Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4, 9-11, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2005-026980 A to Miyazaki et al., hereinafter, “Miyazaki”.
Claim 2. Miyazaki teaches An information processing system comprising: [0003] An imaging system that counts the number of passing persons
a memory storing instructions; [0041] a RAM 62 that stores images and various data output from the imaging unit 4
and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: [0041] the main control unit 6 includes a main CPU 61 serving as a main body thereof
detect a person in a captured image; [0024] the imaging device 1 detects a person in the passage 9
specify a movement of the person from the captured image; [0041] detects people and counts the number of passages is introduced, and the movement route and the number of movements of customers in the store are obtained
determine a processing mode for the captured image based on the movement of the person and a place information where the captured image being captured; [0005] detects people and counts the number of passages is introduced, and the movement route and the number of movements of customers in the store (equivalent of place) are obtained.
[0089]…when the state of the moving body in the passage is abnormal, the state of the moving body can be observed in detail with a visible image by switching the operation mode of the imaging device 1 from the counting mode to the monitoring mode. (interpreted as processing mode)
and execute processing for the captured image, the processing corresponding to the processing mode. [0026] a monitoring mode process for acquiring a monitoring image indicating the state in the store is performed (step S6). This monitoring mode process is also continued until the operation mode is switched to the counting mode (No in step S8).
Claim 3. Miyazaki teaches wherein the movement of a person is related to an object. [0005] detect people and count their number of passes in stores such as supermarkets and convenience stores, determine customer movement routes and the number of movements within the store, and develop sales strategies based on these data. Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known in the art that a customer’s movement in a store includes interacting with item (object).
Claim 4. Miyazaki teaches wherein the movement of a person is leaving an object by the person. [0005] detect people and count their number of passes in stores such as supermarkets and convenience stores, determine customer movement routes and the number of movements within the store, and develop sales strategies based on these data. Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known in the art that a customer’s movement in a store includes interacting (remove/place) with item (object).
Claim 9. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 2. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 10. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 3. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 11. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 4. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 16. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 2. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 17. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 3. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 18. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 4. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8, 12-15 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005-026980 A to Miyazaki et al., hereinafter, “Miyazaki” in view of Intelligent Collaborative Surveillance System to Kumar et al., hereinafter, “Kumar”.
Claim 5. Miyazaki fails to explicitly teach set a plurality of cameras. Kumar, in the field of surveillance, teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: set a plurality of cameras; Fig.1. The figure shows a house which has nine surveillance cameras (numbered)
[Fig. 1] shows a plurality of cameras
specify the movement of the person from the plurality of cameras; [Fig. 1] Initially, Camera1 is ON and all the others are switched OFF. The software is intelligently configured to switch cameras ON and OFF based on the direction of motion recorded in the camera. When a person enters the house, Camera1 records activity and the direction of motion is determined. Since the direction of motion indicates that the person has entered the building, the next camera in the line, Camera2 is switched ON.
and determine the processing mode for each of the plurality of cameras based on the movement of the person. [Fig. 1] When a person enters the house, Camera1 records activity and the direction of motion is determined. Since the direction of motion indicates that the person has entered the building, the next camera in the line, Camera2 is switched ON. Examiner interprets ON and OFF to be recording ON or recording OFF, hence processing mode.
Fig 1. Demonstrates cameras 1 and 2 are ON, while cameras 3-9 are OFF.
[Fig. 1] Similarly, if a person moves left in the image of Camera2, Cameras 3 and 4 are switched ON. In the event of chaos, all the cameras are switched ON as shown in Fig. 2.
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Miyazaki with the teachings of Kumar [Abstract] for a new surveillance strategy and its implementation, in which multiple cameras work in a collaborative manner in order to reduce the number of effective video streams.
Claim 6. Kumar further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: determine a plurality of processing modes for each the camera, [Fig. 1] Initially, Camera1 is ON and all the others are switched OFF. The software is intelligently configured to switch cameras ON and OFF based on the direction of motion recorded in the camera. When a person enters the house, Camera1 records activity and the direction of motion is determined. Since the direction of motion indicates that the person has entered the building, the next camera in the line, Camera2 is switched ON.
Fig 1. Demonstrates cameras 1 and 2 are ON, while cameras 3-9 are OFF.
and execute processing for the captured image, the processing corresponding to the plurality of processing mode. [Fig. 1] Initially, Camera1 is ON and all the others are switched OFF. The software is intelligently configured to switch cameras ON and OFF based on the direction of motion recorded in the camera. When a person enters the house, Camera1 records activity and the direction of motion is determined. Examiner interprets when camera is ON (mode), the camera records the activity (executing).
Claim 7. Miyazaki fails to explicitly teach set a plurality of regions in the captured image. Kumar, in the field of surveillance, teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: set a plurality of regions in the captured image; Fig.1. The figure shows a house which has nine surveillance cameras (numbered)
[Fig. 1] shows a plurality of regions
[Introduction] surveillance systems monitor the activities in a particular region of interest and are often used for different purposes. The main objective of a surveillance system is to provide information about the relevant activities happening in a particular region of interest.
specify the movement of the person from the plurality of regions in the captured image; [Fig. 1] Initially, Camera1 is ON and all the others are switched OFF. The software is intelligently configured to switch cameras ON and OFF based on the direction of motion recorded in the camera. When a person enters the house, Camera1 records activity and the direction of motion is determined. Since the direction of motion indicates that the person has entered the building, the next camera in the line, Camera2 is switched ON.
and determine the processing mode for each of the plurality of regions based on the movement of the person [Fig. 1] When a person enters the house, Camera1 records activity and the direction of motion is determined. Since the direction of motion indicates that the person has entered the building, the next camera in the line, Camera2 is switched ON. Examiner interprets ON and OFF to be recording ON or recording OFF, hence processing mode.
Fig 1. Demonstrates cameras 1 and 2 are ON, while cameras 3-9 are OFF.
[Fig. 1] Similarly, if a person moves left in the image of Camera2, Cameras 3 and 4 are switched ON. In the event of chaos, all the cameras are switched ON as shown in Fig. 2.
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Miyazaki with the teachings of Kumar [Abstract] for a new surveillance strategy and its implementation, in which multiple cameras work in a collaborative manner in order to reduce the number of effective video streams.
Claim 8. Miyazaki fails to explicitly teach the processing mode differs for each of the plurality of regions. Kumar, in the field of surveillance, teaches wherein the processing mode differs for each of the plurality of regions. [Fig. 1] When a person enters the house, Camera1 records activity and the direction of motion is determined. Since the direction of motion indicates that the person has entered the building, the next camera in the line, Camera2 is switched ON. Examiner interprets ON and OFF to be recording ON or recording OFF, hence different processing mode.
Fig 1. Demonstrates cameras 1 and 2 are ON, while cameras 3-9 are OFF.
[Fig. 1] Similarly, if a person moves left in the image of Camera2, Cameras 3 and 4 are switched ON. In the event of chaos, all the cameras are switched ON as shown in Fig. 2.
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Miyazaki with the teachings of Kumar [Abstract] for a new surveillance strategy and its implementation, in which multiple cameras work in a collaborative manner in order to reduce the number of effective video streams.
Claim 12. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 5. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 13. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 6. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 14. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 7. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 15. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 8. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 19. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 5. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 20. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 6. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 21. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 7. See the above analysis and rationale.
Double Patenting
Claim 2 and (similarly recited claims 9 and 16) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No.12682648 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present application is a broader scope of the already patent US 12682648 B2, therefore this is an obviousness-type double patenting.
Present application
US 12682648 B2
An information processing system comprising:
An information processing system comprising:
a memory storing instructions;
a memory storing instructions;
and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform processes comprising:
detect a person in a captured image;
detecting a person in at least one of the plurality of regions in the image data;
specify a movement of the person from the captured image;
specifying a movement of the person in the image data;
determine a processing mode for the captured image based on the movement of the person and a place information where the captured image being captured;
determining, for each of the plurality of regions, a respective processing mode for the image data based on the movement of the person and location information related to the location where the image data is captured;
and execute processing for the captured image, the processing corresponding to the processing mode.
and executing processing for the image data, the processing corresponding to the respective processing mode for each of the plurality of regions.
Claim 3
Claim 12
Claim 4
Claim 13
Claim 7
Claim 11
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150030155 A1 to Park et al. and US 2015/0235366 A1 to Lee et al.
/DELOMIA L GILLIARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661