DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Europe on 09/14/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the European application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. The electronic retrieval attempt failed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is not clearly understood because “the underside of the vehicle” lacks a clear antecedent basis.
Claim 3 is not clearly understood because “the front part” lacks a clear antecedent basis.
Claim 4 is not clearly understood because “the underside of the sill” lacks a clear antecedent basis.
Claim 14 is not clearly understood because “the mutual position” lacks a clear antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2023/0182817).
Lee et al. discloses a vehicle (10) having an energy absorbing arrangement comprising a bracket (52) and a component (28) arranged on the underside of the vehicle (10), as shown in Figures 1-5. The bracket is arranged to transfer energy to the component (28), as shown in Figures 1-5.
In reference to claim 2, the vehicle (10) comprises a sill (28) and the bracket (52) is attached to the sill (28), as shown in Figures 1-5.
In reference to claim 3, the bracket (52) is arranged in the front part of the sill (28), as shown in Figures 1-5.
In reference to claim 4, the bracket (52) is arranged on the underside of the sill (28), as shown in Figures 1-5.
In reference to claim 5, the bracket (52) is arranged such that a front portion of the bracket (52) is arranged in front of the sill (28), as shown in Figures 1 and 2. The front portion receives fasteners (130), as shown in Figure 2.
In reference to claim 6, the vehicle (10) has an A-pillar (24), as shown in Figure 2. The bracket (52) is arranged such that a front portion of the bracket (52) is arranged in front of the A-pillar (24), as shown in Figure 2. The front portion receives fasteners (130), as shown in Figure 2.
In reference to claim 7, the bracket (52) is arranged in a position below the A-pillar, as shown in Figures 2 and 5.
In reference to claim 9, the component (28) is arranged behind the bracket (52), as shown in Figures 1 and 2.
In reference to claim 10, the bracket (52) and the component (28) are arranged adjacent to each other, as shown in Figures 1 and 2.
In reference to claim 14, the arrangement has a guiding means (130) maintaining the mutual position of the bracket (52) and the component (28) in case of collision, as shown in Figures 1 and 2.
In reference to claim 15, the guiding means (130) is arranged to counteract the bracket (52) from moving to a position below the component (28) in case of a collision, as shown in Figures 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0182817) in view of Marshall et al. (US 2022/0089009).
Lee et al. does not disclose the bracket provides a lifting jack point.
Marshall et al. teaches using a horizontal flange attached to a vehicle sill as a lifting jack point (120), as disclosed in paragraph [0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the bracket of Lee et al. as a lifting jack point, as taught by Marshall et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a lifting jack point at the reinforced sill location that can be used to safely lift the vehicle for work.
Claim 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2023/0182817) in view of Marshall et al. (US 2022/0089009).
Lee et al. does not disclose a component that is part of a battery structure.
Marshall et al. teaches attaching a battery structure (14) to an underside (64) of a vehicle (60), as shown in Figures 2 and 3. A component (84) of the battery structure (14) is in a location directly behind the A-pillar, as shown in Figures 2 and 3.
In reference to claim 12, the component (84) is a side collision protection for a battery, as shown in Figures 2, 3, and 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a battery structure with a component formed as a side collision protection for the battery to the underside of the vehicle of Lee et al. directly behind the A-pillar, as taught by Marshall et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a battery for an electric vehicle in a location that minimizes intrusion of the passenger and cargo spaces.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 13 is the bracket is arranged to transfer energy to a lateral outer portion of the component extending longitudinally along a part of the side of the vehicle, which is not found in the prior art of record. Lee et al. can’t transfer energy to a lateral outer portion of the component since it is attached to the bottom of the component.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 16 is the hooking part of the bracket, which is not found in the prior art of record. Lee et al. uses fasteners such as bolts to connect to vertical surfaces. The shape and location of the structure is not conducive to using a hooking part for attachment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miller (6,364,358) shows a bracket that is closest in appearance to the applicant’s bracket.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 September 18, 2026