DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: anti-backout device in claims 37 and 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-36 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold et al., U.S. Patent 8,740,983 in view of Gorek et al. U.S. PG-Pub 2011/0230918.
Regarding claims 25-36, Arnold et al. discloses an implant comprises a body (110) defining a central opening (130); said body includes a top side (112), a bottom side (114), a front side (118), a back side (120), a left side and a right side (both 116); said top side and bottom sides are spaced from one another; said front side and back side are spaced from one another; said front side and said back side are positioned between said top side and bottom side; said top side and bottom side at least partially defines said central opening; a majority of said front side and said back side lie in a flat plane that are parallel to one another; a majority of said left side and said right side lie in a flat plane; said front side includes first (122), second (124) and third (also 122) openings; saif first second and third openings are located on a flat plane portion of said front side; said second opening is positioned between said first and third openings; said first opening provides access to a first primary screw opening that is configured to receive a screw; said second opening provided access to a second primary screw opening that is configured to receive a screw; said third opening provided access to a third primary screw opening that is configured to receive a screw; said first primary screw opening extends along an axis from said first opening to said bottom side; said second primary screw opening extends along an axis from said second opening to said top side; said third primary screw opening extends along an axis from said third opening to said bottom side (Figs. 1, 2, 9 and examiner annotated Figs. 3-4 below);
wherein said axis of said first primary screw opening and said third primary screw opening are non-parallel to one another; said axis of said second primary screw opening is non-parallel to said axis of said first primary screw opening and said third primary screw opening (examiner annotated Fig. 9 below);
wherein a height of said front side (118) is greater than a height of said back side (120); said top side (1120 lies in a top side plane; said bottom side (114) lies in a bottom side plane; said top side plane and said bottom side plane are non-parallel to one another (Fig. 3 and Col. 5 lines 3-9); and wherein said first (122), second (124) and third (also 122) openings are spaced from one another (Fig. 1).
Arnold et al. does not disclose wherein the first opening further provides access to a first secondary screw opening that is configured to receive a screw, and wherein said first secondary screw opening extends along an axis from said first opening to said top side; wherein said third opening provided access to a third secondary screw opening that is configured to receive a screw, and wherein said third secondary screw opening extends along an axis from said third opening to said top side; and wherein said second opening further provides access to a second secondary screw opening that is configured to receive a screw, and wherein said second secondary screw opening extends along an axis from said second opening to said bottom side; the openings positioned along different axes.
Gorek et al. discloses an implant having a front side with openings (312, 314) that both provide access to first primary screw openings (top openings 322) and secondary screw openings (bottom openings 322), each configured to receive a screw along an axis that goes from each opening to top and bottom sides (each 320) (Figs. 5A-5B) as such provides an improved angle for insertion of the screws therethrough (paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first, second and third openings of Arnold et al. such that the first opening further provides access to a first secondary screw opening that is configured to receive a screw, and wherein said first secondary screw opening extends along an axis from said first opening to said top side; wherein said third opening provided access to a third secondary screw opening that is configured to receive a screw, and wherein said third secondary screw opening extends along an axis from said third opening to said top side; and wherein said second opening further provides access to a second secondary screw opening that is configured to receive a screw, and wherein said second secondary screw opening extends along an axis from said second opening to said bottom side such that the openings are positioned along different axes in view of Gorek et al. to permit providing an improved angle for insertion of the screws therethrough and to provide additional fixation to help further prevent inadvertent removal from a disc space.
Regarding claim 39, Arnold et al. discloses wherein said body (110) is at least partially formed of polyether ether ketone “PEEK” (Col. 4 lines 14-20).
Claim(s) 37, 38 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold et al., U.S. Patent 8,740,983 in view of Gorek et al. U.S. PG-Pub 2011/0230918 as applied above, and further in view of Gray et al., U.S. Patent 10,034,768.
Regarding claims 37 and 38, Arnold et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for further comprising first and second anti-backout devices that are configured to be coupled to said front side of said body, said first anti-backout device is configured to be positionable to cover a portion of said first opening, and said second anti-backout device is configured to be positionable to cover a portion of said third opening.
Gray et al. discloses an implant having first and second anti-backout devices (44 and 46) coupled to a front side of the implant configured to be positionable to cover a portion of multiple openings (Fig. 1) to block one or more fixation members from backing out (Col. 4 lines 55-57).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant of Arnold et al. to include first and second anti-backout devices that are configured to be coupled to said front side of said body, said first anti-backout device is configured to be positionable to cover a portion of said first opening, and said second anti-backout device is configured to be positionable to cover a portion of said third opening further in view of Gray et al. to permit retaining the screws disposed within the implant and preventing them from backing out after implantation.
Regarding claim 40, Arnold et al. discloses wherein said body (110) is at least partially formed of polyether ether ketone “PEEK” (Col. 4 lines 14-20).
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold et al., U.S. Patent 8,740,983 in view of Gorek et al. U.S. PG-Pub 2011/0230918 as applied above, and further in view of Ullrich, Jr. et al., U.S. Patent 10,687,956.
Regarding claim 41, Arnold et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein said body includes a plurality of micro-apertures and a plurality of macro-apertures; each of said micro-apertures has an average size of 2-10 micrometers; each of said macro-apertures has an average size of 300-800 micrometers.
Ullrich, Jr. et al. discloses an implant body defining a plurality of micro-apertures and macro-apertures with varying micrometer sizing that are capable of facilitating bone growth (claim 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body of Arnold et al. to include a plurality of micro-apertures and a plurality of macro-apertures; each of said micro-apertures has an average size of 2-10 micrometers; each of said macro-apertures has an average size of 300-800 micrometers further in view of Ullrich, Jr. et al. to permit facilitation of bone growth within the implant.
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold et al., U.S. Patent 8,740,983 in view of Gorek et al. U.S. PG-Pub 2011/0230918 and Gray et al., U.S. Patent 10,034,768 as applied above, and further in view of Ullrich, Jr. et al., U.S. Patent 10,687,956.
Regarding claim 42, Arnold et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein said body includes a plurality of micro-apertures and a plurality of macro-apertures; each of said micro-apertures has an average size of 2-10 micrometers; each of said macro-apertures has an average size of 300-800 micrometers.
Ullrich, Jr. et al. discloses an implant body defining a plurality of micro-apertures and macro-apertures with varying micrometer sizing that are capable of facilitating bone growth (claim 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body of Arnold et al. to include a plurality of micro-apertures and a plurality of macro-apertures; each of said micro-apertures has an average size of 2-10 micrometers; each of said macro-apertures has an average size of 300-800 micrometers further in view of Ullrich, Jr. et al. to permit facilitation of bone growth within the implant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 17 August 2026, with respect to the objection of claim 25 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 25 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 17 August 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775