DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the empty boxes (e.g. 210-214, 334) in figures 2 and 3 should contain symbols or text indicating their functionality. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a transformer configured to receive AC power from an external AC source, the transformer including: a primary winding configured to couple to the external AC source, and a secondary winding coupled to the plurality of inverters” (see claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the transformer is a three-winding transformer further including a tertiary winding coupled to the second plurality of inverters” (see claim 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the Specification should be revised carefully because it contains some typographical errors (Example: paragraph [0038]; recites “In this example in FIG. 3, the chopper circuit 328 is shown as a first terminal 338 of the resistor 330 directly connected to the positive DC voltage terminal 310, a second terminal 340 of the resistor 330 connected to a cathode 342 of the thyristor 332, and the anode 336 of the thyristor 332 connected directly to the negative DC voltage terminal 318”, which should be “In this example in FIG. 3, the chopper circuit 328 is shown as a first terminal 338 of the resistor 330 directly connected to the positive DC voltage terminal 310, a second terminal 340 of the resistor 330 connected to a anode 342 of the thyristor 332, and the cathode 336 of the thyristor 332 connected directly to the negative DC voltage terminal 318” based on Figure 3, parts 342/336).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amler (US 2010/0013299), in view of Nagataki (US 8,217,599), and further in view of Juhlin (US 2013/0229739).
Regarding claim 1, Amler discloses (see figures 1-6) a transient overvoltage protection circuit (figure 1, part transient overvoltage protection circuit generated at 30) comprising: a positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6) of an energy transfer system (figure 1, part 6); a negative DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part lower negative terminal at 6) of the energy transfer system (figure 1, part 6); a chopper circuit (figure 1, part chopper circuit generated by 20 and 22) coupled between the positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6) and the negative DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part lower negative terminal at 6), the chopper circuit (figure 1, part chopper circuit generated by 20 and 22) comprising: a resistor (figure 1, part 20), and a thyristor (figure 1, part 22) connected in series with the resistor (figure 1, part 20), wherein an anode of the thyristor (figure 1, part anode of 22) is: connected directly to the positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6) (paragraphs [0026]-[0028]; The braking chopper 10 is connected electrically in parallel with this intermediate circuit 18 and has a braking resistor 20 and a braking controller 22, for example a thyristor which can be turned off, which are electrically connected in series); and a chopper controller (figure 1, part chopper controller [not shown] that control 22) coupled to the positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6), the negative DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part lower negative terminal at 6), and the thyristor (figure 1, part 22), the chopper controller (figure 1, part chopper controller [not shown] that control 22) configured to activate the chopper circuit (figure 1, part chopper circuit generated by 20 and 22; activate through 22) based on a differential DC voltage (figure 1, part difference DC voltage between part upper positive and lower negative terminal at 6) between the positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6) and the negative DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part lower negative terminal at 6) exceeding (paragraph [0002]; a braking resistor can be connected to the intermediate circuit of the voltage intermediate-circuit converter. A thyristor which can be turned off is provided for this purpose, and is also referred to as a gate turn-off thyristor (GTO thyristor). By means of this pulse impedance the DC voltage in the intermediate circuit of the voltage intermediate-circuit converter, supplies energy to the intermediate circuit in the braking mode, that is to say the load, in particular a rotating-field machine, thus ensuring that the maximum permissible intermediate-circuit voltage is not exceeded).
Amler does not expressly disclose a first surge arrester coupled between a positive DC voltage terminal of an energy transfer system and an electrical ground of the energy transfer system, the first surge arrester having a first continuous operating voltage and a first peak voltage, the first peak voltage being a maximum voltage the first surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a first time interval; a second surge arrester coupled between a negative DC voltage terminal of the energy transfer system and the electrical ground, the second surge arrester having a second continuous operating voltage and a second peak voltage, the second peak voltage being a maximum voltage the second surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a second time interval; the chopper controller configured to activate the chopper circuit based on a differential DC voltage between the positive DC voltage terminal and the negative DC voltage terminal exceeding a junction threshold voltage.
Nagataki teaches (see figures 1-4) a chopper circuit (figures 1 and 2, part chopper circuit generated by 10) coupled between the positive DC voltage terminal (figures 1 and 2, part 4 DC BUS) and the negative DC voltage terminal (figures 1 and 2, part 5 DC BUS), the chopper circuit (figures 1 and 2, part chopper circuit generated by 10) comprising: a resistor (figure 2, part 11), and a switch (figure 2, part 12) connected in series with the resistor (figure 2, part 11); and a chopper controller (figure 2, part chopper controller generated by 14-17) coupled to the positive DC voltage terminal (figures 1 and 2, part 4 DC BUS), the negative DC voltage terminal (figures 1 and 2, part 5 DC BUS; through differential DC voltage detection at 14), and the switch (figure 2, part 12), the chopper controller (figure 2, part chopper controller generated by 14-17) configured to activate the chopper circuit (figures 1 and 2, part chopper circuit generated by 10; through 12) based on a differential DC voltage between the positive DC voltage terminal and the negative DC voltage terminal (figures 1 and 2, part differential DC voltage between 4 DC BUS and 5 DC BUS; through 14) exceeding a junction threshold voltage (figure 2, part junction threshold voltage from 15) (column 4; lines 1-24; The monitor voltage output from the voltage detector 14 is not, for example, a voltage itself of the smoothing capacitor 6 and only has to be a voltage proportional (equivalent) to the voltage of the smoothing capacitor 6. The comparator 16 generates a control signal to the switching circuit 12 based on the monitor voltage output from the voltage detector 14 and an arithmetic output from the operation level operator 15, and controls the switching circuit 12 through the driving circuit 17. For example, when the monitor voltage of the voltage detector 14 is larger than the arithmetic output of the operation level operator 15, it is necessary to consume regenerative power and the switching circuit 12 is controlled to be turned on. On the other hand, when the monitor voltage of the voltage detector 14 is smaller than the arithmetic output of the operation level operator 15, it is unnecessary to consume regenerative power and the switching circuit 12 is controlled to be turned off).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the chopper circuit of Amler with the chopper circuit features as taught by Nagataki, because it provides more accurate and efficient control for the chopper circuit with more uniform actuation control (column 7; lines 26-41).
Juhlin teaches (see figures 1-5) a first surge arrester (figure 3, part 321) coupled between a positive DC voltage terminal of an energy transfer system (figure 3, part 304) and an electrical ground of the energy transfer system (figure 3, part ground), the first surge arrester (figure 3, part 321) having a first continuous operating voltage (figure 3, part first continuous operating voltage of 321) and a first peak voltage (figure 3, part first peak voltage of 321), the first peak voltage (figure 3, part first peak voltage of 321) being a maximum voltage the first surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a first time interval (figure 3, part maximum voltage 321 is capable of tolerating for a first time interval); a second surge arrester (figure 3, part 322) coupled between a negative DC voltage terminal of the energy transfer system (figure 3, part 305) and the electrical ground (figure 3, part ground), the second surge arrester (figure 3, part 322) having a second continuous operating voltage (figure 3, part second continuous operating voltage of 322) and a second peak voltage (figure 3, part second peak voltage of 322), the second peak voltage (figure 3, part second peak voltage of 322) being a maximum voltage the second surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a second time interval (figure 3, part maximum voltage 322 is capable of tolerating for a second time interval) (paragraphs [0033]-[0036]; System 300 comprises two pairs of first arresters 321-324).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Amler and Nagataki with the surge arresters features as taught by Juhlin and obtain a transient overvoltage protection circuit comprising: a first surge arrester coupled between a positive DC voltage terminal of an energy transfer system and an electrical ground of the energy transfer system, the first surge arrester having a first continuous operating voltage and a first peak voltage, the first peak voltage being a maximum voltage the first surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a first time interval; a second surge arrester coupled between a negative DC voltage terminal of the energy transfer system and the electrical ground, the second surge arrester having a second continuous operating voltage and a second peak voltage, the second peak voltage being a maximum voltage the second surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a second time interval; a chopper circuit coupled between the positive DC voltage terminal and the negative DC voltage terminal, the chopper circuit comprising: a resistor, and a thyristor connected in series with the resistor, wherein an anode of the thyristor is: connected directly to the positive DC voltage terminal, or connected to the positive DC voltage terminal through the resistor; and a chopper controller coupled to the positive DC voltage terminal, the negative DC voltage terminal, and the thyristor, the chopper controller configured to activate the chopper circuit based on a differential DC voltage between the positive DC voltage terminal and the negative DC voltage terminal exceeding a junction threshold voltage, because it provides more robust and complete overvoltage protection in order to obtain more reliable system (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Amler, Nagataki and Juhlin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Amler discloses (see figures 1-6) the positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6) is configured to couple to a positive rail of power rails (figure 1, part positive rail of power rails at 14), and the negative DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part lower negative terminal at 6) is configured to couple to a negative rail of the power rails (figure 1, part negative rail of the power rails at 14), wherein the power rails (figure 1, part power rails at 14) provide electrical power to an electrically powered work machine (figure 1, part electrically powered work machine 8) through contactors (figure 1, part contactors between 14 and 8) (paragraph [0027]; Since this equivalent circuit is an equivalent circuit of a diesel-electric locomotive, 30 denotes a traction container which accommodates the converter electronics. The braking resistor and the diesel-driven permanent-magnet synchronous generator 4 are arranged outside this traction container 30. The four three-phase asynchronous motors 8 are motors for the two bogeys of a diesel-electric locomotive).
Regarding claim 3, Amler, Nagataki and Juhlin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). Further, Amler discloses (see figures 1-6) the energy transfer system (figures 3, 5 and 6) comprises a plurality of inverters of a same type (figures 3, 5 and 6, parts 38 and 40) having insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT)-based circuits having a plurality of IGBTs (figures 3, 5 and 6, parts IGBTs inside of 38 and 40) (paragraph [0029]; an IGBT rectifier).
Regarding claim 4, Amler, Nagataki and Juhlin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). However, Amler does not expressly disclose the first continuous operating voltage and the second continuous operating voltage are determined based on an operational voltage of the energy transfer system.
Juhlin teaches (see figures 1-5) the first continuous operating voltage (figure 3, part first continuous operating voltage of 321) and the second continuous operating voltage (figure 3, part second continuous operating voltage of 322) are determined based on an operational voltage of the energy transfer system (figure 3, part energy transfer system at 300) (paragraph [0009]; The first arresters have a first switching impulse protective level (SIPL)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Amler and Nagataki with the surge arresters features as taught by Juhlin, because it provides more robust and complete overvoltage protection in order to obtain more reliable system (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 5, Amler, Nagataki and Juhlin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Amler discloses (see figures 1-6) an insulation threshold voltage of an IGBT (figures 3, 5 and 6, parts insulation threshold voltage of IGBTs inside of 38 and 40) (paragraph [0029]; an IGBT rectifier), the insulation threshold voltage being a voltage (figures 3, 5 and 6, parts insulation threshold voltage of IGBTs inside of 38 and 40) above which causing damages to the IGBT (figures 3, 5 and 6, parts IGBTs inside of 38 and 40). However, Amler does not expressly disclose the first peak voltage and the second peak voltage are determined based on an insulation threshold voltage of an IGBT, the insulation threshold voltage being a voltage above which causing damages to the IGBT.
Juhlin teaches (see figures 1-5) the first peak voltage (figure 3, part first peak voltage of 321) and the second peak voltage (figure 3, part second peak voltage of 322) are determined based on an insulation threshold voltage of an IGBT (figure 3, part insulation threshold voltage of an IGBT inside of 301), the insulation threshold voltage being a voltage (figure 3, part insulation threshold voltage of an IGBT inside of 301) above which causing damages to the IGBT (figure 3, part IGBT inside of 301) (paragraph [0032]; several series-connected diode-insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) pairs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Amler and Nagataki with the surge arresters features as taught by Juhlin and obtain the first peak voltage and the second peak voltage are determined based on an insulation threshold voltage of an IGBT, the insulation threshold voltage being a voltage above which causing damages to the IGBT, because it provides more robust and complete overvoltage protection in order to obtain more reliable system (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Amler, Nagataki and Juhlin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Amler discloses (see figures 1-6) a breakdown voltage of a PN junction of an IGBT (figures 3, 5 and 6, part breakdown voltage of a PN junction of IGBTs inside of 38 and 40) (paragraph [0029]; an IGBT rectifier). However, Amler does not expressly disclose the junction threshold voltage is set based on a breakdown voltage of a PN junction of an IGBT, and is lower than the breakdown voltage.
Nagataki teaches (see figures 1-4) the junction threshold voltage is set (figure 2, part junction threshold voltage from 15) based on a breakdown voltage of a PN junction of an IGBT (figure 2, part breakdown voltage of a PN junction of an IGBT inside 3), and is lower than the breakdown voltage (figure 2, part breakdown voltage of a PN junction of an IGBT inside 3) (column 4; lines 1-24; The monitor voltage output from the voltage detector 14 is not, for example, a voltage itself of the smoothing capacitor 6 and only has to be a voltage proportional (equivalent) to the voltage of the smoothing capacitor 6. The comparator 16 generates a control signal to the switching circuit 12 based on the monitor voltage output from the voltage detector 14 and an arithmetic output from the operation level operator 15, and controls the switching circuit 12 through the driving circuit 17. For example, when the monitor voltage of the voltage detector 14 is larger than the arithmetic output of the operation level operator 15, it is necessary to consume regenerative power and the switching circuit 12 is controlled to be turned on. On the other hand, when the monitor voltage of the voltage detector 14 is smaller than the arithmetic output of the operation level operator 15, it is unnecessary to consume regenerative power and the switching circuit 12 is controlled to be turned off).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the chopper circuit of Amler with the chopper circuit features as taught by Nagataki and obtain the junction threshold voltage is set based on a breakdown voltage of a PN junction of an IGBT, and is lower than the breakdown voltage, because it provides more accurate and efficient control for the chopper circuit with more uniform actuation control (column 7; lines 26-41).
Regarding claim 7, Amler, Nagataki and Juhlin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). Further, Amler discloses (see figures 1-6) the chopper controller (figure 1, part chopper controller [not shown] that control 22), and activate the chopper circuit (figure 1, part chopper circuit generated by 20 and 22; activate through 22) based on the differential DC voltage (figure 1, part difference DC voltage between part upper positive and lower negative terminal at 6) exceeding (paragraph [0002]; a braking resistor can be connected to the intermediate circuit of the voltage intermediate-circuit converter. A thyristor which can be turned off is provided for this purpose, and is also referred to as a gate turn-off thyristor (GTO thyristor). By means of this pulse impedance the DC voltage in the intermediate circuit of the voltage intermediate-circuit converter, supplies energy to the intermediate circuit in the braking mode, that is to say the load, in particular a rotating-field machine, thus ensuring that the maximum permissible intermediate-circuit voltage is not exceeded). However, Amler does not expressly disclose an analog comparator configured to: compare the differential DC voltage to the junction threshold voltage, and activate the chopper circuit based on the differential DC voltage exceeding the junction threshold voltage.
Nagataki teaches (see figures 1-4) the chopper controller (figures 1 and 2, part chopper circuit generated by 10) is an analog comparator (figure 2, part 16) configured to: compare (figure 2, part 16) the differential DC voltage (figures 1 and 2, part differential DC voltage between 4 DC BUS and 5 DC BUS; through 14) to the junction threshold voltage (figure 2, part junction threshold voltage from 15), and activate the chopper circuit (figures 1 and 2, part chopper circuit generated by 10; through 12) based on the differential DC voltage (figures 1 and 2, part differential DC voltage between 4 DC BUS and 5 DC BUS; through 14) exceeding the junction threshold voltage (figure 2, part junction threshold voltage from 15) (column 4; lines 1-24; The monitor voltage output from the voltage detector 14 is not, for example, a voltage itself of the smoothing capacitor 6 and only has to be a voltage proportional (equivalent) to the voltage of the smoothing capacitor 6. The comparator 16 generates a control signal to the switching circuit 12 based on the monitor voltage output from the voltage detector 14 and an arithmetic output from the operation level operator 15, and controls the switching circuit 12 through the driving circuit 17. For example, when the monitor voltage of the voltage detector 14 is larger than the arithmetic output of the operation level operator 15, it is necessary to consume regenerative power and the switching circuit 12 is controlled to be turned on. On the other hand, when the monitor voltage of the voltage detector 14 is smaller than the arithmetic output of the operation level operator 15, it is unnecessary to consume regenerative power and the switching circuit 12 is controlled to be turned off).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the chopper circuit of Amler with the chopper circuit features as taught by Nagataki, because it provides more accurate and efficient control for the chopper circuit with more uniform actuation control (column 7; lines 26-41).
Regarding claim 8, Amler discloses (see figures 1-6) an energy transfer system (figure 1) comprising: a plurality of inverters (figure 1, part 12) (figures 3, 5 and 6, part 38 and 40) including: a positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6), and a negative DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part lower negative terminal at 6); receive AC power from an external AC source (figure 1, part AC from 2/4), and a transient overvoltage protection circuit (figure 1, part transient overvoltage protection circuit generated at 30) comprising: a positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6) of an energy transfer system (figure 1, part 6); a negative DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part lower negative terminal at 6) of the energy transfer system (figure 1, part 6); a chopper circuit (figure 1, part chopper circuit generated by 20 and 22) coupled between the positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6) and the negative DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part lower negative terminal at 6), the chopper circuit (figure 1, part chopper circuit generated by 20 and 22) comprising: a resistor (figure 1, part 20), and a thyristor (figure 1, part 22) connected in series with the resistor (figure 1, part 20), wherein an anode of the thyristor (figure 1, part anode of 22) is: connected directly to the positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6) (paragraphs [0026]-[0028]; The braking chopper 10 is connected electrically in parallel with this intermediate circuit 18 and has a braking resistor 20 and a braking controller 22, for example a thyristor which can be turned off, which are electrically connected in series); and a chopper controller (figure 1, part chopper controller [not shown] that control 22) coupled to the positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6), the negative DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part lower negative terminal at 6), and the thyristor (figure 1, part 22), the chopper controller (figure 1, part chopper controller [not shown] that control 22) configured to activate the chopper circuit (figure 1, part chopper circuit generated by 20 and 22; activate through 22) based on a differential DC voltage (figure 1, part difference DC voltage between part upper positive and lower negative terminal at 6) between the positive DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part upper positive terminal at 6) and the negative DC voltage terminal (figure 1, part lower negative terminal at 6) exceeding (paragraph [0002]; a braking resistor can be connected to the intermediate circuit of the voltage intermediate-circuit converter. A thyristor which can be turned off is provided for this purpose, and is also referred to as a gate turn-off thyristor (GTO thyristor). By means of this pulse impedance the DC voltage in the intermediate circuit of the voltage intermediate-circuit converter, supplies energy to the intermediate circuit in the braking mode, that is to say the load, in particular a rotating-field machine, thus ensuring that the maximum permissible intermediate-circuit voltage is not exceeded).
Amler does not expressly disclose a transformer configured to receive AC power from an external AC source, the transformer including: a primary winding configured to couple to the external AC source, and a secondary winding coupled to the plurality of inverters; a first surge arrester coupled between a positive DC voltage terminal of an energy transfer system and an electrical ground of the energy transfer system, the first surge arrester having a first continuous operating voltage and a first peak voltage, the first peak voltage being a maximum voltage the first surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a first time interval; a second surge arrester coupled between a negative DC voltage terminal of the energy transfer system and the electrical ground, the second surge arrester having a second continuous operating voltage and a second peak voltage, the second peak voltage being a maximum voltage the second surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a second time interval; the chopper controller configured to activate the chopper circuit based on a differential DC voltage between the positive DC voltage terminal and the negative DC voltage terminal exceeding a junction threshold voltage.
Nagataki teaches (see figures 1-4) a chopper circuit (figures 1 and 2, part chopper circuit generated by 10) coupled between the positive DC voltage terminal (figures 1 and 2, part 4 DC BUS) and the negative DC voltage terminal (figures 1 and 2, part 5 DC BUS), the chopper circuit (figures 1 and 2, part chopper circuit generated by 10) comprising: a resistor (figure 2, part 11), and a switch (figure 2, part 12) connected in series with the resistor (figure 2, part 11); and a chopper controller (figure 2, part chopper controller generated by 14-17) coupled to the positive DC voltage terminal (figures 1 and 2, part 4 DC BUS), the negative DC voltage terminal (figures 1 and 2, part 5 DC BUS; through differential DC voltage detection at 14), and the switch (figure 2, part 12), the chopper controller (figure 2, part chopper controller generated by 14-17) configured to activate the chopper circuit (figures 1 and 2, part chopper circuit generated by 10; through 12) based on a differential DC voltage between the positive DC voltage terminal and the negative DC voltage terminal (figures 1 and 2, part differential DC voltage between 4 DC BUS and 5 DC BUS; through 14) exceeding a junction threshold voltage (figure 2, part junction threshold voltage from 15) (column 4; lines 1-24; The monitor voltage output from the voltage detector 14 is not, for example, a voltage itself of the smoothing capacitor 6 and only has to be a voltage proportional (equivalent) to the voltage of the smoothing capacitor 6. The comparator 16 generates a control signal to the switching circuit 12 based on the monitor voltage output from the voltage detector 14 and an arithmetic output from the operation level operator 15, and controls the switching circuit 12 through the driving circuit 17. For example, when the monitor voltage of the voltage detector 14 is larger than the arithmetic output of the operation level operator 15, it is necessary to consume regenerative power and the switching circuit 12 is controlled to be turned on. On the other hand, when the monitor voltage of the voltage detector 14 is smaller than the arithmetic output of the operation level operator 15, it is unnecessary to consume regenerative power and the switching circuit 12 is controlled to be turned off).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the chopper circuit of Amler with the chopper circuit features as taught by Nagataki, because it provides more accurate and efficient control for the chopper circuit with more uniform actuation control (column 7; lines 26-41).
Juhlin teaches (see figures 1-5) a transformer (figure 2, part 201) configured to receive AC power from an external AC source (figure 2, part AC FROM 205), the transformer (figure 2, part 201) including: a primary winding (figure 2, part 201; primary winding) configured to couple to the external AC source (figure 2, part AC FROM 205), and a secondary winding (figure 2, part 201; secondary winding) coupled to the inverter (figure 2, part 203); a first surge arrester (figure 3, part 321) coupled between a positive DC voltage terminal of an energy transfer system (figure 3, part 304) and an electrical ground of the energy transfer system (figure 3, part ground), the first surge arrester (figure 3, part 321) having a first continuous operating voltage (figure 3, part first continuous operating voltage of 321) and a first peak voltage (figure 3, part first peak voltage of 321), the first peak voltage (figure 3, part first peak voltage of 321) being a maximum voltage the first surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a first time interval (figure 3, part maximum voltage 321 is capable of tolerating for a first time interval); a second surge arrester (figure 3, part 322) coupled between a negative DC voltage terminal of the energy transfer system (figure 3, part 305) and the electrical ground (figure 3, part ground), the second surge arrester (figure 3, part 322) having a second continuous operating voltage (figure 3, part second continuous operating voltage of 322) and a second peak voltage (figure 3, part second peak voltage of 322), the second peak voltage (figure 3, part second peak voltage of 322) being a maximum voltage the second surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a second time interval (figure 3, part maximum voltage 322 is capable of tolerating for a second time interval) (paragraphs [0033]-[0036]; System 300 comprises two pairs of first arresters 321-324).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Amler and Nagataki with the surge arresters features as taught by Juhlin and obtain an energy transfer system comprising: a plurality of inverters including: a positive DC voltage terminal, and a negative DC voltage terminal; a transformer configured to receive AC power from an external AC source, the transformer including: a primary winding configured to couple to the external AC source, and a secondary winding coupled to the plurality of inverters, and a transient overvoltage protection circuit comprising: a first surge arrester coupled between the positive DC voltage terminal and an electrical ground of the energy transfer system, the first surge arrester having a first continuous operating voltage and a first peak voltage, the first peak voltage being a maximum voltage the first surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a first time interval; a second surge arrester coupled between the negative DC voltage terminal and the electrical ground, the second surge arrester having a second continuous operating voltage and a second peak voltage, the second peak voltage being a maximum voltage the second surge arrester is capable of tolerating for a second time interval; a chopper circuit coupled between the positive DC voltage terminal and the negative DC voltage terminal, the chopper circuit comprising: a resistor, and a thyristor connected in series with the resistor, wherein an anode of the thyristor is: connected directly to the positive DC voltage terminal, or connected to the positive DC voltage terminal through the resistor; and a chopper controller coupled to the positive DC voltage terminal, the negative DC voltage terminal, and the thyristor, the chopper controller configured to activate the chopper circuit based on a differential DC voltage between the positive DC voltage terminal and the negative DC voltage terminal exceeding a junction threshold voltage, because it provides more robust and complete overvoltage protection in order to obtain more reliable system (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 9, claim 2 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, claim 3 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, claim 4 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, claim 5 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, claim 6 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, claim 7 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, claim 1 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17, claims 1 and 4 have the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, claim 3 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, claims 5 and 6 have the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, claim 7 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amler (US 2010/0013299), in view of Nagataki (US 8,217,599), and further in view of Juhlin (US 2013/0229739), and further in view of Youtao (CN 221900557; rejection based on English translation).
Regarding claim 15, Amler, Nagataki and Juhlin teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). Further, Amler discloses (see figures 1-6) the plurality of inverters is a first plurality of inverters (figure 1, part 12) (figures 3, 5 and 6, part 38 and 40). However, Amler does not expressly disclose a second plurality of inverters coupled to the positive DC voltage terminal and the negative DC voltage terminal, the second plurality of inverters including a same number of inverters as the first plurality of inverters, and inverters of the second plurality of inverters are of a same type as the inverters of the first plurality of inverters, wherein the transformer is a three-winding transformer further including a tertiary winding coupled to the second plurality of inverters.
Youtao teaches (see figures 1-8) the plurality of inverters is a first plurality of inverters (figure 6, parts first two inverters), the energy transfer system (figure 6) further comprising: a second plurality of inverters (figure 6, parts last two inverters) coupled to the positive DC voltage terminal and the negative DC voltage terminal (figure 6, part upper and lower DC voltage terminals at right side of 102), the second plurality of inverters (figure 6, parts last two inverters) including a same number of inverters as the first plurality of inverters (figure 6, parts first two inverters), and inverters of the second plurality of inverters (figure 6, parts last two inverters) are of a same type as the inverters of the first plurality of inverters (figure 6, parts first two inverters), wherein the transformer (figure 6, part 103) is a three-winding transformer (figure 6, part 103) further including a tertiary winding (figure 6, part lower tertiary winding of 103) coupled to the second plurality of inverters (figure 6, parts last two inverters).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Amler, Nagataki and Juhlin with the energy transfer system features as taught by Youtao, because it provides more robust and reliable power conversion system.
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838