DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takatsuka, US 2021/0183930.
In regard to claim 1, Takatsuka, US 2021/0183930, discloses an image sensing device, comprising:
a first pixel group and a second pixel group, each of the first pixel group and the second pixel group including a first pixel (see figure 14B, element 100L) that includes a first active region (see figure 14B, element 140) with a first region size and a second pixel (see figure 14B, element 100S) that includes a second active region (see figure 14B, element 140) with a second region size smaller than the first region size (see figure 14B and para 68 and 128-132),
wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes an avalanche diode (see figure 1, element 100; para 52-54 and 129), an antireflective layer (see figure 1, element 131) disposed on the avalanche diode, and a light receiving pattern (see figure 14B, element 100L) disposed on the antireflective layer (see para 61 and 68).
In regard to claim 2, Takatsuka, US 2021/0183930, discloses the image sensing device of wherein the first pixel of the first pixel group and the first pixel of the second pixel group are disposed to be adjacent to each other, and the second pixel of the first pixel group and the second pixel of the second pixel group are disposed to be adjacent to each other (see figure 14A and 14B).
In regard to claim 3, Takatsuka, US 2021/0183930, discloses the image sensing device of claim 1, wherein the avalanche diode includes a first semiconductor region (see figure 1, element 101), a second semiconductor region (see figure 1, element 121), and a substrate portion on the first semiconductor region and the second semiconductor region (see figure 1 and para 67).
In regard to claim 4, Takatsuka, US 2021/0183930, discloses the image sensing device of claim 3, wherein each of the first pixel of the first pixel group and the first pixel of the second pixel group further includes an intermediate region (see figure 1, elements 102 or 103) between the first semiconductor region and the second semiconductor region (see para 55-56).
In regard to claim 5, Takatsuka, US 2021/0183930, discloses the image sensing device of claim 3, wherein the first pixel further includes a
In regard to claim 6, Takatsuka, US 2021/0183930, discloses the image sensing device of claim 1, further comprising:
a non-pixel region (see figure 1, element 124) surrounding each pixel, wherein a first trench portion is disposed in the non-pixel region (see para 58).
In regard to claim 12, Takatsuka, US 2021/0183930, discloses the image sensing device of claim 1, wherein the first pixel and the second pixel of the first pixel group are electrically connected to each other, and the first pixel and the second pixel of the second pixel group are electrically connected to each other (see para 57 and 68: wires 112 and 114 electrically connect the pixels).
In regard to claim 15, Takatsuka, US 2021/0183930, discloses an imaging system, comprising:
a light source configured to emit a first light beam to illuminate a target object (see figure 21, element 1011 and para 170-172); and
an image sensing device including a first pixel group and a second pixel group, each of the first pixel group and the second pixel group including a first pixel that includes a first active region with a first region size and a second pixel that includes a second active region with a second region size smaller than the first region size (see para 98-99 and 168-170),
a first pixel group and a second pixel group, each of the first pixel group and the second pixel group including a first pixel (see figure 14B, element 100L) that includes a first active region (see figure 14B, element 140) with a first region size and a second pixel (see figure 14B, element 100S) that includes a second active region (see figure 14B, element 140) with a second region size smaller than the first region size (see figure 14B and para 68, 98-99, 128-132, and 168-170),
wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel receives a second light beam reflected by the target object under illumination of the first light beam (see para 167-169),
wherein the first pixel of the first pixel group and the first pixel of the second pixel group are disposed to be adjacent to each other (see figure 14A and 14B), and
wherein the second pixel of the first pixel group and the second pixel of the second pixel group are disposed to be adjacent to each other (see figure 14A and 14B).
In regard to claim 16, Takatsuka, US 2021/0183930, discloses the imaging system of claim 15, wherein the first pixel and the second pixel of the first pixel group are electrically connected to each other, and the first pixel and the second pixel of the second pixel group are electrically connected to each other (see para 57 and 68: wires 112 and 114 electrically connect the pixels).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11, 13, 14, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2025/0349597, discloses an imaging device with avalanche diodes. US 2024/0088190, discloses an image sensor with avalanche diodes and an antireflection layer. US 2024/0053451, discloses an imaging device with high-sensitivity and low-sensitivity pixels.
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs