DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending.
This is in response to the amendment filed 7/21/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that, the insert is separate from the flange, square adapter couples directly to the shaft, and screws are located between flange ring and insert) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Since applicant’s arguments and amendments are not persuasive, this action has been made Final.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/21/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The amendment to the abstract has been entered.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: in claim 1, “circumferential opening”.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: screw means in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s argument overcomes the claim objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s argument overcomes the claim rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ferrero (US 20100163773).
Regarding claim 1, Ferrero discloses an adapter (3) for connecting an actuator (1) to a manually operable shut-off valve (2), see Fig. 1, and 28 Fig. 4,5
- with a flange (36),
- with a fastening section (the section at 30’,32,32’) formed on the flange for fastening the actuator and
- with a square adapter (502) for transmitting a torque from the actuator to a switching shaft of the shut-off valve, wherein
- the flange has a flange ring (30’) and an insert (32’) arranged in the flange ring (16)
- the insert (32’,380’) has an internal opening (at 35 para.0036) with an internal cross-section adapted to an external dimension (at outer diameter of 26 or 20) of the shut-off valve,
- the insert is designed as a ring (the insert is round para.0036,and therefore considered as a ring) having a circumferential opening (the cuts 38 extend down to 380’) and can be compressed radially (at 302),
- the flange ring and the insert have corresponding conical contact surfaces (at the bottom of 38’ where 304 contacts 302) and
- screw means (34’/300’) are provided for bracing the flange ring and the insert in an axial direction relative to one another in order to reduce the internal diameter of the internal opening (para.0042,0043).
Regarding claim 6, Ferrero discloses the internal cross-section of the internal opening of the insert has radially outward-facing directed recesses (380’, para.0042 which are similar in Fig. 1-3, para.0021) for receiving stop cams (238, see Fig. 1) arranged on the outside of the shut-off valve.
Regarding claim 8, Ferrero discloses a system - with the adapter according to claim 1 and - with a manually operable shut-off valve (2), - wherein the shut-off valve has an outer contour (at 20) corresponding to the inner contour (the inner surface of 380’ surrounding 20, see Fig. 4) of the insert (32’,380’) of the flange (36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrero ‘773 in view of Firth (US 2402743).
Regarding claims 2-5, Ferrero discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that; the screw means have at least two internal threads in the flange ring, at least two blind holes, each having a shoulder, in the insert and at least two grub screws, and the internal threads are designed as laterally open partial threads and the blind holes are designed as laterally open partial openings in a region of the conical contact surfaces, and the insert has an internal thread for receiving a grub screw and - the flange ring has a blind hole corresponding to the internal thread, and the internal thread and the blind hole are laterally open in the region of the conical contact surfaces.
Firth teaches the use of the screw means (7-10,16-19, see Fig. 1-2) have at least two internal threads (8) in the flange ring (2), at least two blind holes (9), each having a shoulder (11), in the insert (3) and at least two grub screws (10), and
the internal threads (8) are designed as laterally open partial threads and the blind holes (9) are designed as laterally open partial openings in a region of the conical contact surfaces (the mating conical surfaces of 2 and 3 shown in figures 1,2), and
the insert (3) has an internal thread (16) for receiving a grub screw (10) and - the flange ring (2) has a blind hole (17) corresponding to the internal thread (16, see Fig. 2), and
the internal thread and the blind hole are laterally open in the region of the conical contact surfaces (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ internal threads, blind holes and screws as taught by Firth into Ferrero to have; the screw means have at least two internal threads in the flange ring, at least two blind holes, each having a shoulder, in the insert and at least two grub screws, and the internal threads are designed as laterally open partial threads and the blind holes are designed as laterally open partial openings in a region of the conical contact surfaces, and the insert has an internal thread for receiving a grub screw and - the flange ring has a blind hole corresponding to the internal thread, and the internal thread and the blind hole are laterally open in the region of the conical contact surfaces, in order to provide a secondary wedging/de-wedging means which reduces weight and savings of metal required for mountings and provides for easy installment and quickly demounting (Firth, col. 1, lns. 10-42).
The following rejections are given should the above not be persuasive.
Claim(s) 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrero ‘773 in view of Firth (US 2402743), and further in view of Kellenberger et al. (US 6309136).
Regarding claims 2-5, Ferrero discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that; the screw means have at least two internal threads in the flange ring, at least two blind holes, each having a shoulder, in the insert and at least two grub screws, and the internal threads are designed as laterally open partial threads and the blind holes are designed as laterally open partial openings in a region of the conical contact surfaces, and the insert has an internal thread for receiving a grub screw and - the flange ring has a blind hole corresponding to the internal thread, and the internal thread and the blind hole are laterally open in the region of the conical contact surfaces.
Firstly, Firth teaches the use of the screw means (7-10,16-19, see Fig. 1-2) have at least two internal threads (8) in the flange ring (2), at least two blind holes (9), each having a shoulder (11), in the insert (3) and at least two screws (10), and
the internal threads (8) are designed as laterally open partial threads and the blind holes (9) are designed as laterally open partial openings in a region of the conical contact surfaces (the mating conical surfaces of 2 and 3 shown in figures 1,2), and the insert (3) has an internal thread (16) for receiving a screw (10) and - the flange ring (2) has a blind hole (17) corresponding to the internal thread (16, see Fig. 2), and
the internal thread and the blind hole are laterally open in the region of the conical contact surfaces (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ internal threads, blind holes and screws as taught by Firth into Ferrero to have; the screw means have at least two internal threads in the flange ring, at least two blind holes, each having a shoulder, in the insert and at least two screws, and the internal threads are designed as laterally open partial threads and the blind holes are designed as laterally open partial openings in a region of the conical contact surfaces, and the insert has an internal thread for receiving a screw and - the flange ring has a blind hole corresponding to the internal thread, and the internal thread and the blind hole are laterally open in the region of the conical contact surfaces, in order to provide a secondary wedging/de-wedging means which reduces weight and savings of metal required for mountings and provides for easy installment and quickly demounting (Firth, col. 1, lns. 10-42).
Secondly, Ferrero and Firth are silent that the screw is a grub screw.
Kellenberger et al. teach the use of a grub screw (8,col.4,ln.34-35) as shown in Fig.9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute grub screws as taught by Kellenberger et al. for screws, in the combined device of Ferrero and Firth to have ; the screw means have at least two internal threads in the flange ring, at least two blind holes, each having a shoulder, in the insert and at least two grub screws, and the internal threads are designed as laterally open partial threads and the blind holes are designed as laterally open partial openings in a region of the conical contact surfaces, and the insert has an internal thread for receiving a grub screw and - the flange ring has a blind hole corresponding to the internal thread, and the internal thread and the blind hole are laterally open in the region of the conical contact surfaces, since it has been held, that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (one screw for another) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. Additionally, the well-known expected outcome of holding the tapered pieces together, would result from the combination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art of record discloses or renders as obvious “the square adapter has a quarter-circular radially protruding flange”, in combination with the rest of the limitations in claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753