DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a protruding member” in claim 1. This corresponds to ‘13’ in Applicant’s disclosure.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a cover rib provided opposite the guide rail” (Claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Guide rail 22 and cover rib 23 are generally shown in Fig. 5 for example. However, it is not clear how these are opposite to each other, as the details of 22 at the upper end of the figure are blurry and the reference number 22 appears to point to a void.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, “and positioned” is recited at the end of the last line. It is unclear what this refers to. Should it refer to the protruding member being positioned? It appears it may merely be a typo, however it creates some confusion. If a typo, these words may be deleted.
Claims 2-5 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (JP 2021-020809).
Regarding Claim 1, Okada et al. discloses
a pair of discharging rollers (31, 33) discharging a sheet through a discharge port (9);
a stacking tray (11) disposed downstream of the pair of discharging rollers with respect to a discharging direction (i.e. right to left in Fig. 3) of the sheet, the stacking tray having stacked thereon the sheet discharged by the pair of discharging rollers;
a protruding member (13) supported so as to be reciprocatable between a protrusion position (P2, Fig. 5) where the protruding member protrudes from the discharge port to above the stacking tray and where the protruding member brings, into contact with a top surface thereof, a leading edge of the sheet discharged by the pair of discharging rollers to guide the sheet in the discharging direction, and a retraction position (P1, Fig. 3) where the protruding member is retracted from above the stacking tray; and
a moving mechanism (51, 70) having a supporting holder (51) movably holding the protruding member, the moving mechanism making the protruding member move between the protrusion position and the retraction position,
wherein
the sheet discharging device further comprises a sensing portion (53) sensing whether the protruding member is in the retraction position,
the sensing portion is disposed in the supporting holder (see Fig. 3) the supporting holder has:
a guide rail (51U) extending along a movement direction of the protruding member; and
a cover rib (51Lo, since the rib is not further defined, it may be taken as extending from the right wall of 51) provided opposite the guide rail,
the moving mechanism is configured to include:
a rack gear (71) having a plurality of gear teeth in a row along the movement direction of the protruding member; and
a pinion gear (73) that meshes with the rack gear to constitute a rack-and-pinion mechanism, and
the sensing portion is disposed on a lower end part of the guide rail (i.e. 53 is at a lower right end of 51U, Fig. 5) and senses presence of the protruding member before the protruding member makes contact with a positioning protrusion (i.e. the right/short wall of 51, since the protrusion is not further defined, it may be taken as protruding from 51U) in the retraction position and positioned. It is noted that in the absence of a claimed controller, the protruding member is at least capable of being driven by 73 such as to positively contact the right/short wall.
Regarding Claim 2, Okada et al. discloses
the sensing portion is an optical sensor (i.e. "a photo interrupter") including a light emitting portion and a light receiving portion disposed opposite each other and senses, when the protruding member enters or retracts from an optical path of the optical sensor (i.e. "the movable guide 13 is detected by blocking the optical path"), whether the protruding member is in the retraction position.
Regarding Claim 3, Okada et al. discloses
the optical sensor is disposed at a downstream end part of the protruding member in a retraction direction (i.e. at the right end, in the left to right direction, Fig. 3) thereof, and
the sensing portion senses, when the protruding member enters the optical path of the optical sensor, presence of the protruding member in the retraction position (i.e. "the movable guide 13 is detected by blocking the optical path").
Regarding Claim 4, Okada et al. discloses
a post-processing mechanism (21) performing predetermined post-processing (i.e. stapling) on the sheet and conveying the post-processed sheet to the sheet discharging device.
Regarding Claim 5, Okada et al. discloses
an image forming apparatus forming an image on the sheet and conveying the sheet having the image formed thereon to the sheet post-processing apparatus (i.e. "An image forming device for forming an image of a sheet and a post-processing device for performing post-processing such as stapling and drilling on a sheet on which an image is formed").
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments appear more generic (i.e. do not specifically argue where Okada does not disclose the newly claimed features), wherein “These claimed features and effects are of no concern and not mentioned or suggested in Okada. Thus amended claim 1 recites the features (i) to (iii) integrated together and is novel over Okada.”, it is noted that Okada discloses the newly claimed features, mapped as per the Claim 1 rejection above.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakano et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0068202) discloses retraction sensor 99 but its location is not shown to be on the downstream end or to be mounted on the supporting holder.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 July 1, 2026