DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14 of copending Application No. 18/643853. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to an impact tool comprising: a housing including a first housing portion, a second housing portion/head housing portion. second housing portion/head housing portion having a drive assembly, gear case having gear assembly within the second housing portion/head housing portion (current claim 1 and patented claims 1 and 14) and the gear case is entirely disposed between the first housing and the second housing portion (current claim 2 and patented claim 1) since patented claims 1 and 14 recite “a gear support coupled to the first housing portion and the second housing portion, the gear support and the second housing portion collectively defining a gear case enclosing the gear assembly and the drive assembly”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: In claim 6 the phrase “the gear case includes a first gear case portion, a second gear case portion, and a seal between the first gear case portion and the second gear case portion” is not found in the specification. Is the first gear case portion the ring gear? Examiner is interpreting the first gear case portion as being the ring gear since the seal is between the ring gear and gear case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Samstag et al. (US 20220193877 A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Samstag et al. (US 20220193877 A1) in view of Anthony (US 5269733 A) and further in view of Elger (US 20020094907 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Samstag et al. discloses a power tool (10, figs. 1 and 15-17 [0045]) comprising: a housing including a first housing portion and a second housing portion (housing shells 28A, 28B), the first housing portion and the second housing portion collectively defining a head housing portion (38/outer housing 187 [0046-0047], figs. 1-3, 7, 10, and 13-17); a motor (18) supported within the head housing portion and including an output shaft (130, [0026-0027], figs. 1-2 and 15);
a gear case (192) completely enclosed by the head housing portion (outer housing 187); a gear assembly (190) engage d with the output shaft and supported within the gear case (figs. 4 and 15); and
a drive assembly (rotary impact mechanism 22 - camshaft 50, hammer 54, anvil 90, and spring 82, fig. 4) driven by the gear assembly (190) and supported within the head housing portion ([0026-0050], figs. 1-17).
Regarding claim 10, Samstag et al. discloses a power tool (10, figs.
1 and 15-17 [0045]) comprising: a housing defining a head housing portion (38/outer housing 187 [0046-0047], figs. 1-3, 7, 10, and 13-17); a motor (18) supported within the head housing portion and including an output shaft defining an axis (130, [0026-0027], figs. 1-2 and 15);
a gear case (192) aligned with the motor along the axis and
supported within the head housing portion (figs. 15-17);
a gear assembly (190) engaged with the output shaft and supported
within the gear case, the gear assembly including a pinion gear coupled to the output shaft ([0033-0034], fig. 4),
a plurality of planet gears (14/190) meshed with the pinion gear (figs.
4 and 15), and a ring gear (193) meshed with the planet gears (figs. 4 and 15);
a seal (O-rings/sealing members in first and second grooves 162, 166
with engagement members 174, 178 [0038-0040], figs. 3-10) positioned axially between the gear case and the ring gear (fig. 5-6 and 11-12 shows where the gasket/O-ring is in the nose case 30 at 166 AND a gasket is in 162/174 figs. 7-10 which is between the gear case and the ring gear [0038-0041], figs. 1-15); and
a drive assembly (rotary impact mechanism 22 - camshaft 50,
hammer 54, anvil 90, and spring 82, fig. 4) driven by the planet gears and supported within the head housing portion (38/outer housing 187 [0046-0047], figs. 1-3, 7-10, and 13-17).
Regarding claim 16, Samstag et al. discloses a power tool (10, figs. 1 and 15-17 [0045]) comprising: a housing including a first housing portion and a second housing portion (housing shells 28A, 28B), the first housing portion and the second housing portion collectively defining a head housing portion (38/outer housing 187 [0046-0047], figs. 1-3, 7, 10, and 13-17); a motor (18) supported within the head housing portion ([0026-0027], figs. 1-2);
a gear case (192) supported by the head housing portion; the nose cap (30) coupled to the gear case (192);
a gear assembly (190) engaged with the motor (18) and supported within the gear case (192); and a drive assembly (rotary impact mechanism 22 - camshaft 50, hammer 54, anvil 90, and spring 82, fig. 4) driven by the gear assembly (190) and supported within the head housing portion (38/outer housing 187, [0026-0050], figs. 1-17) and Samstag et al. teaches the variations/teachings of the different embodiments can be combined [0051].
In the alternative, if it can be argued that Samstag et al. fails to disclose the drive assembly and gear assembly being in the same embodiment (having outer housing 187 with gear case 192) and the seal/gasket/O-ring positioned axially between the gear case and the ring gear and not obvious to combine the embodiments –
Anthony teaches having a similar impact wrench (10) with a drive train (30) with a drive assembly (drive shaft 51, anvil 24, hammer 25) and gear assembly (gear carrier 50/gears 70) with a seal/gasket/O-ring (48/ lugs 41/screws 19) positioned axially between a gear case (12) and a ring gear (32/35 - the lugs (41) are between the end surfaces 12a and 13a of the front and rear housings 12 and 13, the lugs having walls 42 the connect and seal between 12a and 13a, see figs. 1-3 and 9, with screws (19) and ringer gear (32) also has an inner wall (33/side wall portions 34) with cylindrical flange 38 and washer (49) for bearing (48) to have the entire drive train 30 and motor in one housing 11, col. 3, lines 24-67, col. 5, lines 9-29, figs. 1-9). Anthony also teaches having an oil seal (26) and bushing (23) between anvil (24) and a bit or socket to be coupled (col. 2, lines 56-67).
Elger also teaches a similar impact wrench (10) with a drive train (30) with a drive assembly (104-drive/cam shaft 108, anvil 138, hammer/ram 120 [0044]) and gear assembly (34/14) with a seal/gasket/O-ring (60) positioned axially between a gear case (50) and a ring gear (54 [0035] figs. 2 and 9).
Given the teachings of Samstag et al. to have a plurality of sealing members on the housing portions and on the ring gear to seal the gear assembly and/or drive assembly disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the drive assembly and gear assembly being in the same embodiment with a seal/gasket/O-ring positioned axially between the gear case and the ring gear to have a sealed motor and gear drive compartment, have a plurality/different compartments sealed and/or for vibration dampening purposes as taught by Anthony and Elger.
Regarding claims 2, 16, and 20, Samstag et al. discloses the gear case is entirely disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion, completely enclosed by the head housing portion (housing shells 28A, 28B/outer housing 187 entirely enclose gear case 192). Also, as discussed given the teachings of Samstag et al. to have a sealed gear assembly and/or drive assembly disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the drive assembly and gear assembly disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion to have a plurality/different compartments sealed and/or for vibration dampening purposes.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Samstag et al. discloses the output shaft defines an axis (axis 62, 62′, figs. 4-17), and wherein the gear case includes a tab extending radially outward in a direction perpendicular to the axis towards the housing (186 - “gear case includes flanges, ribs, stops, etc. that can extend into the openings and slots in the housing 187” [0049] - two openings 188 and two slots 196 can be swapped with tabs 186), the tab received within a recess of the housing (two openings 188) to inhibit rotation of the gear case relative to the housing ([0045-0050], figs. 15-17).
Regarding claims 4-6, Samstag et al. discloses the housing includes a nose cap (30) coupled to the gear case and the drive assembly includes an anvil received in the gear case and extending through the nose cap ([0028-0031], figs. 1-4). Elger also teaches the housing (18) includes a nose cap (unnumbered, figs. 1-2) coupled to the gear case (see figs. 1-2) and the drive assembly includes an anvil received in the gear case and extending through the nose cap (see figs. 1-2) and as discussed given the teachings of Samstag et al. to have a sealed gear assembly and/or drive assembly disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the housing (187) with having the first housing portion and the second housing portion (housing shells 28A, 28B) with the nose cap/front housing (30) and the drive assembly includes an anvil received in the gear case and extending through the nose cap to have a plurality/different compartments sealed and/or for vibration dampening purposes as also taught by Elger.
Regarding claim 7, Samstag et al. teaches the output shaft defines an axis (axis 62, 62′, figs. 4-17), the gear case aligned with the motor along the axis ([0029-0036, 0040, 0045-0050], figs. 1-16).
Regarding claim 8, Samstag et al. teaches the housing defines a handle housing portion (42, figs. 1-2 and 7), wherein the power tool further comprises a battery receptacle (46) in the handle housing portion configured to removably receive a battery and provide power to the motor ([0027] figs. 1-2 and 7).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Samstag et al. teaches a bushing (198) coupled to the gear case and supports an anvil of the drive assembly for rotation, wherein the bushing includes a groove (188) on an inner periphery that receives a lubricant to minimize friction as the anvil rotates ([0041], figs. 3 and 17) and wherein the seal (O-rings/sealing members in first and second grooves 162, 166) interfaces with a flange (engagement members 174, 178) of the gear case ([0038-0040, 0045-0051], figs. 3-10).
Regarding claim 14, Samstag et al. discloses the ring gear includes a protrusion (surface 146/146’ has recesses/slots 150 which form protrusions between the slots, figs. 3-14 AND ring gear 193 has ribs 194) extending from a rearward face of the ring gear in a direction along the axis (figs. 4-5, 9, 11, and 14-15), the protrusion is seated within an aperture (slots 196 and slots between ribs 154, figs. 7-9) of the housing ([0035-0050], figs. 3-16). Anthony also teaches ring gear (32/35) includes a protrusion lugs (41) extending from a rearward face of the ring gear in a direction along the axis, the protrusion is seated within an aperture of the housing (extends in to opening in 12a/13a, figs. 1, 7, and 9).
Regarding claim 15, Samstag et al. teaches having an aperture (figs. 12-14) that extends through a dividing wall (engagement members 174, 178) in the housing that separates the motor (18) from the ring gear (110/110’, [0033, 0038-0041], figs. 1-9) and teaches having an aperture (138) that extends through a dividing wall (122, fig. 5) in the housing that separates the motor (18) from the ring gear (110, [0033, 0038-0041], figs. 1-9). Anthony also teaches the ring gear includes a protrusion (screws 46 and/or screws 19) seated within an aperture (40/slots 43) that extends through a dividing wall (inner wall 33/frustoconical portion 35/radial end webs 39 and cylindrical flange 38) in the housing that separates the motor (20) from the ring gear (32, [0033, 0038-0041], figs. 1-4 and 7-9).
Regarding claims 17-19, Samstag et al. teaches the motor defines an axis (62, 62′), and wherein the gear case (190) includes a tab (194 with 188/186- “openings and slots may be located in the outer housing 187 such that the gear case includes flanges, ribs, stops, etc. that can extend into the openings and slots in the housing 187”) extending radially outward in a direction perpendicular to the axis towards the housing, the tab (194) is received within a recess of the housing to inhibit rotation of the gear case relative to the housing, the tab is a first of a plurality of tabs extending radially outward in a direction perpendicular to the axis towards the housing, the recess in the housing is a first of a plurality of recesses in the housing, and each tab is received within one of the plurality of recesses in the housing to inhibit rotation of the gear case relative to the housing, wherein the gear case (190) includes a projection (194 with 188/186) extending radially outward in a direction perpendicular to the axis towards the housing, the projection is received within a recess of the nose cap (187/30) to inhibit rotation of the gear case relative to the nose cap ([0046-0051], figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Samstag et al. also teaches having groove (166) in the nose (30) that engages engagement member 178 [0038-0040], figs. 6-14).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Samstag et al. (US 20220193877 A1) in view of Soika et al. (US 20040211575 A1) OR IN THE ALTERNATIVE Samstag et al. (US 20220193877 A1) in view of Anthony (US 5269733 A) in view of Elger (US 20020094907 A1) and further in view of Soika et al. (US 20040211575 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Samstag et al./modified Samstag et al. fails to teach the seal is U-shaped in cross section and couples to and receives the flange of the gear case.
Soika et al. teaches a gear casing (30) having sealing ring (32) with a sealing motor plate (16) to provide sealing between the gear casing (30) and the motor (4) teaches having seals (38 and 46) in the through hole (42) of the plate (16) with a U-shaped in cross section (“V-shaped portion (39)”, [0028], fig. 4) and also teaches having seal (138) that is U-shaped in cross section (U-shaped cross-sectioned fixing portion (137)” [0037]) and couples to and receives the flange (149) of the motor plate (149, [0025-0032], figs. 4-5).
Given the teachings of Samstag et al. to have O-rings/sealing members in grooves and a bushing, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the ring gear to the seal is U-shaped in cross section and couples to and receives the flange of the gear case to have the seal cover the motor and gear drive compartment better, more secure fitting/locking the seal on the flange and/or for better vibration dampening purposes as taught by Soika et al.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Samstag et al. (US 20220193877 A1) in view of Saur et al. (US 20230008797 A1) and further in view of Ullrich et al. (US 20020121384 A1) OR IN THE ALTERNATIVE Samstag et al. (US 20220193877 A1) in view of Anthony (US 5269733 A) in view of Elger (US 20020094907 A1) in view of Saur et al. (US 20230008797 A1) and further in view of Ullrich et al. (US 20020121384 A1).
Regarding claims 14-15, Samstag et al./modified Samstag et al. fails to explicitly discloses the ring gear includes a protrusion extending from a rearward face of the ring gear in a direction along the axis, the protrusion is seated within an aperture of the housing and the aperture extends through a dividing wall in the housing that separates the motor from the ring gear.
Saur et al. teaches an impact tool (100) having a ring gear (210) that includes a protrusion (216) extending from a rearward face of the ring gear in a direction along a motor/drive (180/125) axis (209), the protrusion is seated within an aperture (receptacle of the transmission housing 205 [0044]) of the housing (205, figs. 1-2) and the aperture extends through a dividing wall (wall of 205, figs. 2-4) in the housing that separates the motor (180) from the ring gear ([0043-0049], figs. 1-4).
Ullrich et al. also teaches a drywall screwdriver (fig. 1) having a ring gear (46) includes a protrusion (48) extending from a rearward face of the ring gear (fig. 3) in a direction along a motor/drive (18) axis (38), the protrusion is seated within an aperture (52/54) of the housing (44/56, figs. 1-2) and the aperture extends through a dividing wall (collar 50) in the housing (44/56) that separates a motor (18) from the ring gear (46, [0029-0030], figs. 1-3).
Given the teachings of Samstag et al. to have a ring gear that includes a protrusion and partition walls with engagement members to hold the ring gear, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the ring gear to have the protrusion extending from a rearward face of the ring gear in a direction along the axis, the protrusion is seated within an aperture of the housing and the aperture extends through a dividing wall in the housing that separates the motor from the ring gear to have a sealed motor and gear drive compartment, locking the ring gear from rotation and/or for vibration dampening purposes as taught by Saur et al. and Ullrich et al.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Samstag et al. (US 20220193877 A1) in view of Kriaski et al. (US 20030000347 A1) OR IN THE ALTERNATIVE Samstag et al. (US 20220193877 A1) in view of Anthony (US 5269733 A) in view of Elger (US 20020094907 A1) and further in view of Kriaski et al. (US 20030000347 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Samstag et al. teaches the gear case (190) includes a projection (194 with 188/186) extending radially outward in a direction perpendicular to the axis towards the housing, the projection is received within a recess of the housing (187/30) to inhibit rotation of the gear case relative to the nose cap ([0046-0051], figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Samstag et al. also teaches having groove (166) in the nose (30) that engages engagement member 178 [0038-0040], figs. 6-14).
Samstag et al. fails to explicitly disclose/teach having a recess in the nose cap for a projection.
Kriaski et al. teaches having screw gun (fig. 1) having a housing (100) with a front housing case (depth adjusting assembly A -200/300/400) that includes a projection (locking tabs 220) extending radially outward in a direction perpendicular to the axis towards the inner sides of the housing (figs. 3-4), the projection is received within a recess (slots/gaps between detents 140) of the depth adjusting nose cap (depth adjusting assembly A -200/300/400) to inhibit rotation of the front housing case relative to the nose cap [0030-0031] and Kriaski et al. also teaches (depth adjusting assembly A -200/300/400) includes another projection (tab 211 and “indexing tabs 270 radially formed on an exterior surface” [0035], figs. 4-8) extending radially outward in a direction perpendicular to the axis towards the housing (figs. 2-8), the projection is received within a recess (groove 130, figs. 4-8) of the depth adjusting nose cap (depth adjusting assembly A -200/300/400) to inhibit rotation of the front housing case relative to the nose cap ([0027-0030, 0035], figs. 1-8).
Given the teachings of Samstag et al. to have the gear case includes a projection extending radially outward in a direction perpendicular to the axis towards the housing, the projection is received within a recess of the housing to inhibit rotation of the gear case relative to the nose cap, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the ring gear to have a recess in the nose cap for a projection to have a protective wear surface nose cap attached, have a depth adjusting cap attached to the front and/or alignment features for easier attaching the nose cap purposes as taught by Kriaski et al.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent:
US 5044233 A - (sleeve 10) includes a projection (23) received within a recess (43/63) of housing (40)
US 3369615 A - ring gear (internal ring gear 39 of 19, col. 3, lines 60-62) includes a protrusion (tabs between plurality of pockets 19b and/or screws 26, figs. 7-8) extending from a rearward face of the ring gear in a direction along a motor/drive axis (figs. 1-2 and 7-8), the protrusion is seated within an aperture (ribs 24 on plate 23 form slot/aperture and screws 26 protrude through screw holes in plate 23) of the housing (11) and the aperture extends through a dividing wall (plate 23) in the housing that separates the motor from the ring gear (col. 2, lines 47-72, col. 3, lines 1-62, figs. 1-2 and 7-8).
US 20020121384 A1 - ring gear (6a) includes a protrusion (6b) extending from a rearward face of the ring gear (fig. 2) in a direction along a motor/drive axis (figs. 1-2), the protrusion is seated within an aperture (holes 7b with damping members 5a and 5b, fig. 2) of the housing (1, figs. 1-2) and the aperture extends through a dividing wall (gear support jig 7a with inner wall with holes 7b extend through the inner wall of jig 7a, figs. 1-2) in the housing (1) that separates a motor (2) from the ring gear (6a) and figs. 3-4 show ring gear (6c) with protrusions (6d) that are seated within apertures (7d) that extend through a dividing wall (rim of jig 7c [0017-0022], figs. 1-4)
US 5692574 A- power tool (fig. 1) housing seals with different cross sections including U-shaped in cross section (opening groove 31) to couple to housing flanges (17, figs. 2-4) and see form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731