DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 64a and 65a. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an acquisition processing unit”, “a difference processing unit”, and “an instruction processing unit” in claim 6.
The specification describes all three processing units 17 being controlled by a processor 11 and therefore provided sufficient structure to avoid a 35 USC 112(b) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura et al. (US 2004/0212819).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Nishimura discloses a printed matter production method and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a printing control program, the printing control program causing a computer to execute:
acquisition processing of acquiring printing data from a general-purpose printer driver (see para 37, computer 10 contains a printer driver for acquiring print data);
difference processing of calculating difference data between first printing data that is previously acquired printing data and second printing data that is newly acquired printing data (see Fig. 2A and paras 44-45, difference comparison/detection unit 14 determines the difference between two sets of print data); and
first instruction processing of transmitting the difference data to a printer and causing the printer to perform printing based on synthesized data obtained by synthesizing the first printing data with the difference data (see Fig. 2A and 3 and paras 44-46, 53, and 56, when revised print data for page 2 is detected, page 2 data is synthesized with the print data from the other pages).
Regarding claim 2, Nishimura further discloses wherein the printing control program is a print support application (see Fig. 2A and paras 44-45, print support application, difference comparison/detection unit 14 determines the difference between two sets of print data).
Regarding claim 3, Nishimura further discloses the printing control program causing the computer to further execute:
determination processing of determining whether the printer is a first device capable of synthesizing the difference data or a second device incapable of synthesizing the difference data; and second instruction processing of transmitting the second printing data to the printer without transmitting the difference data and causing the printer to perform printing based on the second printing data when it is determined that the printer is the second device (see Fig. 2B and paras 54-55, difference comparison/detection unit 14 determines and printing information converting unit 15 can both be located in either PC 10 printer 20b, if located in printer 20b then detection and synthesizing of image data can be performed, if located in PC 10 then the printer 20 would lack this ability)
wherein the first instruction processing is processing executed by the computer when it is determined that the printer is the first device (see Fig. 2A and paras 44-46, difference comparison/detection unit 14 determines the difference between two sets of print data and printing information converting unit 15 synthesizes image data).
Regarding claim 4, Nishimura further discloses wherein the first printing data and the second printing data are printing data of consecutive pages of the same document file (see Figs. 3A and 3B, first printing data can be a first page and revision data, second printing data, can be a second page).
Regarding claim 5, Nishimura further discloses wherein in the difference processing, the difference data is calculated with a calculation method in which a data amount of the difference data is smallest among a plurality of predetermined calculation methods (see paras 35, 37, and 45-46, only revision data is detected as difference data, which is the smallest amount of data).
Regarding claim 6, Nishimura discloses a printing system comprising:
a printer (see Fig. 2A and paras 36 and 38, printer 20); and
a terminal device (see Fig. 2A and paras 36-37, PC 10),
wherein the terminal device includes
a general-purpose printer driver (see para 37, computer 10 contains a printer driver for acquiring print data),
an acquisition processing unit configured to acquire printing data from the general-purpose printer driver (see para 37, computer 10 contains a printer driver for acquiring print data),
a difference processing unit configured to calculate difference data between first printing data that is previously acquired printing data and second printing data that is newly acquired printing data (see Fig. 2A and paras 44-45, difference comparison/detection unit 14 determines the difference between two sets of print data), and
an instruction processing unit configured to transmit the difference data to the printer and cause the printer to perform printing based on synthesized data obtained by synthesizing the first printing data with the difference data (see Fig. 2A and 3 and paras 44-46, 53, and 56, when revised print data for page 2 is detected, page 2 data is synthesized with the print data from the other pages).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. To further show the state of the art please refer to the attached Notice of References Cited.
/MARK R MILIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681