Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kislev et al. (US 20220094243 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kislev et al. discloses a motor (electric machine 10) (Kislev et al. Fig. 2) comprising:
a shaft (20) extending in a first direction along a central axis (Kislev et al. Fig. 2);
a stator (100) including a coil (300) and surrounding an outer periphery of the shaft in a radial direction (Kislev et al. Fig. 2);
a rotor (200) that surrounds a radially outer periphery of the stator and is rotatable with respect to the stator together with the shaft (Kislev et al. Fig. 2);
a holding portion (cylindrical hub portion 132) (Kislev et al. Fig. 55) to which the shaft is rotatably attached (Kislev et al. Fig. 2) and which holds the stator (Kislev et al. Fig. 2);
and a heat dissipation portion (stator base plate 56) that is in thermal contact with the coil (Kislev et al. Para [0219] first sentence);
wherein the holding portion further holds the heat dissipation portion (Kislev et al. Para [0218] lines 10 – 11 disclose the stator base plate 56 and the cylindrical hub portion 132 can be formed of two separate parts that are connected to each other).
Regarding Claim 12, Kislev et al. discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the rotor includes a connecting portion (rotor base 904) connected to the shaft (Kislev et al. Fig. 39);
the connecting portion is provided on the one side in the first direction with respect to the stator (Kislev et al. Fig. 53);
and the heat dissipation portion is provided on another side in the first direction with respect to the stator (Kislev et al. Fig. 53).
Regarding Claim 15, Kislev et al. discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation portion has an arc shape extending along the stator (Kislev et al. Fig. 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kislev et al. in view of Capoulun et al. (US 20180298908 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kislev et al. discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the rotor includes a connecting portion (rotor base 904) connected to the shaft (Kislev et al. Fig. 39);
the connecting portion is provided on one side in the first direction with respect to the stator (Kislev et al. Fig. 53).
Kislev et al. does not disclose:
the heat dissipation portion is provided on the one side in the first direction with respect to the stator.
Capoulun et al. discloses:
the heat dissipation portion (shielding cap 26) is provided on the one side in the first direction with respect to the stator (4) (Capoulun et al. Fig. 1 discloses a shielding cap 26 provided on the same side as the rotor 2 connected to the shaft 6).
Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. discloses a heat dissipation portion therefore, Capoulun et al. constitutes as prior art. Capoulun et al. discloses a cylinder having a shielding cap on the same side of portions of a rotor connected to a shaft. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the heat dissipation portion is provided on the one side in the first direction with respect to the stator of Capoulun et al. for the purpose of minimizing the size of the motor.
Regarding Claim 3, Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. discloses the motor according to claim 2, wherein the heat dissipation portion includes an annular portion (Kislev et al. Fig. 54) surrounding the shaft (Kislev et al. Fig. 53).
Kislev et al. does not disclose:
provided in an annular shape covering an end surface on the one side in the first direction of the stator in an annular shape,
and the annular portion is provided with first vent holes penetrating a portion covering the stator in the first direction.
Capoulun et al. discloses:
provided in an annular shape covering an end surface on the one side in the first direction of the stator in an annular shape (Capoulun et al. Fig. 1 and Fig. 2),
and the annular portion is provided with first vent holes (one of cut outs 34) penetrating a portion covering the stator in the first direction (Capoulun et al. Fig. 2).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided in an annular shape covering an end surface on the one side in the first direction of the stator in an annular shape, and the annular portion is provided with first vent holes penetrating a portion covering the stator in the first direction of Capoulun et al. for the purpose of annularly evacuating heat away from the stator.
Claims 4 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kislev et al. in view of Capoulun et al. and further in view of Li et al. (US 20190356201 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. discloses the motor according to claim 3.
Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. do not disclose:
wherein one of the first vent holes is provided at a position opposing at least a space between stator coils provided along a circumferential direction of the stator.
Li et al. discloses:
wherein one of the first vent holes (82) is provided at a position opposing at least a space between stator coils (windings 68) provided along a circumferential direction of the stator (60) (Li et al. Fig. 8).
Kislev et al., Capoulun et al., and Li et al. discloses stators therefore, Li et al. constitutes as prior art. Li et al. discloses ventilation holes provided at a position opposing a space between windings of a stator. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein one of the first vent holes is provided at a position opposing at least a space between stator coils provided along a circumferential direction of the stator of Li et al. for the purpose of facilitating and improving heat dissipation of the stator coils.
Regarding Claim 5, Kislev et al., Capoulun et al., and Li et al. disclose the motor according to claim 4.
Kislev et al. does not disclose:
wherein the heat dissipation portion includes a disk portion with a disk shape covering a central cavity of the stator in an annular shape,
and the disk portion is provided with second vent holes penetrating the disk portion in the first direction.
Capoulun et al. discloses:
wherein the heat dissipation portion includes a disk portion (also shielding cap 26) with a disk shape covering a central cavity of the stator in an annular shape (Capoulun et al. Fig. 1 and Fig. 2),
the disk portion is provided with second vent holes (second of cutouts 34) penetrating the disk portion in the first direction (Capoulun et al. Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the heat dissipation portion includes a disk portion with a disk shape covering a central cavity of the stator in an annular shape, and the disk portion is provided with second vent holes penetrating the disk portion in the first direction of Capoulun et al. for the purpose of annularly having more areas to cool.
Claims 7 – 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kislev et al. in view of Capoulun et al., and further in view of Kouda (US 20240006933 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. discloses the motor according to claim 2, wherein the holding portion (Kislev et al. Fig. 55) includes:
a first tubular portion (also cylindrical hub portion 132) surrounding a periphery of the shaft (Kislev et al. Fig, 55).
Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. do not disclose:
a second tubular portion surrounding a periphery of the first tubular portion and holding the stator;
and elongated coupling portions radially connecting an end portion on another side in the first direction of the first tubular portion and an end portion on the other side in the first direction of the second tubular portion.
Kouda discloses:
a second tubular portion (foot portion 42) surrounding a periphery of the first tubular portion (pipe portion 41) and holding the stator (30) (Kouda et al. Fig. 7);
and elongated coupling portions (connection rib portions 43) radially connecting an end portion on another side in the first direction of the first tubular portion and an end portion on the other side in the first direction of the second tubular portion (Kouda et al. Fig. 7).
Kislev et al., Capoulun et al., and Kouda disclose stators therefore, Kouda constitutes as prior art. Kouda discloses a stator having a stator base with a pipe portion, a foot portion, and connection rib portions connecting the pipe portion and the foot portion together. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second tubular portion surrounding a periphery of the first tubular portion and holding the stator; and elongated coupling portions radially connecting an end portion on another side in the first direction of the first tubular portion and an end portion on the other side in the first direction of the second tubular portion of Kouda for the purpose of radially and circumferentially holding the stator between the first and second tubular portions.
Regarding Claim 8, Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. discloses the motor according to claim 2.
Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. does not disclose:
wherein a radially outer end of the heat dissipation portion is located on a radially inner side of an outer end of the stator coil in the radial direction of the stator.
Kouda discloses:
wherein a radially outer end of the heat dissipation portion (60) is located on a radially inner side of an outer end of the stator coil (33) in the radial direction of the stator (Kouda Fig. 14).
Kislev et al., Capoulun et al., and Kouda disclose stators therefore, Kouda constitutes as prior art. Kouda discloses a stator having a heat dissipation member located on a radially inner side of an outer end of a stator coil. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a radially outer end of the heat dissipation portion is located on a radially inner side of an outer end of the stator coil in the radial direction of the stator of Kouda for the purpose of dissipating heat from a inner radial direction of the stator coils.
Regarding Claim 10, Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. discloses the motor according to claim 2.
Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. does not disclose:
further comprising a heat dissipation portion ( provided on another side in the first direction with respect to the stator.
Kouda discloses:
further comprising a heat dissipation portion (602) provided on another side in the first direction with respect to the stator (Kouda Fig. 14).
Kislev et al., Capoulun et al., and Kouda disclose stators therefore, Kouda constitutes as prior art. Kouda discloses a stator having a first heat dissipation member on one side of a stator and a second heat dissipation member on another side of the stator. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further comprise a heat dissipation portion ( provided on another side in the first direction with respect to the stator of Kouda for the purpose of increasing the rate of heat dissipation in the stator.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kislev et al. in view of Capoulun et al., and further in view of Hirosawa(WO 2022259453 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. discloses the motor according to claim 2.
Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. do not disclose:
wherein an adhesive with heat dissipation properties and elasticity is provided between an end surface on the one side in the first direction of the stator coils provided along a circumferential direction of the stator and the heat dissipation portion.
Hirosawa discloses:
wherein an adhesive (mold resin portion 4) with heat dissipation properties and elasticity is provided between an end surface on the one side in the first direction of the stator coils (30) provided along a circumferential direction of the stator (1) and the heat dissipation portion (44) (Hirosawa Fig. 1).
Kislev et al., Capoulun et al., and Hirosawa disclose stators therefore, Hirosawa constitutes as prior art. Hirosawa discloses a stator having a coil and a heat dissipation member connect via a mold resin portion. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein an adhesive with heat dissipation properties and elasticity is provided between an end surface on the one side in the first direction of the stator coils provided along a circumferential direction of the stator and the heat dissipation portion of Hirosawa for the purpose of transferring heat away from the coils to the heat dissipation member.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kislev et al. in view of Capoulun et al., and further in view of Doherty et al. (US 4203160 A).
Regarding Claim 11, Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. discloses the motor according to claim 2.
Kislev et al. and Capoulun et al. do not disclose:
wherein a propeller of a drone is attached to the shaft on the one side in the first direction.
Doherty et al. discloses:
wherein a propeller of a drone is attached to the shaft on the one side in the first direction (Doherty et al. c. 4, l. 10 – 11).
Kislev et al., Capoulun et al., and Doherty et al. disclose shafts therefore, Doherty et al. constitutes as prior art. Doherty et al. discloses a drone having a shaft and a propeller. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a propeller of a drone is attached to the shaft on the one side in the first direction of Doherty et al. for the purpose of converting rotational power from the motor to aerodynamic lift and thrust.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kislev et al. in view of Kouda.
Regarding Claim 13, Kislev et al. discloses the motor according to claim 12.
Kislev et al. does not disclose:
further comprising a cover that is fixed to the holding portion and covers the other side in the first direction of the heat dissipation portion.
Kouda discloses:
further comprising a cover (insulator 32) that is fixed to the holding portion (pipe portion 41) and covers the other side in the first direction of the heat dissipation portion (Kouda Para [0118] lines 8 – 12).
Kislev et al. and Kouda disclose stators therefore, Kouda constitutes as prior art. Kouda discloses a stator with an insulator that partly covers a heat dissipation member. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprise a cover that is fixed to the holding portion and covers the other side in the first direction of the heat dissipation portion of Kouda for the purpose of protecting and transferring heat to the heat dissipation portion.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kislev et al. in view of Kouda and further in view of Capoulun et al..
Regarding Claim 14, Kislev et al. and Kouda disclose the motor according to claim 13.
Kislev et al. and Kouda do not disclose:
wherein the cover and the heat dissipation portion are spaced apart from each other in the first direction.
Capoulun et al. discloses:
wherein the cover (rotor 2) and the heat dissipation portion (shielding cap 26) are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (Capoulun et al. Fig. 1).
Kislev et al., Kouda, and Capoulun et al. disclose stators therefore, Capoulun et al. constitutes as prior art. Capoulun et al. discloses a cover spaced apart from a heat dissipation portion. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the cover and the heat dissipation portion are spaced apart from each other in the first direction of Capoulun et al. for the purpose of protecting the heat dissipation portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 16 – 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art discloses various motors with a heat dissipation portion. However, this particular structure in combination with previously recited features, having wherein in the heat dissipation portion, a height position of the disk portion is lower than a height position of the annular portion, and the disk portion is fixed to the holding portion with a screw is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 16, the prior art discloses various motors with cables and a heat dissipation portion. However, this particular structure in combination with previously recited features, having a cable extending from the stator toward an outside of the stator in a radial direction; and wherein the heat dissipation portion is positioned to avoid the cable in a circumferential direction of the stator is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 17, it is objected because it is dependent on claim 16.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834