DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsui et al. (CN 100496980 C; herein referred to as “Hatsui”). Note that references to Hatsui will be using the attached annotated Espacenet English copy referencing the highlighted portions of various pdf pages.
With respect to Claim 1, Hatsui teaches a discharge element substrate (“head substrate H1110”), comprising:
a plurality of discharge elements (“discharge port group H1108”) configured to discharge liquid housed in a liquid chamber (i.e., ink can discharge from ink flow path formed by “ink flow path wall H1106”) from a discharge port (“discharge port H1107”) by energy generated by an energy element (i.e., heat energy from an “electrothermal conversion element H1103”) provided to a substrate (i.e., portion heated via “H1103” within “head substrate H1110”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9; Fig. 5 & 13). The Examiner notes to Applicant that each individual discharge element within the plurality of discharge elements “H1108” is composed of its own respective liquid chamber formed by “H1106”, discharge port “H1107”, and energy element “H1103” (Hatsui: Fig. 5).
a first electrode (i.e., pad with “VH wiring H1114” or, alternatively, pad with “GNDH wiring H1113”) configured to apply voltage to the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., “H1114” supplies VH power to each of the energy elements “H1103” in the discharge elements “H1108”, or alternatively, “H1113” wiring is connected to drive elements “H1116”, which then drive the energy elements “H1103” of each of the discharge elements in “H1108”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9 & 13; Fig. 5 & 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the wiring connecting the electrode “H1113” to the drive elements “H1116” are configured to apply voltage given their structure within the substrate and their ability to drive the energy elements “H1103” to discharge ink.
a selection circuit (“H1112”) configured to select any one of the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., “H1112” selects a drive element “H1116”, which then drives the energy element “H1103” of one of the discharge elements in “H1108”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 6, 9, & 13; Fig. 5, 11, & 13); and
a second electrode (i.e., pad with “VH wiring H1114” or, alternatively, pad with “GNDH wiring H1113”) configured to apply voltage to the discharge element (i.e., “H1114” supplies VH power to each of the energy elements “H1103” in the discharge elements “H1108”, or alternatively, “H1113” wiring is connected to drive elements “H1116”, which then drive the energy elements “H1103” of each of the discharge elements in “H1108”) selected by the selection circuit (“H112”) such that the discharge element is caused to discharge liquid (i.e., “H1112” selects a drive element “H1116”, which then drives the energy element “H1103” of one of the discharge elements in “H1108”, where the energy element “H1103” causes liquid to discharge via generating a “bubble” or ink that is discharged from “1107”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9 & 13; Fig. 5, 11, & 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the wiring connecting the second electrode “H1113” to the drive elements “H1116” are configured to apply voltage given their structure within the substrate and their ability to drive the energy elements “H1103” to discharge ink. Also, Examiner notes to Applicant, that the second electrode would be the alternative option to the first electrode (i.e., if the first electrode is “H1113”, then the second electrode is “H1114” whereas if the first electrode is “H1114”, then the second electrode is “H1113”).
wherein:
the plurality of discharge elements (“discharge port group H1108”) are arranged along a first direction (i.e., Hatsui’s Fig. 5 shows discharge ports “H1107” associated with each discharge element, wherein ports are arranged in the length-wise direction of the substrate “H1110”).
and the first electrode (i.e., pad with “VH wiring H1114” or, alternatively, pad with “GNDH wiring H1113”) is connected to the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., “H1114” supplies VH power to each of the energy elements “H1103” in the discharge elements “H1108”, or alternatively, “H1113” wiring is connected to drive elements “H1116”, which then drive the energy elements “H1103” of each of the discharge elements in “H1108”) in common along the first direction of the substrate (i.e., length-wise direction of the substrate “H1110”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9 & 13; Fig. 5 & 13). Examiner notes to Applicant that “H1102”, as shown in Hatsui’s Fig. 13, is directly overlaying “H1108” and it respective discharge elements, as shown in Hatsui’s Fig. 5.
With respect to Claim 2, Hatsui teaches the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) according to claim 1, wherein two first electrodes (i.e., two pad with “VH wiring H1114”) are formed in parallel so as to sandwich the plurality of discharge elements (“discharge port group H1108”) arranged along the first direction (i.e., length-wise direction of the substrate “H1110”). Examiner notes to Applicant that “H1102”, as shown in Hatsui’s Fig. 13, is directly overlaying “H1108” and it respective discharge elements, as shown in Hatsui’s Fig. 5.
With respect to Claim 3, Hatsui teaches the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) according to claim 2, wherein:
a part of the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., some of the discharge elements in “H1108”, including their respective energy elements “H1103”) are connected to one of the first electrodes (i.e., “H1114” on the right side in Fig. 13; Hatsui: Fig. 5, 11, & 13).
and a remaining part of the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., the other discharge elements in “H1108”, including their respective energy elements “H1103”) are connected to the other of the first electrodes (i.e., “H1114” on the left side in Fig. 13; Hatsui: Fig. 5, 11, & 13).
With respect to Claim 4, Hatsui teaches the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., discharge elements in “H1108”, including their respective energy elements “H1103”) are connected to the one of the first electrodes (i.e., “H1114” on the right side in Fig. 13) and the other of the first electrodes (i.e., “H1114” on the left side in Fig. 13) alternatingly (i.e., see annotated figure below for view of electrodes alternatingly connected to the discharge elements, wherein discharge elements are numbered in order of placement in the first direction [length-wise]; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9; Fig. 5, 11, & 13).
With respect to Claim 5, Hatsui teaches the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of discharge elements (“discharge port group H1108”) are distributed to the one of the first electrodes (i.e., “H1114” on the right side in Fig. 13) and the other of the first electrodes (i.e., “H1114” on the left side in Fig. 13) with a group of a predetermined number of discharge elements (i.e., Hatsui teaches a predetermined number of discharge elements in “H1108”, as shown in Hatsui’s Fig. 5, which are then shown as distributed between the two first electrodes “H1114” in subsequently predetermined numbers of discharge elements, as shown in annotated Hatsui’s Fig. 11 & 13 above; Hatsui: Fig. 5, 11, & 13; also see annotated Hatsui figures above).
With respect to Claim 6, Hatsui teaches the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) according to claim 3, wherein two second electrodes (i.e., two pads with “GNDH wiring H1113”) are formed in parallel along the first direction (i.e., length-wise direction of the substrate “H1110”) so as to further sandwich the two first electrodes (i.e., two pad with “VH wiring H1114; Hatsui: Fig. 13; also see annotated Fig. 13 above).
With respect to Claim 7, Hatsui teaches the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) according to claim 6, further comprising a plurality of drive circuits (“drive elements H1116”) corresponding to the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., each drive element “H1116” then drives the energy element “H1103” of each of the discharge elements in “H1108”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 6, 9, & 13; Fig. 5, 11, & 13), respectively, wherein:
the selection circuit (“H1112”) is configured to select, from among the plurality of drive circuits, the drive circuit corresponding to the discharge element to be driven (i.e., “H1112” selects a drive element “H1116”, which then drives the energy element “H1103” of one of the discharge elements in “H1108”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 6, 9, & 13; Fig. 5, 11, & 13); and
the second electrode (i.e., pad with “GNDH wiring H1113”) is configured to apply voltage to the discharge element through the selection circuit and the drive circuit (i.e., second electrode “H1113” wiring is connected to drive elements “H1116”, which, when selected by the selection circuit “H1112”, then drives the energy element “H1103” of one of the discharge elements in “H1108”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9 & 13; Fig. 5, 11, & 13). In other words, a specific discharge element “H1108” has voltage applied via the second electrode “H1113” when the selection circuit “H1112” selects a specific drive circuit “H1116”, and subsequently an energy element “H1113”, associated with a specific discharge element “H1108”.
With respect to Claim 8, Hatsui teaches the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) according to claim 1, wherein, in each of the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., each of the discharge elements in “H1108”), a distance to the first electrode (i.e., pad with “VH wiring H1114”) is smaller than a distance to the second electrode (i.e., pad with “GNDH wiring H1113”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9 & 13; Fig. 5 & 13). Examiner notes to Applicant that “H1102”, as shown in Hatsui’s Fig. 13, is directly overlaying “H1108” and it respective discharge elements, as shown in Hatsui’s Fig. 5. Therefore, given Hatsui’s Fig. 13 depicts that “H1102” is a smaller distance from the first electrode “H1114” than the second electrode “H1113”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that each of the plurality of discharge elements of “H1108” have a smaller distance from the first electrode “H1114” than the second electrode “H1113”.
With respect to Claim 9, Hatsui teaches the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode is a power supply electrode (i.e., pad with “VH wiring H1114” wherein VH power is supplied to the energy element “H1103” via the “H1114” wiring), and the second electrode is a ground electrode (i.e., pad with “GNDH wiring H1113”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 5, 9, & 13; Fig. 5, 11, & 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that pad with “GNDH” wiring is a ground electrode, given its structure and usage and that “GNDH” is a common term in the art to signify “ground”.
With respect to Claim 10, Hatsui teaches the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode is a ground electrode (i.e., pad with “GNDH wiring H1113”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 5, 9, & 13; Fig. 5, 11, & 13), and the second electrode is a power supply electrode (i.e., pad with “VH wiring H1114” wherein VH power is supplied to the energy element “H1103” via the “H1114” wiring). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that pad with “GNDH” wiring is a ground electrode, given its structure and usage and that “GNDH” is a common term in the art to signify “ground”.
With respect to Claim 11, Hatsui teaches the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode (i.e., pad with “VH wiring H1114”) is divided into a plurality of electrodes in the first direction (i.e., the first electrode “H1114” is two parts; Hatsui: Fig. 13 as well as annotated Fig. 11 & 13 above).
With respect to Claim 12, Hatsui teaches a recording apparatus (“recording device”), comprising a recording head (“H1100”) including a discharge element substrate (“head substrate H1110”; Hatsui: Pdf pg. 5; Fig. 1 & 5), wherein:
the discharge element substrate (“H1110”) comprises:
a plurality of discharge elements (“discharge port group H1108”) configured to discharge liquid housed in a liquid chamber (i.e., ink can discharge from ink flow path formed by “ink flow path wall H1106”) from a discharge port (“discharge port H1107”) by energy generated by an energy element (i.e., heat energy from an “electrothermal conversion element H1103”) provided to a substrate (i.e., portion heated via “H1103” within “head substrate H1110”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9; Fig. 5 & 13);
a first electrode (i.e., pad with “VH wiring H1114” or, alternatively, pad with “GNDH wiring H1113”) configured to apply voltage to the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., “H1114” supplies VH power to each of the energy elements “H1103” in the discharge elements “H1108”, or alternatively, “H1113” wiring is connected to drive elements “H1116”, which then drive the energy elements “H1103” of each of the discharge elements in “H1108”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9 & 13; Fig. 5 & 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the wiring connecting the electrode “H1113” to the drive elements “H1116” are configured to apply voltage given their structure within the substrate and their ability to drive the energy elements “H1103” to discharge ink.
selection circuit (“H1112”) configured to select any one of the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., “H1112” selects a drive element “H1116”, which then drives the energy element “H1103” of one of the discharge elements in “H1108”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 6, 9, & 13; Fig. 5, 11, & 13); and
a second electrode (i.e., pad with “VH wiring H1114” or, alternatively, pad with “GNDH wiring H1113”) configured to apply voltage to the discharge element (i.e., “H1114” supplies VH power to each of the energy elements “H1103” in the discharge elements “H1108”, or alternatively, “H1113” wiring is connected to drive elements “H1116”, which then drive the energy elements “H1103” of each of the discharge elements in “H1108”) selected by the selection circuit (“H112”) such that the discharge element is caused to discharge liquid (i.e., “H1112” selects a drive element “H1116”, which then drives the energy element “H1103” of one of the discharge elements in “H1108”, where the energy element “H1103” causes liquid to discharge via generating a “bubble” or ink that is discharged from “1107”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9 & 13; Fig. 5, 11, & 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the wiring connecting the second electrode “H1113” to the drive elements “H1116” are configured to apply voltage given their structure within the substrate and their ability to drive the energy elements “H1103” to discharge ink. Also, Examiner notes to Applicant, that the second electrode would be the alternative option to the first electrode (i.e., if the first electrode is “H1113”, then the second electrode is “H1114” whereas if the first electrode is “H1114”, then the second electrode is “H1113”).
Wherein:
the plurality of discharge elements (“discharge port group H1108”) are arranged along a first direction (i.e., Hatsui’s Fig. 5 shows discharge ports “H1107” associated with each discharge element, wherein ports are arranged in the length-wise direction of the substrate “H1110”).
and the first electrode (i.e., pad with “VH wiring H1114” or, alternatively, pad with “GNDH wiring H1113”) is connected to the plurality of discharge elements (i.e., “H1114” supplies VH power to each of the energy elements “H1103” in the discharge elements “H1108”, or alternatively, “H1113” wiring is connected to drive elements “H1116”, which then drive the energy elements “H1103” of each of the discharge elements in “H1108”) in common along the first direction of the substrate (i.e., length-wise direction of the substrate “H1110”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 9 & 13; Fig. 5 & 13). Examiner notes to Applicant that “H1102”, as shown in Hatsui’s Fig. 13, is directly overlaying “H1108” and it respective discharge elements, as shown in Hatsui’s Fig. 5.
and an image is recorded on a recording material (“recording medium 108”) by liquid discharged from the discharge element substrate (i.e., ink discharged from the discharge element substrate “H1110” of the “recording head H1100”; Hatsui: pdf pg. 8-9).
Conclusion
/SHLOMIT CHELST/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853