DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10, 13-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paulson et al. (2022/021142).
Regarding claim 1, Paulson discloses a sole element for an article of footwear, the sole element (figs 1-21) comprising:
a composite element (member 60, para 0079);
a polymer element (members 40 and 51-52) at least partially covering the composite element;
a first opening (member 55 on the right) formed in the polymer element in a medial side of a forefoot region of the sole element; and
a second opening (member 55 on the left) formed in the polymer element in a lateral side of the forefoot region of the sole element;
wherein a portion of the polymer element is disposed between the first opening and the second opening (fig 3).
Regarding claim 2, Paulson discloses at least one stud dome formed on the polymer element for carrying a stud tip at a position wherein the stud tip does not overlap with the composite element (fig 16 annotated above).
Regarding claim 3, Paulson discloses the sole element comprises studs comprising the stud domes member (270), and the studs are configured to interact with each other to influence bending of the sole element.
Regarding claim 5, Paulson discloses the composite element comprises an anisotropic bending property (i.e. carbon strand, para 0079).
Regarding claim 7, Paulson discloses the polymer element at least partially covers a ground-facing surface of the composite element (fig 6).
Regarding claim 8, Paulson discloses insole board attached to the polymer element (member 30).
Regarding claim 10, Paulson discloses a shoe comprising the sole element of claim 1 (fig 1).
Regarding claim 13, Paulson discloses the polymer element comprises a ground facing surface and ribs (member 52) that are formed on the ground facing surface.
Regarding claim 14, Paulson discloses a midfoot region, wherein the ribs extend into the midfoot region (fig 5).
Regarding claim 16, Paulson discloses the composite element comprises a ground facing surface, and wherein 50%-65% of the ground facing surface is covered by the polymer element (fig 4).
Regarding claim 17, Paulson discloses the composite element comprises a ground-facing surface and a top surface, wherein the top surface is opposite the ground facing surface and the top surface is not covered by the polymer element (fig 4).
Regarding claim 19, Paulson discloses stud tips connected to the polymer layer (fig 11).
Regarding claim 20, Paulson discloses a central stud positioned in the forefoot region (fig 16 annotated above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson et al. (2022/021142).
Regarding claim 4, Paulson teaches all limitation of the claim and further teaches in another embodiment the sole element comprises studs comprising the stud domes, the studs are arranged in a first row, a second row, and a third row in order of distance from a front end of the sole element (fig 16), and the sole element comprises a slit (member 305S) arranged outside of an area defined between the second row and the third row. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to add the slit into the composite element in order to allow the flexibility across the shoe.
Regarding claim 9, Paulson teaches all limitation of the claim and further teaches in another embodiment a slit (member 360S) formed in the composite element, wherein the slit is arranged substantially along a longitudinal direction of the sole element (fig 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to add the slit into the composite element in order to allow the flexibility across the shoe.
Regarding claim 12, Paulson teaches all limitation of the claim and further teaches in another embodiment a central stud and further comprising a slit formed in the composite element, wherein the slit extends from an edge of the composite element to the central stud (fig 16 annotated above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to add the slit into the composite element in order to allow the flexibility across the shoe.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson et al. (2022/021142) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baucom et al. (2017/0164691).
Regarding claim 11, Paulson teaches all limitation of the claim and Baucom teaches a sole structure having the composite element (fig 2, member 300) is located only in the forefoot region of the sole element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the composite element being only in the forefoot region of the sole element, as taught by Baucom, in order to reduce the weight of the shoe.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson et al. (2022/021142) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cook et al. (2016/000180).
Regarding claim 15, Paulson teaches all limitation of the claim and Cook teaches a sole structure having the polymer element comprises a ground-facing surface and a lattice structure (fig 18, members 106 and 108) that is formed on the ground-facing surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the polymer element to have a lattice structure, as taught by Cook, in order to increase the traction for the sole.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,944,158. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as a composite element, a polymer element, and openings, wherein the composite element has a first bending stiffness for bending upwards in a toe region of the sole element and a second bending stiffness for bending downwards in the toe region, wherein the second bending stiffness is lower than the first bending stiffness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732