DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moody, III et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2017/0246832 in view of Sworen et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2023/0332348.
The published patent application issued to Moody III et al., teach plurality of non-woven fabrics used in liquid barrier applications such as drapes, lab coats and/or absorbent articles (title, abstract and figures 1 and 2). Moody III et al., teach spun-bond and melt-blown fabrics arranged in various configurations (paragraph 0046). For Example, Moody III et al., teach a multi-layer configuration comprising alternating spun-bond and melt-blown fabrics (paragraph 0046). In one embodiment, Moody III et al., teach a multi-layer configuration comprising SSMMMS wherein S is spun-bond non-wovens and M is melt blown fine fiber non-wovens (paragraphs 0045-0046). With specific regard to claim 1, the Examiner is of the position that a multi-layer SSMMMS configuration meets the claimed arrangement. The nonwoven fabric, in accordance with certain embodiments of the invention, may comprise a basis weight from about 5 to about 100 grams-per-square-meter (gsm) (paragraph 0087). With regard to claim 13, Moody III et al., teach fine fibers of submicron size of less than 1 micron (paragraph 0044). With regard to claims 14-15, Moody III et al., teach the claimed structural arrangements (paragraphs 0047-0072 and figures). With regard to claims 17 and 18, Moody III et al., teach a diaper comprising a liquid permeable top-sheet, a liquid impermeable back-sheet and absorbent core located between said top-sheet and back-sheet (paragraph 0091). With specific regard to claim 18, Moody III et al., does not teach a back-sheet made of a film. With regard to claim 16, Moody III et al., does not specifically teach the claimed hydro-head and air permeability; however, the Examiner is of the position that such properties can be optimized depending on the number and type of layers used and the arrangement of those layers used to form the liquid barrier. Absent a clear and convincing showing of unexpected results demonstrating the criticality of the claimed hydro-head and air permeability, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize this result-effective variable by routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Moody III et al., does not teach the claimed non-fluorinated barrier coating (NFBC). The published patent application issued to Sworen et al., teach providing water repellency to a fibrous substrate. Sworen et al., teach a treatment composition applied on the fibrous substrate, where the composition comprises (a) 20-99.5 wt.% a silicone polyether polymer, and (b) 0.5-4 wt.% at least one surfactant comprising at least one cationic surfactant or a mixture of at least one cationic and at least one nonionic surfactant, and the silicone polyether polymer has 6-100 wt.% silicon containing repeat units (I) or (II) and 0-94 wt.% repeat units from ethylenically unsaturated comonomers (abstract). Therefore, motivated by the desire to provide water repellency to non-woven fabrics used to form liquid barrier products it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat the non-woven fabrics of Moody III et al., with the water repellency composition of Sworen et al. 4.
Claim(s) 2-6, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moody III et al., US 20170246832 A1 in view of Sworen et al., US 2023/0332348 A1 as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Isaac, US 12,558,273.
Moody III et al., in view of Sworen et al., do not teach the claimed alcohol repellent agent. The patent issued to Isaac teach a fibrous article treated to have alcohol repellency (title and abstract). The AR treatment may include any known method of AR or water repellency treatment. Some examples include and are not limited to treatment with fluorocarbons; polydimethylsiloxane; treatment with compounds formed by reacting stearic acid and formaldehyde with melamine. Other AR or liquid repellent treatments may include and are not limited to: Unidyne TG-5502ᵀ, and/or Unidyne TG 5601ᵀM, and/or Undyne XFᵀM, Series non-fluorinated repellent finish all manufactured by Daikin Chemicals; Teflon™ treatments which may include Phobol® CP/ND, Phobotex, Phobol® Extender SFB, Zelan™ and/or Capstoneᵀ based treatments, all manufactured by Huntsman or treatment with known fluorocarbon alternatives such as OrganoTex®, manufactured by Organotex at Linjalvagen 9: SE-187 66 Taby Sweden; Siltech® E-2178 Cross-linked Alkyl Siloxane Emulsion and/or Siltech® E-2152 Cross-linked Amino Siloxane Emulsion manufactured by Siltech. In another example, the AR or liquid repellency treatment may be provided as a melt additive during and/or before forming of the non-woven. Some examples may include polymer additives such as HYDREPEL, manufactured by Goulston Surface Modification Technologies. In one example, at least one or a combination of the non-woven substrate, the topsheet and/or the absorbent core may be treated with an alcohol repellent ("AR)" treatment or liquid repellent treatment (column 9, 25-55). Any one of or a combination of the layers of article 100 may be liquid repellent or alcohol resistance ("AR") treated. While throughout the disclosure AR treatment may be referred to, the term AR treatment may refer to any liquid or water repellent treatment (column 9, 25- 55). With regard to the claimed wetting agent, the Examiner considers any one of the surfactants of Sworen et al, sufficient to meet the claimed wetting agent. With regard to the claimed radiation cured limitations, Sworen et al., teach that the composition is UV cured (0011-0017 and 0039). Isaac does not teach the claimed amount of alcohol repellency treatment as set forth in claim 6. Absent a clear and convincing showing of unexpected results demonstrating the criticality of the claimed amount of alcohol repellency additive, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize this result-effective variable by routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F. 2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). With regard to claim 12, the combination of cited prior art does not teach the claimed ratio of alcohol repellent to wetting agent. Absent a clear and convincing showing of unexpected results demonstrating the criticality of the claimed ratio of alcohol repellency to wetting agent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize this result-effective variable by routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to formulate the water repellent treatment coating of Sworen et al., coated on the multi-layer substrates of Moody III et al., with an alcohol repellent as taught by Isaac. Motivation to add an alcohol repellent to the water repellent treatment coating of Sworen et al., is found in the desire expand the number of liquids the treatment coating can repel.
Claim(s) 7-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moody III et al., US 20170246832 A1 in view of Sworen et al., US 2023/0332348 A1 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Isaac, US 12,558,273 as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Elsbernd et al., US 20180298209 A1.
The combination of cited prior art above does not teach the claimed binder. The published patent application issued to Elsbernd et al. teach a coating composition to provide a repellent surface to a substrate (title, abstract and paragraphs 0001-0005). Said composition comprises a non-fluorinated polymeric organic binder (abstract and paragraph 0006). Elsbernd et al., teach that while fluorinated organic polymeric binders can be used, they are typically considerably more expensive than non-fluorinated binders. Further, non-fluorinated organic polymeric binders can exhibit better adhesion to non-fluorinated polymeric, metal, or other substrates (paragraph 0045). The coating compositions typically contain at least about 0.01%, 0.1%, 0.5%, 1%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9%, 10%, 15% or greater solids of the (e.g. non-fluorinated organic) polymeric binder, based on the total weight of the coating composition (paragraph 0056). Based on the weights disclosed by Moody III et al., set forth above, the amount of binder limitation to fabric basis weight of claim 9 is met. Suitable polymeric materials for substrates include, but are not limited to, polyesters (e.g., polyethylene terephthalate or polybutylene terephthalate), polycarbonates, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) copolymers, poly(meth)acrylates (e.g., polymethylmethacrylate or copolymers of various (meth)acrylates), polystyrenes, polysulfones, polyether sulfones, epoxy polymers (e.g., homopolymers or epoxy addition polymers with polydiamines or polydithiols), polyolefins (e.g., polyethylene and copolymers thereof or polypropylene and copolymers thereof), polyvinyl chlorides, polyurethanes, fluorinated polymers, cellulosic materials, derivatives thereof, and the like (paragraph 0062). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to formulate the water repellent composition of modified Sworen et al., used to treat the multi-layer substrates of Moody et al., with a binder as taught by Elsbernd et al. Motivation to employ a binder is found in the desire to improve adhesion of the water repelling composition to a substrate material. With regard to claim 11, the combination of cited prior art does expressly teach the claimed ratio. Absent a clear and convincing showing of unexpected results demonstrating the criticality of the claimed ratio of alcohol repellent to binder, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize this result-effective variable by routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention, so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/610,740 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite
A barrier fabric, comprising: a first nonwoven fabric comprising— (i) a first outermost spunbond layer including a first plurality of continuous spunbond fibers; (ii) a second outermost spunbond layer including a second plurality of continuous spunbond fibers; (iii) a plurality of inner fine fiber-containing nonwoven layers including a first fine fiber-containing layer including a first plurality of fine fibers and a second fine fiber-containing layer including a second plurality of fine fibers, wherein the plurality of inner fine fiber-containing nonwoven layers are located directly or indirectly between the first outermost spunbond layer and the second outermost spunbond layer; and (iv) a non-fluorinated barrier coating (NFBC) located on each of the first outermost spunbond layer, the second outermost spunbond layer, the first fine fiber-containing layer, and the second fine fiber-containing layer as per present claim 1 and co-pending claim 1.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the NFBC comprises an alcohol repellant comprising an acrylic-functional polymer including an alkyl silane methacrylate group as per present claim 2 and co-pending claim 2.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the acrylic-functional polymer is cationic as per instant claim 3 and co-pending claim 3.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the NFBC comprises an alcohol repellant comprising a cured siliconized coating comprising a network of radiation cured silicones as per instant claim 4 and co-pending claim 4.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the network of radiation cured silicones comprises the reaction product of one or more silicone acrylate oligomers or polymers or one or more epoxy silicone oligomers or polymers as per instant claim 5 and co-pending claim 5.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the first nonwoven fabric comprises a basis weight and an alcohol repellant that comprises from about 0.1 to about 20% by weight of the basis weight on a dry basis as per present claim 6 and co-pending claim 6.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the NFBC comprises a binder, wherein the binder comprises an anionic binder, a cationic binder, non-ionic binder, an amphoteric binder, or any combinations thereof as per instant claim 7 and co-pending claim 7.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the binder comprises a crosslinked binder as per instant claim 8 and co-pending claim 8.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the first nonwoven fabric comprises a basis weight and the binder comprises from about 0.1 to about 10% by weight of the basis weight on a dry basis as per instant claim 9 and co-pending claim 9.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the NFBC comprises a wetting agent, and the first nonwoven fabric comprises a basis weight and the wetting agent comprises from about 0.1 to about 5% by weight of the basis weight on a dry basis as per instant claim 10 and co-pending claim 10.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the NFBC comprises a first ratio between the alcohol repellant and a binder on a dry basis (alcohol repellant:binder) from about 1:1 to about 20:1 as per instant claim 11 and co-pending claim 11.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the NFBC comprises a second ratio between the alcohol repellant and a wetting agent on a dry basis (alcohol repellant:wetting agent) from about 1:1 to about 20:1 as per instant claim 12 and co-pending application 12.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the first plurality of fine fibers, the second plurality of fine fibers, or both independently from each other have an average diameter from about 0.2 to about 8 microns as per instant claim 13 and co-pending application 13.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the first nonwoven fabric comprises one of the following structures: (Structure 1) S1ₐ-M₆-S2c ; (Structure 2) S1ₐ-Nd-S2 ; (Structure 3) S1ₐ-M₆-Nd-S2c ; (Structure 4) S1ₐ-Nd-M₆-Nd-S2c (Structure 5) S1ₐ-M₀-Nd-M₆-S2c ; or any combinations thereof; wherein 'M' comprises a meltblown layer or a melt-fibrillated layer; 'N' comprises a sub-micron fiber-containing layer, such as electrospun fibers; 'S1' comprises a first spunbond layer; 'S2' comprises a second spunbond layer; 'a' represents the number of layers and is independently selected from 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5; 'b' represents the number of layers is independently selected from 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8; 'c' represents the number of layers is independently selected from 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5; and 'd' represents the number of layers is independently selected from 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8; 'e' represents the number of layers is independently selected from 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 as per instant claim 14 and co-pending claim 14.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the first nonwoven fabric has a structure according to Structure 1, and wherein ‘a’ is 1 or 2; ‘b’ is 3, 4, or 5, and ‘c’ is 1 or 2 as per instant claim 15 and co-pending claim 15.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the first nonwoven fabric has a hydrohead from about 30 mbar, an air permeability of 5 CFM or greater according to IST 70.1, or both as per instant claim 16 and co-pending claim 16.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein an underpad for a low air loss bed, comprising: (i) a backsheet comprising a barrier fabric according to claim 1; (ii) a liquid permeable topsheet; and (iii) an absorbent core located between the backsheet and the liquid permeable topsheet as per instant claim 17 and co-pending claim 17.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the back sheet is devoid of a film as per instant claim 18 and co-pending claim 18.
Please note that U.S. Patent Application 18/610,740 corresponds to U.S. Pre Grant Publication 20240316898.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786