DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments/amendments filed July 03, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 9-13 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, the claim limitation “…a first road construction machine comprising a first receiving device…” should be “…the first road construction machine comprising a first receiving device…” according to antecedent basis requirement.
Dependent claims 10-13 and 18-20 are also objected to at least the same reason as objected independent claim 9 as stated above because the dependent claims 10-13 and 18-20 are depending on the objected independent claim 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortiz et al. (2024/0317081) (“Ortiz”) in view of Buschmann et al. (2017/0044726) (“Buschmann”) and Huhn et al. (2023/0155423, cited by Applicant in the IDS submitted on Mar. 19, 2025) (“Huhn”).
Regarding claim 1, Ortiz discloses an example of a vehicle (112 in Fig.16, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) comprising: an electric drive (621 in Fig.10) for driving the vehicle (112) and/or at least one electrical consumer (electrical consumer of the vehicle which consumes power from the battery pack in Fig.10), and a receiving device (100 in Figs.2, 8 and 16) for electrical energy, wherein the receiving device (100) is configured to wirelessly receive electrical energy from an external transmitting device (114 and 190 in Fig.16) and to forward the electrical energy to the electric drive (621 in Fig.10; ¶ 103) and/or the at least one electrical consumer (electrical consumer of the vehicle which consumes power from the battery pack in Fig.10) wherein the receiving device (100 includes 104) is a receiving antenna (¶ 84), wherein the receiving antenna is mounted on a driver's cab of a control station of the vehicle (Fig.2 shows the receiving device 100 is mounted on a driver’s cab of a control station of the vehicle); and also Ortiz further discloses the receiving device can be mounted on roof, hood, trunk, door, side, etc. (please refer to ¶ 11, 12, 18 and 77).
Ortiz doesn’t disclose the vehicle is a road construction machine.
Buschmann discloses a road construction machine (Fig.1) and a driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine (please refer to driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine in Fig.1).
Huhn discloses a road construction machine (for example - 118 in Fig.1, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) comprising: an electric drive (machine of 118 in Fig.1; please refer to at least ¶ 5 and 36) for driving the road construction machine and/or at least one electrical consumer (electrical consumer which consumes power from the batteries; please refer to at least ¶ 5, 36 and 37), and a receiving device (192 of 118) for electrical energy, wherein the receiving device is configured to wirelessly receive electrical energy from an external transmitting device (192 of 220) and to forward the electrical energy to the electric drive and/or the at least one electric consumer (please refer to at least ¶ 5, 13, 36 and 37); and a driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine (driver’s cab of a control station of 118 in Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz with the teaching of Buschmann to provide a receiving antenna on a driver's cab of a control station of the road construction machine and further with the teaching of Huhn that using electrical energy from an external transmitting device to drive the road construction machine. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide electrical power to the road construction machine.
Regarding claim 2, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 1 above.
Ortiz discloses the receiving device (100 in Fig.2) has a receiving antenna (104) which is plate-shaped (please refer to 100 in Fig.3).
Regarding claim 4, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 1 above.
Ortiz discloses the receiving device (100 in Fig.16) is configured to receive electrical energy wirelessly.
Ortiz doesn’t disclose the receiving device is configured to receive electrical energy wirelessly during a paving run of the road construction machine.
Huhn discloses the receiving device (192 of 118) is configured to receive electrical energy wirelessly during a paving run of the road construction machine (Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz in view of Buschmann with the teaching of Huhn to provide the receiving device is configured to receive electrical energy wirelessly during a paving run of the road construction machine. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide wireless charging while the road construction machine is moving as supported by Huhn.
Regarding claim 5, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 1 above.
Ortiz discloses at least one rechargeable buffer storage device (103 in Fig.10), wherein the rechargeable buffer storage device is configured to receive and store electrical energy from the receiving device (100) and to supply the electric drive (621) and/or the at least one electrical consumer (electrical consumer of the vehicle consumes power from the battery pack in Fig.10) with electrical energy.
Regarding claim 6, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 1 above.
Ortiz discloses a receiving position monitoring unit (92 and 94 in Fig.4) for monitoring a receiving device position (position of 100 in for example Fig.16; ¶ 62; 76, 81, 89 and 112).
Ortiz doesn’t explicitly disclose a receiving position monitoring unit for monitoring a receiving device position and a transmitting device position, wherein the road construction machine is configured to determine a transmission distance for wirelessly transmitting electrical energy between the transmitting device position and the receiving device position.
Huhn discloses a receiving position monitoring unit (120 in Fig.1 (or) “other centralized monitor in communication with both machine” as stated in ¶ 46) for monitoring a receiving device position (position of 192 of 118) and a transmitting device position (position of 192 of 220), wherein the road construction machine (118) is configured to determine a transmission distance (distance between 118 and 220) for wirelessly transmitting electrical energy between the transmitting device position and the receiving device position (please refer to at least ¶ 46 and 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz in view of Buschmann with the teaching of Huhn to provide a receiving position monitoring unit for monitoring a receiving device position and a transmitting device position, wherein the road construction machine is configured to determine a transmission distance for wirelessly transmitting electrical energy between the transmitting device position and the receiving device position. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide wireless charging while the road construction machine is moving as supported by Huhn.
Regarding claim 8, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claims 1 and 5 above.
Ortiz doesn’t disclose an energy forwarding device for wirelessly forwarding the electrical energy from the receiving device and/or the at least one rechargeable buffer storage device to a second road construction machine.
Huhn discloses an energy forwarding device (192 of 118 can be energy forwarding device) for wirelessly forwarding the electrical energy from the receiving device (192 of 118) and/or the at least one rechargeable buffer storage device (190 of 118; please refer to at least ¶ 13, 36 and 37) to a second road construction machine (for example other road construction machine except from 118 shown in Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz in view of Buschmann with the teaching of Huhn to provide an energy forwarding device for wirelessly forwarding the electrical energy from the receiving device and/or the at least one rechargeable buffer storage device to a second road construction machine. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide wireless charging while the road construction machine is moving as supported by Huhn.
Regarding claim 9, Ortiz discloses an example of a system for wirelessly supplying a first vehicle (112 in Fig.16, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) with electrical energy, comprising: a first vehicle comprising a first receiving device (100) for wirelessly receiving electrical energy, wherein the first receiving device (100 includes 104) is a receiving antenna (¶ 84), wherein the receiving antenna (104) is mounted on a driver's cab of a control station of the first vehicle (Fig.16), an external transmitting device (114 and 190 in Fig.16) for wirelessly transmitting electrical energy to the first receiving device (100), and an energy source (199) for supplying the external transmitting device with electrical energy (¶ 114); and also Ortiz further discloses the receiving device can be mounted on roof, hood, trunk, door, side, etc. (please refer to ¶ 11, 12, 18 and 77).
Ortiz doesn’t disclose the vehicle is a road construction machine.
Buschmann discloses a road construction machine (Fig.1) and a driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine (please refer to driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine in Fig.1).
Huhn discloses a system (Fig.1, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) for wirelessly supplying a first road construction machine (for example 118 in Fig.1) with electrical energy, comprising: a first road construction machine (118) comprising a first receiving device (192 of 118) for wirelessly receiving electrical energy, an external transmitting device (192 of 220) for wirelessly transmitting electrical energy to the first receiving device, and an energy source (190 of 220) for supplying the external transmitting device with electrical energy (please refer to at least ¶ 13, 36 and 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz with the teaching of Buschmann to provide a receiving antenna on a driver's cab of a control station of the road construction machine and further with the teaching of Huhn that using electrical energy from an external transmitting device to drive the road construction machine. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide electrical power to the first road construction machine.
Regarding claim 10, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 9 above.
Ortiz discloses the transmitting device (114 and 190 in Figs.16 and 17) is stationary (Fig.17) or mobile (Fig.16).
Regarding claim 11, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 9 above.
Ortiz discloses the transmitting device (114 and 190 in Fig.16) has a transmitting antenna (117; ¶ 84) and the first receiving device (100) has a first receiving antenna (104; ¶ 84), wherein the transmitting antenna (117) is rotatably mounted with respect to the transmitting device (114 and 190 in Fig.16) and/or the first receiving antenna (104) is rotatably mounted with respect to the first vehicle in order to align the transmitting antenna (117) and the first receiving antenna (104) with respect to one another.
Ortiz doesn’t disclose the vehicle is a road construction machine.
Buschmann discloses a road construction machine (Fig.1) and a driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine (please refer to driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine in Fig.1).
Huhn discloses a system for wirelessly supplying a first road construction machine with electrical energy as explained in claim 9 above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz with the teaching of Buschmann to provide electrical power to the road construction machine wirelessly. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide electrical power to the road construction machine.
Regarding claim 13, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 9 above.
Ortiz doesn’t disclose a second road construction machine having a second receiving device for wirelessly receiving electrical energy, wherein the first road construction machine comprises an energy forwarding device for wirelessly forwarding the electrical energy from the first receiving device and/or a rechargeable buffer storage device to the second road construction machine.
Huhn discloses a second road construction machine (220) having a second receiving device (192 of 220) for wirelessly receiving electrical energy, wherein the first road construction machine (118) comprises an energy forwarding device for wirelessly forwarding the electrical energy from the first receiving device (192 of 118; due to 192 functions as to receive energy or to transmit energy; please refer to at least ¶ 36 and 37) and/or the rechargeable buffer storage device (190 of 118) to the second road construction machine (220; please refer to at least ¶ 13, 36 and 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz with the teaching of Buschmann to provide a second road construction machine having a second receiving device for wirelessly receiving electrical energy, wherein the first road construction machine comprises an energy forwarding device for wirelessly forwarding the electrical energy from the first receiving device and/or a rechargeable buffer storage device to the second road construction machine. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide wireless charging activities while the first road construction machine is moving as supported by Huhn.
Regarding claim 14, Ortiz discloses a method for operating a vehicle (112 in Fig.16, please refer to the whole reference for detailed), comprising: supplying an external transmitting device (114 and 190 in Fig.16), which is arranged outside the vehicle, with electrical energy via an energy source (199), wirelessly transmitting the electrical energy from the external transmitting device to a receiving device (100) of the vehicle, wherein the receiving device (100 includes 104) is a receiving antenna (¶ 84), wherein the receiving antenna (104) is mounted on a driver's cab of a control station of the vehicle, forwarding the electrical energy from the receiving device (100) to an electric drive (621) of the vehicle and/or to at least one electrical consumer (electrical consumer of the vehicle which consumes power from the battery pack in Fig.10) of the vehicle, and moving the vehicle (112) via the electric drive (621) and/or operating the at least one electrical consumer (electrical consumer of the vehicle which consumes power from the battery pack in Fig.10) via the electrical energy; and also Ortiz further discloses the receiving device can be mounted on roof, hood, trunk, door, side, etc. (please refer to ¶ 11, 12, 18 and 77).
Ortiz doesn’t disclose the vehicle is a road construction machine.
Buschmann discloses a road construction machine (Fig.1) and a driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine (please refer to driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine in Fig.1).
Huhn discloses a system (Fig.1, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) for wirelessly supplying a first road construction machine (for example 118 in Fig.1) with electrical energy, comprising: a first road construction machine (118) comprising a first receiving device (192 of 118) for wirelessly receiving electrical energy, an external transmitting device (192 of 220) for wirelessly transmitting electrical energy to the first receiving device, and an energy source (190 of 220) for supplying the external transmitting device with electrical energy (please refer to at least ¶ 13, 36 and 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz with the teaching of Buschmann to provide a receiving antenna on a driver's cab of a control station of the road construction machine and further with the teaching of Huhn that using electrical energy from an external transmitting device to drive the road construction machine. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide electrical power to the first road construction machine.
Regarding claim 15, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 14 above.
Ortiz discloses the vehicle (112) comprises a buffer storage device (103 in Fig.10) for storing electrical energy, wherein the receiving device (100) forwards the electrical energy to the buffer storage device (103), wherein the buffer storage device forwards the electrical energy to the electric drive (621) and/or the electric consumer (electrical consumer of the vehicle which consumes power from the battery pack in Fig.10).
Ortiz doesn’t disclose the vehicle is a road construction machine.
Buschmann discloses a road construction machine (Fig.1) and a driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine (please refer to driver’s cab of a control station of the road construction machine in Fig.1).
Huhn discloses a system (Fig.1, please refer to the whole reference for detailed) for wirelessly supplying a first road construction machine (for example 118 in Fig.1) with electrical energy, comprising: a first road construction machine (118) comprising a first receiving device (192 of 118) for wirelessly receiving electrical energy, an external transmitting device (192 of 220) for wirelessly transmitting electrical energy to the first receiving device, and an energy source (190 of 220) for supplying the external transmitting device with electrical energy (please refer to at least ¶ 13, 36 and 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz with the teaching of Buschmann to provide a receiving antenna on a driver's cab of a control station of the road construction machine and further with the teaching of Huhn that using electrical energy from an external transmitting device to drive the road construction machine. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide electrical power to the first road construction machine.
Regarding claim 16, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 1 above.
Ortiz doesn’t disclose the road construction machine comprises a road paver for producing a paving layer from a paving material or a feeder vehicle for supplying the road paver with paving material.
Buschmann discloses the road construction machine (Fig.1) comprises a road paver for producing a paving layer from a paving material (please refer to at least ¶ 2).
Huhn also discloses the road construction machine (118) comprises a road paver for producing a paving layer from a paving material or a feeder vehicle for supplying the road paver with paving material (please refer to Fig.1 and at least ¶ 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz with the teaching of Buschmann or Huhn to provide the road construction machine comprises a road paver for producing a paving layer from a paving material or a feeder vehicle for supplying the road paver with paving material. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide electrical power to the road construction machine.
6. Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortiz et al. (2024/0317081) (“Ortiz”) in view of Buschmann et al. (2017/0044726) (“Buschmann”), Huhn et al. (2023/0155423, cited by Applicant in the IDS submitted on Mar. 19, 2025) (“Huhn”) and Su (12,451,726).
Regarding claim 3, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 1 above.
Ortiz discloses the wirelessly transmitted electrical energy as explained in claim 1 above.
Ortiz doesn’t explicitly disclose the wirelessly transmitted electrical energy comprises a plurality of bundled electrical signals.
Su discloses the wirelessly transmitted electrical energy (100 in Fig.2; 280 in Fig.3A) comprises a plurality of bundled electrical signals (electrical signals provided from 340s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn with the teaching of Su to provide the wirelessly transmitted electrical energy comprises a plurality of bundled electrical signals. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use a plurality of coils to wirelessly transfer energy as supported by Su.
Regarding claim 17, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 1 above.
Ortiz discloses the wirelessly transmitted electrical energy as explained in claim 1 above.
Ortiz doesn’t explicitly disclose the wirelessly transmitted electrical energy comprises a plurality of bundled high-frequency electrical signals.
Su discloses the wirelessly transmitted electrical energy (100 in Fig.2; 280 in Fig.3A) comprises a plurality of bundled high-frequency electrical signals (high-frequency electrical signals provided from 340s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn with the teaching of Su to provide the wirelessly transmitted electrical energy comprises a plurality of bundled high-frequency electrical signals. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use a plurality of coils to wirelessly transfer energy as supported by Su.
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortiz et al. (2024/0317081) (“Ortiz”) in view of Buschmann et al. (2017/0044726) (“Buschmann”), Huhn et al. (2023/0155423, cited by Applicant in the IDS submitted on Mar. 19, 2025) (“Huhn”), Miller (11,110,812) and Niwa (11,088,574).
Regarding claim 7, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claims 1 and 6 above.
Ortiz doesn’t explicitly disclose an object detector for detecting an object in the transmission distance.
Miller discloses an object detector for detecting an object (column 5, line 46-49).
Niwa discloses an object detector (290 in Fig.1) for detecting an object (please refer to at least column 5, line 34-59) in the transmission distance (distance between 10 and 20 in Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn with the teaching of Miller to provide an object detector and with the teaching of Niwa to provide an object detector to detect an object in the transmission distance. The suggestion/motivation would have been to detect any foreign object in between the receiving device and the transmitting device as suggested by Niwa.
8. Claims 12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortiz et al. (2024/0317081) (“Ortiz”) in view of Buschmann et al. (2017/0044726) (“Buschmann”), Huhn et al. (2023/0155423, cited by Applicant in the IDS submitted on Mar. 19, 2025) (“Huhn”) and Miller (11,110,812).
Regarding claim 12, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claim 9 above.
Ortiz doesn’t disclose a distance between the transmitting device, comprising the transmitting antenna, and the first receiving device, comprising the first receiving antenna, is at most approximately 1000 m and/or a speed of the first road construction machine relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is at most approximately 20 m/min.
For supporting purpose, Huhn discloses the transmitting device (192 of 220), the first receiving device (192 of 118) and a speed of the first road construction machine (118) relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is synchronized (¶ 46); and Buschmann discloses a speed of a first road construction machine is at most approximately 20 m/min (¶ 15).
Miller discloses a distance between a transmitting device (112 in Fig.5), comprising a transmitting antenna (502), and a first receiving device (110), comprising the first receiving antenna (500), is at most approximately 1000 m (please refer to at least column 6, line 31-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn with the teaching of Miller to provide a distance between the transmitting device, comprising the transmitting antenna, and the first receiving device, comprising the first receiving antenna, is at most approximately 1000 m and with the teaching of Buschmann to recognize that the speed of the first road construction machine relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is at most approximately 20 m/min. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce a distance between the transmitting device and the receiving device before wireless charging is provided as supported by Miller.
Regarding claim 18, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claims 9 and 12 above.
Ortiz doesn’t disclose the distance between the transmitting device, comprising the transmitting antenna, and the first receiving device, comprising the first receiving antenna, is at most approximately 500 m and/or the speed of the first road construction machine relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is at most approximately 6 m/min.
For supporting purpose, Huhn discloses the transmitting device (192 of 220), the first receiving device (192 of 118) and a speed of the first road construction machine (118) relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is synchronized (¶ 46); and Buschmann discloses a speed of a road construction machine is at most approximately 6 m/min (¶ 15).
Miller discloses the distance between the transmitting device (112 in Fig.5), comprising the transmitting antenna (502), and the first receiving device (110), comprising the first receiving antenna (500), is at most approximately 500 m (please refer to at least column 6, line 31-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn with the teaching of Miller to provide a distance between the transmitting device, comprising the transmitting antenna, and the first receiving device, comprising the first receiving antenna, is at most approximately 500 m and with the teaching of Buschmann to recognize that the speed of the first road construction machine relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is at most approximately 6 m/min. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce a distance between the transmitting device and the receiving device before wireless charging is provided as supported by Miller.
Regarding claim 19, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claims 9 and 12 above.
Ortiz doesn’t explicitly disclose the distance between the transmitting device, comprising the transmitting antenna, and the first receiving device, comprising the first receiving antenna, is at most approximately 100 m and/or the speed of the first road construction machine relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is at most approximately 20 m/min (¶ 15).
For supporting purpose, Huhn discloses the transmitting device (192 of 220), the first receiving device (192 of 118) and a speed of the first road construction machine (118) relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is synchronized (¶ 46); and Buschmann discloses a speed of a first road construction machine is at most approximately 20 m/min (¶ 15).
Miller discloses the distance between the transmitting device (112 in Fig.5), comprising the transmitting antenna (502), and the first receiving device (110), comprising the first receiving antenna (500), is at most approximately 100 m (please refer to at least column 6, line 31-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn with the teaching of Miller to provide a distance between the transmitting device, comprising the transmitting antenna, and the first receiving device, comprising the first receiving antenna, is at most approximately 100 m and with the teaching of Buschmann to recognize that the speed of the first road construction machine relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is at most approximately 20 m/min. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce a distance between the transmitting device and the receiving device before wireless charging is provided as supported by Miller.
Regarding claim 20, Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn is used to reject claims 9 and 12 above.
Ortiz doesn’t explicitly disclose the distance between the transmitting device, comprising the transmitting antenna, and the first receiving device, comprising the first receiving antenna, is at most approximately 100 m and/or the speed of the first road construction machine relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is at most approximately 6 m/min.
For supporting purpose, Huhn discloses the transmitting device (192 of 220), the first receiving device (192 of 118) and the speed of the first road construction machine (118) relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is at most approximately 6 m/min (¶ 46; the speed would be very slow due to wireless charging is provided during the road construction); and Buschmann discloses a speed of a road construction machine is at most approximately 6 m/min (¶ 15).
Miller discloses the distance between the transmitting device (112 in Fig.5), comprising the transmitting antenna (502), and the first receiving device (110), comprising the first receiving antenna (500), is at most approximately 100 m (please refer to at least column 6, line 31-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ortiz in view of Buschmann and Huhn with the teaching of Miller to provide a distance between the transmitting device, comprising the transmitting antenna, and the first receiving device, comprising the first receiving antenna, is at most approximately 100 m and with the teaching of Buschmann to recognize that the speed of the first road construction machine relative to the transmitting device during the receiving of electrical energy is at most approximately 6 m/min. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce a distance between the transmitting device and the receiving device before wireless charging is provided as supported by Miller.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Richard Tan/Primary Examiner 2836