DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 19, 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-14, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carter (US 2025/0329202).
As per claim 12, Carter discloses a system (entry management system, EM, paragraph 0134) for deterring an unknown person (101) at a door ((figure 1), comprising:
an exterior door lock interface (10) at the door (paragraph 0145-0146) including:
an illumination device (28, 32, paragraph 0139); and
electronics including a sensor (14, 22, 24, paragraph 0138) and at least one processor (paragraphs 0074 and 0144-0145), and configured to:
sense, by the sensor, whether a person approaches the door (paragraphs 0007, 0017, 0065, 0096, 0123, 0135, 0139, 0147);
determine, by the at least one processor, whether the person is unknown;
and
in response to determining that the person is unknown, activate, by the at
least one processor, the illumination device on the exterior door lock
interface to be in a deterrence state, otherwise, deactivate the illumination device to be in a non-deterrence state or maintain the illumination device in a deactivated state.
As per claim 13, Carter discloses the electronics, in sensing that a person approaches the door, are further configured to (paragraphs 0135-0136):
capture at least one image inclusive of the person; and determine that the person captured in the at least one image is positioned proximate to the door.
As per claim 14, Carter discloses the electronics, in sensing that a person approaches the door, are further configured to sense distance of a person from the door to be within a predetermined distance (paragraphs 0175, 0179 and 0187).
As per claim 19, Carter discloses the electronics further include an antenna and signal processor, and are further (paragraphs 0078, 0107, and 0177-0179) configured to:
sense a wireless signal of an electronic device with the person approaching the door;
determine whether an identifier associated with the electronic device is registered as an approved identifier; and
in response to determining that the identifier is not registered, activate the illumination device to be in the deterrence state if in a non-deterrence state,
otherwise, deactivate the illumination device to be in the non-deterrence state.
As per claim 20, Carter discloses the electronics are further configured to: store, in a non-transitory memory, an identification of a known person that a user of the exterior door lock interface wants to notify a monitoring service or public authority that the known person approaches the door; in response to determining that the person is the known person, generate a message indicative of the identification of the known person; and communicate the message to cause a notification to be communicated to the monitoring service or public authority (paragraphs 0068, 0154 and 0317).
As per claims 1-3, 8-11, The method claims 1-3 and 8-11 are essentially the same in scope as system claims 12-14 and 19-20 above and are rejected similarly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TAI T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 June 11, 2026