Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202411454698.4, filed on 10/17/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/20/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/21/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 311, 411. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 800, 900. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because the line spacing does not distinguish between claims, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with more distinct spacing between claims on good quality paper are required. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baran (US 12101456 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Baran teaches a switchable display system, comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of pixels, wherein the plurality of pixels comprise a first pixel (col. 6, lines 21-25: “FIGS. 16A and 16B illustrate pixel orderings in a display system respectively with and without a non-linear mapping between pixel indices and the locations of the associated output light ray intensities, in accordance with some embodiments of the technology described herein.”);
an image source configured to provide image data (col. 33, lines 59-63: “In some embodiments, the scene views may be obtained by accessing and/or receiving one or more images from at least one image source (e.g., accessing stored images, receiving images from another application program or remote computing device).”);
a switching signal source configured to provide a switching signal (col. 66, lines 33-34 - col. 71, lines 49-53: “Aspects of the technology described herein may have the following configurations…. (110) The system according to (47) wherein the system provides a 3D graphic or text functioning as a label for or on a switch, button, capacitive-touch button, knob, slide control, optical proximity sensor or other physical control element or surface”); and
a processing circuit coupled to the display panel, the image source, and the switching signal source, storing a correction algorithm, and configured to drive the display panel to display a three- dimensional image or a two-dimensional image according to the switching signal (col. 45, lines 1-9: “In embodiments where an optimized display has hardware capable of high temporal update rates (e.g., greater than 60 Hz), an optimization algorithm that exploits both the 3D geometry of a multilayer device and the high temporal sample rate of the display may be used. In this case the spacing guidelines may be relaxed, as the high speed temporal variation of the display provides degrees of freedom that may be used by a suitable optimization algorithm to extend the DOF of the optimized display.”),
wherein the processing circuit switches a first brightness of the first pixel to a second brightness in response to the processing circuit driving the display panel to display the two-dimensional image according to the switching signal (col. 39, lines 37-40: “As the user switches from desktop applications to a game with dynamic graphics requiring larger 3D pop-out effects (larger DOF), the display may narrow the FOV, and may increase the display backlight brightness.”),
wherein the second brightness is determined based on a plurality of brightness values in the image data of a plurality of pixels of same color adjacent to the first pixel and a plurality of weight values of the correction algorithm (col. 57, line 66 – col. 58, line 8: “The light field generated by 2602 may be encoded in various formats. For example, the light field may be encoded as an ensemble of images corresponding to various desired views of the scene. In this representation, each pixel value corresponds to the desired color and/or intensity of a light ray to be emitted from a specific location and at a specific angle on the display surface. The importance of the particular light ray may also be encoded. In some embodiments, said encoding may be used to weight the error function used in the downstream processing 2606.”).
Regarding claim 2, Baran teaches the switchable display system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display device interface circuit coupled to the image source and the processing circuit (col. 4, lines 26-46: “Some embodiments provide for a multi-view display apparatus comprising: a first layer comprising a first plurality of optical elements; a second layer comprising a second plurality of optical elements, the second layer being separated from the first layer by a distance; and control circuitry comprising: first circuitry configured to control the first plurality of optical elements; and second circuitry configured to control the second plurality of optical elements, wherein the control circuitry is configured to: receive a first plurality of actuation signals and a second plurality of actuation signals generated, based at least in part on a plurality of scene views, information specifying a model of the multi-view display apparatus and information specifying at least one blurring transformation, control the multi-view display apparatus to concurrently display a plurality of views corresponding to the plurality of scene views at least in part by: controlling the first plurality of optical elements to display first content using the first plurality of actuation signals, and controlling the second plurality of optical elements to display second content using the second plurality of actuation signals.”); and
a three-dimensional display device (col. 35, lines 19-24: “The techniques for generating actuation signals for controlling multi-view displays may be used with numerous types of multi-view 3D displays described herein. The following includes a description of some types of multi-view 3D displays developed by the inventors, and related techniques.”),
wherein the processing circuit, the display panel, and the display device interface circuit are disposed in the three-dimensional display device (col. 20, lines 14-21: “In some embodiments, multi-view display 111 may include one or more multiplicative panel layers (e.g., one or more LCD panels with integrated polarizers, as well as liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) and digital micro-mirror devices (DMD) or other electromechanical devices), and information 107 may include information indicating the effect of the multiplicative panel layer(s) on light passing through layers of the multi-view display 111.”).
Regarding claim 3, Baran teaches the switchable display system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display device interface circuit coupled to the processing circuit and the display panel (col. 18, lines 4-10: “Computing device(s) 104 provide(s) actuation signals 108a to first electro-optic interface circuitry 109a that, in response to receiving actuation signals 108a, generates display interface signals 110a to drive the front layer 111a. The display interface signals 110a may comprise a display interface signal for each of one or more (e.g., all) of the optical elements in front layer 111a.”); and
a three-dimensional display device, wherein the display panel and the display device interface circuit are disposed in the three-dimensional display device (col. 20, lines 14-21, as above in claim 2 rejection).
Regarding claim 4, Baran teaches the switchable display system according to claim 1, wherein the display panel comprises:
a display layer comprising a pixel array (col. 47, lines 14-22: “In embodiments where an optical stack comprises one layer with an RGB color filter array as is typically found in LCD panels, and a second grayscale LCD without color filter arrays, each sub-pixel of the color filter array will contribute to the luminance image, while the lower resolution chrominance image will be formed between the color pixels of the color layer and the grayscale pixels of the layer without color filter arrays.”);
a lens array formed on the display layer and comprising a plurality of cylindrical lenses (col. 23, lines 8-13: “Additionally, in some embodiments, light field print 120 may include one or more other layers including, but not limited to, one or more optical spacers, one or more diffusers, one or more lenslet arrays, one or more holographic layers, one or more color filters, and/or one or more active backlights.”);
a protective layer covering the plurality of cylindrical lenses (col. 23, lines 3-8: “As shown in the illustrative embodiment of FIG. 1B, light field print 120 comprises a front layer 120a and a back layer 120b. Each of these layers may include one or more transparent film and/or other transparent materials on which generated actuation patterns may be printed by printing system 118.”); and
a cover layer formed on the protective layer (col. 23, lines 3-8, as above).
Regarding claim 7, Baran teaches the switchable display system according to claim 1, wherein the second brightness is determined based on the plurality of brightness values in the image data of the plurality of pixels of the same color adjacent to the first pixel along a first direction and the plurality of weight values of the correction algorithm (col. 36, lines 8-20: “Displays that constrain image element states in a 1-to-1 relationship with ray states impose a preconceived and unvarying mapping between image elements and output rays, which cannot be adapted to varying scenes and viewing conditions. This leads to low resolution representations of light fields, and in some cases the loss of image brightness. We call this 1-to-many mapping entanglement of the image element states and ray states. It should also be appreciated that a nonlinear mathematical mapping between pixel states and ray space can exist even in the case of linear optical interactions. Nonlinear optics provide a means of creating nonlinear interaction, but not an exclusive means.”).
Regarding claim 8, Baran teaches the switchable display system according to claim 1, wherein the second brightness is determined based on the plurality of brightness values in the image data of the plurality of pixels of the same color adjacent to the first pixel in a preset area and the plurality of weight values of the correction algorithm (col. 57, line 66 – col. 58, line 8, as above in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 9, Baran teaches the switchable display system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixels comprise a second pixel (col. 6, lines 21-25, as above in claim 1 rejection),
wherein the processing circuit switches a third brightness of the second pixel to a fourth brightness in response to the processing circuit driving the display panel to display the two- dimensional image according to the switching signal (col. 39, lines 49-55: “When a second patron approaches the map, the display reduces the amount of 3D pop-out, and becomes dimmer to allow for additional degrees of freedom required to represent multiple view cones. As the display becomes surrounded by viewers it seamlessly falls back to a 2D viewing mode so that everyone can clearly read the information on the screen.”),
wherein the fourth brightness is determined based on another plurality of brightness values in the image data of a plurality of pixels of same color adjacent to the second pixel and another plurality of weight values of the correction algorithm (col. 43, lines 9-18: “Modern display buses such as DisplayPort have bandwidth beyond the requirements of a standard display. In a sequential display update scheme, no pixel addresses are required because it is assumed that the ordering of the pixels determines their locations. Because of the bandwidth of modern display buses it is possible to pass a data block containing pixel values and pixel coordinates (addresses) to a display controller, allowing for arbitrary pixels to be updated.”),
wherein the first pixel and the second pixel correspond to different light emission angles respectively (col. 58, lines 2-5: “In this representation, each pixel value corresponds to the desired color and/or intensity of a light ray to be emitted from a specific location and at a specific angle on the display surface.”).
Regarding claim 10, Baran teaches the switchable display system according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuit determines whether to correct the image data according to the switching signal (col 58, lines 32-40: “Some embodiments may include techniques for compensate for print and medium dynamics in printing patterns for printed multi-view displays. The goal of said compensation is to obtain a compensated pattern from a target pattern, where said compensated pattern has been corrected for print and medium dynamics. For example, the compensated pattern may be corrected for any one or more (e.g., all) of ink bleed, dot gain, and the maximum allowable ink density of the print medium.”).
Claim 11 is substantially similar to claim 1, except that it teaches a method rather than a system. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 1.
Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 2, except that it depends from claim 11 instead of claim 1. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 2.
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 3, except that it depends from claim 11 instead of claim 1. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 3.
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 4, except that it depends from claim 11 instead of claim 1. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 4.
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 7, except that it depends from claim 11 instead of claim 1. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 7.
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 8, except that it depends from claim 11 instead of claim 1. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 8.
Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 9, except that it depends from claim 11 instead of claim 1. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 9.
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 10, except that it depends from claim 11 instead of claim 1. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baran (US 12101456 B2) as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Olson (US 20230300313 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Baran teaches the switchable display system according to claim 4, but fails to teach wherein a haze provided by the protective layer and the cover layer is less than 10%.
Olson teaches wherein a haze provided by the protective layer and the cover layer is less than 10% (par. 0082: “By providing an infrared-transparent window in layer 92, the infrared optical component (e.g., optical component 102 of FIG. 17) can transmit and/or received infrared light through display cover layer 92 (e.g., through the window in the display cover layer), even when layer 92 has been formed from materials that are not infrared-transparent. This approach may be used to provide an optical component window with any suitable optical properties that are different than those of the rest of layer 92 (e.g., desired amounts of opacity, light transmission, reflection, absorption, and/or haze level, desired polarization properties, etc.).”).
It would have been obvious to one familiar in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mitigate the haze provided by a cover layer, as to do otherwise would render the display inoperable. Both Baran and Olson are in the same field of endeavor of multi-view video systems, and would be familiar to one familiar in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Baran teaches the switchable display system according to claim 4, but fails to teach wherein there is an angle between an axis without refractive power of each of the plurality of cylindrical lenses and a vertical axis of the pixel array.
Olson teaches wherein there is an angle between an axis without refractive power of each of the plurality of cylindrical lenses and a vertical axis of the pixel array (par. 0074: “Lenses 106 may, as an example, be formed from semicylindrical lens elements that are elongated along columns of pixels (e.g., lens elements that extend parallel to the Z dimension in the example of FIG. 14).”).
It would have been obvious to one familiar in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an angle between an axis without refractive power of each of the plurality of cylindrical lenses, as both are in the same field of endeavor of multi-view video systems. Doing so would allow for the display to switch between 2D and 3D display modes.
Claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 5, except that it depends from claim 14 instead of claim 4. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 5.
Claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 6, except that it depends from claim 14 instead of claim 4. As such, it is rejected on a similar basis to claim 6.
Conclusion
/RYAN ALLEN BARHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613