DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
claim 1, line 7, “movement mechanism”;
Claim 1, line 13, “movement mechanism”;
claim 4, line 1, “divider movement mechanism”;
Claim 8, lines 1 and 2, “movement mechanism”;
claim 14, lines 1 and 2, “divider movement mechanism”; and
Claim 16, line 3, “divider movement mechanism”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13-18, and 3, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,280,913. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
Independent claim 1 of the instant application and independent claim 1 of the related patent each disclose a container comprising: a frame having an open face; dividers (plurality of dividers) extending from a first side of the frame to a second side of the frame, wherein the dividers are movable to create a plurality of compartments for items (parcels); a panel (first or second panel) movably coupled to the frame and positioned to at least partially cover the open face; a movement mechanism (first or second movement mechanism) coupled to the panel and operable to move the panel with respect to the frame; and a tote disposed within the frame, the tote having a first tote side with first lateral grooves therein and a second tote side with second lateral grooves therein, and each of the dividers is slidingly supported along at least one of the first lateral grooves and at least one of the second lateral grooves, wherein the panel covers the open face on the frame and the movement mechanism is configured to move the panel to expose an area of the open face corresponding to a selected compartment of the plurality of compartments containing an item of the items.
Dependent claims 2-10 of the instant application clearly read on dependent claims 2-10, respectively, of the related patent.
Independent claim 11 of the instant application and independent claim 11 of the related patent each disclose a container comprising: a frame having an open face; dividers (plurality of dividers) extending from a first side of the frame to a second side of the frame, wherein the dividers are movable to create a plurality of compartments for items (parcels) ; a panel (first or second panel) movably coupled to the frame and positioned to at least partially cover the open face; and a motor coupled to the panel and operable to move the panel with respect to the frame, wherein the panel covers the open face, the motor moves the panel to expose an area of the open face corresponding to a selected compartment of the plurality of compartments containing an item of the items, and at least some of the dividers are stored adjacent to one another at an end of the frame as stored dividers that are available to create additional compartments.
Dependent claims 13-18 of the instant application clearly read on dependent claims 13-18, respectively, of the related patent.
Independent claim 20 of the instant application and dependent claim 3 of the related patent each disclose a container comprising: a frame (claim 1); dividers (plurality of dividers, claim 1) extending from a first side of the frame to a second side of the frame, wherein the dividers are movable to create a plurality of compartments for items (parcels, claim 1); and a tote (claim 3) disposed within the frame, the tote having a first tote side with first lateral grooves therein and a second tote side with second lateral grooves therein, wherein each of the dividers is slidingly supported along at least one of the first lateral grooves and at least one of the second lateral grooves, and at least some of the dividers are stored adjacent to one another at an end of the frame as stored dividers that are available to create additional compartments.
Claim 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,280,913 in view of Mountford et al. (US#2020/0128992).
Regarding claim 12 of the instant application, claim 11 of the related patent fails to specifically disclose the frame including a track for movement of the panel therein. However, as evidenced by Mountford, such a configuration is known in the analogous art, see the container comprising a frame 104 and panels 152 and 154 for covering an open face of the frame, wherein portion 114 of the frame includes a track 118 for movement of the panels therein. Therefore, as taught by Mountford, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 11 of the related patent such that the frame included a track for movement of the panel therein. The inclusion of the track would ensure proper movement of the panel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear if the “first container side” and the “second container side” recited in claim 13, lines 1-2, are referencing and/or include the “first side of the frame” and the “second side of the frame” previously recited in claim 11, line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mountford et al. (US#2020/0128992).
Regarding claim 11, Mountford discloses a container 100 comprising: a frame 104 having an open face (see open front face in Fig. 2); dividers 130 extending from a first side of the frame to a second side of the frame, wherein the dividers are movable (via tracks 118) to create a plurality of compartments for items 106 ; a panel 152 or 154 movably coupled to the frame and positioned to at least partially cover the open face; and a motor 142 ([0051], lines 18-22) coupled to the panel and operable to move the panel with respect to the frame, wherein the panel covers the open face (Fig. 5), the motor moves the panel to expose an area of the open face corresponding to a selected compartment of the plurality of compartments containing an item of the items (see Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 6), and at least some of the dividers (lowermost two of the three dividers shown in Fig. 2) are stored adjacent to one another at an end 116 (bottom end) of the frame as “stored” dividers that are available to create (do create) additional compartments.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the frame 104 includes opposing side panels 114 each including a track 118, and the panel 152 or 154 is movably held within (between) the panels 114 and thus movably held within (between) the tracks 118.
Regarding claim 13, further comprising a first container side 114 and a second container side 114 spaced from (opposing) the first container side, the first container side and the second container side having “lateral” grooves 118 therein (grooves/tracks 118 are uniformly spaced along the lateral direction of the side 114), and the dividers are slidingly supported along the lateral grooves.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vallee et al. (US#4779752).
Regarding claim 20, Vallee discloses a container 1 comprising: a frame 3; dividers 43 extending from a first side 5 of the frame to a second side 7 of the frame, wherein the dividers are movable (during removal and insertion) to create a plurality of compartments 45 for items (e.g. papers) ; and a tote 20 disposed within the frame, the tote having a first tote side 23 with first “lateral” grooves 41 (grooves 41 are uniformly spaced along the lateral direction of the side 23) therein and a second tote side 25 with second “lateral” grooves therein 41 (grooves 41 are uniformly spaced along the lateral direction of the side 25), wherein each of the dividers is slidingly supported along at least one of the first lateral grooves and at least one of the second lateral grooves, and at least some of the dividers are stored (inserted) adjacent to one another at an end of the frame (dividers near frame end panel 27 or 29) as “stored” dividers that are available to create (do create) additional compartments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Upon filing of an approved terminal disclaimer overcoming the above double patenting rejection, claims 1-10 would be allowable.
Upon filing an approved terminal disclaimer overcoming the above double patenting rejection, claims 14-18 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding independent claim 1, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Vallee et al. (US#4779752), as discussed above in detail, does disclose a panel 59 movably coupled (hinged) to the frame and positioned to at least partially cover the open face (open top) thereof, Vallee fails to disclose or suggest a movement mechanism coupled to the panel and operable to move the panel with respect to the frame, wherein the movement mechanism is configured to move the panel to expose an area of the open face corresponding to a selected compartment of the plurality of compartments containing an item of the items. Mountford et al. (US#2020/0128992), as discussed above in detail, fails to disclose or suggest a tote disposed within the frame. It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Vallee and Mountford to cure these deficiencies. Therefore, neither Vallee or Mountford, alone or in combination, meet the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
WILLIAM L. MILLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM L MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677