Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fessler et al. (US 20160104013 A1) in view of Bridgelall et al. (US 20050206555 A1) and Zhou et al. (WO 2024050803 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Fessler teaches a wireless communication device for wireless communications, the wireless communication device comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory(Paragraph 36)
RFID tag detection device 35 includes a processing device 45 and a radio device 50, such as a radio transceiver or transponder, communicatively coupled to processing device 45. Processing device 45 may include an associated memory 53 and may be a processor, microprocessor, controller and/or microcontroller formed as one or more Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs). Memory 53 may be any memory device convenient for use with or capable of communicating with processing device 45. Processing device 45 may communicate with radio device 50 and serve to provide data to radio device 50 for transmission thereby, or to receive data therefrom for processing. In other alternative embodiments, RFID tag detection device 35 may be implemented in a variety of ways. For example, processing device 45 may be implemented as part of radio device 50 and may execute instructions maintained in memory 53 for performing operations or functions associated with radio device 50[P-36]
Fessler teaches the processor being configured to output, for transmission to a plurality of passive devices, a transmit signal with a first phase; receive, from each passive device of the plurality of passive devices, a respective response signal based on the transmit signal, wherein each respective response signal has a respective phase (Paragraphs 39, 41-42)
In operation, radio device 50 may broadcast a plurality of interrogation signals in the form of electromagnetic waves 65 to RFID tags 40 within interrogation range. In response, each RFID tag 40 within range may return a response signal in the form of electromagnetic waves 70 to radio device 50. Radio device 50 may use characteristics of received response signals to determine information associated with the responding RFID tag 40. For example, radio device 50 may identify a responding RFID tag and determine a distance D.sub.n thereof based on response signals received therefrom.[P-39]
In another example embodiment, RFID tag detection device 35 may be configured for and/or capable of measuring phase associated with response signals received from RFID tags 40. With reference to FIG. 3, an example communication between radio device 50 and RFID tag 40 is illustrated. Radio device 50 may transmit a plurality of signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N at different frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2 . . . F.sub.N, respectively, to interrogate RFID tag 40, and receive therefrom corresponding response signals RX.sub.1, RX.sub.2, . . . , RX.sub.N for each transmitted signal TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N at corresponding frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2, . . . , F.sub.N. In this example, transmitted signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N may be transmitted by radio device 50 with initial phases φ.sub.T1, φ.sub.T2, . . . φ.sub.TN, respectively. Upon arriving at radio device 50, response signals RX.sub.1, RX.sub.2, . . . , RX.sub.N may have respective phases φ.sub.R1, φ.sub.R2, . . . , φ.sub.RN that differ from the initial phases φ.sub.T1, φ.sub.T2, . . . , φ.sub.TN of corresponding interrogation signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N. Phases φ.sub.R1, φ.sub.R2, . . . , φ.sub.RN of the received response signals RX.sub.n generally varies with each frequency F.sub.n, and this variation in phase with respect to the change in frequency is proportional to the reader to tag distance. Accordingly, RFID tag detection device 35 may utilize the changes in phase to calculate an estimate of the distance D between radio device 50 and RFID tag 40, as will be explained in detail below. Signal phase may be determined using any of a variety of techniques known in the art.[P-41]
In accordance with example embodiments of the present disclosure, object detection system 30 may perform distance measurements on a given RFID tag 40 of interest using techniques that utilize both RSSI and phase of response signals received from the RFID tag of interest. Generally, a distance measurement may be performed on the RFID tag 40 of interest using RSSI, and phase measurements of response signals at different frequencies may be obtained for the same RFID tag 40. The phase measurements may then be altered based on the distance measurement ascertained by the RSSI method to determine an estimate of a phase slope corresponding to the distance of the RFID tag 40 from the radio device 50. Thereafter, a final distance estimate of the RFID tag 40 may be determined based on the estimated phase slope. In this way, RSSI method may be used to inform how the phase slope corresponding to the RFID tag distance may be approximated, and thus may compensate for the requirement of having relatively large numbers of phase measurements at the hop frequencies to obtain a phase slope as previously described with respect to FIG. 1B. At least two phase measurements at selected frequencies may be needed to provide localization, as will be explained in greater detail below. Thus, techniques provided herein may permit a reduction in the number of required phase measurements such that the amount of time needed for accurate RFID tag localization using phase angle method may be reduced.[P-42]
Fessler further elaborates, determining, based on a difference between the first phase and the respective phase of each respective response signal, a plurality of distances for the plurality of passive devices, the plurality of distances comprising a respective distance from each passive device of the plurality of passive devices to the wireless communication device (Paragraph 41)
In another example embodiment, RFID tag detection device 35 may be configured for and/or capable of measuring phase associated with response signals received from RFID tags 40. With reference to FIG. 3, an example communication between radio device 50 and RFID tag 40 is illustrated. Radio device 50 may transmit a plurality of signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N at different frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2 . . . F.sub.N, respectively, to interrogate RFID tag 40, and receive therefrom corresponding response signals RX.sub.1, RX.sub.2, . . . , RX.sub.N for each transmitted signal TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N at corresponding frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2, . . . , F.sub.N. In this example, transmitted signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N may be transmitted by radio device 50 with initial phases φ.sub.T1, φ.sub.T2, . . . φ.sub.TN, respectively. Upon arriving at radio device 50, response signals RX.sub.1, RX.sub.2, . . . , RX.sub.N may have respective phases φ.sub.R1, φ.sub.R2, . . . , φ.sub.RN that differ from the initial phases φ.sub.T1, φ.sub.T2, . . . , φ.sub.TN of corresponding interrogation signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N. Phases φ.sub.R1, φ.sub.R2, . . . , φ.sub.RN of the received response signals RX.sub.n generally varies with each frequency F.sub.n, and this variation in phase with respect to the change in frequency is proportional to the reader to tag distance. Accordingly, RFID tag detection device 35 may utilize the changes in phase to calculate an estimate of the distance D between radio device 50 and RFID tag 40, as will be explained in detail below. Signal phase may be determined using any of a variety of techniques known in the art.[P-41]
Fessler teaches the determine a respective confidence level for the respective distance of each passive device of the plurality of passive devices to the wireless communication device (Paragraph 47)
At block 140, a confidence interval for the distance between RFID tag 40 and radio device 50 may be determined based on the first distance estimate D.sub.1, and/or based on the measured RSSI used to determine the first distance estimate D.sub.1. Generally, the confidence interval may define a distance range about the first distance estimate D.sub.1 that provides relatively high-probability estimates of the actual RFID tag distance. The confidence level of the confidence interval may be set to any desired value, and in one example may be set to about 95%. Confidence bounds define the width of the confidence interval, and define lower and upper values of distances about the first distance estimate D.sub.1. As an example, FIG. 5 further depicts example confidence bounds 142 and 143 for curve 133. Corresponding to the measured RSSI value SS.sub.1 are two points 147 and 148 along lower bound 142 and upper bound 143, respectively. Accordingly, a lower confidence limit for the distance may be D.sub.L corresponding to point 147 along lower bound 142, and an upper confidence limit may be D.sub.U corresponding to point 148 along curve 143. It is understood that the above example is only for purposes of illustration. It is contemplated that confidence bounds and/or limits may be determined using various other techniques.[P-47]
Fessler though teaching that confidence bounds and/or limits may be determined using various other techniques[P-47], however fails to explicitly specify the determination of the respective confidence level based on a variance of the respective phase of each respective response signal
Bridgelall on the other hand teaches the determination of the respective confidence level based on a variance of the respective phase of each respective response signal (Paragraph 82)
In response to the signals transmitted by each reader, the RFID tag produces a plurality of backscatter-modulated signals that are received by the array of RFID readers. The distance between an RFID reader and the RFID tag is calculated using the measured phase of the backscatter-modulated signals that are received by that RFID reader, and the corresponding fundamental frequencies for the signals originally transmitted by that reader. Specifically, the change in phase with respect to the change in the frequency is used with equation 1 described above to calculate the difference. Preferably, multiple signals are transmitted and backscatter modulated to each RFID reader until the change in phase with respect to the change in fundamental frequency can be calculated within a specified confidence level. As one example, a linear trend of phase change with respect to fundamental frequency change can be determined by performing a least squares fit analysis of the multiple phase measurements and the corresponding fundamental frequencies. This linear trend is a more accurate "estimated slope" of the phase change versus the frequency change. As the number of the measurements increases, the accuracy of the estimated slope and the calculated distance increases. This process can be continued until the least squares fit generates an estimated slope that is within a desired confidence level, where the confidence level can be calculated using any suitable technique such as "goodness of fit" or any other method of assessing the variance of the data trend from a straight line. This process is then continued until the distance from each reader within range of the tag is known at the desired confidence level.[P-82]
Here, we see Bridgelal, take into account the variance of the respective phase of each respective response signal in order to eventually calculate/determine the confidence level of each passive device/tag.
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine Bridgelal’s teaching with Fessler’s teaching that confidence bounds and/or limits may be determined using various other techniques, in order to improve and add a more in depth metric in order to determine the confidence level.
Furthermore, Fessler modified fails to teach comparing the respective distance of each passive device of the plurality of passive devices with each other distance of the plurality of distances to determine a passive device of the plurality of passive devices with a smallest distance to the wireless communication device
Zhou on the other hand teaches comparing the respective distance of each passive device of the plurality of passive devices with each other distance of the plurality of distances to determine a passive device of the plurality of passive devices with a smallest distance to the wireless communication device (Page 4, Paragraphs 1-4)
In some implementations of the first aspect, K second targets are determined, the K second targets correspond to K second sensing data, and the K is an integer greater than or equal to 1. According to the K second sensing data The confidence level and the confidence level of the first sensing data determine whether to report the first sensing data.[Pg 4, P-1]
In this method, the sensing node can determine whether to report the first sensing data based on the confidence of the first sensing data and the confidence of sensing data of other targets. In other words, the sensing node can compare the first sensing data with surrounding sensing data and report the sensing data that meets the conditions. This approach provides flexibility for data compression.[Pg 4, P-2]
In some implementations of the first aspect, the second parameter is a distance threshold, and there are K second targets within the distance threshold range, or the second parameter is a value of K, and the K second targets The target is the K targets closest to the first target in the perceptual map, and the perceptual map is used to indicate the first target and the K second targets. [Pg 4, P-3]
That is to say, the sensing node can determine a certain amount of sensing data in nearby target points as the comparison object, or it can determine a certain amount of sensing data in the nearest distance as the comparison object. [Pg 4, P-4]
Here, we Zhou teach the comparison of the confidence level in conjunction with distance of the sensed objects/targets, and thereby determining the closest distance of all the objects/targets, and the closest/nearest distance of the said targets as the comparison object
Furthermore, Zhou uses this comparison object as the point of relativity to the other targets, and thereby uses this information to output information associated with the passive device based on the passive device having the smallest distance to the wireless communication device and based on a confidence level determined for a distance from the passive device to the wireless communication device, i.e. this information output being a perceptual map.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Zhou’s teaching with Fessler’s teaching in order have an inexpensive yet more accurate means of determining and mapping the location of tracked objects within a given proximity.
In regards to claim 9, Fessler modified teaches each passive device of the plurality of passive devices is a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag (Paragraphs 35, 37-40, Fessler) .
FIG. 2 shows an illustration of an object detection system 30 that may be used to provide localization services for identifying, determining, and tracking physical locations of different assets, equipment, devices, individuals, or other objects in a particular environment. As shown, object detection system 30 includes a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag detection device 35 and a plurality of RFID tags 40 that are attachable to objects of interest that need to be tracked.[P-35]
Radio device 50 may be derived from a wide variety of RFID readers capable of reading a number of passive, active, and/or semi-passive tags simultaneously within a read/interrogation range. Radio device 50 may include at least one antenna 55 and a circuit that is configurable to operate as a transmitter and a receiver. Radio device 50 generally uses antenna 55 to transmit radio frequency signals to the RFID tags 40 and receive response signals therefrom. Antenna 55 may be tuned to one or more frequencies at which radio device 50 interrogates and communicates with a particular RFID tag 40 within range. Antenna 55 may be implemented with one or more antennae. In one example, radio device 50 may have two or more antennae for localization.[P-37]
Each RFID tag 40 may be a passive, active, or semi-passive tag, and may include a communications control unit (not shown) and an antenna 60. The communications control unit of each RFID tag 40 may decode and/or demodulate received information/interrogation signals from radio device 50, and encode, modulate, and transmit information/response signals to radio device 50 using antenna 60. Antenna 60 may be tuned to a frequency or frequencies at which radio device 50 communicates with RFID tag 40.[P-38]
In operation, radio device 50 may broadcast a plurality of interrogation signals in the form of electromagnetic waves 65 to RFID tags 40 within interrogation range. In response, each RFID tag 40 within range may return a response signal in the form of electromagnetic waves 70 to radio device 50. Radio device 50 may use characteristics of received response signals to determine information associated with the responding RFID tag 40. For example, radio device 50 may identify a responding RFID tag and determine a distance D.sub.n thereof based on response signals received therefrom.[P-39]
In an example embodiment, RFID tag detection device 35 may be configured for and/or capable of measuring RSSI of a response signal received from a responding RFID tag 40, and calculating a distance estimate of the RFID tag 40 based on the measured RSSI. As conventionally known, a response signal transmitted by an RFID tag loses power as it travels through air due to reflection, refraction, absorption, and other environmental factors. Thus, as the distance between an RFID tag and radio device 50 increases, signal strength of response signals received by radio device 50 generally decreases. For example, in FIG. 2, three RFID tags 40-1, 40-2, and 40-3 are illustrated with RFID tag 40-1 being relatively closest to radio device 50 at a distance D1 and then increasing in distance with RFID tags 40-2 and 40-3 at distances D2 and D3, respectively. Accordingly, response signals transmitted by RFID tag 40-1 may be stronger in signal strength as received by radio device 50 compared to signal strengths of response signals received from RFID tags 40-2 and 40-3. Radio device 50 can receive a response signal from an RFID tag 40 using antenna 55 and decode the received response signal to identify the RFID tag 40. Additionally, the amplitude of the received response signal may be examined to obtain a measure of RSSI associated with the received response signal. The measured RSSI may then be used to calculate a distance estimate of the RFID tag 4[P-40]
In regards to claim 10, Fessler via Bridgelall teaches the wireless communication device is a mobile device (Paragraphs 39, 86-89)
With the general location of the object determined, the steps 304-314 more accurately locate the object using backscatter-modulation of signals from an RFID tag affixed to the object. Specifically, the next step 304 is to determine RFID reader(s) that are in the general location of the object. These RFID readers are those that are likely to be in range of the object for RFID transmission and backscatter. Generally, this will include a plurality of RFID readers in the general location, including both fixed and mobile RFID readers. In some embodiments however, a single RFID reader could instead be used.[P-39]
In addition to using fixed long-range transmitters and RFID readers, the system and method can also be applied to mobile devices. Mobile RFID readers, including battery powered hand-held devices, can be used in a variety of different embodiments. In some embodiments, the mobile RFID reader is used to selectively activate RFID tags and determine the distance to the RFID tag using the methods described above. Additionally, by determining the location of the mobile reader itself, the mobile reader's distance measurements can be combined with other measurements from other readers to trilaterate the location of the object. Furthermore, the mobile unit itself can be used to take multiple distance measurements from different locations that in turn can be used to trilaterate the location of the object. Knowing the location of the mobile RFID reader can also be used by the system to selectively activate only those other RFID readers that are within the area of the mobile RFID reader, and thus reduce the potential for signal interference.[P-86]
The mobile RFID reader can also include mechanisms to perform general object location, such as appropriate 802.11x or Bluetooth transmitters. Such a mobile RFID reader is able to first perform a general location determination using a suitable method and then, as the mobile RFID reader moves within range, use RFID backscatter-modulated signals to accurately determine the objects location. Additionally, it may be desirable to add additional identification capabilities to the mobile RFID reader. For example, adding bar-code or other symbol reading ability can be used to identify specific items from a group of items that are too close to distinguish by their distances. Thus, the mobile reader can scan objects in the area guided to by the RFID signals until a specific desired object is located.{P-87]
In many cases it will be desirable to provide a mechanism for locating the mobile RFID reader itself. As mentioned above, when the location of the mobile RFID reader itself is known, the distance measurements from the mobile RFID reader to the object can be combined with distance measurements from other RFID readers to trilaterate the location of the object. As another example, multiple measurements from made by one mobile RFID reader from different known locations could also be combined to trilaterate the location of the object.[P-88]
A variety of different techniques can be used as mechanisms for locating the mobile RFID reader. As one example, where the mobile RFID reader communicates with a computer system using 802.11x or other suitable protocols, those same communication transmissions can be used to locate the mobile RFID reader. As another example, the mobile RFID reader can use distance measurements to RFID tags to determine its own location. For example, using the techniques described above, the mobile RFID reader can determine the distances to a plurality of RFID tags placed at known locations throughout an area. From those distances, the mobile RFID reader can determine its own location within the area. As a third example, the mobile RFID reader can itself include an RFID tag (e.g., an actual RFID tag or circuitry to emulate an RFID tag), with that RFID tag being used to determine the location of the mobile RFID reader.[P-89]
In regards to claim 12, Fessler teaches a method for wireless communications performed at a wireless communication device, the method comprising:transmitting, to a plurality of passive devices, a transmit signal with a first phase;receiving, from each passive device of the plurality of passive devices, a respective response signal based on the transmit signal, wherein each respective response signal has a respective phase;determining, based on a difference between the first phase and the respective phase of each respective response signal, (Paragraphs 39, 41-42)
In operation, radio device 50 may broadcast a plurality of interrogation signals in the form of electromagnetic waves 65 to RFID tags 40 within interrogation range. In response, each RFID tag 40 within range may return a response signal in the form of electromagnetic waves 70 to radio device 50. Radio device 50 may use characteristics of received response signals to determine information associated with the responding RFID tag 40. For example, radio device 50 may identify a responding RFID tag and determine a distance D.sub.n thereof based on response signals received therefrom.[P-39]
In another example embodiment, RFID tag detection device 35 may be configured for and/or capable of measuring phase associated with response signals received from RFID tags 40. With reference to FIG. 3, an example communication between radio device 50 and RFID tag 40 is illustrated. Radio device 50 may transmit a plurality of signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N at different frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2 . . . F.sub.N, respectively, to interrogate RFID tag 40, and receive therefrom corresponding response signals RX.sub.1, RX.sub.2, . . . , RX.sub.N for each transmitted signal TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N at corresponding frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2, . . . , F.sub.N. In this example, transmitted signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N may be transmitted by radio device 50 with initial phases φ.sub.T1, φ.sub.T2, . . . φ.sub.TN, respectively. Upon arriving at radio device 50, response signals RX.sub.1, RX.sub.2, . . . , RX.sub.N may have respective phases φ.sub.R1, φ.sub.R2, . . . , φ.sub.RN that differ from the initial phases φ.sub.T1, φ.sub.T2, . . . , φ.sub.TN of corresponding interrogation signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N. Phases φ.sub.R1, φ.sub.R2, . . . , φ.sub.RN of the received response signals RX.sub.n generally varies with each frequency F.sub.n, and this variation in phase with respect to the change in frequency is proportional to the reader to tag distance. Accordingly, RFID tag detection device 35 may utilize the changes in phase to calculate an estimate of the distance D between radio device 50 and RFID tag 40, as will be explained in detail below. Signal phase may be determined using any of a variety of techniques known in the art.[P-41]
In accordance with example embodiments of the present disclosure, object detection system 30 may perform distance measurements on a given RFID tag 40 of interest using techniques that utilize both RSSI and phase of response signals received from the RFID tag of interest. Generally, a distance measurement may be performed on the RFID tag 40 of interest using RSSI, and phase measurements of response signals at different frequencies may be obtained for the same RFID tag 40. The phase measurements may then be altered based on the distance measurement ascertained by the RSSI method to determine an estimate of a phase slope corresponding to the distance of the RFID tag 40 from the radio device 50. Thereafter, a final distance estimate of the RFID tag 40 may be determined based on the estimated phase slope. In this way, RSSI method may be used to inform how the phase slope corresponding to the RFID tag distance may be approximated, and thus may compensate for the requirement of having relatively large numbers of phase measurements at the hop frequencies to obtain a phase slope as previously described with respect to FIG. 1B. At least two phase measurements at selected frequencies may be needed to provide localization, as will be explained in greater detail below. Thus, techniques provided herein may permit a reduction in the number of required phase measurements such that the amount of time needed for accurate RFID tag localization using phase angle method may be reduced.[P-42]
Furthermore, Fessler teaches a plurality of distances for the plurality of passive devices, the plurality of distances comprising a respective distance from each passive device of the plurality of passive devices to the wireless communication device(Paragraph 41)
In another example embodiment, RFID tag detection device 35 may be configured for and/or capable of measuring phase associated with response signals received from RFID tags 40. With reference to FIG. 3, an example communication between radio device 50 and RFID tag 40 is illustrated. Radio device 50 may transmit a plurality of signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N at different frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2 . . . F.sub.N, respectively, to interrogate RFID tag 40, and receive therefrom corresponding response signals RX.sub.1, RX.sub.2, . . . , RX.sub.N for each transmitted signal TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N at corresponding frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2, . . . , F.sub.N. In this example, transmitted signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N may be transmitted by radio device 50 with initial phases φ.sub.T1, φ.sub.T2, . . . φ.sub.TN, respectively. Upon arriving at radio device 50, response signals RX.sub.1, RX.sub.2, . . . , RX.sub.N may have respective phases φ.sub.R1, φ.sub.R2, . . . , φ.sub.RN that differ from the initial phases φ.sub.T1, φ.sub.T2, . . . , φ.sub.TN of corresponding interrogation signals TX.sub.1, TX.sub.2, . . . , TX.sub.N. Phases φ.sub.R1, φ.sub.R2, . . . , φ.sub.RN of the received response signals RX.sub.n generally varies with each frequency F.sub.n, and this variation in phase with respect to the change in frequency is proportional to the reader to tag distance. Accordingly, RFID tag detection device 35 may utilize the changes in phase to calculate an estimate of the distance D between radio device 50 and RFID tag 40, as will be explained in detail below. Signal phase may be determined using any of a variety of techniques known in the art.[P-41]
Fessler teaches the determine a respective confidence level for the respective distance of each passive device of the plurality of passive devices to the wireless communication device (Paragraph 47)
At block 140, a confidence interval for the distance between RFID tag 40 and radio device 50 may be determined based on the first distance estimate D.sub.1, and/or based on the measured RSSI used to determine the first distance estimate D.sub.1. Generally, the confidence interval may define a distance range about the first distance estimate D.sub.1 that provides relatively high-probability estimates of the actual RFID tag distance. The confidence level of the confidence interval may be set to any desired value, and in one example may be set to about 95%. Confidence bounds define the width of the confidence interval, and define lower and upper values of distances about the first distance estimate D.sub.1. As an example, FIG. 5 further depicts example confidence bounds 142 and 143 for curve 133. Corresponding to the measured RSSI value SS.sub.1 are two points 147 and 148 along lower bound 142 and upper bound 143, respectively. Accordingly, a lower confidence limit for the distance may be D.sub.L corresponding to point 147 along lower bound 142, and an upper confidence limit may be D.sub.U corresponding to point 148 along curve 143. It is understood that the above example is only for purposes of illustration. It is contemplated that confidence bounds and/or limits may be determined using various other techniques.[P-47]
Fessler though teaching that confidence bounds and/or limits may be determined using various other techniques[P-47], however fails to explicitly specify the determination of the respective confidence level based on a variance of the respective phase of each respective response signal
Bridgelall on the other hand teaches the determination of the respective confidence level based on a variance of the respective phase of each respective response signal (Paragraph 82)
In response to the signals transmitted by each reader, the RFID tag produces a plurality of backscatter-modulated signals that are received by the array of RFID readers. The distance between an RFID reader and the RFID tag is calculated using the measured phase of the backscatter-modulated signals that are received by that RFID reader, and the corresponding fundamental frequencies for the signals originally transmitted by that reader. Specifically, the change in phase with respect to the change in the frequency is used with equation 1 described above to calculate the difference. Preferably, multiple signals are transmitted and backscatter modulated to each RFID reader until the change in phase with respect to the change in fundamental frequency can be calculated within a specified confidence level. As one example, a linear trend of phase change with respect to fundamental frequency change can be determined by performing a least squares fit analysis of the multiple phase measurements and the corresponding fundamental frequencies. This linear trend is a more accurate "estimated slope" of the phase change versus the frequency change. As the number of the measurements increases, the accuracy of the estimated slope and the calculated distance increases. This process can be continued until the least squares fit generates an estimated slope that is within a desired confidence level, where the confidence level can be calculated using any suitable technique such as "goodness of fit" or any other method of assessing the variance of the data trend from a straight line. This process is then continued until the distance from each reader within range of the tag is known at the desired confidence level.[P-82]
Here, we see Bridgelal, take into account the variance of the respective phase of each respective response signal in order to eventually calculate/determine the confidence level of each passive device/tag.
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the invention to combine Bridgelal’s teaching with Fessler’s teaching that confidence bounds and/or limits may be determined using various other techniques, in order to improve and add a more in depth metric in order to determine the confidence level.
Furthermore, Fessler modified fails to teach comparing the respective distance of each passive device of the plurality of passive devices with each other distance of the plurality of distances to determine a passive device of the plurality of passive devices with a smallest distance to the wireless communication device
Zhou on the other hand teaches comparing the respective distance of each passive device of the plurality of passive devices with each other distance of the plurality of distances to determine a passive device of the plurality of passive devices with a smallest distance to the wireless communication device (Page 4, Paragraphs 1-4)
In some implementations of the first aspect, K second targets are determined, the K second targets correspond to K second sensing data, and the K is an integer greater than or equal to 1. According to the K second sensing data The confidence level and the confidence level of the first sensing data determine whether to report the first sensing data.[Pg 4, P-1]
In this method, the sensing node can determine whether to report the first sensing data based on the confidence of the first sensing data and the confidence of sensing data of other targets. In other words, the sensing node can compare the first sensing data with surrounding sensing data and report the sensing data that meets the conditions. This approach provides flexibility for data compression.[Pg 4, P-2]
In some implementations of the first aspect, the second parameter is a distance threshold, and there are K second targets within the distance threshold range, or the second parameter is a value of K, and the K second targets The target is the K targets closest to the first target in the perceptual map, and the perceptual map is used to indicate the first target and the K second targets. [Pg 4, P-3]
That is to say, the sensing node can determine a certain amount of sensing data in nearby target points as the comparison object, or it can determine a certain amount of sensing data in the nearest distance as the comparison object. [Pg 4, P-4]
Here, we Zhou teach the comparison of the confidence level in conjunction with distance of the sensed objects/targets, and thereby determining the closest distance of all the objects/targets, and the closest/nearest distance of the said targets as the comparison object
Furthermore, Zhou uses this comparison object as the point of relativity to the other targets, and thereby uses this information to output information associated with the passive device based on the passive device having the smallest distance to the wireless communication device and based on a confidence level determined for a distance from the passive device to the wireless communication device, i.e. this information output being a perceptual map.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Zhou’s teaching with Fessler’s teaching in order have an inexpensive yet more accurate means of determining and mapping the location of tracked objects within a given proximity.
In regards to claim 20, Fessler teaches each passive device of the plurality of passive devices is a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag. (Paragraphs 35, 37-40, Fessler) .
FIG. 2 shows an illustration of an object detection system 30 that may be used to provide localization services for identifying, determining, and tracking physical locations of different assets, equipment, devices, individuals, or other objects in a particular environment. As shown, object detection system 30 includes a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag detection device 35 and a plurality of RFID tags 40 that are attachable to objects of interest that need to be tracked.[P-35]
Radio device 50 may be derived from a wide variety of RFID readers capable of reading a number of passive, active, and/or semi-passive tags simultaneously within a read/interrogation range. Radio device 50 may include at least one antenna 55 and a circuit that is configurable to operate as a transmitter and a receiver. Radio device 50 generally uses antenna 55 to transmit radio frequency signals to the RFID tags 40 and receive response signals therefrom. Antenna 55 may be tuned to one or more frequencies at which radio device 50 interrogates and communicates with a particular RFID tag 40 within range. Antenna 55 may be implemented with one or more antennae. In one example, radio device 50 may have two or more antennae for localization.[P-37]
Each RFID tag 40 may be a passive, active, or semi-passive tag, and may include a communications control unit (not shown) and an antenna 60. The communications control unit of each RFID tag 40 may decode and/or demodulate received information/interrogation signals from radio device 50, and encode, modulate, and transmit information/response signals to radio device 50 using antenna 60. Antenna 60 may be tuned to a frequency or frequencies at which radio device 50 communicates with RFID tag 40.[P-38]
In operation, radio device 50 may broadcast a plurality of interrogation signals in the form of electromagnetic waves 65 to RFID tags 40 within interrogation range. In response, each RFID tag 40 within range may return a response signal in the form of electromagnetic waves 70 to radio device 50. Radio device 50 may use characteristics of received response signals to determine information associated with the responding RFID tag 40. For example, radio device 50 may identify a responding RFID tag and determine a distance D.sub.n thereof based on response signals received therefrom.[P-39]
In an example embodiment, RFID tag detection device 35 may be configured for and/or capable of measuring RSSI of a response signal received from a responding RFID tag 40, and calculating a distance estimate of the RFID tag 40 based on the measured RSSI. As conventionally known, a response signal transmitted by an RFID tag loses power as it travels through air due to reflection, refraction, absorption, and other environmental factors. Thus, as the distance between an RFID tag and radio device 50 increases, signal strength of response signals received by radio device 50 generally decreases. For example, in FIG. 2, three RFID tags 40-1, 40-2, and 40-3 are illustrated with RFID tag 40-1 being relatively closest to radio device 50 at a distance D1 and then increasing in distance with RFID tags 40-2 and 40-3 at distances D2 and D3, respectively. Accordingly, response signals transmitted by RFID tag 40-1 may be stronger in signal strength as received by radio device 50 compared to signal strengths of response signals received from RFID tags 40-2 and 40-3. Radio device 50 can receive a response signal from an RFID tag 40 using antenna 55 and decode the received response signal to identify the RFID tag 40. Additionally, the amplitude of the received response signal may be examined to obtain a measure of RSSI associated with the received response signal. The measured RSSI may then be used to calculate a distance estimate of the RFID tag 4[P-40]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 11, 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2, recites “The wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to output the information associated with the passive device, the at least one processor is configured to output device information for the passive device based on the confidence level determined for the distance of the passive device being greater than a confidence threshold and the passive device having the smallest distance to the wireless communication device.” The closest prior art Fessler et al. (US 20160104013 A1) and Zhou et al. (WO 2024050803 A1), individually or together teach the parameters regarding confidence level in conjunction with distance and signal phase. However, both prior art fail to teach directly or yield any obviousness that suggest, the limitations, “one processor is configured to output device information for the passive device based on the confidence level determined for the distance of the passive device being greater than a confidence threshold and the passive device having the smallest distance to the wireless communication device.” During the time of the filing date, there was no prior art that teaches the scope of the invention in its entirety. Dependent claims 2-5 are objected for the same rationale.
Claim 6, recites “The wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to output the information associated with the passive device, the at least one processor is configured to output an indication to move the wireless communication device closer to the passive device based on the confidence level determined for the distance of the passive device being less than a confidence threshold.” The closest prior art Fessler et al. (US 20160104013 A1) and Zhou et al. (WO 2024050803 A1), individually or together teach the parameters regarding confidence level in conjunction with distance and signal phase. However, both prior art fail to teach directly or yield any obviousness that suggest, the limitations, “one processor is configured to output an indication to move the wireless communication device closer to the passive device based on the confidence level determined for the distance of the passive device being less than a confidence threshold.” During the time of the filing date, there was no prior art that teaches the scope of the invention in its entirety. Dependent claims 7-8 are objected for the same rationale.
Claim 11, recites “The wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to automatically select output information associated with the passive device based on the passive device having the smallest distance to the wireless communication device and based on the confidence level determined for the distance from the passive device to the wireless communication device.” The closest prior art Fessler et al. (US 20160104013 A1) and Zhou et al. (WO 2024050803 A1), individually or together teach the parameters regarding confidence level in conjunction with distance and signal phase. However, both prior art fail to teach directly or yield any obviousness that suggest, the limitations, “automatically select output information associated with the passive device based on the passive device having the smallest distance to the wireless communication device and based on the confidence level determined for the distance from the passive device to the wireless communication device.” During the time of the filing date, there was no prior art that teaches the scope of the invention in its entirety.
Claim 13, recites “The method of claim 12, wherein outputting the information associated with the passive device comprises outputting device information for the passive device based on the confidence level determined for the distance of the passive device being greater than a confidence threshold and the passive device having the smallest distance to the wireless communication device.” The closest prior art Fessler et al. (US 20160104013 A1) and Zhou et al. (WO 2024050803 A1), individually or together teach the parameters regarding confidence level in conjunction with distance and signal phase. However, both prior art fail to teach directly or yield any obviousness that suggest, the limitations, “outputting device information for the passive device based on the confidence level determined for the distance of the passive device being greater than a confidence threshold and the passive device having the smallest distance to the wireless communication device.” During the time of the filing date, there was no prior art that teaches the scope of the invention in its entirety. Dependent claims 14-16 are objected for the same rationale.
Claim 17, recites “The method of claim 12, wherein outputting the information associated with the passive device comprises outputting an indication to move the wireless communication device closer to the passive device based on the confidence level determined for the distance of the passive device being less than a confidence threshold.” The closest prior art Fessler et al. (US 20160104013 A1) and Zhou et al. (WO 2024050803 A1), individually or together teach the parameters regarding confidence level in conjunction with distance and signal phase. However, both prior art fail to teach directly or yield any obviousness that suggest, the limitations, “outputting an indication to move the wireless communication device closer to the passive device based on the confidence level determined for the distance of the passive device being less than a confidence threshold.” During the time of the filing date, there was no prior art that teaches the scope of the invention in its entirety. Dependent claims 18-19 are objected for the same rationale.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686