DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is rejected because of the limitations “the two openings are separated by a bridge portion of the polymer element that extends from a midfoot region of the sole element to a toe region of the sole element” lacks support in the original specification which filed 03-19-2025; therefore such lack of detailed support in the original disclosure constitutes new matter.
Claim 20 is rejected because of the limitations “a central stud positioned on the bridge portion of the polymer element” lacks support in the original specification which filed 03-19-2025; therefore such lack of detailed support in the original disclosure constitutes new matter.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 13, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerber (2012/0036740) in view of Auger et al. (2013/0067765).
Regarding claim 1, Gerber teaches a sole element for an article of footwear figs 5-10, the sole element comprising:
a composite element (members 20 and 120, para 0028);
a polymer element (para 0025) over injected (members 5 and 105, para 0051) on the composite element and at least partially covering the composite element; and
opening (members 15 and 115) formed in the polymer element such that a portion of the sole element other than the polymer element is exposed through the opening in a ground-facing direction, wherein the opening extends from a midfoot region of the sole element to a toe region of the sole element (figs 5-10).
Gerber does not teach two openings are separated by a bridge.
Auger teaches a sole having two openings are separated by a bridge (fig 5 and 9, members 125, para 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the polymer element of Gerber by adding two openings and bridge, as taught by Auger, in order to reinforce the sole for a wide variety of athletic activities.
Regarding claim 2, the modified sole Gerber-Auger discloses at least one stud dome (Gerber, members 16 and 116) formed on the polymer element for carrying a stud tip at a position wherein the stud tip does not overlap with the composite element (Gerber, figs 5-10).
Regarding claim 3, the modified sole Gerber-Auger discloses the sole element comprises studs comprising the stud domes, and the studs are configured to interact with each other to influence bending of the sole element (Gerber, figs 5-10).
Regarding claim 4, the modified sole Gerber-Auger discloses the sole element comprises studs comprising the stud domes, the studs are arranged in a first row, a second row, and a third row in order of distance from a front end of the sole element (Gerber, fig 2, members 16c to j), and the sole element comprises a slit arranged outside of an area defined between the second row and the third row (fig 7 annotated above).
Regarding claim 7, the modified sole Gerber-Auger discloses the polymer element at least partially covers a ground-facing surface of the composite element (Gerber, figs 5-10).
Regarding claim 8, the modified sole Gerber-Auger discloses insole board attached to the polymer element (Gerber, member 4).
Regarding claim 9, the modified sole Gerber-Auger discloses a slit formed in the composite element, wherein the slit is arranged substantially along a longitudinal direction of the sole element (fig 7 annotated above).
Regarding claim 10, the modified sole Gerber-Auger discloses a shoe comprising the sole element of claim 1 (Gerber, fig 1).
Regarding claim 13, the modified sole Gerber-Auger discloses the polymer element comprises a ground facing surface and ribs (Gerber, members 16a to b and i) that are formed on the ground facing surface.
Regarding claim 17, the modified sole Gerber-Auger discloses the composite element comprises a ground-facing surface and a top surface, wherein the top surface is opposite the ground facing surface and the top surface is not covered by the polymer element (Gerber, figs 5-10).
Regarding claim 19, the modified sole Gerber-Auger disclose stud tips connected to the polymer layer (Gerber, fig 2, member 16a to j).
Regarding claim 20, the modified sole Gerber-Auger discloses a central stud positioned on the bridge portion of the polymer element (Auger, fig 9, member 906).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerber (2012/0036740) in view of Auger et al. (2013/0067765) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Simmon et al. (2017/0157893).
Regarding claims 5-6, the modified sole Gerber-Auger teaches all limitations except the composite element comprises an anisotropic bending property, the composite element has a first bending stiffness for bending upwards in a toe region of the sole element and a second bending stiffness for bending downwards in the toe region, wherein the second bending stiffness is lower than the first bending stiffness. Simmons teaches in fig 2-3 and 13 and para 0065 discloses that the layers can be interchanged in direction, such as modulus of elasticity (i.e. the measure of the stiffness of a material) of layer 72 can be greater than, less than or equal to the modulus of elasticity of layer 70 and para 0072 discloses that the directional bending stiffness in one direction can be low and the other direction can be high.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to understand and utilize that the second bending stiffness (downward) is lower than the first bending (upward) stiffness in order to improve the athlete's on-field performance and reduced fatigue (para 0072).
Regarding claim 18, the modified sole Gerber-Auger teaches all limitations the composite element has a first bending stiffness in a first direction away from a neutral position to a predetermined angle and a second bending stiffness in the first direction beyond the predetermined angle, wherein the first bending stiffness is less than the second bending stiffness, and the first bending stiffness remains constant throughout a range defined from the neutral position to the predetermined angle.
However Simmons teaches in fig 2-3 and 13 and para 0065 discloses that the layers can be interchanged in direction, such as modulus of elasticity (i.e. the measure of the stiffness of a material) of layer 72 can be greater than, less than or equal to the modulus of elasticity of layer 70 and para 0072 discloses that the directional bending stiffness in one direction can be low and the other direction can be high.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to understand and utilize that the second bending stiffness (downward) in the neutral direction is lower than the first bending (upward) stiffness in order to improve the athlete's on-field performance and reduced fatigue (para 0072).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerber (2012/0036740) in view of Auger et al. (2013/0067765) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baucom et al. (2017/0164691).
Regarding claim 11, the modified sole Gerber-Auger teaches all limitations except the composite element is located only in the forefoot region of the sole element.
Baucom teaches a sole structure having a composite element is located only in the forefoot region (fig 2, member 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claim invention to modify the structure of Gerber by only have the composite element in the forefoot region, as taught by Baucom, in order to only support the specific area as needed.
Regarding claim 12, the modified sole Gerber-Auger teaches all limitations except a central stud and further comprising a slit formed in the composite element, wherein the slit extends from an edge of the composite element to the central stud.
Baucom teaches a sole structure having a central stud and further comprising a slit formed in the composite element, wherein the slit extends from an edge of the composite element to the central stud (fig 2, member 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claim invention to modify the structure of Gerber by adding the slit of Baucom, in order to provide the flexibility between the lateral and medial for the foot.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerber (2012/0036740) in view of Auger et al. (2013/0067765) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peikert (2011/0167678).
Regarding claim 14, the modified sole Gerber-Auger teaches all limitations except the ribs extend into the midfoot region. Peikert teaches a sole structure having ribs extend into the midfoot region (fig 2, member 33) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claim invention to modify the structure of Gerber by adding ribs of Peikert, in order to provide more support for the midfoot.
Regarding claim 15, the modified sole Gerber-Auger teaches all limitations except the ribs extend into the midfoot region. Peikert teaches a sole structure having polymer element comprises a ground- facing surface and a lattice structure that is formed on the ground-facing surface (fig 2, member 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claim invention to modify the structure of Gerber by adding lattice structure of Peikert, in order to reduce the weight for the sole.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerber (2012/0036740) in view of Auger et al. (2013/0067765) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amis et al. (2017/0202301).
Regarding claim 16, the modified sole Gerber-Auger teaches all limitations except the composite element comprises a ground facing surface, and wherein 50%-65% of the ground facing surface is covered by the polymer element. Amis teaches a sole structure (fig 1C) having composite element (member 11) comprises a ground facing surface, and wherein 50%-65% of the ground facing surface is covered by the polymer element (members 14-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify Simmons sole by having the polymer element cover more than 50% of the composite element, as taught by Amis, in order to permit adaptation to different types of sports or activities would be beneficial. In addition, it appears that applicant does not provide any criticality or unexpected results why the second portion is about 50% to 65% of the first portion. More specifically, such an inquiry should focus on the diverse functions attributed to each element as well as the teachings in the specification as to how such a component could be implemented. One of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of determining the proper ratio without undue experimentation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-11, and 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,944,158 in view of Auger et al. (2013/0067765). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as composite and polymer elements with anisotropic bending property; wherein a first bending stiffness for bending upwards in a toe region of the sole element and a second bending stiffness for bending downwards in the toe region, wherein the second bending stiffness is lower than the first bending stiffness, and at least one opening formed in the polymer to expose part of the composite element.
U.S. Patent No. 11,944,158 does not teach two openings are separated by a bridge.
Auger teaches a sole having two openings are separated by a bridge (fig 5 and 9, members 125, para 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the polymer element of Gerber by adding two openings and bridge, as taught by Auger, in order to reinforce the sole for a wide variety of athletic activities.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 01-30-2026, with respect to the drawing objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn due to applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, dated 01-30-2026, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C §112(a) have been fully considered, and are persuasive. The rejection to the claims has been withdrawn due to the amendments to the claims.
Applicant's arguments, date 01-30-2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C §102 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive because applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented and they have been address as analyzed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732