DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 3/20/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,282,912 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 20, 2026 has been entered. Claims 21-40 remain pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every Double Patenting rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 16, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iozzia (US 20120089481 A1) in view of Benkreira (US 20200013037 A1).
Regarding Claims 21, 30, and 39, Iozzia teaches A method comprising (Iozzia: Abstract; Paragraph(s) 0061-0063): A system for payment card processing, the system comprising: a processor of a cloud server; a client application server; and a memory, coupled to the processor and configured to store executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (Iozzia: Abstract; Paragraph(s) 0015, 0061-0063): A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer readable program code stored thereon, the computer read program code configured to (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0015, 0061-0062, 0083, 0196-0198):
receiving, at a cloud server, a request from a client application server for transmitting sensitive data and non-sensitive data to a service system, the request having compute code that is executed to transmit the sensitive data (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0083-0084, 0121-0123, 0132 teach(es) a Payment Processor is a company that routes credit card transactions from merchant locations to credit card issuers for complete authorization and eventual settlement (i.e., a request); the system provides a method to capture End User Sensitive Information (“Third-Party Data Processing Information”) (i.e., for transmitting sensitive information) via the Trusted Proxy Frame interface. Exemplary Third-Party Data Processing Information includes credit card numbers, card expiration dates and Card Validation Codes (CVC2) (i.e., associated with the payment card)); generating, by the cloud server, an [ephemeral] compute instance by loading the compute code included in the request to the [ephemeral] compute instance (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0121, 0132, 0263-0264, 0155, 0194, 0197 teach(es) the system provides a method to capture End User Sensitive Information (“Third-Party Data Processing Information”) (i.e., for transmitting sensitive information) via the Trusted Proxy Frame interface (i.e., an ephemeral compute instance). Exemplary Third-Party Data Processing Information includes credit card numbers, card expiration dates and Card Validation Codes (CVC2) (i.e., associated with the payment card); the system provides a method to create a hidden Authentication Key field within the Trusted Proxy Frame; after a predetermined time the Trusted Relationship between Authentication Keys expires (i.e., ephemeral); FIG. 1 also includes WAN120 a, WAN 320 and WAN 820. These elements are communications conduit that carry electronic data communications between and within computing resources (i.e., computer resources allocated to process the request); Embodiments are operational with numerous other general purpose or special purpose computing system environments or configurations, in the general context of computer-executable instructions (i.e., executes code for transmitting); each computers or server includes an operating system (i.e., OS), application programs, other program modules, and program data); triggering, by the cloud server, the [ephemeral] compute instance to execute the compute code to transmit the sensitive data to the service system; transmitting, by the cloud server, the sensitive data from the client application server to the service system via the [ephemeral] compute instance executing the compute code (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0105-0106, 0113-0115, 0130, 0194 teach(es) an act or event that meets predetermined conditions for initiating a process (i.e., triggering); the system uses methods deployed within the Publisher Application that retrieve and insert the Trusted Proxy Frame during a sensitive data exchange process (i.e., for transmitting the sensitive information); Embodiments are operational with numerous other general purpose or special purpose computing system environments or configurations, in the general context of computer-executable instructions (i.e., executes code for transmitting via the instance executing the compute code)); and releasing, by the cloud server, computer resources allocated to the [ephemeral] compute instance in response to the sensitive data being transmitted to the service system (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0125, 0263-0264, 0268-0269, 0004 teach(es) control return to the Publisher Application when transactions are complete; after a predetermined time the Trusted Relationship between Authentication Keys expires (i.e., turning down the ephemeral compute instance); the original Authentication Key a completely expires and is moved into Discard Area where it is destroyed; The Authentication Key must be used before being destroyed. Thus the Authentication Key is destroyed or released after its usage; a customer (an “End User”) of an online merchant provides sensitive personal information (“Primary Information”) such as a payment information to complete a purchase transaction with an online merchant).
However, Iozzia does not explicitly teach ephemeral compute instance.
Benkreira from same or similar field of endeavor teaches ...ephemeral compute instance (Benkreira: Paragraph(s) 0048, 0063-0064, 0006-0007 teach(es) the triggering event is generated by a messaging queue service or data streaming platform. Advantageously, container instances are ephemeral (i.e., ephemeral compute instance), with their provisioning based on a triggering event and their terminating based on completion of one or more jobs; Container instances are ephemeral and may run for a single job or a series of jobs, and data stored by container instance (i.e., ephemeral compute instance) may be destroyed upon termination, providing security advantages (i.e., for transmitting the sensitive information); A container instance may be configured to execute functions written in one or more programming languages, including JAVASCRIPT, C, C++, JAVA, PHP, PYTHON, RUBY, PERL, BASH, or other programming or scripting languages).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Iozzia to incorporate the teachings of Benkreira for ...ephemeral compute instance.
There is motivation to combine Benkreira into Iozzia because the messaging queue service or data streaming platform may use ephemeral container instance, to provide security advantages in sending or receiving sensitive information such as credentials (Benkreira: Paragraph(s) 0098, 0077).
Regarding Claims 22, 31, and 40, the combination of Iozzia and Benkreira teaches all the limitations of claims 21, 30, and 39 above; and Iozzia further teaches further comprising transmitting the non-sensitive data to the service system through persistent backend service (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0107, 0020 teach(es) the shipping address may be provided in an e-commerce transaction as unrestricted Information: Electronic data which can be publicly disclosed without compromising its sensitivity, legality, commercial value or other attributes; the opposite of Primary Information).
Regarding Claims 23 and 32, the combination of Iozzia and Benkreira teaches all the limitations of claims 21 and 30 above; and Iozzia further teaches further comprising: verifying the request based on determining that an authorization token associated with the request is valid, wherein generating the ephemeral compute instance is based on verifying the request (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0226, 0103, 0243 teach(es) the system creates a logical trusted relationship between Trusted Proxy Frame and Trusted Frame Process that persists for the duration of the Primary Information exchange process).
Regarding Claims 24 and 33, the combination of Iozzia and Benkreira teaches all the limitations of claims 21 and 30 above; and Iozzia further teaches further comprising: determining whether to retain the ephemeral compute instance after the compute code is executed, wherein releasing the computer resources allocated to the ephemeral compute instance to turn down the ephemeral compute instance is based on determining not to retain the ephemeral compute instance (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0125, 0263-0264, 0268-0269, 0004 teach(es) control return to the Publisher Application when transactions are complete; after a predetermined time the Trusted Relationship between Authentication Keys expires (i.e., turning down the ephemeral compute instance); the original Authentication Key a completely expires and is moved into Discard Area where it is destroyed; The Authentication Key must be used before being destroyed. Thus the Authentication Key is destroyed or released after its usage; a customer (an “End User”) of an online merchant provides sensitive personal information (“Primary Information”) such as a payment information to complete a purchase transaction with an online merchant).
Regarding Claims 25 and 34, the combination of Iozzia and Benkreira teaches all the limitations of claims 24 and 33 above; and Iozzia further teaches further comprising: receiving, at the cloud server, a second request having the same compute code; and retaining the ephemeral compute instance by assigning the ephemeral compute instance to the second request without creating a new compute instance (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0125, 0263-0264, 0268-0269, 0004, as stated above with respect to claims 24 and 33).
Regarding Claims 26 and 35, the combination of Iozzia and Benkreira teaches all the limitations of claims 24 and 34 above; and Iozzia further teaches wherein retaining the ephemeral compute instance is based on a type of an entity that submitted the request through the client application server (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0206-0208, 0226, 0103, 0243 teach(es) the Secure Application of the system displaying a trusted credit card data form (Trusted Proxy Frame) within the distrusted branded interface; the system creates a logical trusted relationship between Trusted Proxy Frame and Trusted Frame Process that persists for the duration of the Primary Information exchange process).
Regarding Claims 27 and 36, the combination of Iozzia and Benkreira teaches all the limitations of claims 21 and 30 above; and Iozzia further teaches wherein triggering the ephemeral compute instance is based on at least one criterion, the criterion including a security policy or a type of an application programming interface (API) call (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0027 teach(es) Examples of policy for sensitive user data include those defined under The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and the PCI Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) protocol developed by the PCI Security Standards Council).
Regarding Claims 28 and 37, the combination of Iozzia and Benkreira teaches all the limitations of claims 21 and 30 above; and Iozzia further teaches wherein outbound network activity associated with the ephemeral compute instance is restricted to whitelisted services (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0056 teach(es) a transaction is approved by an issuing bank, authorized agent, or Visa/MasterCard on behalf of that issuer).
Regarding Claims 29 and 38, the combination of Iozzia and Benkreira teaches all the limitations of claims 21 and 30 above; and Iozzia further teaches wherein the sensitive data transmitted through the ephemeral compute instance and the non-sensitive data transmitted by persistent backend service are combined to authorize a transaction (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0337, 0020, 0032 further teach(es), in addition with respect to claim 9 above, an unauthorized user can see non-sensitive elements of Primary Function, but they have no visibility or access to sensitive Primary Information).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 that “Iozzia, however, does not disclose or suggest a transaction request "having compute code that is executed to transmit the sensitive data," as recited in amended claim 21. Iozzia also fails to disclose or suggest "generating an ephemeral compute instance by loading the compute code included in the request into the ephemeral compute instance," as claimed,” examiner respectfully argues that the features are taught by the combination of the cited references as stated above with respect to the 103 rejections (Iozzia: Paragraph(s) 0083-0084, 0121-0123, 0132, 0263-0264, 0155, 0194, 0197; and Benkreira: Paragraph(s) 0048, 0063-0064, 0006-0007). It is recommended for the applicant to amend the claims further with more technical details and contexts of servers, service system, ephemeral compute instance, compute code, computer resources, etc.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Susanto (US 20140207736 A1) teaches Replication Of Assets Across Data Centers, including computing resources, cloud computing, and that shared pool of configurable computing resources can be rapidly provisioned via virtualization and released.
Fenichel (US 20230119385 A1) teaches Adaptive Artificial Intelligence Systems And Methods For Token Verification, including ephemeral container instances, and protecting sensitive data.
Trim (US 11082283 B2) teaches Contextual Generation Of Ephemeral Networks, including configurable computing resources (e.g., networks, network bandwidth, servers, processing, memory, storage, applications, virtual machines, and services) that can be rapidly provisioned and released.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAY C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699