DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 7-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 19/084131 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1-7 recites a copper foil comprising 2-21 ppm Ag, 0.5-5.5 ppm Ti, and 2-80 ppm S and a surface of the foil has a (220) orientation index of 2.05-3.08. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘131 application which recites a copper foil comprising 5-25 ppm Ag, 0.5-8 ppm Ti, and 5-85 ppm S. The instant claims and those of the ‘131 application recite copper foils with overlapping compositions and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Instant claims 2-4 recite Ag, Ti, and S contents overlapping claims 2-4 of the ‘131 application, respectively. Instant claims 7-8 recite tensile strengths overlapping claims 5-6 of the ‘131 application, respectively. Instant claim 9 recites an electrical conductivity overlapping claim 7 of the ‘131 application. Instant claim 10 recites a Rz roughness overlapping claim 8 of the ‘131 application. Instant claim 11 recites an elongation overlapping claim 9 of the ‘131 application. Instant claim 12 recites a thickness overlapping claim 10 of the ‘131 application. Instant claims 13-14 recite a treatment layer overlapping claims 11-12 of the ‘131 application, respectively. Instant claims 15-17 recite materials overlapping claims 11-15 of the ‘131 application, respectively. Instant claims 18-19 recite a collector and secondary battery overlapping claims 16-17 of the ‘131 application, respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurosaki et al (JP2013-247107 – machine translation) in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0098746) and claims 10 and 13-17 are rejected in view of Kurosaki and Kim as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Song et al. (US 2017/0141403).
Considering claim 1, Kurosaki teaches copper foil for a secondary battery (abstract). The foil comprises copper comprises 10-500 ppm Ag (Paragraph 12), at most 20 ppm of one or more of Ti, S, etc. as an unavoidable impurity, etc. (Paragraph 14). However, Kurosaki does not teach the claimed orientation index.
In a related field of endeavor, Kim teaches a copper foil for an electrode of a secondary battery (Paragraph 2). The foil has an orientation index M(220) of one or more (Paragraph 70) and teaches where this reduces wrinkles and tears in the foil (Paragraph 71).
As both Kurosaki and Kim teach copper foils for electrodes of batteries they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Kurosaki with the orientation index M(220) taught by Kim as this is known to reduce wrinkles and tears in the foil and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the orientation index taught by modified Kurosaki overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Kurosaki teaches where the copper comprises 10-500 ppm Ag (Paragraph 12).
Considering claims 3-4, Kurosaki teaches where the foil comprises one or more of Ti, S, etc. as an unavoidable impurity, etc. (Paragraph 14).
Considering claims 7-8, Kim teaches where the foil has a tensile strength of 41.0-75.0 kgf/mm2 (Paragraph 19).
Considering claim 9, Kurosaki does not expressly teach the claimed conductivity. However, as outlined above, Kurosaki teaches a substantially identical copper foil as that which is claimed and therefore the conductivity is expected to be present as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Considering claim 10, neither Kurosaki nor Kim teach the claimed roughness.
In a related field of endeavor, Song teaches a copper foil for a current collector and a lithium battery (Paragraph 1). Song teaches where the Rz surface roughness is 0.5-2.0 µm (Paragraph 26) and where this allows for improved binding strength with the active material on the electrode and allow for uniform charging/discharging of the battery (Paragraphs 27-28).
As Kurosaki, Kim, and Song teach copper foils for current collectors they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Kurosaki and Kim with the Rz surface roughness of Song as this is known to have improved binding strength with the active material on the electrode and allow for uniform charging/discharging of the battery and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the Rz roughness of modified Kurosaki overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 11, Kim teaches where the stretch ratio (i.e. elongation ratio) is 2-15% (Paragraph 18). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 12, Kurosaki teaches where the thickness of the copper foil is preferably 5-20 µm (Paragraph 21).
Considering claims 13-14, Song teaches where the foil is subjected to a surface treatment to form a layer thereon including metals or organics (Paragraph 40).
Considering claim 15, Song teaches where the treatment layer may be Cr, Ni, Zn, etc. (Paragraph 41).
Considering claims 16-17, Song teaches where the treatment layer may be a silane, epoxy, etc. (Paragraph 43) (i.e. comprising C, O, and Si).
Considering claims 18-19, Kurosaki teaches where the foil is a current collector for a lithium ion secondary battery (Paragraphs 18-19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art to the instant claims is that of Kim as outlined above. Kim teaches an orientation index of the (220) surface overlapping that which is claimed, but does not each the clamed (111) orientation index or ratio thereof with the (220) orientation index.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matsunaga et al. (US 2018/0040389), Matsunaga et al. (US 2018/0187292), and Matsunaga et al. (US 2021/0002743) teach copper foils with alloy compositions overlapping that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784