129] FIG. 43 depicts a PSE configured in accordance with Equation 7. W.sub.max, the maximum width of the depicted vehicles, is utilized to define the width of both columns in which the vehicles can be positioned. For simplicity sake, vehicles 1130 and 1140 are depicted being D.sub.LAT distance from each other. However, in relation to the PSE, it will be appreciated that D.sub.LAT describes a minimum distance between the columns of vehicles, and vehicles 1120 and 1140 can be located anywhere in the range defined by W.sub.max for that column and still have the PSE be a valid envelope for the platoon. Because D.sub.LAT in this example is defined to equal SM, the overall width of the PSE 1150 equals three times SM plus two times W.sub.max. In other exemplary embodiments, the PSE can take into account lane definitions, based upon lanes of travel that vehicles must travel within, for example as detected according to methods described herein. A number of methods to set the width of a PSE are envisioned, and the disclosure is not intended to be limited to the particular exemplary embodiments described herein. Paragraph [0156])
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device method of claim 11. Mudalige also teaches the method further comprising:
identifying a formation of the vehicles before the vehicles enter the curved section, (A formation is a special arrangement of two or more vehicles that travel together in a coordinated way. The general pattern of a formation will be consistent over extended periods of time (based on navigation goals and situations), but the specific details of the pattern may be adjusted on a moment-to-moment basis based on external factors and driving situation. At certain points in time, due to external factors or human intervention, a new formation may be enacted. Each vehicle in the prior formation will be assigned a unique position in the new formation. As conditions allow, each vehicle would maneuver into the proper place in the formation geometry. Paragraph [0071])
storing information on the formation of the vehicles in the memory, and
controlling the vehicles to form the formation based on all of the vehicles being out of the curved section. (Each position within the formation has two main properties that define its overall state. The first is whether the position has a vehicle currently assigned to it or not. If a vehicle is assigned to a position, it is expected that the vehicle will maneuver into that position as it is appropriate to do so and maintain its relative placement there as long as it participates in the formation. The second property is the physical disposition of the area at and near the defined position. Together, these properties define a number of possible states. In an open state, no vehicle currently occupies the physical area of the position and nothing directly prevents a joined vehicle from maneuvering into this position. There are two significant sub-states for the open state: available, wherein no vehicle is assigned to this position in the formation; and reserved, wherein the assigned vehicle is not currently in position (but may take this position, given suitable conditions and enough time). In an unnavigable state, physical access to this position is prevented due to roadway geometry (the position would be off the drivable part of the roadway, over an embankment, et cetera). In an invaded state, a vehicle that has not joined the formation physically occupies that position (may be a non-equipped vehicle, or a vehicle in another formation). In a vacated state, a vehicle that was recently in the formation is leaving the formation, but may still be physically in or near the position. In an encroached state, a vehicle from the formation assigned to another position is instead occupying at least part of the position. In a blocked state, other vehicles in the formation are currently distributed in a manner that blocks direct maneuvering into the position; reassigning vehicles to the various positions may eliminate the blocked state. In an occupied state, the vehicle currently assigned to the position is physically occupying it. A number of other states are envisioned, for example, describing encouraged or prohibited conditions. For example, presence of a large truck in the platoon would limit placement of a vehicle just in front of the truck, and a state describing an undesirable arrangement could be defined. A dependent state could be defined, wherein family members might want to stay in proximate positions within the formation, and one family member position could be made dependent upon another family member position. Non-urgent preferences could be handled by convenience, for example, including a bubble-sort logic whenever a formation changes. For example, a person in the rear of a formation could request to move toward the front of the formation. Such a non-urgent request could be delayed until the next time the formation changes from a side-by-side formation to an in-line formation, at which time the requesting vehicle can move some or all of the way toward the front of the formation, past vehicles without similar requests. The states described herein are exemplary states that can be utilized in a platoon, and the disclosure is not intended to be limited to the particular examples described herein. Paragraph [0078] For less-dramatic changes of conditions, the Leader Vehicle will adjust the existing formation pattern instead of switching to a new pattern. For example, the Leader Vehicle may increase the following distances within the formation as the platoon speed increases to allow for adequate braking distances. Also, through turns, the formation spacing will be reduced for the portion toward the center of curvature, while it will be expanded on the opposite side. If two vehicles are swapping positions, additional space around them could be opened by adjusting the other vehicle positions within the formation, then the two vehicles could slowly guided through intermediate positions before they are given the new position assignment IDs. Paragraph [0097])
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device method of claim 11. Mudalige also teaches the method further comprising:
identifying, based on an electronic map, information on the path to be entered by the vehicles performing the platooning, (FIG. 6 depicts an exemplary GPS coordinate monitored through a GPS device combined with 3D map data for the GPS coordinate; Paragraph [0015])
obtaining an image related to the path using a camera of the electronic device, and (As will be appreciated and as depicted in FIG. 5, boundaries of a visual field that can be analyzed through a visual image can be described as an angular area extending outward from the camera capturing the image. By utilizing image recognition methods, lane markers, road features, landmarks, other vehicles on the road, or other recognizable images can be utilized to estimate a vehicle position and orientation with respect to lane 110. From analysis of visual images, a lateral position within lane 110 can be estimated, for example, according to distances a and b from the lane markers. Similarly, orientation of vehicle 10 within the lane can be estimated and described as angle .phi.. Paragraph [0059])
obtaining, based on the information on the path and the image, the curvature information of the path. (The Leader Vehicle may adjust the spacing of positions based on assessment of the position-maintenance performance of each participant vehicle. For example, if a Follower Vehicle is able to maintain its assigned relative position very well, that is, with very small divergences, the Leader Vehicle may guide it to follow at a smaller distance. Conversely, the Leader Vehicle may open additional space in the formation around a participant whose motion includes larger than expected divergences. The position-maintenance assessment includes evaluation in all the following performance metrics: position error (RMS) during each of the following: constant speed driving, driving around a curve, completing an intersection turn, acceleration from a stop, and decelerating to a stop; velocity tracking error (RMS); and heading tracking error (RMS). Paragraph [0109] hese factors can include a number of vehicles in the platoon; a speed of the platoon; platoon vehicle speed differentials; a determined accuracy of vehicle positioning, for example, quantifying variability in GPS positions; a wireless communications quality; dynamic capabilities of the vehicles inside the platoon, for example, including acceleration, braking, and controllability; a current travel plan; a geometry of the current roadway including curvature of the roadway; a condition of the road surface; and weather conditions. Additionally, desirable envelopes for the platoon can be dynamic, adjusting to changes in formations. A position of a particular vehicle and related ranges can be increased based upon a planned maneuver within the formation or changes to the shape of the overall formation. Paragraph [0157])
Regarding claim 20, Mudalige teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs comprise instructions that, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to:
obtain curvature information of a path to be entered by the vehicles performing the platooning, (Host vehicle 10 is traveling proximate to target vehicle 20. Host vehicle 10 may include exemplary sensor devices including a radar system 30 and a camera system 40. Additionally, host vehicle 10 receives signals from remote wireless communications system 50 and remote satellite system 60. Paragraph [0054] The position-maintenance assessment includes evaluation in all the following performance metrics: position error (RMS) during each of the following: constant speed driving, driving around a curve, completing an intersection turn, acceleration from a stop, and decelerating to a stop; velocity tracking error (RMS); and heading tracking error (RMS). Paragraph [0109])
determine, based on the information on the risk, speeds of the vehicles, for driving on the curved section, and(In order to accomplish these control functions, the platoon Leader Vehicle calculates real-time relative platoon position vectors and speeds for each follower vehicle in the group ensuring the best possible fuel savings and desirable operation. Exemplary calculations include selecting the best possible inter-vehicle distance (D.sub.g) for a known platoon position, for example, based on vehicle type, calculating a minimum desirable distance (D.sub.s) between a Follower Vehicle and a preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle, and determining a maximum of D.sub.g and D.sub.s as the desired platoon distance (D) between the preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle and the Follower Vehicle. D.sub.s can be calculated considering following: current V2V wireless communication quality (e.g., channel congestion, packet error rate); current vehicle positioning and sensor data accuracy; vehicle size and shape parameters, such as length, cross sectional area, bumper height; current and predicted vehicle speeds; dynamic capability of individual vehicles in the platoon (e.g., braking, acceleration, control error, latency); current road geometry; road surface; weather conditions; and current driving mode (manual or autonomous. Exemplary computation of D.sub.s will be described in greater detail below. Once D is calculated for a particular Follower Vehicle, the Leader Vehicle calculates a commanded position to transmit to the Follower Vehicle, for example, as described above, based upon the actual position of the Leader Vehicle of the particular follower vehicle, D, and other factors such as lane geometry and the formation of the platoon. The Leader Vehicle can use wireless communication, such as the DSRC system described above, to periodically transmit this information to the Follower Vehicles. Each Follower Vehicle receives the relative position vector and speed from the platoon Leader Vehicle and use that information as targets or set points for the steering, position and speed control values for use by each vehicle's control systems. Paragraphs [0134-1035])
transmit the determined speeds to the vehicles. (In order to accomplish these control functions, the platoon Leader Vehicle calculates real-time relative platoon position vectors and speeds for each follower vehicle in the group ensuring the best possible fuel savings and desirable operation. Exemplary calculations include selecting the best possible inter-vehicle distance (D.sub.g) for a known platoon position, for example, based on vehicle type, calculating a minimum desirable distance (D.sub.s) between a Follower Vehicle and a preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle, and determining a maximum of D.sub.g and D.sub.s as the desired platoon distance (D) between the preceding vehicle directly in front of the Follower Vehicle and the Follower Vehicle. D.sub.s can be calculated considering following: current V2V wireless communication quality (e.g., channel congestion, packet error rate); current vehicle positioning and sensor data accuracy; vehicle size and shape parameters, such as length, cross sectional area, bumper height; current and predicted vehicle speeds; dynamic capability of individual vehicles in the platoon (e.g., braking, acceleration, control error, latency); current road geometry; road surface; weather conditions; and current driving mode (manual or autonomous. Exemplary computation of D.sub.s will be described in greater detail below. Once D is calculated for a particular Follower Vehicle, the Leader Vehicle calculates a commanded position to transmit to the Follower Vehicle, for example, as described above, based upon the actual position of the Leader Vehicle of the particular follower vehicle, D, and other factors such as lane geometry and the formation of the platoon. The Leader Vehicle can use wireless communication, such as the DSRC system described above, to periodically transmit this information to the Follower Vehicles. Each Follower Vehicle receives the relative position vector and speed from the platoon Leader Vehicle and use that information as targets or set points for the steering, position and speed control values for use by each vehicle's control systems. Paragraphs [0134-1035])
Mudalige does not teach identify, based on the curvature information, a curved section having a curvature greater than a reference curvature on the path,
obtain information on a vehicle including at least one of a weight of a vehicle or a length of a vehicle from each of the vehicles,
obtain information on risk of each of the vehicles driving on the curved section using the information on the vehicle obtained from each of the vehicles and the curvature of the curved section.
However, Ko teaches identify, based on the curvature information, a curved section having a curvature greater than a reference curvature on the path, (Fig. 7, The curve guidance method may further include: when the computed centrifugal force is greater than the first threshold value and is smaller than the second threshold value, providing a first curve section guidance representing that the degree of risk of the curve section in which the vehicle is to be driven is the first risk level; and when the computed centrifugal force is greater than the second threshold value, providing a second curve section guidance representing that the degree of risk of the curve section in which the vehicle is to be driven is the second risk level. Paragraph [0021])
obtain information on a vehicle including at least one of a weight of a vehicle or a length of a vehicle from each of the vehicles, (Although the two cases described above describe the examples in which the weight computing unit 14-3 computes the weight according to the obtained link attribute information, the weight may also be varied according to mass of the vehicle. Since magnitude of the centrifugal force is increased in proportion to the mass of the vehicle, the degree of risk felt by the driver of a vehicle having light mass in relation to the curve section will be relatively smaller than that of a vehicle having heavy mass. Therefore, the weight computing unit 14-3 may set the weight to “1” or a “value smaller than 1” or a “value greater than 1” according to the mass of the vehicle. Paragraph [0122])
obtain information on risk of each of the vehicles driving on the curved section using the information on the vehicle obtained from each of the vehicles and the curvature of the curved section, (Meanwhile, the degree of risk judging unit 14-4 may judge the degree of risk of the curve section in which the vehicle is to be driven using the position of the vehicle at the future time point determined by the link position determining unit 13 and the speed of the vehicle at the reference time point (S405). Specifically, the degree of risk judging unit 14-4 may compute centrifugal force applied to the vehicle in the curve section using the plurality of determined positions 522, 523, and 533 and the speed of the vehicle at the current time point, which is the reference time point 521, and may judge the degree of risk of the curve section based on the computed centrifugal force. Paragraph [0202])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device method for platooning vehicles of Mudalige to include the curvature risk analysis method of Ko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because it would enable the platooning device of Mudalige to accurately determine the correct speeds and lanes of vehicles driving through a curve by evaluating the risk of the curve to due various factors such as size of the curve and vehicle weight as suggested by Ko in paragraphs [0122] and [0202].
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mudalige in view of Ko and further in view of US 20180188745 A1 hereinafter Pilkington.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device according to claim 1.
Mudalige and Ko do not teach wherein the vehicles comprise a truck including a tractor and a trailer,
wherein a weight of the truck is identified as a sum of a weight of the tractor and a weight of the trailer, and
wherein a length of the truck is identified as a sum of a length of the tractor and a length of the trailer.
However, Pilkington teaches wherein the vehicles comprise a truck including a tractor and a trailer, (vehicle configuration/condition may refer to a set of characteristics of the vehicle which may influence the vehicle's stability (roll and/or yaw). For example, in a vehicle with a towed portion, the source of input data 342 may communicate the type of towed portion. In tractor-trailer arrangements, the type of trailer being towed by the tractor may influence the vehicle stability. This is evident, for example, when multiple trailer combinations (doubles and triples) are towed. Paragraph [0054])
wherein a weight of the truck is identified as a sum of a weight of the tractor and a weight of the trailer, and (However, holding a tight distance or spacing between platooned vehicles requires that careful attention be paid to various functional or environmental and operational characteristics and capabilities of the vehicles and other external conditions including the overall size of the platoon, weather conditions, relative braking abilities between vehicle pairs, relative acceleration abilities, relative load or cargo size and weight including required stopping distance, and the like. Paragraph [0005] At step 720 the platoon distance management system assigns a weight to the determination of whether there is an equal load distribution between vehicles. Paragraph [0088])
wherein a length of the truck is identified as a sum of a length of the tractor and a length of the trailer. (In addition to the above, maintaining a small distance or spacing between platooned vehicles gives greater benefit in terms of reduced energy consumption. However, holding a tight distance or spacing between platooned vehicles requires that careful attention be paid to various functional or environmental and operational characteristics and capabilities of the vehicles and other external conditions including the overall size of the platoon, weather conditions, relative braking abilities between vehicle pairs, relative acceleration abilities, relative load or cargo size and weight including required stopping distance, and the like. Special attention must also be paid to characteristics of the roadway such as roadway incline, decline, and turn radii. These various parameters implicate directly or indirectly the inter-vehicle safety considerations as well as the overall safety of multiple vehicle platoons. Paragraph [0005])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device of Mudalige and Ko to include the addition of the length and weight of a tractor and a trailer of Pilkington. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because it would enable the device of Mudalige and Ko to more accurately control the platooning of the vehicles by taking into account the combined size of the vehicles as suggested by Pilkington in paragraph [0005].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Mudalige and Ko teach the electronic device method according to claim 11.
Mudalige and Ko do not teach wherein the vehicles comprise a truck including a tractor and a trailer,
wherein a weight of the truck is identified as a sum of a weight of the tractor and a weight of the trailer, and
wherein a length of the truck is identified as a sum of a length of the tractor and a length of the trailer.
However, Pilkington teaches wherein the vehicles comprise a truck including a tractor and a trailer, (vehicle configuration/condition may refer to a set of characteristics of the vehicle which may influence the vehicle's stability (roll and/or yaw). For example, in a vehicle with a towed portion, the source of input data 342 may communicate the type of towed portion. In tractor-trailer arrangements, the type of trailer being towed by the tractor may influence the vehicle stability. This is evident, for example, when multiple trailer combinations (doubles and triples) are towed. Paragraph [0054])
wherein a weight of the truck is identified as a sum of a weight of the tractor and a weight of the trailer, and (However, holding a tight distance or spacing between platooned vehicles requires that careful attention be paid to various functional or environmental and operational characteristics and capabilities of the vehicles and other external conditions including the overall size of the platoon, weather conditions, relative braking abilities between vehicle pairs, relative acceleration abilities, relative load or cargo size and weight including required stopping distance, and the like. Paragraph [0005] At step 720 the platoon distance management system assigns a weight to the determination of whether there is an equal load distribution between vehicles. Paragraph [0088])
wherein a length of the truck is identified as a sum of a length of the tractor and a length of the trailer. (In addition to the above, maintaining a small distance or spacing between platooned vehicles gives greater benefit in terms of reduced energy consumption. However, holding a tight distance or spacing between platooned vehicles requires that careful attention be paid to various functional or environmental and operational characteristics and capabilities of the vehicles and other external conditions including the overall size of the platoon, weather conditions, relative braking abilities between vehicle pairs, relative acceleration abilities, relative load or cargo size and weight including required stopping distance, and the like. Special attention must also be paid to characteristics of the roadway such as roadway incline, decline, and turn radii. These various parameters implicate directly or indirectly the inter-vehicle safety considerations as well as the overall safety of multiple vehicle platoons. Paragraph [0005])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device method of Mudalige and Ko to include the addition of the length and weight of a tractor and a trailer of Pilkington. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because it would enable the device of Mudalige and Ko to more accurately control the platooning of the vehicles by taking into account the combined size of the vehicles as suggested by Pilkington in paragraph [0005].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20190259286 A1 teaches an apparatus and method for controlling platooning.
/JOSHUA JEFFREY PENKO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/ANSHUL SOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667