DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 12 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuntzelman (10,011,082).
In re claim 1, Kuntzelman discloses a tire repair system (10) for inflating or repairing a tire, the tire repair system comprising:
a housing (9);
a compressor (15) positioned in the housing and configured to provide compressed air;
an aerosol canister (11) positioned in the housing and configured to provide a tire sealant;
a hose (14) configured to engage the tire and to deliver the tire sealant, the compressed air, or a mixture of the tire sealant and the compressed air to the tire; and
a valve assembly (18, 12, 25) fluidically coupled to the compressor, the aerosol canister, and the hose,
wherein the valve assembly comprises an actuator (18) configured to rotate relative to the housing about a central axis (axis parallel to main axis of aerosol canister 11, fig.1) between a first position and a second position, and a depressor component (peak of component 51) configured to depress an aerosol valve (13) stem of the aerosol canister when the valve assembly is positioned in the second position (col.3 ln.8-31).
In re claim 2, Kuntzelman discloses tire repair system of claim 1, wherein the actuator comprises a lever (bar extending across the body of element 18 best shown in fig.2) configured to be manually engaged by a user to rotate the actuator about the central axis between the first position and the second position.
In re claim 3, Kuntzelman discloses the tire repair system of claim 1, wherein the first position and the second are positioned 45 to 90 degrees apart about the central axis (fig.5 shows depressor component 51 only extends for at most 90 degrees from start to finish, therefore the first and second position are also within 90 degrees apart).
In re claim 4, Kuntzelman discloses the tire repair system of claim 1, wherein the valve assembly comprises a ramp assembly (ramp component of 51 leading to depressor peak) configured to move the depressor component relative to the actuator when the actuator rotates about the central axis between the first position and the second position.
In re claim 5, Kuntzelman discloses the tire repair system of claim 4, wherein the ramp assembly includes a first ramp positioned on the actuator engages a second ramp positioned on the depressor component (figs.1-2 and 5).
In re claim 6, Kuntzelman discloses the tire repair system of claim 5, wherein the first ramp engages the second ramp to slide the depressor component toward the aerosol valve stem when the actuator is rotated into the second position (figs.1-2 and 5).
In re claim 9, Kuntzelman discloses the tire repair system of claim 1, wherein the depressor component comprises one or more retention features that engage one or more corresponding retention features in the housing that restricts the depressor component to a linear movement along the central axis (portions shown in fig.1 which are inherently present in order for element 12 to work. Element 12 must be restricted from rotational movement so the cams work together to convert the rotational motion of actuator into linear movement).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art of record, alone or in combination, discloses or fairly suggests the subject matter of claim 7 as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hsiao (2021/0003223), Ohm (9,242,416), Scott (4,765,367) disclose various aerosol valve stem actuators.
/Timothy P. Kelly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753