DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 1, is that there is a fundamental structural distinction in what distance is being evaluated. In Kwasnick, the "reference distance" tracks a highly variable external air gap separating two entirely separate, independent mobile structures (the ground base charging system 102 and the electric vehicle 200). Conversely, the currently claimed invention evaluates an internal, static structural profile, namely, the "distance from the coil to an exterior of a housing of the power transmission device."
This is not persuasive because the claim merely recites "distance from the coil to an exterior of a housing of the power transmission device." As recited in paragraph 0025 and Figure 3 of Kwasnick, the power transfer controller 110 moves the power transmission coil 120 toward power receiving coil 130 until the power transmission coil 120 is within a reference distance of the power receiving coil 130 based on the sensor data produced by the proximity sensors 112. Thus, the detection unit 112 performs objection detection via proximity sensors 112 according to a distance from the coil 120 to an exterior of the housing of the power transmission device 102. The claim does not require the distance to be an internal, static structural profile. There is also a lack of support in the specification defining distance from the coil to an exterior of a housing of the power transmission device. Thus, Kwasnick discloses distance from the coil to an exterior of a housing of the power transmission device.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwasnick et al. (US 2017/0182903 A1) in view of Kurihara et al. (US 2014/0183970 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kwasnick discloses, in figure 2, a power transmission device (102) comprising: a coil (120) for transmitting power (Par 0024), a power transmission unit (110, 120, 122) configured to wirelessly transmit power to a power reception device (104) via the coil (120) (Par 0024); and a detection unit (112) configured to perform an object detection (Par 0024, “the power transfer controller 110 may sense the proper positioning of the electric vehicle 200 via, for example, sensor data from the proximity sensors 112” thus proximity sensors 112 performs an object detection e.g. electric vehicle) on basis of a parameter according to distance from the coil (120) to an exterior of a housing (Par 0024, “the electric vehicle 200 may be parked over the wireless power transmission system 102, which may be embodied in a user's garage, a parking lot, or other area capable of supporting the electric vehicle” thus the wireless power transmission device 102 is housed/embodied in a user's garage, a parking lot, or other area capable of supporting the electric vehicle) of the power transmission device (102) (Par 0025; See Fig. 3; the power transfer controller 110 moves the power transmission coil 120 toward power receiving coil 130 until the power transmission coil 120 is within a reference distance of the power receiving coil 130 based on the sensor data produced by the proximity sensors 112…the reference distance to be achieved between the power coils 120, 130 may be based on a desired minimum wireless power transfer efficiency. Thus, the detection unit 112 performs objection detection via proximity sensors 112 according to a distance from the coil 120 to an exterior of the housing of the power transmission device 102).
Kwasnick does not disclose the detection unit configured to perform a foreign object detection.
However, Kurihara discloses, in figure 1, a detection unit (21) configured to perform a foreign object detection (Par 0040, 0043).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwasnick’s wireless power transmission system by including the detection unit configured to perform a foreign object detection as taught by Kurihara in order to reduce and prevent extensive damage due to overheating of foreign matter (Kurihara; Par 0079).
In regards to claim 3, Kwasnick and Kurihara disclose the power transmission device according to claim 1. Kwasnick further discloses, in figure 2, wherein the parameter is a threshold (Par 0025; reference distance) for the object detection (Par 0025; the power transfer controller 110 moves the power transmission coil 120 toward power receiving coil 130 until the power transmission coil 120 is within a reference distance of the power receiving coil 130 based on the sensor data produced by the proximity sensors 112).
Kwasnick does not disclose a foreign object detection.
However, Kurihara discloses, in figure 1, a foreign object detection (21) (Par 0040, 0043).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwasnick’s wireless power transmission system by including a foreign object detection as taught by Kurihara in order to reduce and prevent extensive damage due to overheating of foreign matter (Kurihara; Par 0079).
In regards to claim 4, Kwasnick and Kurihara disclose the power transmission device according to claim 3. Kwasnick further discloses, in figure 2, wherein, the threshold (Par 0025; reference distance) is determined on basis of information regarding the distance (Par 0025; the power transfer controller 110 moves the power transmission coil 120 toward power receiving coil 130 until the power transmission coil 120 is within a reference distance of the power receiving coil 130 based on the sensor data produced by the proximity sensors 112).
In regards to claim 5, Kwasnick and Kurihara disclose the power transmission device according to claim 4. Kwasnick further discloses, in figure 3, wherein the information regarding the distance is information about whether the distance is greater than or equal to a predetermined value (Par 0067-0068; See Fig. 3; the distance between the power transmission coil 120 and an exterior of the housing is greater than or equal to an initial state of 120 (shown in Fig. 2) after 120 is moved to be closer to 130 to satisfy a minimum power transfer efficiency threshold).
In regards to claim 6, Kwasnick and Kurihara disclose the power transmission device according to claim 1. Kwasnick further discloses, in figure 2, wherein the detection unit (112) performs the object detection in a case where it is determined, on basis of information regarding the distance (Par 0025; See Fig. 3; the power transfer controller 110 moves the power transmission coil 120 toward power receiving coil 130 until the power transmission coil 120 is within a reference distance of the power receiving coil 130 based on the sensor data produced by the proximity sensors 112), that a coupling state between the power transmission device (102) and the power reception device (104) is a specific coupling state (Par 0024-0025; the specific coupling state of when the proper positioning of the power receiving coil 130 of electric vehicle 200 is properly aligned and vertically over the power transmission coil 120 of power transmission system 102).
In regards to claim 7, Kwasnick discloses, in figure 2, a method executed by a power transmission device (102), the method comprising: wirelessly transmitting power to the power reception device (104) via a coil (120) (Par 0024); performing an object detection (Par 0024, “the power transfer controller 110 may sense the proper positioning of the electric vehicle 200 via, for example, sensor data from the proximity sensors 112” thus proximity sensors 112 performs an object detection e.g. electric vehicle) on basis of a parameter according to distance from the coil (120) to an exterior of a housing (Par 0024, “the electric vehicle 200 may be parked over the wireless power transmission system 102, which may be embodied in a user's garage, a parking lot, or other area capable of supporting the electric vehicle” thus the wireless power transmission device 102 is housed/embodied in a user's garage, a parking lot, or other area capable of supporting the electric vehicle) of the power transmission device (102) (Par 0025; See Fig. 3; the power transfer controller 110 moves the power transmission coil 120 toward power receiving coil 130 until the power transmission coil 120 is within a reference distance of the power receiving coil 130 based on the sensor data produced by the proximity sensors 112…the reference distance to be achieved between the power coils 120, 130 may be based on a desired minimum wireless power transfer efficiency. Thus, the detection unit 112 performs objection detection via proximity sensors 112 according to a distance from the coil 120 to an exterior of the housing of the power transmission device 102).
Kwasnick does not disclose performing a foreign object detection.
However, Kurihara discloses, in figure 1, performing a foreign object detection (Par 0040, 0043).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwasnick’s wireless power transmission system by including performing a foreign object detection as taught by Kurihara in order to reduce and prevent extensive damage due to overheating of foreign matter (Kurihara; Par 0079).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwasnick et al. (US 2017/0182903 A1) in view of Kurihara et al. (US 2014/0183970 A1) in further view of Uchida et al. (US 2010/0244580 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Kwasnick and Kurihara disclose the power transmission device according to claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising a transmitting unit configured to transmit information regarding the distance to the power reception device.
However, Uchida discloses, in figure 1, a transmitting unit (14) configured to transmit information regarding the distance to the power reception device (23) (Par 0052; the distance detector 14 successively transmits the detection result of the coil distance to the power transmitting frequency controller 13 by using, for example, a wired connection, and transmits the detection result to the power receiving frequency controller 23 of power receiving apparatus 2 by using, for example, a wireless communication such as Bluetooth or infrared communication).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwasnick’s wireless power transmission device by including a transmitting unit configured to transmit information regarding the distance to the power reception device as taught by Uchida in order to prevent the power transmission efficiency from the power transmitting apparatus to the power receiving apparatus from decreasing (Uchida; Par 0020).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REGIS J BETSCH/ SPE, Art Unit 2836