DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Application filed 03/20/2025.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
Limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) include:
Elastic element: Coil Spring (154); par 51
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leh et al. (US 20160250738; Leh).
Regarding Claim 1 Leh discloses an impact tool (10), comprising:
an electric motor (20) comprising a motor shaft capable of rotating about a first axis;
a battery pack (28) powering at least the electric motor (20);
an impact assembly (24), drivable by the electric motor (20) to provide an impact force, comprising an elastic element (74);
an output assembly (26, 28) comprising an output shaft (26) for outputting power; and
a control circuit comprising a controller (40), the controller (40) configured to, in a case where an actual rotational speed of the electric motor is lower than a rotational speed threshold, control output torque of the electric motor to be greater than a tension of the elastic element. (par 48-49)
Regarding Claim 4 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses the controller is configured to, in a case where the actual rotational speed of the electric motor is lower than the rotational speed threshold and a duty cycle of a control signal at a current time is less than a duty cycle of the control signal at a previous time, adjust the duty cycle at the current time and set the duty cycle of the control signal at the previous time as the duty cycle at the current time. (par 55, 58, 62)
Regarding Claim 5 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses output torque of the electric motor at the current time is greater than or equal to output torque of the electric motor at the previous time. (par 55-56)
Regarding Claim 6 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses the controller is configured to, in the case where the actual rotational speed of the electric motor is lower than the rotational speed threshold, adjust a variation of a duty cycle of a control signal to be greater than or equal to zero. (par 55, 58, 62)
Regarding Claim 7 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses the variation of the duty cycle of the control signal is a difference between a duty cycle of the control signal at a current time and a duty cycle of the control signal at a previous time. (par 55, 58, 62)
Regarding Claim 8 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses the duty cycle of the control signal at the current time is greater than or equal to the duty cycle of the control signal at the previous time. (par 64)
Regarding Claim 17 Leh discloses an impact toot comprising:
an electric motor (20) comprising a motor shaft capable of rotating about a first axis;
a battery pack (28) powering at least the electric moto (20)r;
an impact assembly (24) drivable by the electric motor (20) to provide an impact force;
an output assembly comprising an output shaft for outputting power; and
a control circuit comprising at least a controller (40), the controller (40) configured to, in a case where an actual rotational speed of the electric motor is lower than a rotational speed threshold, adjust a duty cycle of a control signal at a current time to be at least not less than a duty cycle of the control signal at a previous time. (par 55, 58, 62)
Regarding Claim 19 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses in a case where the duty cycle of the control signal at the current time is less than the duty cycle of the control signal at the previous time, the duty cycle of the control signal at the previous time is set as the duty cycle at the current time. (par 55, 58, 62)
Regarding Claim 20 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses a variation of the duty cycle of the control signal is greater than or equal to zero. (par 55, 58, 62)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Leh (US 20160250738) in view of Shima (US 20230107745)
Regarding Claim 2 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses a controller.
However Leh does not expressly disclose the controller comprises a proportional-integral (PI) controller.
Shima teaches an impact tool (par 116) that includes a controller (30). Shima further teaches controller includes a proportional-integral (PI) controller providing precise duty ratio, torque and speed control in the impact tool for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 15, 216, 222, 233)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the controller of Leh to include a proportional-integral (PI) controller as taught by Shima since par 15, 216, 222, 233 of Shima suggests that such a modification provides precise duty ratio, torque and speed control in the impact tool for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 9 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses a controller.
However Leh does not expressly disclose the controller adjusts the variation of the duty cycle of the control signal to be greater than or equal to zero based on proportional adjustment.
Shima teaches an impact tool (par 116) that includes a controller (30). Shima further teaches the controller adjusts the variation of the duty cycle of the control signal to be greater than or equal to zero based on proportional adjustment providing precise duty ratio, torque and speed control in the impact tool for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 15, 174-176, 216, 222, 233)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the controller of Leh to include the controller adjusts the variation of the duty cycle of the control signal to be greater than or equal to zero based on proportional adjustment as taught by Shima since par 15, 174-176, 216, 222, 233 of Shima suggests that such a modification provides precise duty ratio, torque and speed control in the impact tool for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 10 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses a controller.
However Leh does not expressly disclose the variation of the duty cycle of the control signal is proportional to a rotational speed difference of the electric motor.
Shima teaches an impact tool (par 116) that includes a controller (30). Shima further teaches the variation of the duty cycle of the control signal is proportional to a rotational speed difference of the electric motor providing precise duty ratio, torque and speed control in the impact tool for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 15, 174-176, 216, 222, 233)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the controller of Leh to include the variation of the duty cycle of the control signal is proportional to a rotational speed difference of the electric motor as taught by Shima since par 15, 174-176, 216, 222, 233 of Shima suggests that such a modification provides precise duty ratio, torque and speed control in the impact tool for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 11 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses a controller.
However Leh does not expressly disclose the rotational speed difference of the electric motor is a difference between the rotational speed threshold and an actual rotational speed of the electric motor at a current time or a difference between the actual rotational speed of the electric motor at the current time and the rotational speed threshold.
Shima teaches an impact tool (par 116) that includes a controller (30). Shima further teaches the rotational speed difference of the electric motor is a difference between the rotational speed threshold and an actual rotational speed of the electric motor at a current time or a difference between the actual rotational speed of the electric motor at the current time and the rotational speed threshold. (par 15, 174-176, 216, 222, 233)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the controller of Leh to include the rotational speed difference of the electric motor is a difference between the rotational speed threshold and an actual rotational speed of the electric motor at a current time or a difference between the actual rotational speed of the electric motor at the current time and the rotational speed threshold.as taught by Shima since par 15, 174-176, 216, 222, 233 of Shima suggests that such a modification provides precise duty ratio, torque and speed control in the impact tool for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 18 Leh discloses the invention as described above. Leh further discloses a controller.
However Leh does not expressly disclose the controller comprises a proportional-integral (PI) controller.
Shima teaches an impact tool (par 116) that includes a controller (30). Shima further teaches controller includes a proportional-integral (PI) controller providing precise duty ratio, torque and speed control in the impact tool for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus. (par 15, 216, 222, 233)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the controller of Leh to include a proportional-integral (PI) controller as taught by Shima since par 15, 216, 222, 233 of Shima suggests that such a modification provides precise duty ratio, torque and speed control in the impact tool for the purposes of improving the efficiency of the apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3 The Prior Art does not teach the rotational speed threshold is greater than or equal to a rotational speed of the electric motor corresponding to a lowest impact frequency of the impact assembly in addition to the limitations included in claim 1
Regarding Claim 12 The Prior Art does not teach a lowest impact frequency of the impact assembly is less than or equal to 200 BPM in addition to the limitations included in claim 1
Regarding Claim 13 The Prior Art does not teach a lowest impact frequency of the impact assembly is less than or equal to 150 BPM in addition to the limitations included in claim 1
Regarding Claim 14 The Prior Art does not teach a lowest impact frequency of the impact assembly is less than or equal to 100 BPM in addition to the limitations included in claim 1
Regarding Claim 15 The Prior Art does not teach a lowest impact frequency of the impact assembly is less than or equal to 70 BPM in addition to the limitations included in claim 1
Regarding Claim 16 Leh discloses an impact tool (10), comprising: an electric motor (20) comprising a motor shaft capable of rotating about a first axis; a battery pack (28) powering at least the electric motor; an impact assembly (24) drivable by the electric motor to provide an impact force; and an output assembly (26, 28) comprising an output shaft for outputting power;
The Prior Art does not teach a lowest impact frequency of the impact assembly is less than or equal to 230 BPM in addition to the limitations included in Claim 16
Conclusion
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731