DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for foreign priority based on a Patent Applications filed on 9/29/22. It is noted that Applicant has filed a certified copy of the application as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b).
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 6/2/26 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for Claims 1-6. Accordingly, the rejections stand.
The application of 35 U.S.C. section 112(f) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment filed on 6/2/26.
The rejection to Claims 1, 3, 5-6 under 35 U.S.C. section 112(b) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment and remarks filed on 6/2/26.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks on Pages 8-12, Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 6/2/26 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully submits KAWANO in view of YU does read upon the claims as recited and construed whereby KAWANO was not relied upon to disclose ‘a recording end command’ (See rejection contained herein). With regards to YU, Examiner respectfully submits the prior does read upon the limitations as recited and construed whereby Applicant’s claim language does not recite ‘completes a metafile associated with the moving image data using information received at the time of the recording start command and metadata received at the time of the recording end command’ or recite language to exclude ‘batch summarization of metadata’ or ‘single recording commands’ (See rejection contained herein).
Regarding Claim 6, Applicant’s claim language does not specifically recite ‘recording apparatus that actively sends requests for information/metadata to the image capturing apparatus upon reception of the recording start/end commands’ (See rejection contained herein). Accordingly, the rejections stand for the independent as well as dependent claims whereby Examiner has provided a prima facia case for the prior art combination to reject the instant claims as amended.
FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWANO (US Pub. No.: 2014-0079340) in view of YU et al. (US Pub. No.: 2016-0134767).
As per Claim 1 KAWANO discloses A recording apparatus including a communication interface and configured to record moving image data received from an image capturing apparatus via the communication interface, comprising (Figs. 1, 8-10 recording interface 108; image capture 91; network 93 [0023-0024] [0060-0062]):
at least one processor and/or circuit (Figs. 1, 8-10 interfaces 101, 102 [0023-0024]); and at least one memory storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor and/or circuit causes the at least one processor and/or circuit to perform operations comprising (Figs. 1, 8-10 interfaces 101, 102 [0023-0024] [0062]):
recording a moving image file by starting recording of the moving image data from the image capturing apparatus (Figs. 1, 8-10 movie files with metadata association for each frame - via recording interface 108; image capture 91; network 93 [0023-0024] [0055] [0060-0062]);
and starting, based on information concerning the creation of a metafile (Figs. 1, 8-10 metadata 202 and image 201 for metafile creation – information movie file [0055-0056] [0060-0062]), creation of the metafile associated with the moving image data (Figs. 1, 8-10 information movie file [0055-0056] [0060-0062]), and completing the metafile using metadata received at time of the reception (Figs. 1, 8-10 metafile and summaries complete [0034, 0044] [0049, 0051][0060] – network driven [0024])
KAWANO does not disclose but YU discloses in accordance with reception of a recording start command via the communication interface and ending the recording of the moving image data in accordance with reception of a recording end command via the communication interface (Figs. 1-4 server command to stop and start recording times to the camera – cloud monitoring communicator 31 [Abstract] [0021-0022] [0024, 0026]); the information being received at time of the reception of the recording start command via the communication interface (Figs. 1-4 camera 20 server 30 communication 31 [Abstract] [0021-0022] [0024, 0026]) reception of the recording end command vie the communication interface (Figs. 1-4 end commands [Abstract] [0024, 0026])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in accordance with reception of a recording start command via the communication interface and ending the recording of the moving image data in accordance with reception of a recording end command via the communication interface; the information being received at time of the reception of the recording start command via the communication interface; reception of the recording end command vie the communication interface as taught by YU into the system of KAWANO because of the benefit taught by YU to specifically teach send/receive stop and start network driven commands to control external recording of moving image data whereby KAWANO id directed towards the need to control external recording of moving image data and related metadata by sending commands but is not specific about start and stop times for the commands and would thereby benefit from the inclusion of these important data commands to specify to/by the user the timing requirements for image capture and data transfer.
As per Claim 2 KAWANO discloses The recording apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation further comprises (See said analysis for Claim 1):
information concerning the creation of the metafile at the start of the recording from the image capturing apparatus (Figs. 1, 8-10 movie files with metadata association for each frame - via recording interface 108; image capture 91; network 93 – network drives the start and end of requests [0023-0024] [0049] [0055] [0060-0062]); metadata at the end of the recording from the image capturing apparatus (Figs. 1, 8-10 metadata interface 202 and image interface 201 for metafile creation – information movie file – network drives the start and end of requests [0023-0024] [0034] [0049] [0055-0056] [0060-0062])
KAWANO does not disclose but YU discloses receiving the recording start command and the recording end command from an external control apparatus via the communication interface (Figs. 1-4 communication 31 for server 30 [0021-0022] [0024] [0026-0027]); requesting, upon receiving the recording start command (Figs. 1-4 start and end commands [Abstract] communication 31 for server 30 – request data [0021-0022] [0024] [0026-0027]); and requesting, upon receiving the recording end command (Figs. 1-4 start and end commands [Abstract] communication 31 for server 30 [0021-0022] [0024] [0026-0027]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 2)
As per Claim 3 KAWANO discloses A control method of a recording apparatus including a communication interface and configured to record moving image data received from an image capturing apparatus via the communication interface, comprising (Figs. 1, 8-10 recording interface 108; image capture 91; network 93 [0023-0024] [0060-0062]):
recording a moving image file by starting recording of the moving image data from the image capturing apparatus (See said analysis for Claim 1); and starting, based on information concerning the creation of a metafile, creation of the metafile associated with the moving image data (See said analysis for Claim 1), and completing the metafile using metadata received at time of the reception (See said analysis for Claim 1)
KAWANO does not disclose but YU discloses in accordance with reception of a recording start command via the communication interface and ending the recording of the moving image data in accordance with reception of a recording end command via the communication interface (See said analysis for Claim 1); the information being received at time of the reception of the recording start command via the communication interface (See said analysis for Claim 1); reception of the recording end command via the communication interface (See said analysis for Claim 1)
As per Claim 4 KAWANO discloses A computer-readable recording medium on which is recorded a program for (Figs. 1, 8-10 [0068-0069]) KAWANO in view of YU discloses causing a computer to execute the method according to claim 3 (See said analysis for Claim 3).
As per Claim 5 KAWANO discloses A system comprising an image capturing apparatus connected to a network, and a recording apparatus, wherein the image capturing apparatus comprises (Figs. 1, 8-10 system for recording interface 108; image capture 91; network 93 [0023-0024] [0060-0062]):
at least one processor and/or circuit (Figs. 1, 8-10 interfaces 101, 102 [0023-0024]); and at least one memory storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor (Figs. 1, 8-10 interfaces 101, 102 [0023-0024]) and/or circuit of the image capturing apparatus (either or), causes the at least one processor and/or circuit of the image capturing apparatus to perform operations comprising (Figs. 1, 8-10 interfaces 101, 102 [0023-0026] [0055] [0062]):
transmitting moving image data obtained by image capturing by image capturing interface to the recording apparatus (Figs. 1, 8-10 movie files captured and transmitted to network recording apparatus – control interface 108 transmit [0023-0024] [0055] [0060-0062]);
and transmitting, information concerning creation of a metafile associated with the moving image data at time of the start of the recording to the recording apparatus (Figs. 1, 8-10 recording control interface to transmit via interface 108 metafile summary data 107 [0023-0024] [0049-0051] [0055] [0060-0062]),
and transmitting, metadata at time of the end of the recording to the recording apparatus, and the recording apparatus comprises (Figs. 1, 8-10 metafile and summaries complete [0034, 0044] [0049, 0051][0060] – network driven [0024]):
at least one processor and/or circuit (Figs. 9-10 wired wan/Lan [0062-0064]); and at least one memory storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor (Figs. 1, 8-10 interfaces 101, 102 [0023-0024]) and/or circuit of the image capturing apparatus (either or) causes the at least one processor and/or circuit of the recording apparatus to perform operations comprising (Figs. 9-10 network 93 [0022-0024] [0062-0064]):
recording a moving image file by starting the recording of the moving image data from the image capturing apparatus (See said analysis for Claim 1); starting, based on information concerning the creation of the metafile, creation of the metafile associated with the moving image data (See said analysis for Claim 1), and completing the metafile using metadata received at time of the reception (See said analysis for Claim 1)
KAWANO does not disclose but YU discloses transmitting, upon receiving an instruction to start recording, a recording start command to the recording apparatus and transmitting (Figs. 1-4 cloud server transmitter - command start recording times to the camera – [Abstract] [0021-0022] [0024, 0026]), upon receiving an instruction to end the recording, a recording end command to the recording apparatus (Figs. 1-4 cloud server transmitter - command to stop recording times to the camera – [Abstract] [0021-0022] [0024, 0026]); upon receiving the instruction to start the recording (See said analysis for Claim 1), upon receiving the instruction to end the recording (See said analysis for Claim 1) in accordance with reception of the recording start command and ending the recording of the moving image data in accordance with reception of the recording end command (See said analysis for Claim 1); the information being received at time of the reception of the recording start command (See said analysis for Claim 1); reception of the recording end command (See said analysis for Claim 1) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 5)
As per Claim 6 KAWANO discloses A system comprising an image capturing apparatus connected to a network, a recording apparatus, and a control apparatus configured to control the recording apparatus (Figs. 1, 8-10 control interface 102, 108 [0023-0024] [0060-0062]), wherein the control apparatus comprises (See said analysis for Claim 5):
at least one processor and/or circuit (See said analysis for Claim 5); and at least one memory storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor (Figs. 1, 8-10 interfaces 101, 102 [0023-0024]) and/or circuit of the control apparatus (either or) causes the at least one processor and/or circuit of the control apparatus to perform operations comprising (Figs. 1, 8-10 control interface 102, 108 [0023-0024] [0060-0062]):
the recording apparatus comprises (See said analysis for Claim 5): at least one processor and/or circuit (See said analysis for Claim 5); and at least one memory storing computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor (Figs. 1, 8-10 interfaces 101, 102 [0023-0024]) and/or circuit of the recording apparatus (either or) causes the at least one processor and/or circuit of the recording apparatus to perform operations comprising (See said analysis for Claim 5):
receiving moving image data from the image capturing apparatus (Figs. 1, 8-10 of network 93 [0023-0024] [0060-0062]); recording a moving image file by starting recording of the moving image data (See said analysis for Claim 1 and Claim 5) information concerning creation of a metafile at the start of the recording from the image capturing apparatus (Figs. 1, 8-10 metadata interface 202 and image interface 201 for metafile creation – information movie file [0055-0056] [0060-0062]);
starting, based on information obtained by the request (Figs. 1, 8-10 internal or via commands externally [0034, 0044] [0049, 0051][0060] – network drives the start and end of requests [0023-0024] [0049] [0055] [0060-0062]), the creation of the metafile associated with the moving image data (See said analysis for Claim 5), metadata at the end of the recording from the image capturing apparatus (See said analysis for Claim 5), and completing the metafile using the metadata obtained by the request (Figs. 1, 8-10 metafile and summaries complete [0034, 0044] [0049, 0051][0060] – network drives the start and end of requests [0023-0024] [0049] [0055] [0060-0062]),
and the image capturing apparatus comprises: at least one processor and/or circuit (See said analysis for Claim 5); and at least one memory storing computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor (Figs. 1, 8-10 interfaces 101, 102 [0023-0024]) and/or circuit of the image capturing apparatus (either or) causes the at least one processor and/or circuit of the image capturing apparatus to perform operations comprising (See said analysis for Claim 5):
transmitting the moving image data obtained by an image capturing interface to the recording apparatus (See said analysis for Claim 5);
transmitting information concerning creation of a metafile and a metadata in accordance with a requests from the recording apparatus (Figs. 1, 8-10 recording control interface to transmit via interface 108 metafile summary data 107 [0023-0024] - metafile and summaries complete [0034, 0044] [0049-0051] [0055] [0060-0062])
KAWANO does not disclose but YU discloses transmitting a recording start command to the recording apparatus in accordance with an instruction to start recording from a user (Figs. 1-4 cloud server transmitter - eventual from at least starting user to setup/send command to stop and start recording times to the camera – [Abstract] [0021-0022] [0024, 0026]), and transmitting a recording end command to the recording apparatus in accordance with an instruction to end the recording from the user (Figs. 1-4 cloud server transmitter - eventual from at least starting user to setup/send command to stop and start recording times to the camera – [Abstract] [0021-0022] [0024, 0026]); in accordance with reception of the recording start command and ending the recording of the moving image data in accordance with reception of the recording end command (See said analysis for Claim 1); requesting, upon receiving the recording start command (See said analysis for Claim 5); obtained by the request, request, upon receiving the recording end command (See said analysis for Claim 5) (The motivation that applied in Claim 5 applies equally to Claim 6)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Eileen Adams whose telephone number is (571) 270-3688. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Thurs from 7:30-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, William Vaughn can be reached on (571) 272-3922. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4688.
/EILEEN M ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481