DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a protruding member” in claim 1. This corresponds to ‘13’ in Applicant’s disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (JP 2021-020809).
Regarding Claim 1, Okada et al. discloses
a pair of discharging rollers (31, 33) discharging a sheet through a discharge port (9);
a stacking tray (11) disposed downstream of the pair of discharging rollers with respect to a discharging direction (i.e. right to left in Fig. 3) of the sheet, the stacking tray having stacked thereon the sheet discharged by the pair of discharging rollers;
a protruding member (13) supported so as to be reciprocatable between a protrusion position (P2, Fig. 5) where the protruding member protrudes from the discharge port to above the stacking tray and where the protruding member brings, into contact with a top surface thereof, a leading edge of the sheet discharged by the pair of discharging rollers to guide the sheet in the discharging direction, and a retraction position (P1, Fig. 3) where the protruding member is retracted from above the stacking tray; and
a moving mechanism (51, 70) having a supporting holder (51) movably holding the protruding member, the moving mechanism making the protruding member move between the protrusion position and the retraction position,
wherein
the sheet discharging device further comprises a sensing portion (53) sensing whether the protruding member is in the retraction position, and
the sensing portion is disposed in the supporting holder (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Okada et al. discloses
the sensing portion is an optical sensor (i.e. “a photo interrupter”) including a light emitting portion and a light receiving portion disposed opposite each other and senses, when the protruding member enters or retracts from an optical path of the optical sensor (i.e. “the movable guide 13 is detected by blocking the optical path”), whether the protruding member is in the retraction position.
Regarding Claim 3, Okada et al. discloses
the optical sensor is disposed at a downstream end part of the protruding member in a retraction direction (i.e. at the right end, in the left to right direction, Fig. 3) thereof, and
the sensing portion senses, when the protruding member enters the optical path of the optical sensor, presence of the protruding member in the retraction position (i.e. “the movable guide 13 is detected by blocking the optical path”).
Regarding Claim 4, Okada et al. discloses
a post-processing mechanism (21) performing predetermined post-processing (i.e. stapling) on the sheet and conveying the post-processed sheet to the sheet discharging device.
Regarding Claim 5, Okada et al. discloses
an image forming apparatus forming an image on the sheet and conveying the sheet having the image formed thereon to the sheet post-processing apparatus (i.e. “An image forming device for forming an image of a sheet and a post-processing device for performing post-processing such as stapling and drilling on a sheet on which an image is formed”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 March 3, 2026