DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki (WO 2011013570 A1) in view of Yuki (US 20230275498 A1).
Claim 1
Miyazaki teaches: A vibration generator (101), comprising:
a fixed-side member (fixed portion 2, including upper case portion 22, case 23 and yoke integrated coil portion 24);
a movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133);
an elastic support (spring member 4 or 104) configured to support the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) to vibrate in a left-right direction (X direction) with respect to the fixed-side member (fixed portion 2, including upper case portion 22, case 23 and yoke integrated coil portion 24); and
a driver (planar coils 25, 26 and movable PM’s 31, with associated yokes) configured to impart a vibration force in the left-right direction (X direction) to the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133), the driver (planar coils 25, 26 and movable PM’s 31, with associated yokes) being provided with a fixed-side magnetic field generator (coils 25, 26) included in the fixed-side member (fixed portion 2, including upper case portion 22, case 23 and yoke integrated coil portion 24) and a movable-side magnetic field generator (31) included in the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133), wherein
the elastic support (spring member 4 or 104) includes a left elastic support (143) and a right elastic support (142),
the right elastic support (142) includes a right fixed portion (142d, 142e) fixed to the fixed-side member (fixed portion 2, including upper case portion 22, case 23 and yoke integrated coil portion 24), a right deforming portion (142c) having one end connected to the right fixed portion (142d, 142e) and extending in a front-rear direction (Y direction), and a right standing portion (142f) extending in a vertical direction from another end of the right deforming portion (142c),
the right deforming portion (142c) deforms in the left-right direction (X direction) upon vibration of the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) in the left-right direction (X direction),
the right standing portion (142f) moves in the left-right direction (X direction) together with the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) upon deformation of the right deforming portion (142c),
the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) is attached to an upper end of the right standing portion (142f), or a connecting plate portion (plate portion 41 or 141) connecting an upper end of the left elastic support (143) and an upper end of the right elastic support (142), so as to be arranged on a left side of the right standing portion (142f) and at a position above an upper end of the right deforming portion (142c),
upon vibration and displacement of the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) to a right side, a lower portion of the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) is at a position above the right deforming portion (142c) and not interfering with the right deforming portion (142c),
the right deforming portion (142c) extends in the front-rear direction (Y direction) from a front end or a rear end of the right standing portion (142f);
Miyazaki does not expressly teach: a length of the right deforming portion in the front-rear direction is greater than a length of the right standing portion in the front-rear direction.
Yuki conversely teaches an elastic support member 7 comprising a right-hand leaf spring 7R and a left-hand leaf spring 7L. The leaf springs elastically support a movable body and deform as the movable body reciprocates. As illustrated in Figs. 3A and 3B, the right-hand leaf spring includes an attachment region around threaded hole 7TR and a longer spring region extending away from that attachment region. The attachment region is secured to the magnetic flux source retaining member 6, while the outer end of the leaf spring is held by the housing (see para. 0057-0067).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed, to modify the relative front-rear dimensions of Miyazaki’s elastic support portions in view of Yuki’s disclosed leaf-spring support arrangement, such that the deforming region is longer in the front-rear direction than the standing or attachment region. Such a modification would be advantageous in providing a suitable elastic support geometry for supporting the movable member while permitting the required reciprocating movement.
Claim 2/1
Miyazaki as modified by Yuki teaches: The vibration generator (101) according to claim 1, wherein
the right deforming portion (142c) includes
a first right deforming portion (142c) having one end connected to the right standing portion (142f) and extending on one side in the front-rear direction (Y direction);
a right bent portion (142b) to which another end of the first right deforming portion (142c) is connected; and
a second right deforming portion (142g) having one end connected to the right bent portion (142b) and extending on another side in the front-rear direction (Y direction) and having another end connected to the right fixed portion (142d, 142e).
Claim 3/1
Miyazaki as modified by Yuki teaches: The vibration generator (101) according to claim 1, wherein
the left elastic support (143) includes
a left fixed portion (143d, 143e) fixed to the fixed-side member (fixed portion 2, including upper case portion 22, case 23 and yoke integrated coil portion 24);
a left deforming portion (143c) having one end connected to the left fixed portion (143d, 143e) and extending in the front-rear direction (Y direction); and
a left standing portion (143f) extending in the vertical direction from another end of the left deforming portion (143c), wherein
the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) is attached to the left elastic support (143) so as to be arranged on a right side of the left standing portion (143f) and at a position above the left deforming portion (143c), and
upon vibration and displacement of the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) to the left side, the lower portion of the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) is at a position above the left deforming portion (143c) and not interfering with the left deforming portion (143c).
Claim 4/3/1
Miyazaki as modified by Yuki teaches: The vibration generator (101) according to claim 3, wherein
the left deforming portion (143c) includes
a first left deforming portion (143c) having one end connected to the left standing portion (143f) and extending on one side in the front-rear direction (Y direction);
a left bent portion (143b) to which another end of the first left deforming portion (143c) is connected; and
a second left deforming portion (143g) (143c) having one end connected to the left bent portion (143b) and extending on another side in the front-rear direction (Y direction) and having another end connected to the left fixed portion (143d, 143e).
Claim 5/3/1
Miyazaki as modified by Yuki teaches: The vibration generator (101) according to claim 3, wherein
the fixed-side magnetic field generator (coils 25, 26) is disposed below the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) at position between the right elastic support (142) and the left elastic support (143).
Claim 6/3/1
Miyazaki as modified by Yuki teaches: The vibration generator (101) according to claim 3, wherein
the elastic support (spring member 4 or 104) includes the connecting plate portion (plate portion 41 or 141) that connects the upper end of the right standing portion (142f) and an upper end of the left standing portion (143f), and
the movable-side magnetic field generator (31) is attached to a lower side of the connecting plate portion (plate portion 41 or 141).
Claim 7/3/1
Miyazaki as modified by Yuki teaches: The vibration generator (101) according to claim 3, wherein
the fixed-side member (fixed portion 2, including upper case portion 22, case 23 and yoke integrated coil portion 24) includes a box casing (box-shaped upper-case portion 22) including
a cylindrical portion (fillet edge of 22) provided with a front plate (portion of 22 extending vertically along Z direction and horizontally along Y direction X1 side), a left plate (portion of 22 extending vertically along Z direction and horizontally along X direction on Y1 side), a rear plate (portion of 22 extending vertically along Z direction and horizontally along Y direction X2 side), and a right plate (portion of 22 extending vertically along Z direction and horizontally along X direction on Y2 side);
a bottom plate (21) connected to a lower end of the cylindrical portion (fillet edge of 22); and
a top plate (141) connected to an upper end of the cylindrical portion (fillet edge of 22).
Claim 8/1
Miyazaki as modified by Yuki teaches: The vibration generator (101) according to claim 1, wherein
the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) is capable of being displaced rightward to a position where a right end of the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) and the right deforming portion (142c) overlap in a top view, and
upon displacement of the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) to the right side to a position where the right end of the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) and the right deforming portion (142c) overlap in the top view, the lower portion of the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) is at a position above the right deforming portion (142c) and not interfering with the right deforming portion (142c).
Claim 10/1
Miyazaki as modified by Yuki teaches: The vibration generator (101) according to claim 1, wherein
the right standing portion (142f) is formed to extend vertically upward from the right deforming portion (142c), and
the right deforming portion (142c) is disposed to the lower portion of the movable-side member (movable portion 3 or 103, including PM 31, weight 32, and magnet cover 33 or 133) in a right view in the left-right direction (142 extends along Z direction to lower portion of movable side member).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki as modified by Yuki in view of Amano (WO2022185818A1).
Claim 9/1
Miyazaki as modified by Yuki teaches: The vibration generator (101) according to claim 1, t doesn’t expressly teach: wherein
a distance from a lower end of the right deforming portion to the movable-side member in the vertical direction is greater than a distance from the lower end of the right deforming portion to the upper end of the right deforming portion in the vertical direction.
Amano conversely teaches a movable side member Mb that includes magnet 5 and movable side magnetic member 6, supported by leaf spring member 7. The right deforming portion 7R includes an upper curved portion 7R1, a right vertical portion 7R2, a lower curved portion 7R3, and a right fixing portion 7R4. The magnet 5 is attached to the central portion 7C, and the fixed side coil 4 is located below the magnet. The right vertical portion extends downward from the central portion, while the lower curved portion extends outward from the vertical portion’s lower end. This provides a relevant structure wherein the magnet is positioned such that a distance from a lower end of the right deforming portion 7R to the movable-side-member 6 in the vertical direction is greater than a distance from the lower end of the right deforming portion 7R to the upper end of the right deforming portion of 7R4 in the vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the relative vertical positions of the movable side magnetic assembly and the elastic support in the vibration generator of Miyazaki, as modified by Amano, so that the vertical distance between the lower end of the deforming portion and the movable side magnetic field generator is greater than the vertical height of the deforming portion. Such a configuration would accommodate the movable side magnetic assembly above the elastic support while permitting the elastic support to deform during the intended reciprocating movement. Furthermore, such a configuration would be advantageous by providing a predictable spatial arrangement of the magnetic assembly and elastic support and could help avoid unwanted contact between components during operation.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834