DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 19, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the electronics enclosure further comprises at least one leg disposed on each of the two frame faces (claim 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the original specification does not provide support for the electronics enclosure comprising at least one leg disposed on each of the two frame faces as recited in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
It is unclear from the specification and/or drawings how the electronics enclosure further comprises at least one leg disposed on each of the two frame faces. This limitation is not disclosed or shown in the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 102662706 to Yoon.
Regarding claim 1, Yoon teaches a construction sign assembly comprising: a sign frame comprising two frame faces (pair of guide plates 10A and 10B) rotatably connected via a hinge mechanism (hinge structure includes a hinge axis 22), wherein each of the two frame faces (10A and 10B) comprises: a recessed portion (recess 121) configured to receive a graphic sign (information sign sheet 122); at least one solar panel mounting region (top edge of sign assembly, figure 12) configured to receive a solar panel (solar panel 70); at least one mounting region (guide plate 10A, figure 12) configured to removably couple to an electronics enclosure (power storage unit 80); and at least one LED panel (LED warning lights 90) configured to removably couple to each of the two faces of the sign frame (10A and 10B), the at least one LED panel (90) being configured to illuminate the graphic sign (122).
Regarding claim 2, Yoon teaches the at least one LED panel (90) is configured to removably couple to the recessed portion (121) of the each of the two frame faces (10A and 10B).
Regarding claim 14, Yoon teaches the at least LED panel (90) can be configured to have a specific brightness of at least 300 lumens.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102662706 to Yoon in view of US 9286814 to Thomaselli et al. (hereinafter “Thomaselli”).
Regarding claim 7, Yoon does not teach the recessed portion comprises at least one sliding slot.
Thomaselli teaches a portable sign assembly comprising a two frame faces (first panel 100 and a second panel 200) rotatably connected via a hinge mechanism (hinge members 144 and 146 and axis A1), wherein each of the two frame faces (100 and 200) comprises: a recessed portion (receptacle 136) configured to receive a graphic sign (placard 170); at least one solar panel mounting region (any surface of the sign assembly is configured to receive a solar panel) configured to receive a solar panel (not positively claimed); at least one mounting region (any surface of the sign assembly is configured to configured to removably couple to an electronics enclosure) to removably couple to an electronics enclosure (not positively claimed). Thomaselli also teaches
the recessed portion (receptacle 136) comprises at least one sliding slot (space configured to receive a portion of the placard 170 between the recessed surface 134 and the respective retaining member 138; column 7, line 17-21 or the retaining members 138 may be elongate or may be channels configured to receive a portion of the placard 170; column 7, lines 24-30) configured allow the graphic sign (placard 170) to slide into and be loaded onto the recessed portion (receptacle 136).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct sign assembly taught by Yoon with at least one sliding slot as taught by Thomaselli with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to retain the graphic sign (placard) within the recessed portion.
Regarding claim 8, Thomaselli teaches the recessed portion (receptacle 136) further comprises a plurality of retaining tabs (retaining member 138) disposed around a perimeter of the recessed portion (receptacle 136), the plurality of retaining tabs (138) configured to retain the graphic sign (170) loaded onto the recessed portion (136).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102662706 to Yoon in view of US 9286814 to Thomaselli et al. (hereinafter “Thomaselli”) as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of US 4999937 to Bechtold.
Yoon does not teach the recessed portion the recessed portion further comprises at least one of friction fit fasteners, screws, retractable tabs, and hook-and-loop securement methods configured to retain the graphic sign.
Bechtold teaches a floor sign comprising two panels hinged together at an upper end to allow selective spreading of the lower ends of the panels. Each of the two panel comprising a portion configured to receive a graphic sign (signage 20). The portion further comprises at least one of friction fit fasteners, screws, retractable tabs, and hook-and-loop securement methods (mating strips of adhesive material may be pressure sensitive adhesive chemicals, magnetically adhesive strips, or hook/loop attachment strips, such as is commercially known and sold under the trademark "Velcro", column 2, lines 1-5) configured to retain the graphic sign (20) loaded onto the recessed portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct recessed portion of the sign assembly taught by Yoon and Thomaselli with hook/loop attachment strips, such as is commercially known and sold under the trademark "Velcro"as taught by Bechtold with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an additional attachment means to retain the graphic sign (placard) within the recessed portion.
Claims 3-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102662706 to Yoon in view of WO 2007144926 to Abballe.
Regarding claim 10, Yoon does not teach the at least one LED panel comprises: a sheet comprising four sides defining a perimeter of the LED panel; and at least one LED strip.
Abballe teaches a foldable advertising panel comprising at least one LED panel comprises: a sheet (transparent sheet 30) comprising four sides defining a perimeter of the LED panel (30); and at least one LED strip (31) disposed on the sheet and configured to illuminate the graphic sign (image panel 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct LED panel taught by Yoon with four sides defining a perimeter of the LED panel and at least one LED strip as taught by Abballe with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to illuminate the graphic panel.
Regarding claim 11, Abballe teaches the at least one LED strip (31) is disposed on at least one of the four sides defining the perimeter of the LED panel.
Regarding claim 3, Abballe teaches the at least one LED panel (30) is positioned under the graphic sign (32) loaded onto the recessed portion of the each of the two frame faces.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct LED panel taught by Yoon with under the graphic sign as taught by Abballe with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to illuminate the graphic panel.
Regarding claim 4, Yoon teaches the at least one LED panel (90) is electrically coupled to at least one of: the at least one solar panel (70) and the electronics enclosure (80).
Regarding claim 5, Yoon teaches a programmable control module configured to control an operation of the at least one LED panel (90); and a battery (power storage unit 80 including a storage battery) configured to supply power to the at least one LED panel (90).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102662706 to Yoon in view of US 4624210 to Glass.
Regarding claim 15, Glass teaches a barricade comprising a sign frame comprising two frame faces (hollow plastic panel units 10 and 10') rotatably connected via a hinge mechanism (hinge members 41 and 42), wherein each of the two frame faces (10 and 10’) comprises: a recessed portion (slight recess 17) configured to receive a graphic sign (bright colored reflective tape 18). Glass also teaches each of the two frame faces of the sign frame comprises a plurality of access points (circular port, drilled in the top surface 27 of panel member 21, FIG. 6) configured to allow filling the sign frame with a filling agent (ballast material 91).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the two frame faces of the sign frame taught by Yoon having a hollow configuration with an access port for receiving ballast material as taught by Glass with a reasonable expectation of success to provide means to increase stability of the sign assembly.
.Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record does not teach a backlit signage system comprising: a sign frame comprising two frame faces rotatably connected via a hinge mechanism, wherein each of the two frame faces comprises: a recessed portion configured to receive a graphic sign; at least one solar panel mounting region; at least one electronics enclosure mounting region; and at least one LED panel configured to removably couple to each of the two faces to illuminate the graphic sign in combination with the other claimed limitation and further comprising wherein the at least one LED panel further comprises a diffuser configured to uniformly distribute the light emitted from the at least one LED strip.
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631