DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “laser beam polarization from water vapor used to calibrate the polarimeter”. However, there is no prior calibration of the polarimeter. Therefore, the limitation renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 16, 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Den Berg et al. (US 5,600,142; pub. Feb. 4, 1997) in view of Lawson et al. (US 2023/0098004 A1; pub. Mar. 30, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Van Den Berg et al. disclose: A method of monitoring the level of hydrogen peroxide gas (abstract), the method comprising: driving gas sampled from a system that includes hydrogen peroxide gas and water vapor to a gas cell (Abstract, col.2 L66-67 – col.3 L1-8, col.6 L44-60).
Van Den Berg et al. are silent about: passing a laser beam from a laser source at a known polarization state through the gas cell and the hydrogen peroxide gas and water vapor therein; creating an electrical field in the gas cell to reduce optical interference from water vapor while preserving the ability to more accurately measure the concentration of hydrogen peroxide gas in the gas cell; detecting a change in the polarization state of the laser beam after it passes through the hydrogen peroxide gas and water vapor; and based on the detected change in the polarization state of the laser beam, determining the concentration of the hydrogen peroxide gas in the gas cell.
In a similar field of endeavor Lawson et al. disclose: passing a laser beam from a laser source at a known polarization state through a gas cell and the gas therein (para. [0069], [0072]-[0079], [0119]); detecting a change in the polarization state of the laser beam after it passes through the gas (para. [0069], [0072]-[0079], [0119]); and based on the detected change in the polarization state of the laser beam, determining the concentration of the gas in the gas cell (para. [0069], [0072]-[0079], [0119]) creating an electrical field in the gas cell to reduce optical interference from water vapor while preserving the ability to more accurately measure the concentration of the gas in the gas cell (para. [0123], [0128], [0136]) motivated by the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio (Lawson et al. para. [0123]).
In light of the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio as taught by Lawson et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of Lawson et al. to measure the gas of Van Den Berg et al.
Regarding claim 2, Van Den Berg et al. disclose: an enclosure and gas is sampled from the enclosure following decontamination (Abstract sterilization, col.6 L44-60).
Regarding claim 3, Lawson et al. disclose: modulating the strength of the electrical field and/or the laser beam wavelength to improve the detection range of the gas concentration (para. [0049], [0080] [0102]) motivated by the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio (Lawson et al. para. [0123]).
Regarding claim 4, Lawson et al. disclose: polarization optics between the laser source and the gas cell to control the polarization state of the light (para. [0069], [0072]-[0079], [0119]) motivated by the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio (Lawson et al. para. [0123]).
Regarding claim 5, Van Den Berg et al. and Lawson et al. disclose: the polarization optics are configured to pass a known polarization of laser light through the gas sample exposed to the electrical field in the gas cell (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Lawson et al. disclose: a polarimeter downstream of the gas cell for detecting the change in the polarization state of the laser beam after it passes through the gas (para. [0075]) motivated by the benefits for an accurate, real-time gas concentration measurement (Ashrafi para. [0520]).
Regarding claim 7, Lawson et al. disclose: a calibration sequence which simultaneously measures changes in transmission and laser beam polarization from water vapor used to calibrate the polarimeter (para. [0086]) motivated by the benefits for an accurate, real-time gas concentration measurement (Ashrafi para. [0520]).
Regarding claim 8, Van Den Berg et al. and Lawson et al. disclose: in which the gas cell includes spaced electrodes connected across a voltage source for creating the electrical field and there is a which receives the laser beam after it exits the gas cell, the method further including delivering an output of the polarimeter to a data acquisition system to directly record the output, or to a phase sensitive detector which outputs a signal to the voltage source, laser source, or both (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 6).
Regarding claim 9, Van Den Berg et al. and Lawson et al. disclose: the laser source is a near infrared or infrared laser (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, see Abstract of Van Den Berg & para. [0002] of Lawson et al.).
Regarding claim 10, Van Den Berg et al. and Lawson et al. disclose: filling the enclosure with hydrogen peroxide gas to decontaminate the enclosure, driving gas including hydrogen peroxide gas and water vapor from the enclosure to a gas cell, passing a polarized laser beam from a laser source at a known polarization state through the gas cell and the hydrogen peroxide gas and water vapor therein, creating an electrical field in the gas cell to reduce interference of the water vapor while optically measuring the concentration of the hydrogen peroxide gas in the gas cell, detecting a change in the polarization state of the laser beam after it passes through the hydrogen peroxide gas and water vapor, and based on the detected change in the polarization state of the laser beam, determining the concentration of the hydrogen peroxide gas in the gas cell and barrier isolator; and purging the enclosure to remove hydrogen peroxide gas therefrom, driving enclosure gas including hydrogen peroxide gas and water vapor to a gas cell, passing a laser beam from a laser source at a known polarization state through the gas cell and the hydrogen peroxide gas and water vapor therein, creating an electrical field in the gas cell to reduce any interference of the water vapor in optically measuring the concentration of the hydrogen peroxide gas in the gas cell, detecting a change in the polarization state of the laser beam after it passes through the hydrogen peroxide gas and water vapor, and based on the detected change in the polarization state of the laser beam, determining the concentration of the hydrogen peroxide gas in the gas cell and enclosure (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, para. [0069], [0071]-[0072] of Lawson et al. teach purging the enclosure).
Regarding claim 11, Van Den Berg et al. and Lawson et al. disclose: A method of monitoring the level of an individual gas in a gas sample with the method comprising: passing a laser beam from a laser source at a known polarization state through the gas and vapor in a cell; creating an electrical field in the cell to reduce optical interference from other gases in the sample while preserving the ability to more accurately measure the concentration of the individual gas; detecting a change in the polarization state of the laser beam after it passes through the gas and vapor; and based on the detected change in the polarization state of the laser beam, determining the concentration of the gas (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the basis).
Regarding claim 12, Van Den Berg et al. disclose: the gas is a decontamination gas (Abstract sterilization, col.6 L44-60).
Regarding claim 13, Van Den Berg et al. disclose: the decontamination gas is comprised of hydrogen peroxide and water vapor (Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Lawson et al. disclose: modulating the strength of the electrical field and/or the laser beam wavelength to improve determination of the gas concentration (para. [0123], [0128], [0136]) motivated by the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio (Lawson et al. para. [0123]).
Regarding claim 16, Lawson et al. disclose: using a polarization optics to set the polarization state of the laser beam (para. [0073], [0075]) motivated by the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio (Lawson et al. para. [0123]).
Regarding claim 18, Lawson et al. disclose: a polarimeter for detecting the change in the polarization state of the laser beam after it passes through the gas (para. [0073], [0075]) motivated by the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio (Lawson et al. para. [0123]).
Regarding claim 19, Van Den Berg et al. and Lawson et al. disclose: the laser source is a near infrared or infrared laser (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, see Abstract of Van Den Berg & para. [0002] of Lawson et al.).
Regarding claim 20, Van Den Berg et al. and Lawson et al. disclose: A gas concentration level monitoring system comprising: a gas cell for containing a gas therein and including spaced electrodes therein; a laser subsystem configured to direct a laser beam having a known polarization state through the gas cell between the spaced electrodes; a power source connected to the electrodes for creating an electric field in the gas cell to reduce any optical interference from the vapor; and a detection subsystem configured to detect a change in the polarization state of the laser beam after it passes through the gas and vapor in the gas cell (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the basis).
Regarding claim 21, Lawson et al. disclose: the laser subsystem includes a laser source and a polarizer (para. [0069], [0072]-[0079], [0119]) motivated by the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio (Lawson et al. para. [0123]).
Regarding claim 22, Lawson et al. disclose: the detection subsystem includes a polarimeter providing an output (para. [0073], [0075]) motivated by the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio (Lawson et al. para. [0123]).
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Den Berg et al. (US 5,600,142; pub. Feb. 4, 1997) in view of Lawson et al. (US 2023/0098004 A1; pub. Mar. 30, 2023) and further in view of Renon et al. (US 2020/0408855 A1; pub. Dec. 31, 2020).
Regarding claim 17, the combined references are silent about: the polarizer is configured to polarize the laser beam at an angle of 45 degrees with respect to the orientation of the electrical field.
In a similar field of endeavor Renon discloses: the polarizer is configured to polarize the laser beam at an angle of 45 degrees with respect to the orientation of the electrical field (para. [0095]) motivated by the benefits for high-sensitivity gas measurement.
In light of the benefits for high-sensitivity gas measurement, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of Renon to measure the gas of Van Den Berg et al. and Lawson et al.
Claims 23 & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Den Berg et al. (US 5,600,142; pub. Feb. 4, 1997) in view of Lawson et al. (US 2023/0098004 A1; pub. Mar. 30, 2023) and further in view of Ding et al. (CN 108287322A; pub. Jul. 17, 2018).
Regarding claim 23, the combined references are silent about: the detection subsystem further includes a lock-in amplifier responsive to the polarimeter output and configured to demodulate the polarimeter output.
In a similar field of endeavor Ding et al. disclose: the detection subsystem further includes a lock-in amplifier responsive to the polarimeter output and configured to demodulate the polarimeter output (para. [0058]) motivated by the benefits for improved measurement accuracy.
In light of the benefits for improved measurement accuracy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of Ding et al. to measure the gas of Van Den Berg et al. and Lawson et al.
Regarding claim 24, Van Den Berg et al., Lawson et al. and Ding et al. disclose: the lock-in amplifier is further configured to provide a reference output to modulate the laser subsystem, the power source, or both (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, the prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: applying Fast Fourier Transform filtering during detecting a change in the polarization state of the laser beam to remove optical interferences from parasitic etalon fringes not associated with polarization changes from gases.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884