DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 were filed with the application on 03/19/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2024/017986 (“Horisont”).
With regard to claim 1, Horisont discloses a method for controlling the operating pressure of a liquid carbon dioxide receiving facility (120; method inherent in apparatus disclosed for Fig 3), comprising: unloading liquid carbon dioxide (LC02) from a transport vessel (“from ship” in Fig 3) to the liquid carbon dioxide receiving facility (120); storing the liquid carbon dioxide (LCO2) in a temporary storage (10; page 3, line 17) at the liquid carbon dioxide receiving facility (120) (see Fig 3), wherein the temporary storage (10) comprises a carbon dioxide liquid phase and a carbon dioxide vapor phase (page 5, lines 4-11), wherein the addition of the liquid carbon dioxide increases the level of the liquid phase within the temporary storage (10) (inherently adding more liquid CO2 increases the level of liquid CO2 in the storage tank 10); pumping (via pump 15) the liquid carbon dioxide from the temporary storage (10) to permanent geologic storage (“permanent CO2 storage reservoir 1” page 5, line 8) or external use, wherein the removal of liquid carbon dioxide decreases the level of the liquid phase within the temporary storage (inherently removing liquid CO2 from storage tank 10 lowers the level of liquid CO2 in the storage tank 10); and managing pressure in the temporary storage (10) using at least some of the carbon dioxide liquid phase (page 7, lines 20-29; using resprayed liquid CO2 to control pressure (“for reducing pressure”).
With regard to claim 2, Horisont discloses the pressure in the temporary storage (10) increases due to boil- off gas generation due to heat ingress (page 7, lines 5-8).
With regard to claim 3, Horisont discloses that the pressure in the temporary storage (10) increases due to the increase in the level of the liquid phase within the temporary storage (inherently an increase in liquid level will increase the pressure from the liquid).
With regard to claim 4, Horisont discloses that the pressure in the temporary storage (10) decreases due to the decrease in the level of the liquid phase within the temporary storage (inherently, a decrease in liquid level will decrease the pressure from the liquid).
With regard to claim 5, Horisont discloses that at least a portion of the liquid carbon dioxide is subcooled (“subcooling” page 7, line 20), and wherein the pressure of the temporary storage (10) is reduced during the storing step by the addition of the subcooled liquid carbon dioxide to the temporary storage (10) (subcooled and resprayed liquid carbon dioxide is introduced into storage tank 10 to control/reduce pressure – page 7, lines 20-29).
With regard to claim 8, Horisont discloses that the managing pressure step further comprises vaporizing at least some of the carbon dioxide liquid phase at a rate sufficient to increase the pressure of the temporary storage (page 7, lines 5-9; “creating an increased pressure within the tank”).
With regard to claim 10, Horisont discloses spraying at least some of the subcooled liquid carbon dioxide as liquid droplets directly in the temporary storage (10) to condense a portion of the carbon dioxide vapor phase and reduce the pressure of the temporary storage (“subcooling and respraying … for reducing pressure” page 7, lines 20-29).
With regard to claim 11, Horisont discloses adding at least some of the subcooled liquid carbon dioxide (page 1, lines 22-23) below the liquid level of the carbon dioxide liquid phase and condensing carbon dioxide vapor phase on the surface of the vapor-liquid interface thereby indirectly reducing the pressure of the temporary storage (as shown in Fig 3, input line from “FROM SHIP” is inside storage 10 lower than 40 and about lower than tank pump).
With regard to claim 12, Horisont discloses that the subcooled liquid carbon dioxide is provided by unloading a transport vessel (“FROM SHIP”; page 1, lines 22-23) containing carbon dioxide as either a subcooled or saturated liquid that can be pumped to a pressure that exceeds the bubble point of transported fluid at the pressure of the temporary storage (capable of meeting the “can be” pumped via pump at 16 to achieve high pressure toward 1; see page 5, lines 23-28 and lines 4-8).
With regard to claim 13, Horisont discloses that the subcooled liquid carbon dioxide is provided by recirculating the subcooled liquid carbon dioxide back to temporary storage (10) (page 7, lines 20-29).
With regard to claim 14, Horisont discloses wherein pressure control for the temporary storage (10) regulates the amount of subcooled liquid carbon dioxide added to the temporary storage (subcooled liquid is resprayed to reduce pressure – i.e., control pressure by regulating amount of liquid resprayed; page 7, lines 20-29).
With regard to claim 16, Horisont discloses that the temporary storage (10) is selected from one or more horizontal vessels, vertical vessels, spheres, or a combination thereof (horizontal vessel 10 shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 17, Horisont discloses that the liquid carbon dioxide is transported to the receiving facility (120) using transport vessels selected from one or more of trucks, railcars, barges, ocean-going ships, pipelines, or a combination thereof (ship, see Fig 3 and page 7, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2024017986 (“Horisont”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0315949 (“Jansson”).
With regard to claim 14, Horisont discloses pressure control for the temporary storage (10) regulates the amount of subcooled liquid carbon dioxide added to the temporary storage (subcooled liquid is resprayed to reduce pressure – i.e., control pressure by regulating amount of liquid resprayed; page 7, lines 20-29).
If it is successfully argued that Horisont is not considered to show that the pressure control is regulated, then the following alternative rejection is offered.
Jansson discloses storing a liquified fuel in a temporary storage (12) and controlling pressure of the liquified fuel to regulate the pressure via a control unit (54) (para [0035]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Horisont so that the pressure is controlled via a control unit, such as taught by Jansson, in order to control the pressure and output to a desired amount (see paras [0035] and [0039]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 9, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2005/0132722 discloses transporting carbon dioxide from a transport vessel (10) to a temporary storage (14/23) and then to an external use (pipeline 16) with pressure control.
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753