DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 19/085,332 on April 14, 2026. Please note Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined. Please note Claims 1-8 have been withdrawn in light of an earlier restriction requirement.
America Invents Act
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 14-20 allowed.
Claim 14 has been amended to recite the limitations of previously objected Claim 15, focusing on measuring similarities between individual candidate objects and graphics display surfaces.
4. Claims 11 and 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 recites details of additional cameras, additional/second fields of view and specifically what is done in these with the additional motion of the graphics input tool, etc. This level of detail is not taught. Claim 12 is dependent from Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 9, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Erivantcev et al. ( US 2022/0291753 A1 ).
Erivantcev teaches in Claim 9:
A computing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors ( [0241]-[0242] disclose the microprocessor is coupled to the cache memory and [0247] discloses the execution of code/instructions ), cause the computing apparatus to perform operations comprising:
obtaining camera data that corresponds to one or more images of a field of view captured by a camera ( Figure 2, [0076] discloses using an optical input device 133 to project content on the field of view of the surrounding area in front of the user. [0188], [0427] discloses the use of the optical input device, a camera, etc to capture a field of view of. Furthermore, please see Figure 20, [0179] which details block 201 );
analyzing the camera data to determine an augmented reality (AR) graphics display surface included in the field of view, the AR graphics display surface being a two-dimensional surface having at least a minimum length and at least a minimum width ( Figure 2, [0076] discloses a display screen 116 projected by the AR glasses on the field of view of the surrounding area in front of the user. The projected screen has a two-dimensional surface with a length and width, as shown );
determining first coordinates in real world space that correspond to the AR graphics display surface ( Figure 2, [0076] disclose using the gaze information to project the display screen 116 on the field of view. Respectfully, as shown, this entails determining coordinates of the display surface, dependent on the gaze );
analyzing the camera data to detect a graphics input tool included in the field of view ( Figure 20, [0181] discloses monitoring the user’s eye gaze direction vector to determine geometry data which are the objects in the virtual reality content with which the user is allowed to interact with, commands to operate the objects and gestures usable to invoke the respective commands. Please note [0164], etc which discloses various context factors and [0178] discloses a sensor manager 103 to control an application 105 which can run on a computing device, server system, etc. Respectfully, these are examples of capturing the user’s field of view, determining aspects such as context, application specifics, etc, to determine the appropriate display data in the user’s field of view. Figure 2, [0075], [0043] discloses motion input module 121 (read as a graphics input tool) and Figure 3, [0078] discloses motion of input module 121 within the field of view to determine inputs );
determining, based on the camera data, motion of the graphics input tool while the graphics input tool is within a threshold distance of the AR graphics display surface ( Figure 4, [0082]-[0084 discloses a motion input of the motion input module 121 to select a window and a subsequent command to operate the window, using swipe gestures, etc, which are examples of a path of motion. In general, the motion is tracked, i.e. path tracking, as shown in Figures 4-8, etc. By using such inputs, aspects of interest, such as motions, etc, can be determined. As Figures 4-8 show, the inputs are only accepted/processed when the input module 121 is within a threshold distance of the projected display screen 116 ); and
causing display of a user interface overlaid on the AR graphics display surface, the user interface including an AR graphic that corresponds to the motion of the graphics input tool ( Figures 4-7, [0082]+ disclose motion-type gestures of the motion input module 121 which can allow the user to interact with the displayed contents. Such gestures result in changes to the displayed contents. Examples provided are detailed in Figure 4, [0124]-[0127] which detail swipe gestures on the module 121 which can cause interactions with main menus, etc (menus have shape and/or contours, etc). Furthermore, please note the combination below as well )
based on determining that the field of view of the camera has changed from a first field of view that includes the AR graphics display surface to a second field of view in which the AR graphics display surface is absent, causing the AR graphic to be removed from the user interface, wherein the second field of view corresponds to second coordinates in real world space different from the first coordinates in real world space; and causing the AR graphic to be re-displayed in the user interface based on the field of view of the camera being modified from the second coordinates in real world space to the first coordinates in real world space. ( Respectfully, Erivantcev ([0011]), etc teach of using cameras to determine the field of view and this determines the context mode activated by the user, [0076]. The inputs from the motion input module and can be interpreted differently by the sensor manager. To clarify, depending on what is detected within the field of view or not (read as absent), the AR experience is adjusted (read as removing). As the user shifts the gaze, the display screen 116 is re-projected, along with the elements within the display screen, as shown in Figure 2 )
Erivantcev teaches in Claim 10:
The computing apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first coordinates in real world space correspond to boundaries of the AR graphics display surface. ( Figure 2 shows a reasonable outline of the display screen 116, including graphical items within in. In general, these projected elements are within the field of view, which entails boundaries )
Erivantcev teaches in Claim 13:
The computing apparatus of claim 9, wherein the memory stores additional instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the computing apparatus to perform additional operations comprising:
determining that the field of view of the camera has changed from the second field of view back to the first field of view; and causing the user interface to be modified by adding the AR graphic back into the user interface in response to the field of view of the camera changing from the second field of view to the first field of view. ( The same reasoning above is also applicable here. Erivantcev teaches of adjusting the reality experience based on what is captured in the field of view. For elements within the field of view, the graphical interface is adjusted (read as re-displayed, etc) )
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments, notably to Claim 9.
Applicant mostly argues for the limitations of Claim 14, which Examiner has now removed the rejection for and has marked allowable. However, no arguments are seemingly presented for Claim 9 and essentially the limitations of Claim 10 (and not objected to Claim 11), have been incorporated instead. The same reasoning applied in Claim 10 is similarly applied to Claim 9 as well now.
Conclusions
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621