REMARKS
The claim amendment, filed July 23, 2026, wherein the new limitation of “display a summary view of a turned-in assignment in the instructor-centric user interface, wherein the summary view includes at least a collection of resources evaluated and selected by a student of the group of students, at least one stated reason by the student for including the collection of resources, and at least one search query used to obtain the collection of resources” overcomes the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections of record.
Claims 1-20, filed July 23, 2026, are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao et al. (Hsiao, hereafter, Implementing a self-regulated WebQuest learning system for Chinese elementary schools, 2012) in view of Webber et al. (Webber hereafter, US 2008/0243727 A1).
Claim 1, Hsiao discloses computing apparatus comprising: one or more computer readable storage media;
one or more processors operatively coupled with the one or more computer readable storage media; and an application comprising program instructions stored on the one or more computer readable storage media that, when executed by the one or more processors (Figure 4), direct the computing apparatus to at least:
display an assignments creation view in an instructor-centric user interface of a learning platform (page 318, e.g. The teacher management subsystem (Figure 3) provides monitoring functions for the teacher, including WebQuest management platform, communication platform, and monitoring learning platform. The teacher can use the WebQuest management platform to prepare WebQuest learning activities. The communication platform provides the sharing and real time communication functions. During the learning process, the teacher can monitor the self-regulated learning status of the students via the monitoring learning platform);
receive user input via the assignments creation view, the user input comprising information defining a search assignment for a group of students, wherein the information defining the search assignment includes at least a topic and a number of resources relevant to the topic to be submitted (page 319, e.g. the teacher prepares for the arrangement of WebQuest learning, including the design of tasks and periodical assignments, and also sets the learning expectation for learners, and page 323, e.g. Table 1, e.g.
);
create the search assignment based on the information defining the search assignment;
receive a selection of an option to assign the search assignment to the group of students in the learning platform (page 323, e.g. Assignment - In teaching, teachers should ask learners to accomplish task enquiry, information organization, question, discussion, and assignment completeness. Proper scores are given for each manipulation by students: 5 points for using the knowledge enquiry function to search for more than 3 minutes, and 2 points for asking teachers about the purpose of tasks in the process); and
post the search assignment for the group of students in the learning platform such that the search assignment can be completed by each student of the group of students via a student-centric user interface of the learning platform (page 324, e.g. Teachers and students can communicate directly through this system. Students can ask about goal setting and teachers can facilitate learners' entrance to the self-regulated learning cycle (Figure 7)).
However, Hsiao does not disclose “display a summary view of a turned-in assignment in the instructor-centric user interface, wherein the summary view includes at least a collection of resources evaluated and selected by a student of the group of students, at least one stated reason by the student for including the collection of resources, and at least one search query used to obtain the collection of resources.”
Webber discloses display a summary view of a turned-in assignment in the instructor-centric user interface ([0038], e.g. the webpage displaying the student assignment Mitosis includes a project summary section 200, a project assets section 201, a due date reminder 202, a detailed description section 203, project team members 204, and a link to additional resources 205. The project assets section 201 further includes information the student gathered from the Internet or from other sources, such as websites 206, photo images 207, and quotes 208 in the form of text, and Figure 2A).
Webber discloses an invention for improving the knowledge database by incorporating inputs from one or more users, publishing the knowledge database on the Internet, performing a search of the subject against the knowledge database, and continuously improving the knowledge database using results of the search ([0006]). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated by Webber to improve the education system of Hsiao. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the system of Hsiao with the display interface of Webber. The benefit would be for improving the knowledge database by incorporating inputs from one or more users, publishing the knowledge database on the Internet, performing a search of the subject against the knowledge database, and continuously improving the knowledge database using results of the search.
However, Hsiao as modified does not disclose wherein the summary view includes at least a collection of resources evaluated and selected by a student of the group of students, at least one stated reason by the student for including the collection of resources, and at least one search query used to obtain the collection of resources. The limitation of “the summary view includes at least a collection of resources evaluated and selected by a student of the group of students, at least one stated reason by the student for including the collection of resources, and at least one search query used to obtain the collection of resources” has been interpreted as being directed nonfunctional descriptive subject matter. The claimed computing apparatus merely serves as a support for the information and there is no functional relationship. The claim as a whole is directed towards conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the supporting product. See Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404. There is no new feature of physical structure and no new relation of information to physical structure. Therefore, the information is not attributed with patentable weight.
Claim 2, Hsiao as modified discloses the assignments creation view comprises an option to add a search coach service to the search assignment; and the search coach service assists the group of students to identify reliable sources of information while completing the search assignment (page 319, e.g. the students can be assisted by the proposed system to process the WebQuest learning task, as shown in Figure 4, and page 327, e.g. Three teachers of Nature and Science Technology subject designed the test according to the teachers' manual and competency indicators in the Nature and Science Teclmology subject for the sixth graders…Samples for the pilot test were 231, and 216 were valid. The results of data analysis, Kr= 0.82, suggested that high reliability. Kr was considered highly reliable when Kr> 0.7 (Wortzel, 1979)).
Claims 8, 9, 15, and 16, Hsiao as modified discloses a computer readable storage media and method comprising the above cited steps. Claims 8, 9, 15, and 16 are rejected for the same rationale and citations above.
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao et al. (Hsiao, hereafter, Implementing a self-regulated WebQuest learning system for Chinese elementary schools, 2012) in view of Webber et al. (Webber hereafter, US 2008/0243727 A1).
Claims 3, 10, and 17, Hsiao as modified discloses the claimed invention except for “the information defining the search assignment further includes a title, instructions for completing the search assignment, and a due date.” The limitation of “the information defining the search assignment further includes a title, instructions for completing the search assignment, and a due date” has been interpreted as being directed nonfunctional subject matter. The claimed computing apparatus merely serves as a support for the information and there is no functional relationship. The claim as a whole is directed towards conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the supporting product. See Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404. There is no new feature of physical structure and no new relation of information to physical structure. Therefore, the information is not attributed with patentable weight.
Claim(s) 4-7, 11-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao et al. (Hsiao, hereafter, Implementing a self-regulated WebQuest learning system for Chinese elementary schools, 2012) in view of Webber et al. (Webber hereafter, US 2008/0243727 A1), as applied to claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16 above, in further view of Sanda, J. M. (US 20020115051 A1).
Claim 4, Hsiao as modified discloses the claimed invention except for “wherein the assignments creation view comprises one or more of a title box for naming the search assignment, an instructions box for inputting directions for completing the search assignment, a points box for inputting a number of points allocated to the search assignment, and a distribution box for specifying which students the search assignment is to be assigned.” It is noted “box” recited above is merely an interface for data entry. Sanda discloses interfaces for data entry in the example of a gradebook screen 886 for an instructor. Gradebook screen 886 includes index section 816, in this example only including a selection to return to home page screen 800. Gradebook screen 886 also includes a user section 888 identifying users for a particular course. A gradebook section 890 permits an instructor to enter and post grade information for the users' assignments. In particular, each column in gradebook section 890 represents an assignment, as identified, and each row includes grade information for the assignments for a particular user. Gradebook screen 886 also includes a set up section 892 permitting the instructor to set up the gradebook by adding assignments and entries ([0106]).
Sanda discloses an improvement to address a need for various options to interact with an on-line educational system ([0005]). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention would have been motivated by Sandra to improvement the educational system of Hsiao. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use system of Hsiao with the data input interfaces of Sanda. The benefit would be to provide various options to interact with an on-line educational system.
Claim 5, Hsiao as modified discloses the program instructions further direct the computing apparatus to display a view of a turned-in assignment, wherein the view of the turned-in assignment includes a list of resources submitted with the turned-in assignment by a student of the group of students (Sanda, [0081], e.g. An instructor gradebook selection 840 provides access to an instructor view of the gradebook by instructors or others granted access to it. This view provides grade information for all users in a particular course. In addition, instructors may enter grade information in the gradebook for viewing by the users who submitted completion of assignments to the instructor for a particular course).
Claim 6, Hsiao as modified the program instructions further direct the computing apparatus to: display a grading panel with the view of the turned-in assignment; and receive teacher input via the view of the turned-in assignment, the teacher input comprising feedback for the student of the group of students (Sanda, [0075], e.g. term "grade information" refers to information relating to an instructor's or other person's evaluation of completion of assignments by users or other information submitted by users as part of an on-line course. Grade information may include, but is not limited to, comments, evaluations, letter grades, points, and scores. Grade information may include or incorporate any of the types of information identified above).
Claim 7, Hsiao as modified the grading panel includes a component for accessing an essay submitted with the turned-in assignment (Sanda, [0135], e.g. he system retrieves the requested entry from the database and displays it such as is shown in entry section 934 (step 230). The user may then enter information or edit previously-entered information and close the notebook entry (step 232). The system stores the entry in the database for the user's notebook (step 234). The notebook may generate entries in the same manner as the electronic journal described above; alternatively, a user may create or delineate their own notebook entries) and a component for inputting the feedback for the student of the group of students (Sanda, [0139], e.g. If the system receives an add comment function through selection of an entry (step 256), it receives and stores a particular comment (step 258)).
Claims 11-14 and 18-20, Hsiao discloses a computer readable storage media and method comprising the above cited steps. Claims 4-7 are rejected for the same rationale and citations above.
PERTINENT PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ashmore et al. (US 20080241812 A1) discloses a reports tab 1306a may enable the teacher user to download and display a grade summary spreadsheet for each of the assignments completed by the students. A students tab 1036b shows the students and the assignments that have been given to the students. The assignments tab 1306c enables the teacher user to view a summary of the actual assigned lesson. The teacher may view the progress of assignments and grades given to the student by selecting a name of a student ([0066]).
Sumrall et al. (US 20050287510 A1) discloses a determination is made regarding whether a selection has been received of a different student other than the one whose summary was originally displayed. If a selection has been received of a different student, the method follows the Yes branch from decisional step 2504 and returns to step 2502 where a summary of assignments and events for the selected student is displayed ([0190]).
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO's Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO's Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO's PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199. The USPTO's official fax number is 571-272-8300.
/Cheyne D Ly/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2152
5/2/2023