DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to invent provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon (KR 20080109010 A; “Kwon”).
Kwon discloses:
Regarding claim 1:
A steering wheel (1) for a motor vehicle (pg. 1, “The steering wheel is for the driver to set the steering direction, the rotation of the steering wheel by the driver is transmitted to the wheel through the steering column to set the steering angle of the vehicle”), the steering wheel having an axis of rotation perpendicular to a plane of rotation of the steering wheel (pg. 1, supra describes the steering wheel’s rotation which inherently has a steering axis; FIG. 1 reasonably depicts/discloses the rim 2 configured such that, upon rotation via the rim 2, it would rotate upon an axis extending into the page i.e. an axis perpendicular to the plane of rotation of the rim; see MPEP § 2125) and comprising a control box (100; FIG. 2), in turn comprising:
a printed circuit board (200);
a casing (110, 120) defining a cavity housing the printed circuit board (the cavity is defined between casing portions 110, 120, 130 accommodating internal components as seen in FIG. 4-5 ),
a cover (130) attached to the casing so as to cover the cavity with an inner face (FIG. 4-5 depicts cover 130 having a lower/inner surface facing the internal components) facing the cavity according to a direction entering the plane of rotation of the steering wheel (FIG. 1 depicts the upper/outer surface of cover 130, the inner face located behind the outer face i.e. in the direction into the page i.e. in a direction entering the plane of the rotation of the rim 2) and an outer face opposite the inner face so as to face, in use, a user of the steering wheel (FIG. 1 depicts the upper/outer surface of cover 130 facing in the direction out of the page i.e. in a direction facing the driver); and
at least one control (push switch 201), which is manipulatable by the user coupled to the casing in a movable manner with respect to the cover (pg. 4, “A step 131 is formed to allow the user to more smoothly recognize the operation area when the push switch 201 and the capacitive switch 260 are operated”), and arranged through a related seat formed on the cover along said direction (pg. 4, “On one surface of the housing cover 130, a switch operation unit corresponding to the position of the push switch 201 and the capacitive scroll switch 260 described below is formed. The area corresponding to the switch control unit on one surface of the housing cover 130 is a housing cover step 131 so that the switch control unit formed on the housing cover 130 can be tactilely recognized without requiring attention by the user's attention. ) is formed. That is, as shown in FIGS. 3, 4, and 5, the housing cover is formed on the outer surface of the region formed at a position corresponding to the push switch 201 and the capacitive scroll switch 260 on one surface of the housing cover 130” i.e. controls 201, 206 are arranged on respective seats formed on cover 130, see in FIG. 3),
wherein the cover comprises a transparent plate or glass plate (pg. 5, “the housing cover 130 is also formed of a transparent or semi-transparent polycarbonate or acrylic and thus, the illumination sheet 420 from the lighting lamp 410. Light emitted through) may be able to be smoothly discharged through the housing cover 130.”); and
a rim (2) extending in a ring shape (FIG. 1 depicts rim 2 as circular) about the axis of rotation (center of rim as seen in FIG. 1) and defining a radially outermost portion of the steering wheel relative to the axis of rotation (FIG. 1 depicts rim 1 disposed radially outward from the center of hub area at 3 i.e. axis of rotation), wherein the casing is mounted within the steering wheel such that the control box rotates with the rim (pg. 4, “The housing 100 is disposed on the steering wheel body 3 side of the steering wheel 1, and is disposed between the steering wheel body 3 and the steering wheel rim 2, the steering wheel body 3 and the steering wheel rim ( The steering wheel switch mounting portion 11 is disposed between 2) and the housing 100 is fixedly mounted to the steering wheel switch mounting portion 11” i.e. the casing 110, 120 or housing 100 is rotatably fixed to the steering wheel).
Regarding claim 9:
The steering wheel according to claim 1, further comprising: a central hub (3) about the axis of rotation; and a plurality of radial spokes (at reference numbers 11 and 20 in FIG. 1) connecting the central hub to the rim (FIG. 1 depicts spokes at 11, 20 extending from hub 3 to the rim, wherein the casing is attached to one of the spokes so as to be arranged at an empty sector between said one of the spokes, another of the spokes, the rim, and the central hub (FIG. 1 depicts casings 100 on empty areas on the spokes 11, 20).
Regarding claim 14:
The steering wheel according to claim 1, wherein the seat is obtained on said plate (FIG. 3 reasonably discloses/depicts mounting areas i.e. seats for the push switch).
Regarding claim 15:
The steering wheel according to claim 1, wherein the cover is said plate (FIG. 3 depicts cover/plate 130 as flat and relatively thin piece; see MPEP § 2125).
Regarding claim 16:
A steering wheel (1) for a motor vehicle (pg. 1, “The steering wheel is for the driver to set the steering direction, the rotation of the steering wheel by the driver is transmitted to the wheel through the steering column to set the steering angle of the vehicle”), the steering wheel having an axis of rotation perpendicular to a plane of rotation of the steering wheel (pg. 1, supra describes the steering wheel’s rotation which inherently has a steering axis; FIG. 1 reasonably depicts/discloses the rim 2 configured such that, upon rotation via the rim 2, it would rotate upon an axis extending into the page i.e. an axis perpendicular to the plane of rotation of the rim; see MPEP § 2125) and comprising a control island (100; FIG. 2), comprising:
a control circuit (200)
a casing (110, 120) defining a cavity housing at least a portion of the control circuit (depicted in FIG. 4-5);
a cover (130) attached to the casing so as to cover the cavity (FIG. 4-5 depicts cover 130 having a lower/inner surface facing the internal components), the cover comprises a translucent plate (pg. 5, “the housing cover 130 is also formed of a transparent or semi-transparent polycarbonate or acrylic and thus, the illumination sheet 420 from the lighting lamp 410. Light emitted through) may be able to be smoothly discharged through the housing cover 130”), the cover comprising:
an inner face facing the cavity (FIG. 4-5 depicts cover 130 having a lower/inner surface facing the internal components; FIG. 1 depicts the upper/outer surface of cover 130, the inner face located behind the outer face i.e. in the direction into the page i.e. in a direction entering the plane of the rotation of the rim 2) and
an outer face opposite the inner face so as to face, in use, a user of the steering wheel (FIG. 1 depicts the upper/outer surface of cover 130 facing in the direction out of the page i.e. in a direction facing the driver); and
a controller, which is manipulatable by the user, coupled to the casing in a movable manner with respect to the cover (pg. 4, “A step 131 is formed to allow the user to more smoothly recognize the operation area when the push switch 201 and the capacitive switch 260 are operated”), and extending through a seat formed in the cover (pg. 4, “On one surface of the housing cover 130, a switch operation unit corresponding to the position of the push switch 201 and the capacitive scroll switch 260 described below is formed. The area corresponding to the switch control unit on one surface of the housing cover 130 is a housing cover step 131 so that the switch control unit formed on the housing cover 130 can be tactilely recognized without requiring attention by the user's attention. ) is formed. That is, as shown in FIGS. 3, 4, and 5, the housing cover is formed on the outer surface of the region formed at a position corresponding to the push switch 201 and the capacitive scroll switch 260 on one surface of the housing cover 130” i.e. controls 201, 206 are arranged on respective seats formed on cover 130, see in FIG. 3),
a rim (2) extending in a ring shape (FIG. 1 depicts rim 2 as circular) about the axis of rotation (center of rim as seen in FIG. 1) and defining a radially outermost portion of the steering wheel relative to the axis of rotation (FIG. 1 depicts rim 1 disposed radially outward from the center of hub area at 3 i.e. axis of rotation), wherein the casing is mounted within the steering wheel such that the control box rotates with the rim (pg. 4, “The housing 100 is disposed on the steering wheel body 3 side of the steering wheel 1, and is disposed between the steering wheel body 3 and the steering wheel rim 2, the steering wheel body 3 and the steering wheel rim ( The steering wheel switch mounting portion 11 is disposed between 2) and the housing 100 is fixedly mounted to the steering wheel switch mounting portion 11” i.e. the casing 110, 120 or housing 100 is rotatably fixed to the steering wheel).
Regarding claim 17:
The steering wheel of claim 16, wherein the translucent plate is comprised of glass (pg. 5, “the housing cover 130 is also formed of a transparent or semi-transparent polycarbonate or acrylic and thus, the illumination sheet 420 from the lighting lamp 410. Light emitted through) may be able to be smoothly discharged through the housing cover 130”); cover 130 is transparent or translucent to a degree so as to allow the light to pass therethrough i.e. “glass” in accordance to the instant specification in in ¶ 35 therein).
Regarding claim 18:
The steering wheel according to claim 9, wherein the spokes are fixed with respect to the rim and the central hub (FIG. 1 reasonably depicts/discloses spokes at 11, 20 as being integrally connected i.e. fixed to the rim 2 and hub 3; see MPEP § 2125).
Regarding claim 19:
A steering wheel (1) for a motor vehicle (pg. 1, “The steering wheel is for the driver to set the steering direction, the rotation of the steering wheel by the driver is transmitted to the wheel through the steering column to set the steering angle of the vehicle”), the steering wheel comprising:
an axis of rotation perpendicular to a plane of rotation of the steering wheel (pg. 1, supra describes the steering wheel’s rotation which inherently has a steering axis; FIG. 1 reasonably depicts/discloses the rim 2 configured such that, upon rotation via the rim 2, it would rotate upon an axis extending into the page i.e. an axis perpendicular to the plane of rotation of the rim; see MPEP § 2125);
an outer rim (2) extending about the axis of rotation (center axis of rim 2);
a central hub (3) positioned inwardly with respect to the outer rim (FIG. 1 depicts portion 3 is radially inward from rim 2);
a control box (100) positioned inwardly with respect to the outer rim (FIG. 1 depicts portion 3 is radially inward from rim 2), comprising:
a control circuit (200)
a casing (110, 120) defining a cavity housing at least a portion of the control circuit (depicted in FIG. 4-5);
a cover (130) attached to the casing so as to cover the cavity (FIG. 4-5 depicts cover 130 having a lower/inner surface facing the internal components), the cover comprises a translucent plate (pg. 5, “the housing cover 130 is also formed of a transparent or semi-transparent polycarbonate or acrylic and thus, the illumination sheet 420 from the lighting lamp 410. Light emitted through) may be able to be smoothly discharged through the housing cover 130”), the cover comprising:
an inner face facing the cavity (FIG. 4-5 depicts cover 130 having a lower/inner surface facing the internal components; FIG. 1 depicts the upper/outer surface of cover 130, the inner face located behind the outer face i.e. in the direction into the page i.e. in a direction entering the plane of the rotation of the rim 2) and
an outer face opposite the inner face so as to face, in use, a user of the steering wheel (FIG. 1 depicts the upper/outer surface of cover 130 facing in the direction out of the page i.e. in a direction facing the driver); and
a controller, which is manipulatable by the user, that extends through the cover () and is coupled to the casing in a movable manner with respect to the cover (pg. 4, “A step 131 is formed to allow the user to more smoothly recognize the operation area when the push switch 201 and the capacitive switch 260 are operated”), and first and second radial spokes (at 11, 20) connecting the central hub and the control box to the outer rim (depicted in FIG. 1), wherein the control box is positioned in a space between the first spoke, the second spoke, the outer rim, and the central hub (depicted in FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 20:
The steering wheel of claim 19, wherein the translucent plate is comprised of glass (pg. 5, “the housing cover 130 is also formed of a transparent or semi-transparent polycarbonate or acrylic and thus, the illumination sheet 420 from the lighting lamp 410. Light emitted through) may be able to be smoothly discharged through the housing cover 130”); cover 130 is transparent or translucent to a degree so as to allow the light to pass therethrough i.e. “glass” in accordance to the instant specification in in ¶ 35 therein). 8. (New) The steering wheel according to claim 9, wherein the spokes are fixed with respect to the rim and the central hub.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Liburdi (DE 10121566 A1; “Liburdi”).
Kwon discloses:
Regarding claim 2:
The steering wheel according to claim 1, comprising one or more indicators (pg. 6, “Through the illumination sheet 420a and the polarizing plate 600a, an output to the outside is more easily facilitated by an icon (not shown) formed on the housing cover 130, thereby preventing or minimizing interference with other components”).
which are fixed on said plate and/or on a transparent or glass manipulatable portion of the control (pg. 6, “Through the illumination sheet 420a and the polarizing plate 600a, an output to the outside is more easily facilitated by an icon (not shown) formed on the housing cover 130, thereby preventing or minimizing interference with other components).
However, Kwon does not expressly disclose that its “icon” i.e. indicator is configured to indicate the control.
Liburdi teaches an indicator configured to indicate a control (pg. 2 in Liburdi, “Similarly, the left printed circuit board is protected from the environment by a left circuit board cover or controller cover. The covers can contain various graphic symbols which represent the functions which can be controlled by the control devices. For example, who uses the arrows to indicate that the flashing signal has been activated.”) for the purpose of providing to the driver information regarding the various functions produced via the control (pg. 2, supra).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Kwon such that its “icon” i.e. indicator is configured to indicate the control, as taught by Liburdi, for the purpose of providing to the driver information regarding the various functions produced via the control.
Kwon as modified above further teaches the following:
Regarding claim 3:
The steering wheel according to claim 2, comprising: a backlight device (60 in Liburdi) coupled to the printed circuit board within the cavity (depicted in FIG. 3 in Liburdi) and configured to illuminate the one or more indicators (pg. 2 in Liburdi); and a control unit connected to the backlight device via the printed circuit board (pg. 3 in Liburdi, “The circuit boards 50, 52 are connected to a microprocessor (not shown)”) and configured to control the backlight device to illuminate the one or more indicators (the PCBs 50, 52 connect the backlight devices 60 to the microprocessor for control).
Regarding claim 4:
The steering wheel according to claim 3, wherein the control unit is coupled to the control and is configured to control the backlight device based on how the control is manipulated (pg. 2 in Liburdi, “The right printed circuit board 50 is protected from the environment by a right circuit board cover or control device cover 6 .Similarly, the left printed circuit board 52 is protected from the environment by a left circuit board cover or controller cover 8 .The covers 6 , 8 can contain various graphic symbols which represent the functions which can be controlled by the control devices 5 , 7 . For example, who uses the arrows to indicate that the flashing signal has been activated. The graphical symbols can be backlit illuminated by placing diodes 60 (shown in FIG. 3) or other lighting devices on the circuit board below or near the graphical symbols to increase the visibility of the graphical symbols in poor condition To improve light”).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon does not expressly disclose that the control comprises a knob rotatable about a knob axis parallel to said direction.
Liburdi teaches a control comprising a knob (62 in Liburdi) rotatable about a knob axis parallel to said direction (pg. 2 in Liburdi, “The right control device also has a rotatable dial (shown in FIG. 3) to control the control 18 of the windshield wipers. The dial is connected to the front 70of the printed circuit board 50 and rotates about an axis perpendicular to the front 70 of the printed circuit board” and thereby parallel to the direction.”) to control windshield wipers (pg. 2, supra).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Kwon such that the control comprises a knob rotatable about a knob axis parallel to said direction, as taught by Liburdi, to control windshield wipers.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Liburdi, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Anderson (WO 2023117055 A1; “Anderson”).
Regarding claim 5-7, Kwon as modified above teaches the steering wheel according to claim 2, see above, but does not expressly disclose that the one or more indicators comprise a film deposited on said plate or on the transparent or glass manipulatable portion by physical vapor deposition, wherein the film has a plurality of micro-holes arranged to form a graphic pattern on the film, and wherein each of the micro-holes has a width dimension or diameter of less than one-tenth of a millimeter.
Anderson teaches one or more indicators (26; FIG. 2) comprise a film (28) deposited on a plate or on the transparent or glass (34) manipulatable portion by physical vapor deposition (pg. 12, “PVD”), wherein the film has a plurality of micro-holes (44) arranged to form a graphic pattern on the film (pg. 11, “hole array 44 in the decorative metallic layer 28”), and wherein each of the micro-holes has a width dimension or diameter of less than one-tenth of a millimeter (pg. 5, “holes having a size equal to or smaller than 0.5mm” which is a range that includes values less than 0.1 mm) as a means to aesthetically enhance the indicators (pg. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Kwon such that the one or more indicators comprise a film deposited on said plate or on the transparent or glass manipulatable portion by physical vapor deposition, wherein the film has a plurality of micro-holes arranged to form a graphic pattern on the film, and wherein each of the micro-holes has a width dimension or diameter of less than one-tenth of a millimeter, as taught by Anderson, as a means to aesthetically enhance the indicators.
Regarding claim 8, although Kwon as modified above (Anderson) characterizes the plurality of micro-holes as an “array” (pg. 11) i.e. that each has a spacing from another adjacent micro holes of the micro holes and that they should be “barely noticeable from usual viewing distances,” it does not expressly disclose that the spacing is less than one-tenth a millimeter.
Kwon as modified above does not expressly disclose that each of the micro-holes has a spacing from another adjacent micro-holes of the micro-holes less than one-tenth of a millimeter.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the spacing is less than one-tenth a millimeter as a matter of design choice because it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)( the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device); see also MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(A). Here, nowhere in the original disclosure does it disclose or suggest that the particular spacing claimed would cause the claimed invention to perform differently than that of the prior art device. Additionally, paragraph [0102] in the instant specification mentions that the spacing is a mere preference i.e. not required. As such, this limitation does not amount to a patentable difference.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Liburdi, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Ebrom et al. (U.S. P.G. Publication No. 2016/0181028 A1; “Ebrom”).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon as modified above teaches the steering wheel according to claim 10, see above, but does not expressly disclose that the knob carries a lens in a fixed position, and wherein the lens has a first surface facing toward a first indicator fixed on said plate for at least one position of the knob, the lens being configured to project an image of the first indicator onto a second surface of the lens opposite said first surface.
Ebrom teaches that a knob (20) carries a lens (36) in a fixed position (depicted in FIG. 1; ¶ 11), and wherein the lens has a first surface (inner face facing element 24 in FIG. 1) facing toward a first indicator (22, 24) fixed on said plate (depicted in FIG. 1) for at least one position of the knob (¶ 11), the lens being configured to project an image of the first indicator onto a second surface (outer surface/face facing the operator; FIG. 1) of the lens opposite said first surface (outer surface is opposite inner surface) to provide a light transmissive indicia on the knob that, for example is able to indicate a change in intensity/change in position of the knob by controlling the intensity of the light shone through the lens (¶ 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Kwon such that the knob carries a lens in a fixed position, and wherein the lens has a first surface facing toward a first indicator fixed on said plate for at least one position of the knob, the lens being configured to project an image of the first indicator onto a second surface of the lens opposite said first surface.
Regarding claims 12-13, Kwon does not expressly disclose that the knob comprises aluminium metal.
In certain circumstances where appropriate, an examiner may take official notice of facts not in the record or rely on "common knowledge" in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2144.03. Official notice unsupported by documentary evidence should only be taken by the examiner where the facts asserted to be well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known. In re Ahlert, 424 F.2d 1088, 1091, 165 USPQ 418, 420 (CCPA 1970). Here, the Examiner takes official notice that providing a knob comprising aluminum metal as a part of its construction is instantly and unquestionably well-known and common knowledge in the art. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon such that the knob comprises aluminum metal as such combination of elements are instantly and unquestionably well-known and common knowledge in the art. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gong such that its knob comprises aluminum metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 7/9/2026 have been fully considered and have required a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Kwon, as described supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/DANIEL D YABUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656