DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are hereby under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, line 2 recites “impact events”, however it appears it should read --the impact events-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 5, line 2 recites “for real-time communication”, however it appears it should read --for the real-time communication-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 6, line 2 recites “the mobile app”, however it appears it should read --the mobile application-- (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recite the limitation “machine learning analysis for adaptive concussion risk scoring”. The claim limitation is considered computer-implemented functional claim limitations as they are directed to being performed by a processor or an electronic device. However, it is not clear what steps the processor has to perform in order for a processor to perform the claimed steps. The specification does not disclose the computer, processor, or generic computer components and the algorithm (e.g., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) in regard to a processor performing the claimed functions in sufficient detail (emphasis added) such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing. For example, the specification only recites in para. [0031], “Machine Learning for Risk Assessment. Concussion risk scoring that analyzes impact patterns across multiple events. Compares user data to historical sports concussion data. Adaptive Thresholds that dynamically adjusts concussion detection sensitivity based on user profile”. However, the specification does not disclose the necessary steps and/or flowcharts in regards to the microcontroller and/or the system for performing the claimed function of risk scoring. It is not enough to disclose that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function or the technique is well known, because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114, USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
As the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention, the claims are rejected for lack of written description. For more information regarding the written description requirement, see MPEP 2161, 2162-2163.07(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites the limitation "the sensor” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “the sensor” is referring to “a concussion sensor system”, “an accelerometer”, “a gyroscope”, and/or a different “sensor”. Para. [0024] of the instant specification only recites the use of low-power sleep mode, but does not recite what “the sensor” encompasses in regards to switching between the low-power mode and active mode. For the purposes of examination, “the sensor” is being interpreted as any sensor.
Regarding claim 5, the claim contains the trademark/trade name “Bluetooth” in line 2. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a wireless communication system and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borkholder et al. (US 20150040669 A1), hereinafter referred to as Borkholder.
The claims are generally directed towards a concussion sensor system comprising: an accelerometer for detecting impact forces and impact events; a microcontroller for real-time communication; an onboard memory for local data storage; a real-time clock for timestamping sensor readings; a mobile application for receiving, processing, and displaying concussion risk assessments.
Regarding claim 1, Borkholder discloses a concussion sensor system (Abstract, Fig. 1, para. [0022]) comprising:
an accelerometer for detecting impact forces and impact events (Fig. 1, element 112, para. [0061], para. [0064], “accelerometers … linear acceleration … impact severity calculations … event detection …”);
a gyroscope for measuring rotational acceleration (Fig. 1, element 110, para. [0026], “accelerometers and gyroscopes to measure linear and rotational acceleration …”, para. [0061], para. [0065], “gyroscope can record angular velocity … gyroscope and accelerometers can be combined into a single package …”, para. [0091]);
a microcontroller for real-time communication (Fig. 1, element 102, element 106, para. [0061-0062], “processing and communication module … communication module …”, para. [0066], “communication module … real-time information to the user …”);
an onboard memory for local data storage (Fig. 1, element 102, element 108, para. [0062], “memory … store these programmed instructions … store impact event data …”);
a real-time clock for timestamping sensor readings (Fig. 1, element 118, Fig. 10B, para. [0069], “timing devices can be crystals or similar timing devices used for maintain real-time clock, communication timing, and other microcontroller timing functionality”, para. [0072], “event data generated by an impacted detection device can be date and time stamped with actual date and time …”);
a mobile application for receiving, processing, and displaying concussion risk assessments (Fig. 10A-11D, para. [0029-0031], “data collected … can be sent to a network-based system … mobile device, native PC applications, and/or a web interface … baseline and post-event testing to detect concussion symptoms …”, para. [0095], “receive data directly from impact detection devices … user interface … latest IAS Score and Highest IAS Score … impact detection device status …”, para. [0132-0135]).
Regarding claim 3, Borkholder discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: impact events are detected based on predefined linear and rotational acceleration thresholds (para. [0027], “pre-defined algorithms and thresholds …”, para. [0110-0116], “linear acceleration exceeding a threshold … rotational acceleration exceeding a threshold …”).
Regarding claim 4, Borkholder discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the sensor dynamically switches between low-power and active modes based on motion detection (para. [0035], “activity modes … gyroscopes or accelerometers can be polled to determine if the device is inactive …”, para. [0119], “power saving modes based upon user activity levels .. determine when different sensors should be enabled …”).
Regarding claim 5, Borkholder discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the microcontroller uses a Bluetooth low energy for real-time communication (para. [0066], “Bluetooth low energy …”).
Regarding claim 6, Borkholder discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the mobile app provides real-time concussion risk assessments and alerts (para. [0030], para. [0033], para. [0066], “impact event data … transmitted to nearby wireless devices to provide real-time information to the user …”, para. [0095], “displaying … data generated by one or more impacted detection devices … latest IAS Score and Highest IAS Score …”).
Regarding claim 7, Borkholder discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the system integrates with team dashboards for multi-player monitoring (Fig. 11A-D, para. [0095], “interface depicting data for multiple team members …”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borkholder et al. (US 20150040669 A1), hereinafter referred to as Borkholder as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krueger et al. (US 20200214559 A1), hereinafter referred to as Krueger.
Regarding claim 2, Borkholder discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising: an analysis for adaptive concussion risk scoring (para. [0091-0093], “IAS score … numeric estimation of the magnitude of the detected impact … injury risk curve … likelihood of injury …); and a cloud-based data storage for long-term tracking (para. 0024], “information can be offloaded to a backend application (a network-based or clod computing system) responsible for maintain the historical data …”, para. [0029]).
However, Borkholder does not explicitly disclose the system further comprises a quaternion-based sensor fusion algorithm for filtering and correcting motion data; and the analysis is machine learning analysis.
Krueger teaches an analogous concussion sensor systems comprising an accelerometer and a gyroscope (Abstract, para. [0133], para. [0248]). Krueger further teaches the system comprises a quaternion-based sensor fusion algorithm for filtering and correcting motion data (para. [0312], “input signals from the accelerometer(s), magnetometer(s), and gyroscope(s) … processed using … Madgwick filter …”). Krueger further teaches machine learning analysis (para. [0061], para. [0279]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Borkholder to additionally include quaternion-based sensor fusion algorithm for filtering and correcting motion data, and include machine learning analysis. This is because Krueger teaches quaternion-based sensor fusion algorithms, including Kalman or Madgwick filters, provide signals from accelerometers and gyroscopes with more accuracy, stability, and response rate (para. [0312]), thereby improving the accuracy of concussion risk assessments, and the use of machine learning algorithms would allow for the improvement of recognition rate of information (para. [0061], para. [0077]).
Conclusion
/K.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791