DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 17, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law et al. (2024/0111163).
Regarding claim 1, Law teaches a headband system (figs 12-14) configured to be coupled to a head-mounted device comprising a head-mounted housing and to be worn on a head, the headband system comprising:
an overhead strap (members 603 and 642) comprising a first end (member 623) and a second end (member 616), wherein the first end is coupled to the head-mounted housing (member 622, para 0583) at a front of the head, and the second end is configured to contact a rear of the head (fig 12); and
a counterweight (member 615) coupled directly to the second end of the overhead strap at a rear of the head (fig 12).
Law does not teach the counterweight comprises one or more weights of at least 100 grams.
However, Law teaches in para 0541 and 0594 that the counterweight use to counter-balance the weight of the display unit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the counterweight weight such as 100 grams or more in order to provide greater comfort and optimal position for the user. In addition the court held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144 II. A.
Regarding claim 2-3, Law teaches all limitations of the claims and further teaches the head-mounted housing comprises a main portion and the first end of the overhead strap is coupled to the main portion (fig 14 annotated above and para 0583).
However Law teaches, in other embodiment (fig 30), a face track (member 5028, para 0808) and a light seal (5013). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the device of Law by combining other embodiment in order to provides a more even fit that is structured and arranged to distribute pressure over more of the user's face to lessen hot spots or localized stress points.
Regarding claim 4, Law discloses the head-mounted housing comprises an extension with a connection point, the head-mounted device further comprising: a rear headband coupled to the connection point (member 642).
Regarding claim 5, Law discloses the counterweight is coupled to the rear headband (member 615).
Regarding claim 6, Law discloses the rear headband has a first portion coupled to the connection point and a second portion coupled to the second end of the overhead strap (figs 12-14).
Regarding claim 8, Law teaches a headband system (figs 16A-16H) configured to be coupled to a head-mounted device comprising a head-mounted housing (member 720) with an extension (member 760) and a post on the extension (fig 16A annotated above), the headband system comprising:
an upper headband (member 780) configured to be coupled to the extension post and to extend from the extension at a first angle, wherein the upper headband is configured to rotate about the post (para 0617);
a rear headband (member 764) configured to be coupled to the extension post and to extend from the extension at a second angle that is different from the first angle, wherein the rear headband is configured to rotate about the post (para 0617);
an overhead strap (member 756) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the second end is configured to contact a rear of the head (fig 32); and
a counterweight battery pack (member 790) coupled to the overhead strap.
Law teaches on another embodiment (fig 2A) having an overhead strap (member 48) comprising a first end (member 54) and a second end (member 38), wherein the first end is coupled to the head-mounted housing (member 22) at a front of the head.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to combined the embodiments together in order to provide greater comfort and optimal position for the user.
Regarding claim 17, Law discloses the upper headband has a first portion configured to be coupled to the extension and a second portion that is configured to be coupled to an additional portion of the head-mounted housing (figs 2A and 16A).
Regarding claim 23, Law teaches a headband system (figs 16A-16H) configured to be coupled to a head-mounted device (member 720) comprising a head-mounted housing and an extension (member 760) from the head-mounted housing, the headband system comprising:
an overhead strap (member 756) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the second end is coupled to a rear of the head (fig 16A);
a counterweight (member 790) coupled to the second end of the overhead strap;
an upper headband (member 780) coupled to the extension and to the overhead strap; and
a lower headband (member 461) coupled to the extension and to the overhead strap.
Law teaches on another embodiment (fig 2A) having an overhead strap (member 48) comprising a first end (member 54) and a second end (member 38), wherein the first end is coupled to the head-mounted housing (member 22) at a front of the head.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to combined the embodiments together in order to provide greater comfort and optimal position for the user.
Regarding claim 25, Law discloses the counterweight comprises a battery (para 0587) configured to be coupled to the head-mounted device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, date 05-18-2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C §102 and 35 U.S.C §103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive because applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented and they have been address as analyzed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732