Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by YU et al. (CN 112 866 459 A and YU hereinafter, translation provided)
Regarding Claim 1, YU discloses (figs.1-6) an electronic device comprising:
a first cover (shell 1);
a second cover (second shell movable from first shell 1) movable in a first direction (H) or a second direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the first cover; and
a display (4) including a first region (one part is located outside shell 1) visible to an outside of the first cover independently of movement of the second cover in the first direction and movement of the second cover in the second direction and a second region (other part is located inside first shell 1) extending from the first region,
wherein the second region is configured to be visible to the outside of the first cover as the second cover moves in the first direction or is rolled into an inside of the first cover as the second cover moves in the second direction (when the first casing 1 slides, the flexible screen slides around the shaft 2), and
wherein a first position (arc L) having a minimum radius of curvature in the second region is located between: a second position (fig.2, points of the display in the upper horizontal portion 41) of the second region in which a direction toward which a virtual surface (plane comprising the upper horizontal surface) that contacts the second region bent to have curvature in the first cover faces corresponds to a direction toward which the first region faces; and a third position of the second region in which a direction toward which a virtual surface (plane comprising the upper vertical surface) faces is perpendicular to the direction toward which the first region faces, and wherein a direction toward which a virtual surface (tangent plane to the first position) that contacts the first position faces is inclined (the tangent along the arc L is not horizontal) with respect to the direction toward which the first region faces (the first region is horizontal), within a reference angle range.
Regarding Claim 2, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the minimum radius ( R ) of curvature of the second region is less than half a height of an inner lateral surface of the first cover perpendicular to the direction toward which the first region faces.
Regarding Claim 4, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first cover includes: a first supporting member, comprising a support (21), disposed on the inner lateral surface of the first cover perpendicular to the direction toward which the first region faces, disposed on a position corresponding to the third position.
Regarding Claim 5, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the first supporting member is rotatable with respect to the second region.
Regarding Claim 6, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first cover includes: at least one second supporting member, comprising a support (21), configured to support the inner surface of the second region opposite to an outer surface of the second region facing the first cover, and wherein the minimum radius of the curvature of the second region corresponds to a radius of the at least one second supporting member (fig.2).
Regarding Claim 7, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one second supporting member includes: a first roller (21), disposed between the second position and the third position, rotatable with respect to the second region; and a second roller (21), disposed between the third position and a fourth position of the second region in which a direction faces the virtual surface that contacts the second region is opposite to the direction toward which the first region faces, is rotatable with respect to the second region, and wherein a fifth position of the second region having a radius of curvature corresponding to a radius of curvature of the first position is located between the third position and the fourth position (shows in fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 9, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a third roller (21) disposed between a first inner surface of the first cover facing a direction opposite to the direction toward which the first region faces and the inner lateral surface of the first cover perpendicular to the direction toward which the first region faces, and wherein the first position is defined within a portion of the second region that contacts the third roller (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 10, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 9, further comprising: a fourth roller (21) disposed between a second inner surface of the first cover facing the first inner surface, and the inner lateral surface, and wherein the position of the second region having the radius of curvature corresponding to the radius of curvature of the first position is defined within another portion of the second region that contacts the fourth roller (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 11, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a fifth roller (21) disposed on the first inner surface of the first cover facing the direction opposite to the direction toward which the first region faces; and a sixth roller (21) disposed on the inner lateral surface of the first cover perpendicular to the direction toward which the first region faces, and wherein the first position is defined between the fifth roller and the sixth roller (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 12, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 11, further comprising: a seventh roller (21)disposed on the second inner surface of the first cover facing the first inner surface, and wherein the position of the second region having the radius of curvature corresponding to the radius of curvature of the first position is defined between the sixth roller and the seventh roller (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 13, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 11, further comprising: the seventh roller disposed on the second inner surface of the first cover facing the first inner surface; and an eighth roller (21), disposed on the inner lateral surface of the first cover, spaced apart from the sixth roller, and wherein a position of the second region having the radius of curvature corresponding to the radius of curvature of the first position is defined between the seventh roller and the eighth roller (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 14, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first cover includes: a protecting layer (plate 13) disposed on the inner lateral surface of the first cover that is perpendicular to the direction toward which the first region faces, and facing the second region.
Regarding Claim 15, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first cover includes: the first inner surface facing the direction opposite to the direction toward which the first region faces; and the second inner surface, facing the first inner surface, spaced apart from the first inner surface, and wherein the first position is closer to the first inner surface from among the first inner surface and the second inner surface (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 16, YU discloses (figs.1-6) an electronic device comprising: a first cover (shell 1);
a second cover (second shell movable from first shell 1) movable in a first direction (H) or a second direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the first cover; and
a display (4) including a first region (one part is located outside shell 1) visible to an outside of the first cover independently of movement of the second cover in the first direction and movement of the second cover in the second direction and a second region (other part is located inside first shell 1) extending from the first region,
wherein the second region is configured to be visible to the outside of the first cover as the second cover moves in the first direction or is rolled into an inside of the first cover as the second cover moves in the second direction (when the first casing 1 slides, the flexible screen slides around the shaft 2), and
wherein a first position having a minimum radius ( R ) of curvature in the second region is located between: a second position in which a direction in which a virtual surface that contacts the second region bent to have a curvature in the first cover corresponds to a direction in which the first region faces; and a third direction of the second region in which a direction in which the virtual surface faces is perpendicular to the direction in which the first region faces, and
wherein a direction in which the virtual surface (plane comprising the upper vertical surface) that contacts the first position faces is inclined with respect to a direction in which the first region faces within a reference angle range, and wherein the minimum radius of curvature is less than half a height of a inner surface of the first cover perpendicular to a direction in which the first region faces (fig.2).
Regarding Claim 18, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the first cover further includes: a first support (21), disposed on a inner surface of the first cover perpendicular to the direction in which the first region faces, corresponding to the third position.
Regarding Claim 19, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the first cover further includes: at least one second support (21) configured to support an inner surface of the second region opposite to an outer surface of the second region facing the first cover, wherein the minimum radius of the curvature of the second region corresponds to a radius of the at least one second support (fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU et al in view of Jo et al (US Patent No. 10871797 B1 and Jo hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 3, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 1, but fails to disclose at least one guide bar, disposed on an inner surface of the second region among the first region and the second region, guiding movement of the second region; and a guide rail, including a guiding groove accommodating the at least one guide bar, disposed in the first cover, and surrounded by the display, and wherein the guiding groove extends along the guide rail such that the first position is located on an edge of the rail. However, Jo teaches (figs. 1-9) at least one guide bar (1042), disposed on an inner surface of the second region among the first region and the second region, guiding movement of the second region; and a guide rail (1027), including a guiding groove (fig.7) accommodating the at least one guide bar, disposed in the first cover, and surrounded by the display, and wherein the guiding groove extends along the guide rail such that the first position is located on an edge of the rail (figs. 1-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine at least one guide bar of Jo to device of YU in order to provide a movement may be guided by rotation of the roller (Jo, and Col 21, lines 5-15).
Regarding Claim 17, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 16, but fails to disclose at least one guide bar, disposed on an inner surface of the second region among the first region and the second region, guiding movement of the second region; and a guide rail, including a guiding groove accommodating the at least one guide bar, disposed in the first cover, and surrounded by the display, and wherein the guiding groove extends along the guide rail such that the first position is located on an edge of the rail. However, Jo teaches (figs. 1-9) at least one guide bar (1042), disposed on an inner surface of the second region among the first region and the second region, guiding movement of the second region; and a guide rail (1027), including a guiding groove (fig.7) accommodating the at least one guide bar, disposed in the first cover, and surrounded by the display, and wherein the guiding groove extends along the guide rail such that the first position is located on an edge of the rail (figs. 1-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine at least one guide bar of Jo to device of YU in order to provide a movement may be guided by rotation of the roller (Jo, and Col 21, lines 5-15).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU et al in view of Yoon et al (US Patent No. 11058018 B1 and Yoon hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 8, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first cover includes: a receiving groove including a recess in at least a portion of the inner lateral surface of the first cover perpendicular to the direction toward which the first region faces, and wherein the receiving groove has a shape corresponding to the second region facing the inner lateral surface of the first cover. However, Yoon teaches (figs. 1-15) wherein the first cover includes: a receiving groove including a recess in at least a portion of the inner lateral surface of the first cover
perpendicular to the direction toward which the first region faces, and wherein the receiving groove has a shape corresponding to the second region facing the inner lateral surface of the first cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a receiving groove of Yoon to device of YU in order to reduce the frictional force (Yoon, and Col 18, lines 30-35).
Regarding Claim 20, YU discloses (figs.1-6) the electronic device of claim 16, but fails to disclose wherein the first cover includes: a receiving groove including a recess in at least a portion of the inner lateral surface of the first cover perpendicular to the direction toward which the first region faces, and wherein the receiving groove has a shape corresponding to the second region facing the inner lateral surface of the first cover. However, Yoon teaches (figs. 1-15) wherein the first cover includes: a receiving groove including a recess in at least a portion of the inner lateral surface of the first
cover perpendicular to the direction toward which the first region faces, and wherein the receiving groove has a shape corresponding to the second region facing the inner lateral surface of the first cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a receiving groove of Yoon to device of YU in order to reduce the frictional force (Yoon, and Col 18, lines 30-35).
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841