DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2025, 08/19/2025 and 03/20/2025 was filed on or after the mailing date of the Application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract includes phrases which can be implied, such as “Provided are a thermal management system and a vehicle”. The phrase does not aid in understanding the invention and said phrasing is expressly discouraged in order to clearly and concisely describe the invention. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because the claim form and arrangement does not comply with the form and arrangement guidelines as set out in MPEP 608.01(n) III-IV, wherein a dependent claim should first declare the preceding claim from which it depends, then continuing to specify a further limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
For example, to overcome the Objection, the claim may be rewritten in a similar form as follows:
The thermal management system of claim 1, wherein the thermal management system is further disposed within a vehicle.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Switch element in at least claim 1
Armature control member in at least claims 4-5 and 13-14
A review of the specification show that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
A switch element appears to be described as a proportional control valve with a first port, second port, and a third port in at least ¶ 0006-0007 of the specification.
An armature control member appears to be described as a DCDC accessory in at least ¶ 0037 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 13-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 4-5 and 13-14 recites the limitation “armature control member” in line 2. The term “member,” being a non-structural term that is a substitute for the term "means," invokes a claim interpretation under the guise of 35 USC § 112(f), which requires a reliance on the corresponding disclosure to provide the limits on the structure, material or act that performs the claimed function. The disclosure must show with reasonable clarity to one skilled in the art that applicant was in possession of the invention as claimed. Possession is shown by describing the claimed invention with all limitations. Here, the armature control member, including its function, is discussed in ¶ 0037. However, the corresponding structure that is capable of performing the claimed function (i.e. controlling the armature) of the member is not provided in the specification. While the specification broadly describes the armature control member as being a DCDC accessory, the further description still does not adequately describe the structure capable of performing the function. A mere restatement of the function in the specification without more description of the means that accomplish the function, is a failure to provide adequate written description for a § 112(f) limitation claim interpretation. Because the specification fails to provide an adequate description of a structure for the armature control member, the boundary of claim is not clearly defined. A claim without clearly defined boundaries is rendered indefinite. Therefore, the claim, and all claims depending therefrom, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “armature control member” in Claims 4-5 and 13-14 render the claim(s) indefinite. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would not understand the scope of the claimed invention when read in light of the specification. The lack of disclosure regarding the limitation " armature control member” as called for in the dependent claims creates such an inconsistency between the claims and the description that it prevents a skilled artisan from understanding the scope of the independent claims (MPEP § 2173.03). The specification does not use the claim terminology to identify the “armature control member.” For the purpose of this examination, the limitation will be broadly interpreted as any known accessory means to control an armature member. Therefore the claim, and all claims depending therefrom, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation of “...the condenser and the radiator being located at one side of the bypass pipeline…” renders the claim unclear. There are multiple possible interpretations of the limitation, making it unclear as to precisely what Applicant is intending to claim. Specifically, the claims may be interpreted as requiring both the condenser and the radiator on a same side of the bypass pipeline, or they may be interpreted as requiring that the condenser and radiator are located at respective sides of the bypass line. Considering the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is unclear as to how a component may exist at one side of a pipeline, but not another, when a loop commonsensically provides fluid through all components (i.e. it is unclear as to what structure defines a side of the pipeline in a continuous loop, therefore both components may be considered to be on either side of the pipeline depending on a relative starting reference point). Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 4, the recitation of “...the first pump and the radiator being located at one side of the bypass pipeline,” renders the claim unclear. There are multiple possible interpretations of the limitation, making it unclear as to precisely what Applicant is intending to claim. Specifically, the claims may be interpreted as requiring both the pump and the radiator on a same side of the bypass pipeline, or they may be interpreted as requiring that the pump and radiator are located at respective sides of the bypass line. Considering the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is unclear as to how a component may exist at one side of a pipeline, but not another, when a loop commonsensically provides fluid through all components (i.e. it is unclear as to what structure defines a side of the pipeline in a continuous loop, therefore both components may be considered to be on either side of the pipeline depending on a relative starting reference point). Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 9, the recitation of “...close to…,” renders the claim unclear. The term “close to” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close to” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear as to what magnitude of relative distance may constitute as being “close to”, therefore making it unclear to a person of ordinary skill in the art as to when infringement would occur. Accordingly, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 13, the recitation of “...the first pump and the radiator being located at one side of the bypass pipeline,” renders the claim unclear. There are multiple possible interpretations of the limitation, making it unclear as to precisely what Applicant is intending to claim. Specifically, the claims may be interpreted as requiring both the pump and the radiator on a same side of the bypass pipeline, or they may be interpreted as requiring that the pump and radiator are located at respective sides of the bypass line. Considering the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is unclear as to how a component may exist at one side of a pipeline, but not another, when a loop commonsensically provides fluid through all components (i.e. it is unclear as to what structure defines a side of the pipeline in a continuous loop, therefore both components may be considered to be on either side of the pipeline depending on a relative starting reference point). Accordingly, this discrepancy makes the claim difficult to interpret and does not meet the threshold requirements of clarity and precision as outlined in MPEP 2173.02.II. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hayase et al. (US 20220410652 A1, hereinafter “Hayase”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hayase teaches a thermal management system[1] [Figs. 1-10], comprising:
a battery temperature control loop [20] provided with a chiller heat exchanger [22] [¶ 0053]; and
an armature temperature control loop [10, 15] provided with a condenser [12] and a radiator [11] [¶ 0030], the condenser being able to exchange heat with the chiller heat exchanger [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection cooling circuits are thermally connected], the armature temperature control loop being connected in parallel with a bypass pipeline [30a to 26e], the condenser and the radiator being located at one side of the bypass pipeline [Note: under broadest reasonable interpretation, the recitation does not appear to limit the scope of the claim, as any component commonsensically exists on a side of a line in a loop configuration], and the bypass pipeline being provided with a switch element [30a] for opening or closing the bypass pipeline [¶ 0038-0040; valve 30a may provide fluid to 26a and/or 26e].
Regarding Claim 2, Hayase teaches the thermal management system according to claim 1 above and Hayse teaches wherein the switch element has a first port [30a to 26a], a second port [30a to 26e], and a third port [11 to 30a], each of the first port and the third port being in communication with the armature temperature control loop [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], and the second port being in communication with the bypass pipeline [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection] [¶ 0051-0056; valve 30a may provide fluid to 26a and/or 26e].
Regarding Claim 3, Hayase teaches the thermal management system according to claim 2 above and Hayase wherein the switch element is a proportional control valve [¶ 0052; valve 30a may continuously adjust a flow rate ratio between the pathways].
Regarding Claim 4, Hayase teaches the thermal management system according to claim 2 above and Hayase teaches wherein the armature temperature control loop is provided with an armature control member, a drive motor [¶ 0036; 16 provides a plurality of devices, such as drive assistance systems and control devices for said system (i.e. armature control member and drive motor)], and a first pump [at least 23b], the switch element being disposed between the drive motor and the first pump [see at least Fig. 8, fluid may be considered to flow from 23b to 30a to 16], and the first pump and the radiator being located at one side of the bypass pipeline [see at least Fig. 8; pump 23b and radiator 11 may be considered upstream of 30a].
Regarding Claim 9, Hayase teaches the thermal management system according to claim 1 above and Hayase wherein the bypass pipeline has an end close to the condenser and another end close to the radiator [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection the bypass line [30a to 26e] is close to 11 and also close to 12].
Regarding Claim 10, Hayase teaches a vehicle [¶ 0035], comprising the thermal management system according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Hayase teaches the vehicle according to claim 10 above and Hayase teaches wherein the switch element has a first port [30a to 26a], a second port [30a to 26e], and a third port [11 to 30a], each of the first port and the third port being in communication with the armature temperature control loop [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], and the second port being in communication with the bypass pipeline [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection] [¶ 0051-0056; valve 30a may provide fluid to 26a and/or 26e].
Regarding Claim 12, Hayase teaches the vehicle according to claim 11 above and Hayase teaches wherein the switch element is a proportional control valve [¶ 0052; valve 30a may continuously adjust a flow rate ratio between the pathways].
Regarding Claim 13, Hayase teaches the vehicle according to claim 11 above and Hayase teaches wherein the armature temperature control loop is provided with an armature control member, a drive motor [¶ 0036; 16 provides a plurality of devices, such as drive assistance systems and control devices for said system (i.e. armature control member and drive motor)], and a first pump [at least 23b], the switch element being disposed between the drive motor and the first pump [see at least Fig. 8, fluid may be considered to flow from 23b to 30a to 16], and the first pump and the radiator being located at one side of the bypass pipeline [see at least Fig. 8; pump 23b and radiator 11 may be considered upstream of 30a].
Regarding Claim 18, Hayase teaches the vehicle according to claim 10 above and Hayase teaches wherein the bypass pipeline has an end close to the condenser and another end close to the radiator [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection the bypass line [30a to 26e] is close to 11 and also close to 12].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayase as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, and further in view of Lindquist et al. (US 20220161630 A1, hereinafter “Lindquist”).
Regarding Claim 5, Hayase teaches the thermal management system according to claim 4 above and
while Hayase teaches a plurality of valves used to control flow between the plurality of circuits [¶ 0051-0056], and wherein the battery temperature control loop is provided with a power battery [21] [¶ 0066], Hayse does not explicitly further teach comprising: a first four-way valve located between the armature control member and the condenser, the first four-way valve having two valve ports in communication with the armature temperature control loop and other two valve ports in communication with the battery temperature control loop; and a second four-way valve located between the radiator and the condenser, and the second four-way valve having two valve ports in communication with the armature temperature control loop and other two valve ports in communication with the battery temperature control loop, wherein the battery temperature control loop is provided with a power battery disposed between the first four-way valve and the second four-way valve.
However, Lindquist teaches an electric vehicle thermal system [Fig. 1] comprising a battery temperature control loop [loop containing 18] with a chiller [104] [¶ 0013, 0024-0025], as well as an armature control loop [at least 14 and 16] with a condenser [122] and a radiator [56] [¶ 0020, 0022]. Lindquist further teaches a first four-way valve [46], wherein fluid from 14 must pass through 46 before arriving at condenser 122 [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], the valve having at least two ports connected to the armature control loop, and two ports configured to flow towards battery pump 102 (i.e. the bottom port receives fluid from the armature loop, while the top, left and right ports are capable of communicating with valve 54, thereby being capable of also communicating with either the armature or the battery loop; alternatively, the top port is also capable of flowing towards 102 via 90 and 96) [¶ 0018, 0020-0021]. Lindquist further teaches a second four-way valve [54], wherein fluid from 56 must pass through 54 before arriving at condenser 122 [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], the valve having two ports (top and left) in communication with the armature control loop, and two ports (bottom and right) configured to flow towards battery pump 102 [¶ 0018-0020]. Lindquist further provides structure capable of flowing fluid, in order, through valve 46, radiator 56, lines 90 to 96, to battery 108, then through valve 54 [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection] [¶ 0023-0024]. Linquist teaches that utilizing dual four-way valves is a known means to selectively reroute coolant to capture heat from a plurality of components when available, and then utilizing the heat for other functions, thereby reducing waste heat and improving the system [¶ 0012]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the plurality of four-way valves as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the plurality of four-way valves would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. utilizing dual four-way valves is a known means to selectively reroute coolant to capture heat from a plurality of components when available, and then utilizing the heat for other functions, thereby reducing waste heat and improving the system [¶ 0012].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Hayse to have a first four-way valve located between the armature control member and the condenser, the first four-way valve having two valve ports in communication with the armature temperature control loop and other two valve ports in communication with the battery temperature control loop; and a second four-way valve located between the radiator and the condenser, and the second four-way valve having two valve ports in communication with the armature temperature control loop and other two valve ports in communication with the battery temperature control loop, wherein the battery temperature control loop is provided with a power battery disposed between the first four-way valve and the second four-way valve, in view of the teachings of Lindquist where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. utilizing dual four-way valves is a known means to selectively reroute coolant to capture heat from a plurality of components when available, and then utilizing the heat for other functions, thereby reducing waste heat and improving the system.
Regarding Claim 6, Hayase, as modified, teaches the thermal management system according to claim 5 above and Lindquist teaches wherein the battery temperature control loop is provided with a second pump [at least 102] disposed between the power battery [108] and the second four-way valve [54] [¶ 0024; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection] [For clarity, pump 52 may be considered similar to pump 23b in Hayase, as it is configured to flow fluid through the armature circuit].
Regarding Claim 7, Hayase, as modified, teaches the thermal management system according to claim 5 above and Lindquist teaches wherein the armature temperature control loop is provided with a warm air pump [36] disposed between the condenser and the second four-way valve [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection 36 may be disposed between 122 and 54] [¶ 0018-0019].
Regarding Claim 8, Hayase, as modified, teaches the thermal management system according to claim 7 above and Lindquist teaches wherein the armature temperature control loop is connected in parallel with a warm air core [38], the warm air core having an end located between the warm air pump and the second four-way valve [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection, fluid may flow in order from 34 to 38 to 54] and another end located between the condenser and the first four-way valve [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection, fluid may flow in order from 46 to 38 to 122].
Regarding Claim 14, Hayase teaches the vehicle according to claim 13 above and
while Hayase teaches a plurality of valves used to control flow between the plurality of circuits [¶ 0051-0056], and wherein the battery temperature control loop is provided with a power battery [21] [¶ 0066], Hayse does not explicitly further teach comprising: a first four-way valve located between the armature control member and the condenser, the first four-way valve having two valve ports in communication with the armature temperature control loop and other two valve ports in communication with the battery temperature control loop; and a second four-way valve located between the radiator and the condenser, and the second four-way valve having two valve ports in communication with the armature temperature control loop and other two valve ports in communication with the battery temperature control loop, wherein the battery temperature control loop is provided with a power battery disposed between the first four-way valve and the second four-way valve.
However, Lindquist teaches an electric vehicle thermal system [Fig. 1] comprising a battery temperature control loop [loop containing 18] with a chiller [104] [¶ 0013, 0024-0025], as well as an armature control loop [at least 14 and 16] with a condenser [122] and a radiator [56] [¶ 0020, 0022]. Lindquist further teaches a first four-way valve [46], wherein fluid from 14 must pass through 46 before arriving at condenser 122 [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], the valve having at least two ports connected to the armature control loop, and two ports configured to flow towards battery pump 102 (i.e. the bottom port receives fluid from the armature loop, while the top, left and right ports are capable of communicating with valve 54, thereby being capable of also communicating with either the armature or the battery loop; alternatively, the top port is also capable of flowing towards 102 via 90 and 96) [¶ 0018, 0020-0021]. Lindquist further teaches a second four-way valve [54], wherein fluid from 56 must pass through 54 before arriving at condenser 122 [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], the valve having two ports (top and left) in communication with the armature control loop, and two ports (bottom and right) configured to flow towards battery pump 102 [¶ 0018-0020]. Lindquist further provides structure capable of flowing fluid, in order, through valve 46, radiator 56, lines 90 to 96, to battery 108, then through valve 54 [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection] [¶ 0023-0024]. Linquist teaches that utilizing dual four-way valves is a known means to selectively reroute coolant to capture heat from a plurality of components when available, and then utilizing the heat for other functions, thereby reducing waste heat and improving the system [¶ 0012]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the plurality of four-way valves as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the plurality of four-way valves would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. utilizing dual four-way valves is a known means to selectively reroute coolant to capture heat from a plurality of components when available, and then utilizing the heat for other functions, thereby reducing waste heat and improving the system [¶ 0012].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Hayse to have a first four-way valve located between the armature control member and the condenser, the first four-way valve having two valve ports in communication with the armature temperature control loop and other two valve ports in communication with the battery temperature control loop; and a second four-way valve located between the radiator and the condenser, and the second four-way valve having two valve ports in communication with the armature temperature control loop and other two valve ports in communication with the battery temperature control loop, wherein the battery temperature control loop is provided with a power battery disposed between the first four-way valve and the second four-way valve, in view of the teachings of Lindquist where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. utilizing dual four-way valves is a known means to selectively reroute coolant to capture heat from a plurality of components when available, and then utilizing the heat for other functions, thereby reducing waste heat and improving the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Hayase, as modified, teaches the vehicle according to claim 14 above and Lindquist teaches wherein the battery temperature control loop is provided with a second pump [at least 102] disposed between the power battery [108] and the second four-way valve [54] [¶ 0024; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection] [For clarity, pump 52 may be considered similar to pump 23b in Hayase, as it is configured to flow fluid through the armature circuit].
Regarding Claim 16, Hayase, as modified, teaches the vehicle according to claim 14 above and Lindquist teaches wherein the armature temperature control loop is provided with a warm air pump [36] disposed between the condenser and the second four-way valve [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection 36 may be disposed between 122 and 54] [¶ 0018-0019].
Regarding Claim 17, Hayase, as modified, teaches the vehicle according to claim 16 above and Lindquist teaches wherein the armature temperature control loop is connected in parallel with a warm air core [38], the warm air core having an end located between the warm air pump and the second four-way valve [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection, fluid may flow in order from 34 to 38 to 54] and another end located between the condenser and the first four-way valve [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection, fluid may flow in order from 46 to 38 to 122].
Conclusion
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763