DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I. claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 5/19/2026 is acknowledged.
NOTE: the reply from 5/19/2026 says applicant elected claims 1-13, even though claim 13 belongs to group II (claims 13-20). It is considered a typographical error. Examiner made few attempts to reach Applicant’s representative Brandon Williams on 6/10/2026 at 972-738-9111 but was unable to reach them; a voice message was left on general mail box. Accordingly claims 1-12 will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the term “about equal” in lines 7-8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about equal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation "reconnecting the battery pack to the load when voltage from the battery pack is about equal to voltage from the bus" renders the scope of the claim unclear because the phrase "about equal" is a term of degree that does not provide objective boundaries for determining when the claimed condition is satisfied. The claim does not specify the amount of permissible difference between the voltage from the battery pack and the voltage from the bus that would constitute being "about equal," nor does it otherwise provide a standard for determining when reconnection should occur. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2022/0004241 A1), in view of Sito et al. (US 2022/0352746 A1) further in view of Sugimori et al. (2023/0163624 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches a power backup system [see (Abstract). A battery backup system includes a battery pack, a charger, a discharger, a voltage detection and control circuit... - Cheng teaches a power backup system]; a generator [see (para. 0014, Fig. 1). the external power 102, such as an AC power, is connected to a DC bus 106 via a power supplier 104 – under BRI external power source 102 and power supplier 104 provide power to the backup system and collectively teach the claimed generator]; a battery pack [see (para. 0015, Fig. 1). the battery pack 110 ... provides a backup power to the DC bus 106 - Cheng teaches battery pack 110]; a bus connecting the generator to the battery pack [see (paras. 0014-0015, Fig. 1). the external power 102 ... is connected to a DC bus 106 via a power supplier 104 and the battery pack 110 ... provides a backup power to the DC bus 106 - Cheng teaches DC bus 106 electrically interconnecting the external power source path and the battery backup path]; a current manager that is configured to manage a current between the generator and the battery pack based on bus voltage [see (para. 0005). The voltage detection and control circuit is configured to detect whether the voltage of the DC bus is greater than a first voltage drop point or a second voltage drop point and (paras. 0018, Fig. 6, item 140) voltage detection and control circuit 140 determines operation of the protection switches based upon the detected DC bus voltage - Cheng teaches a voltage-based control circuit that manages charging and backup power operation based on bus voltage].
Cheng does not expressly teach wherein the battery pack is connected to the bus in a series of parallel conductor paths.
In an analogous rt Sugimori teaches wherein the battery pack is connected to the bus in a series of parallel conductor paths [see (Abstract). a plurality of secondary batteries connected in parallel, a plurality of charging switches that can individually pass and cut off charging power from the conduction path to the plurality of secondary batteries and (Fig. 1, items 11-17) series connection units each including battery B1-B7, current limiter L1-L7, and switch SW1-SW7 connected between common conduction path P and ground - Sugimori teaches a plurality of series-connected conductor paths arranged in parallel between a battery system and a common conduction path].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery backup system of Cheng to incorporate the parallel battery branch architecture of Sugimori in order to provide multiple battery charging paths, reduce inrush current, suppress voltage droop during charging, and improve charging stability with predictable results.
Combination of Cheng and Sugimori does not expressly teach wherein a voltage drop across a selected conductor path is different than other voltage drops across the other conductor paths
In ana analogous art Saito teaches separate charge/discharge paths having respective resistive elements and independently controlled operating characteristics [see (Abstract). first to fifth battery packs connected in parallel; first to fifth charge switches that individually connect and disconnect charge paths of the respective battery packs; and a controller that controls each charge switch and (Fig. 1, items BP1-BP5, R1-R5, SWc1-SWc5) charge paths individually associated with respective battery packs, resistors, and charge switches - Saito teaches separate parallel charge paths having respective resistive elements]. Saito further teaches independently controlling the respective charge paths [see (para. 0008). performs pulse width modulation (PWM) control of each charge switch at a duty ratio corresponding to the number of batteries in each group and (paras. 0032-0033). the first group is charged at a duty ratio of 100% and the second group is charged at a duty ratio of about 67% - Saito teaches different operating characteristics among the respective charging paths].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the combined system of Cheng and Sugimori to incorporate the charging path architecture of Saito because Saito teaches separate charge/discharge paths having respective resistive elements and independently controlled operating characteristics for controlling charge distribution among parallel battery paths. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the separate resistive charge paths and differing current flow conditions resulting from the independently controlled charging paths would produce corresponding differences in voltage drop across the respective conductor paths, thereby improving current distribution among the parallel battery paths, improving charging stability, reducing voltage droop, and reducing charging inrush effects with predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, combination of Cheng, Sugimori and Saito teaches the invention set forth above; Sugimori teaches wherein the parallel conductor paths dampen an inrush current during discharging or recharging of the battery pack [see (para. 0006) simultaneous charging of secondary batteries connected in parallel causes an instantaneous voltage drop due to an inrush current; see also (para. 0024) charging control is performed with a time difference between charging start timings of the secondary batteries and the time difference disperses the inrush current to suppress voltage drop; and (para. 0034) the inrush current flowing from the external power supply is dispersed to suppress voltage drop of the power supply voltage - Sugimori teaches reducing charging inrush current associated with parallel battery charging paths].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the staggered charging control of Sugimori into the battery backup system of Cheng as modified by Saito in order to disperse inrush current, suppress voltage drop, improve charging stability, and reduce peak current demand on the power source during charging, thereby achieving predictable results.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2022/0004241 A1), in view of Sito et al. (US 2022/0352746 A1) further in view of Sugimori et al. (2023/0163624 A1) further in view of Kim (US 2013/0187,468 A1).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Cheng, Sugimori and Saito teaches the invention set forth above; Cheng further teaches discharging the battery pack into a load in response to a failure of an external power supply [see (Figs. 1 and 6; paras. 0014-0018) battery pack 110 provides backup power to DC bus 106 when external power is unavailable and backup operation is controlled according to bus voltage conditions - Cheng teaches discharging the battery pack to support the load during loss of external power].
Sugimori further teaches wherein the parallel conductor paths sequentially dissipate current supplied to the battery pack [see (Abstract) charging control with a time difference set between charging start timings of the secondary batteries; see also (Fig. 1, items SW1-SW7, L1-L7, and B1-B7; Fig. 2) charging switches are activated with different charging start times for the respective battery branches - Sugimori teaches sequential charging of parallel conductor paths to suppress inrush current and voltage droop].
However, the combination of Cheng, Sugimori, and Saito does not expressly teach the battery pack is bridged across the bus to maintain a float voltage, monitoring a flow direction of current between the generator and the battery pack, and reconnecting the battery pack to the load when voltage from the battery pack is about equal to voltage from the bus.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches subject matter corresponding to monitoring a flow direction of current between the generator and the battery pack [see (para. 0004) controller controls charging current based on feedback current; see also (para. 0025) The controller automatically detects the state of the bus voltage based on current feedback received from the feedback device and automatically transitions between charging and backup modes based on operating conditions - Kim teaches monitoring charging and discharging current conditions between a power source and a battery pack].
Kim further teaches subject matter corresponding to the battery pack is bridged across the bus to maintain a float voltage [see (para. 0030) the DC bus voltage will be very close to or the same as the battery voltage and the battery is float charged to keep the battery close to or at its fully charged level - Kim teaches maintaining the battery in a float-charge condition while the battery voltage substantially matches the DC bus voltage].
Kim additionally teaches subject matter corresponding to reconnecting the battery pack to the load when voltage from the battery pack is about equal to voltage from the bus [see (para. 0030) the DC bus voltage will be very close to or the same as the battery voltage and the battery is float charged to keep the battery close to or at its fully charged level; see also (paras. 0032-0033) automatic transition from discharge operation back to charging operation when external power is restored - Kim teaches returning the battery to charging operation when battery and bus voltages become substantially equalized].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the current-feedback-based charging and discharging control of Kim into the battery backup system of Cheng as modified by Sugimori and Saito in order to monitor charging and discharging conditions, maintain the battery in a ready state through float charging, automatically transition between backup and charging modes, and return the battery to charging operation when the battery voltage and bus voltage become substantially equalized, thereby improving backup power reliability, reducing transition disturbances, and providing predictable charge and discharge management.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2022/0004241 A1), in view of Sito et al. (US 2022/0352746 A1) further in view of Sugimori et al. (US 2023/0163624 A1) further in view of Dudar (US 2020/0247252 A1).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Cheng, Sugimori and Saito teaches the invention set forth above, Saito further teaches a diode, and a resistor [see (Fig. 1, items Dc1-Dc5 and R1-R5; paras. 0018-0023) charge paths associated with battery packs BP1-BP5 include corresponding charge diodes Dc1-Dc5 and resistors R1-R5 - Saito teaches a diode and a resistor in respective battery charging paths]; combination does not expressly teach a Peltier module.
In an analogous art, Dudar teaches a Peltier module [see (paras. 0074-0081) canister temperature management system includes one or more thermoelectric devices and specifically includes Peltier elements 314a and 314b configured to selectively heat or cool the system - Dudar expressly teaches Peltier elements].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the Peltier elements of Dudar into the parallel conductor paths of the battery backup system of Cheng as modified by Sugimori and Saito because Dudar teaches the known use of controllable Peltier devices powered by onboard energy storage, thereby providing thermal management and energy conversion functionality with predictable results.
Claim(s) 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2022/0004241 A1), in view of Sito et al. (US 2022/0352746 A1) further in view of Sugimori et al. ( US 2023/0163624 A1) further in view of Cook et al (US 2019/0341803).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Cheng, Sugimori and Saito teaches the invention set forth above, combination does not expressly teach wherein the current manager is further configured to compare voltage from the bus to a reference threshold voltage for circuit hibernation.
In an analogous art, Cook teaches threshold-based hibernation control using voltage monitoring [see (Abstract) "The hibernate control circuit can selectively switch battery power on and off to hibernatable circuits"; see also (para. 0025) the hibernate set logic receives "a low battery threshold input signal" from a battery voltage sensor/comparator - Cook teaches threshold-based voltage monitoring for hibernation control]; Cook further teaches that when a battery condition is below a predetermined threshold voltage, the hibernate control circuit enters hibernate mode [see (para. 0030) "If the battery condition (voltage) is determined to be below a predetermined threshold voltage" the hibernate control circuit causes hibernate mode to be entered - Cook teaches comparing a monitored voltage condition to a threshold for determining entry into hibernation].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the threshold-based hibernation control of Cook into the battery backup system of Cheng as modified by Sugimori and Saito so that a monitored system voltage could be compared to a reference threshold for determining entry into a hibernation state, thereby reducing unnecessary power consumption and protecting battery capacity with predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, combination of Cheng, Sugimori, Saito and Cook teaches the invention set forth above, Cook further teaches wherein the current manager is configured to provide power from the bus to the series of parallel conductor paths when voltage from the bus is above the reference threshold voltage [see (Abstract) "The hibernate control circuit can selectively switch battery power on and off to hibernatable circuits" and is responsive to battery charge condition; see also (para. 0025) hibernate set logic receives a low battery threshold input signal from a battery voltage sensor/comparator; and (para. 0030) hibernate mode is entered when the battery condition falls below a predetermined threshold voltage - Cook teaches threshold-based control that maintains power to circuitry unless the monitored voltage condition falls below the threshold voltage].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the threshold-based control of Cook in the battery backup system of Cheng as modified by Sugimori and Saito such that the current manager provides power when the monitored voltage condition is above a reference threshold, thereby maintaining charging operation and system readiness with predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, combination of Cheng, Sugimori, Saito and Cook teaches the invention set forth above, Cook further teaches wherein the current manager is configured to remove power from the bus to the series of parallel conductor paths when voltage from the bus is below the reference threshold voltage [see (Abstract) "The hibernate control circuit can selectively switch battery power on and off to hibernatable circuits"; see also (para. 0025) hibernate set logic receives a low battery threshold input signal from a battery voltage sensor/comparator; and (para. 0030) "If the battery condition (voltage) is determined to be below a predetermined threshold voltage" the hibernate control circuit causes hibernate mode to be entered - Cook teaches threshold-based control that removes power from circuitry when a monitored voltage condition falls below a threshold voltage].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the threshold-based hibernation control of Cook in the battery backup system of Cheng as modified by Sugimori and Saito such that the current manager removes power when the monitored voltage condition falls below a reference threshold, thereby conserving power, preventing unnecessary battery discharge, and protecting battery capacity with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, combination of Cheng, Sugimori and Saito teaches the invention set forth above, Combination fails to expressly disclose wherein the generator further comprises: a mechanical motor comprising an oil sump and heater elements associated with the oil sump; and an electrical motor comprising a stator assembly, a rotor, and position sensors associated with the stator assembly.
The closest found prior art Smith (US 2023/0071735 A1) teaches a gas turbine engine, generator, engine lubrication delivery and recirculation system, oil pump, oil pump motor, and monitoring of engine oil and sump oil temperature. However, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the claimed combination of oil-sump heater elements together with the recited electrical motor architecture including position sensors associated with the stator assembly. Accordingly, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the subject matter of claim 5. Hence claim 5 will be deemed allowable if written in independent form.
Claims 6-8 depend on objected claim 5, hence claims 6-8 will also be deemed allowable if written in independent form.
Regarding claim 10, combination of Cheng, Sugimori, Saito and Cook teaches the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein each of the parallel conductor paths is photocoupled the bus by a respective photocell stack, each photocell stack comprising: a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET); and a light emitting diode (LED). Cook teaches threshold-based hibernation control and selective switching of battery power based on voltage conditions. However, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the claimed arrangement in which each parallel conductor path is photocoupled to the bus by a respective photocell stack having the recited MOSFET and LED configuration. Accordingly, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the subject matter of claim 10, Hence claim 10 will be deemed allowable if written in independent form.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836