DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 3/19/25 and 08/06/2026 have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,4-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnison et al. (US 20150042491, hereinafter Burnison) in view of El-Dinary (US 10582363)
Regarding claim 1, Burnison discloses a method, comprising:
sending at least one broadcast message via a central unit in a vehicle, wherein the broadcast message is intended for multiple audio output units (Par. 22: Lines 3-11; A vehicle carrying a hazard warning system is designed to detect a collision involving the vehicle and, consequently, broadcast a warning signal to occupants of nearby vehicles; Par. 34: Lines 1-4; The system includes a controller, detector, and a remote signal transmitter; Par. 44: Lines 1-3; A controller may include a device that actuates transmission subsequent detecting collision; The controller and its associates transmitter provide the vehicle central unit that controls and transmits broadcast warning; Par. 59: Lines 8-13; Speakers of a receiving vehicle may be used to emit an audible alert),
wherein the respective audio output unit that the method uses is one that comprises at least one broadcast radio receiver and that is configured to render auditory content, if this is picked up via the at least one broadcast receiver, via sound waves (Par. 46; A vehicle with a hazard warning system includes a receiver (broadcast radio receiver) to receive remote warnings transmitted by other vehicles. The receiver may include an RF antenna to receive RF signals transmitted from other vehicles. When the vehicle (A) receives a remote warning signal from another vehicle (B), the local warning device communicates a warning to the vehicle (A). Local warning devices may include audible systems; Par. 52: Lines 3-8; A local warning device may include a speaker configured to produce audible sound to the occupant),
and the central unit receives a predefined emergency signal signaling an emergency event (Par. 37; A detector can also be mechanical sensor. This would allow for detection of events such as the firing of pin (during airbag deployment). The detector will cause the transmitter to broadcast a remote warning signal. Sensors (detectors) can be connected to the controller (central unit); The collision-generated signal received by the controller is a predefined signal indicating the occurrence of an emergency event);
in response to which the central unit broadcasts at least one broadcast message via at least one radio connection to the respective broadcast radio receiver (Par. 44: Lines 1-3; Controller actuates a transmitter when it detects a collision; Par. 45; The controller receives an informational signal from the detector, evaluates the signal, and produces an output signal causing the RF transmitter to broadcast a RF warning signal; Par. 46: Lines 1-6; A receiver in another vehicle includes a RF antenna structured to receive the RF signals transmitted by other vehicles);
and the broadcast message is received by all broadcast radio receivers within a reception area of the central unit (Par. 22: Lines 18-20; A broadcast remote warning signal provides a local warning to each nearby vehicle in range to receive the remote warning signal; Par. 72: Lines 9-12; When an airbag is deployed, a remote warning signal is broadcast to all cooperating vehicles within broadcast reach).
Burnison discloses broadcasting a message to multiple audio units (as previously disclosed) but does not disclose wherein at least two of the audio output units render different auditory entertainment content that is independent of the central unit.
El-Dinary, however, discloses an audio output unit rendering audio entertainment content that is independent of the emergency broadcast transmitter (Col. 16: Lines 24-40; The digital radio broadcast receiver system may receive emergency messages while audio from another source, such as a user-selected radio station, MP3 player, Bluetooth source, CD, DVD, or other radio signal, is being rendered by the receiver system; Col. 16: Lines 41-50; Rendering of the emergency message may interrupt the other audio being rendered by the receiver system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multiple audio output units of Burnison to permit each audio output unit to independently render user-selected entertainment content from a source other than the central unit, as taught by El-Dinary, such that the respective audio output units may render different auditory entertainment content, while permitting the emergency broadcast to be received and rendered regardless of the entertainment content being rendered.
Burnison further fails to disclose wherein the broadcast message is distinguished in that it comprises the auditory content.
El-Dinary, however, discloses wherein the broadcast message is distinguished in that it comprises the auditory content (Col. 21: Lines 9-21; An emergency vehicle broadcasts a pre-recorded digital radio waveform that includes an audio warning message for rendering by receiving digital radio systems).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the broadcast warning message of Burnison to include auditory content, as taught by El-Dinary, in order to provide an audible emergency warning to occupants of nearby vehicles.
Burnison discloses multiple audio units playing an audible alert when receiving a remote warning message but further fails to disclose that all audio output units render the auditory content of the broadcast message.
El-Dinary, however, discloses rendering the auditory content of the received broadcast message (Col. 21: Lines 9-27; The emergency vehicle broadcasts a digital radio waveform containing an audio warning message, and a receiving digital radio system renders the audio warning message upon detecting the emergency alert announcement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the broadcast warning of Burnison to include auditory content that is rendered by the receiving audio output units, as taught by El-Dinary, in order to improve the likelihood that vehicle occupants are made aware of the emergency while engaged with their vehicle entertainment systems.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Burnison discloses wherein the respective emergency event is at least one of a group comprising:
an accident detection system detecting an accident (Par. 13; The detector includes a collision-detecting component in a vehicle. It can detect collisions from any points),
the central unit picking up a predefinable voice command,
absence of transmission of a predefinable signal, wherein the predefinable signal has to be transmitted at predefinable dead-man time intervals and/or continuously to prevent triggering of the emergency signal, and
exceedance of a predefinable distance between a signal transmitter linked to a position of a person and the central unit (The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optional language “at least one of”).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Burnison does not disclose wherein the broadcast message comprises at least one of a group, comprising: predefinable text, audio signals from a microphone connected to the central unit, and a predefinable tone or a predefinable sequence of tones.
El-Dinary, however, discloses wherein the broadcast message comprises at least one of a group, comprising: predefinable text (Col. 20: Lines 61-67 and Col. 21: Lines 1-3; MPS and SPS content may include text notifications in respective languages for display at the digital radio broadcast receiver; Col. 21: Lines 4-27; The pre-recorded broadcast waveform includes a primary-language text notification and a secondary-language text notification, which may be rendered by the digital radio broadcast receiver upon detection of the emergency alert announcement; The remaining limitations were given no patentable weight due to the optional language).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Burnison to include predefinable text in the broadcast emergency message, as taught by El-Dinary, in order to improve the likelihood that occupants are made aware of the emergency by providing a visual warning in addition to an audible warning.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Burnison does not disclose wherein the central unit broadcasts the broadcast message once or periodically at a predefinable time interval, wherein the central unit interrupts or terminates the broadcasting of the broadcast message upon a predefinable command.
El-Dinary, however, discloses wherein the central unit broadcasts the broadcast message once or periodically at a predefinable time interval, wherein the central unit interrupts or terminates the broadcasting of the broadcast message upon a predefinable command (Col. 15: Lines 61-65; The digital radio broadcast transmission system may continuously loop the waveform message until disabled by the operator or until another predefined condition it met, such as the siren system being disabled or the message having been looped a predetermined number of times).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Burnison to repeatedly broadcast the emergency message until receiving a command or satisfying a predefined condition for terminating the broadcast, as taught by El-Dinary, in order to maintain the emergency warning while needed while permitting the transmission to cease when the emergency warning is no longer required.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Burnison does not disclose wherein the broadcast message is broadcast regardless of the presence of a mobile network.
El-Dinary, however, discloses wherein the broadcast message is broadcast regardless of the presence of a mobile network (Col. 5: Lines 62-65; The emergency vehicle transmits a digital radio broadcast signal over commercial FM or AM broadcast bands; The existence or absence of cellular coverage does not control whether the broadcast occurs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Burnison to broadcast the emergency message using a communication mechanism independent of the presence of a mobile network, as taught by El-Dinary, in order to permit nearby vehicles to receive the emergency warning without relying on cellular network availability.
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Burnison in view of El-Dinary discloses the method of claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1).
Burnison further discloses wherein, when the emergency signal is picked up by the central unit, the central unit outputs an auditory and/or visual trigger signal configured to be picked up by a person in a trigger pick-up area (Par. 51; The vehicle hazard warning system includes alarm 142, such as a siren, operable to transmit a large acoustic signal 144 that can be heard and perceived by approaching traffic, and warning light 146 operable to transmit a visual warning to approaching traffic).
Burnison further discloses transmitting the remote warning signal over a radio communication having a defined transmission range (Par. 34: Lines 12-16; The remote warning signal may be transmitted using a low-power RF transmitter, such as a Class 1 Bluetooth transmitter having a range of approximately 100 meters). The acoustic warning signal is intended to be heard and perceived directly by persons in approaching traffic, whereas the RF warning is transmitted to compatible receiving devices in nearby vehicles.
Burnison does not expressly disclose that the trigger pick-up area is smaller than the reception area or that the broadcast message is broadcast only after a predefinable duration from outputting the trigger signal.
El-Dinary, however, discloses using activation of an auditory warning signal to control subsequent operation of an emergency broadcast transmitter (Col. 15: Lines 42-48; The digital radio broadcast transmitter may be integrated with the emergency vehicle siren system such that the transmitter is enabled automatically upon activation of the siren system, after which the transmitter reads and transmits a pre-recorded digital radio broadcasting waveform).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Burnison such that the local auditory warning has a smaller effective warning area than the radio broadcast reception area and to provide a predetermined duration between activation of the local warning and transmission of the broadcast message. Burnison already teaches providing both a directly perceptible acoustic warning to approaching persons and an RF warning having a defined transmission range to receiving devices in nearby vehicles, while El-Dinary teaches using activation of the siren to initiate operation of the emergency broadcast transmitter. Configuring the RF reception area to extend beyond the effective range of the locally perceptible warning would have predictably provided advance warning to receiving vehicles that are farther from the emergency vehicle than persons capable of perceiving the local warning. Further, selecting a predetermined delay between activation of the siren and transmission of the emergency broadcast would have been an obvious optimization of the timing of the disclosed warning sequence, permitting the local warning to provide an initial opportunity to alert nearby persons before transmitting the emergency warning to receivers over the larger reception area.
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 addresses the limitations presented in claim 10. Therefore, the limitations of claim 10 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 addresses the limitations presented in claim 11. Therefore, the limitations of claim 11 have been addressed.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnison et al. (US 20150042491, hereinafter Burnison) in view of El-Dinary (US 10582363) in further view of Tumkur et al. (US 20230397279, hereinafter Tumkur)
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Burnison in view of El-Dinary does not disclose wherein the central unit establishes the respective radio connection via Bluetooth LE, broadcasts the broadcast message via LE Audio in the form of LE Audio signals and the at least one broadcast receiver receives the LE Audio signals.
Tumkur, however, discloses communicating broadcast audio using Bluetooth LE Audio (Par. 36; Devices 102 and 140 may be Bluetooth Low Energy compatible devices; Par. 37,40; Device 102 may operate as a Bluetooth audio broadcast device that broadcasts audio streams to Bluetooth audio device 140, which may be a headset, headphone, or other audio output device; Par. 86; The device may implement Bluetooth Low Energy Audio technology; Par. 91; Bluetooth Low Energy audio technologies may be implement to support communication of Bluetooth LE Audio, for use cases such as Auracast/Broadcast).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Burnison in view of El-Dinary to communicate the broadcast audio using Bluetooth LE Audio, as taught by Tumkur, in order to reduce latency in the wireless communication of the audio while supporting broadcast delivery to compatible audio receiving devices.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnison et al. (US 20150042491, hereinafter Burnison) in view of El-Dinary (US 10582363) in further view Kaminski (US 10580286)
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Burnison in view of El-Dinary discloses the method of claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1).
Burnison in view of El-Dinary does not disclose wherein the radio connection between the central unit and the respective broadcast receiver is established only in response to the detection of the emergency event.
Kamisnki, however, discloses establishing a wireless connection with a nearby receiving device in response to detection of an emergency event (Col. 4: Lines 37-47; An airbag controller detects an accident and sends an airbag deployment message to computing platform 104 to notify the computing platform of the accident; Col. 5: Lines 25-31 and Col. 5: Lines 50-67; In response to detecting an accident based on an airbag deployment signal, computing platform 104 generates an emergency message and activates wireless transceiver 132 to broadcast the emergency message. Immediately after the accident, computing platform 104 may detect and connect to nearby mobile device 140 through wireless connection 190a, or detect nearby vehicle 102b and establish wireless connection 190b with the nearby vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Burnison in view of El-Dinary to establish the radio connection with a nearby receiving device in response to detection of the emergency event, as taught by Kamisnki, in order to provide a communication path for transmitting the emergency information to nearby devices when the vehicle's normal communication path is unavailable.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnison et al. (US 20150042491, hereinafter Burnison) in view of El-Dinary (US 10582363) in further view of Li et al. (CN 108011860, hereinafter Li)
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 1, Burnsion in view of El-Dinary discloses the method of claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1).
Burnison in view of El-Dinary does not disclose wherein the respective audio output unit comprises a memory that stores a second broadcast message when at least part of a first broadcast message and at least part of the second broadcast message are received at the same time by the broadcast receiver, wherein the start of the second broadcast message is received after the start of the first broadcast message and the stored second broadcast message is rendered after the end of the first broadcast message.
Li, however, discloses receiving multiple broadcast messages at the same time and storing broadcast messages in a broadcast-message queue for subsequent orderly processing (Abstract; Multiple broadcast messages may be received at the same time. Generated second broadcast messages are stored in an agent broadcast-message queue and subsequently processed in an orderly manner according to a predetermined processing rate, thereby delaying processing of the broadcast messages and reducing system-resource pressure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Burnison in view of El-Dinary to store a subsequently received broadcast message in a broadcast-message queue when another broadcast message is already being received and/or processed and to process the stored message after completion of the preceding message, as taught by Li, in order to orderly process concurrently received broadcast messages and reduce resource demands caused by processing multiple broadcast messages at the same time.
Conclusion
/FABIAN BOTELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648