DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 20, 2025, was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 15-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babich (US 10234257 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Babich teaches an alignment tool usable for marking a component, the alignment tool comprising:
a frame (figs. 7-9; carpenter’s square 50; col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27);
at least two thumbscrews that are adapted to engage the frame of the alignment tool with the component (figs. 2a-b, 9; thumbscrews 12; col. 4, ln. 42-55 and col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27);
a marked level patch to indicate an alignment of the alignment tool relative to the component when the component is not in its final orientation (fig. 9; level 68; col. 8, lns. 9-27); and
at least one magnet coupled to a front surface of the frame, wherein the at least one magnet is adapted to removably couple the frame with the component (figs. 2a-b, 9; magnets 22; col. 5, lns. 12-45).
Babich teaches thumbscrews. Since thumbscrews are in fact pins with threads, Babich reads on the claimed invention. Alternatively, pins with no threads would have been an obvious functionally equivalent substitution for the thumbscrew of Babich as a means adapted to engage the frame with the component.
Therefore, the alignment tool of the claim would have been rendered obvious by the apparatus of Babich to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, Babich teaches the alignment tool of claim 1 further comprising at least one second fastener, wherein the at least one second fastener removably couples the at least one magnet with the frame (figs. 2a-b, 9; thumbscrews 12; col. 4, ln. 42-55 and col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27).
Regarding claim 6, Babich teaches the alignment tool of claim 1, wherein the frame includes a truss-shaped design or an L-shaped profile (fig. 9; carpenter’s square 50; col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27).
Regarding claim 7, Babich teaches the alignment tool of claim 1, further comprising a level gauge coupled to the frame to further indicate a horizontal alignment of the alignment tool relative to the component when the component is not in its final orientation (fig. 9; levels 68; col. 8, lns. 9-27).
Regarding claim 8, Babich teaches wherein the frame is adapted to engage with a marking tool for marking serial numbers or text on the component (figs. 7-9; carpenter’s square 50; col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27).
It is noted that the marking tool is not a positively recited element of the claim, and any function attributed to it merely provides additional structural definition to the frame. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a carpenter’s square is adapted to engage with marking tools such as pencils. Attention is invited to MPEP § 2114.
Regarding claim 9, Babich teaches the alignment tool of claim 8, wherein the frame defines a tool receiving portion that is adapted to at least partially receive the marking tool (figs. 7-9; carpenter’s square 50; col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the ruled edges of a carpenter’s square are usable to receive marking tools such as pencils.
Regarding claim 11, Babich teaches an alignment tool usable for marking a component, the alignment tool comprising:
a frame adapted to engage with a marking tool to mark serial numbers or text on the component, and wherein the frame defines a tool receiving portion that is adapted to at least partially receive the marking tool (figs. 7-9; carpenter’s square 50; col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27);
at least two thumbscrews that are adapted to engage the frame of the alignment tool with the component (figs. 2a-b, 9; thumbscrews 12; col. 4, ln. 42-55 and col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27);
a marked level patch to indicate an alignment of the alignment tool relative to the component when the component is not in its final orientation (fig. 9; level 68; col. 8, lns. 9-27);
a level gauge coupled to the frame to further indicate a horizontal alignment of the alignment tool relative to the component when the component is not in its final orientation (fig. 9; levels 68; col. 8, lns. 9-27); and
at least one magnet coupled to a front surface of the frame, wherein the at least one magnet is adapted to removably couple the frame with the component (figs. 2a-b, 9; magnets 22; col. 5, lns. 12-45).
Babich teaches thumbscrews. Since thumbscrews are in fact pins with threads, Babich reads on the claimed invention. Alternatively, pins with no threads would have been an obvious functionally equivalent substitution for the thumbscrew of Babich as a means adapted to engage the frame with the component.
Therefore, the alignment tool of the claim would have been rendered obvious by the apparatus of Babich to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
It is noted that the marking tool is not a positively recited element of the claim, and any function attributed to the marking tool merely provides additional structural definition to the frame. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a carpenter’s square is adapted to engage with marking tools such as pencils. Attention is invited to MPEP § 2114.
Regarding claim 15, Babich teaches the alignment tool of claim 11 further comprising at least one second fastener, wherein the at least one second fastener removably couples the at least one magnet with the frame (figs. 2a-b, 9; thumbscrews 12; col. 4, ln. 42-55 and col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27).
Regarding claim 16, Babich teaches the alignment tool of claim 11, wherein the frame includes a truss-shaped design or an L-shaped profile (fig. 9; carpenter’s square 50; col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27).
Regarding claim 18, Babich teaches a method of coupling an alignment tool with a component for marking the component, the method comprising:
providing the alignment tool, wherein the alignment tool includes a frame (figs. 7-9; carpenter’s square 50; col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27);
engaging, via at least two thumbscrews of the alignment tool, the frame of the alignment tool with the component (figs. 2a-b, 9; thumbscrews 12; col. 4, ln. 42-55 and col. 7, ln. 41 to col. 8, ln. 27);
indicating, via a marked level patch of the alignment tool, an alignment of the alignment tool relative to the component when the component is not in its final orientation (fig. 9; level 68; col. 8, lns. 9-27);
indicating, via a level gauge of the alignment tool, a horizontal alignment of the alignment tool relative to the component when the component is not in its final orientation, wherein the level gauge is coupled to the frame (fig. 9; levels 68; col. 8, lns. 9-27); and
removably coupling, via at least one magnet of the alignment tool, the frame with the component before the at least two retaining pins engage the frame of the alignment tool with the component, wherein the at least one magnet is coupled to a front surface of the frame (figs. 2a-b, 9; magnets 22; col. 5, lns. 12-45).
Babich teaches thumbscrews. Since thumbscrews are in fact pins with threads, Babich reads on the claimed invention. Alternatively, pins with no threads would have been an obvious functionally equivalent substitution for the thumbscrew of Babich as a means adapted to engage the frame with the component.
Therefore, the method of the claim would have been rendered obvious by the apparatus of Babich to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 10, 12-14, 17, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the alignment tool of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, wherein the at least two retaining pins include a first retaining pin that is coupled to a rear surface of the frame.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the alignment tool of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, wherein the frame defines a plurality of grooves facing the tool receiving portion, wherein the plurality of grooves are adapted to at least partially receive the marking tool to engage the marking tool with the frame.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the alignment tool of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, wherein the at least two retaining pins include a first retaining pin that is coupled to a rear surface of the frame.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the alignment tool of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, wherein the frame defines a plurality of grooves facing the tool receiving portion, wherein the plurality of grooves are adapted to at least partially receive the marking tool to engage the marking tool with the frame.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the method of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, wherein the at least two retaining pins include a first retaining pin that is coupled to a rear surface of the frame and a second retaining pin extending from the rear surface of the frame, wherein engaging the frame of the alignment tool with the component further includes allowing a movement of the alignment tool under a force of gravity until the second retaining pin engages with a shoulder of the component.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the method of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, wherein the frame defines a tool receiving portion, the method further comprising: at least partially receiving a marking tool within the tool receiving portion defined by the frame; engaging the marking tool with the frame; and marking serial numbers or text on the component when the marking tool is engaged with the frame.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Barraud et al. (US 20220193885 A1) teaches a handheld marking tool with an alignment and standoff frame attached by fasteners and magnets. Hios (US 7305773 B2) teaches a hand tool comprising levels.
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853