DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 7-19 of copending Application No. 19/084178 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a copper foil comprising 5-25 ppm Ag, 0.5-8 ppm Ti, and 5-85 ppm S. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘178 application which recites a copper foil comprising 2-21 ppm Ag, 0.5-5.5 ppm Ti, and 2-80 ppm S and a surface of the foil has a (220) orientation index of 2.05-3.08. The instant claims and those of the ‘178 application recite copper foils with overlapping compositions and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Instant claims 2-4 recite Ag, Ti, and S contents overlapping claims 2-4 of the ‘178 application, respectively. Instant claims 5-6 recite tensile strengths overlapping claims 7-8 of the ‘178 application, respectively. Instant claim 7 recites an electrical conductivity overlapping claim 9 of the ‘178 application. Instant claim 8 recites a Rz roughness overlapping claim 10 of the ‘178 application. Instant claim 9 recites an elongation overlapping claim 11 of the ‘178 application. Instant claim 10 recites a thickness overlapping claim 12 of the ‘178 application. Instant claims 11-12 recite a treatment layer overlapping claims 13-14 of the ‘178 application, respectively. Instant claims 13-15 recite materials overlapping claims 15-17 of the ‘178 application, respectively. Instant claims 16-17 recite a collector and secondary battery overlapping claims 18-19 of the ‘178 application, respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurosaki et al (JP2013-247107 – machine translation) and claims 5-6, 8-9, and 11-15 in view of Kurosaki as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Song et al. (US 2017/0141403).
Considering claim 1, Kurosaki teaches copper foil for a secondary battery (abstract). The foil comprises copper comprises 10-500 ppm Ag (Paragraph 12), at most 20 ppm of one or more of Ti, S, etc. as an unavoidable impurity, etc. (Paragraph 14).
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed copper foil this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Kurosaki as the alloy of the copper foil taught by Kurosaki overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Kurosaki teaches where the copper comprises 10-500 ppm Ag (Paragraph 12).
Considering claims 3-4, Kurosaki teaches where the foil comprises one or more of Ti, S, etc. as an unavoidable impurity, etc. (Paragraph 14).
Considering claims 5-6, Kurosaki does not teach the claimed tensile strength.
In a related field of endeavor, Song teaches a copper foil for a current collector and a lithium battery (Paragraph 1). The foil has a tensile strength of 55 kgf/mm2 or more (Paragraph 24) to prevent crack formation during charging/discharging of the battery (Paragraph 102).
As both Kurosaki and Song teach copper foils for current collectors they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Kurosaki with the tensile strength of Song as this is known to prevent crack formation and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the tensile strength of modified Kurosaki overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 7, Kurosaki does not expressly teach the claimed conductivity. However, as outlined above, Kurosaki teaches a substantially identical copper foil as that which is claimed and therefore the conductivity is expected to be present as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Considering claim 8, Song teaches where the Rz surface roughness is 0.5-2.0 µm (Paragraph 26). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 9, Song teaches where the elongation of the foil is 2.5% or more (Paragraph 25). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 10, Kurosaki teaches where the thickness of the copper foil is preferably 5-20 µm (Paragraph 21).
Considering claims 11-12, Song teaches where the foil is subjected to a surface treatment to form a layer thereon including metals or organics (Paragraph 40).
Considering claim 13, Song teaches where the treatment layer may be Cr, Ni, Zn, etc. (Paragraph 41).
Considering claims 14-15, Song teaches where the treatment layer may be a silane, epoxy, etc. (Paragraph 43) (i.e. comprising C, O, and Si).
Considering claims 16-17, Kurosaki teaches where the foil is a current collector for a lithium ion secondary battery (Paragraphs 18-19).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matsunaga et al. (US 2018/0040389), Matsunaga et al. (US 2018/0187292), and Matsunaga et al. (US 2021/0002743) teach copper foils with alloy compositions overlapping that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784