DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the modular housing with open ends between the side walls configured to attach to one or more additional modular housings to create a lighting fixture with two or three dimensional shape; the housing having a track inside for attachment to a bracket; wherein the end of the one module is connected to another end of another module in such a configuration that that modular housing and lens of the two modules align ( please note that the only lens described in the Specification and Drawings is lens 2 which belongs to the triangular modular housing),wherein the module is configured to be attached to another module of the same or different shape, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "wherein the triangular housing has curved sidewalls at least one of the curved sidewalls configures to form part of a circle" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11, from which claim 15 depends does not recite said triangular housing.
Regarding claim 19, Applicant recites “f. one or more plugs for carrying electricity to the LED board” and “g. a plug for making an electric connection placed at one or more ends”. As currently recited, it appears the plugs and plug, respectively, are two different types of plugs. The Specification only describes plug 8. For these reasons, claim 19 is considered vague and indefinite.
As best understood, the following rejection applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,5,7-9,11,12,17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shiner et al (12,320,492, Shiner)
.
Regarding claim 1, Shiner discloses a modular lighting system(100) comprising :. a modular housing with a top (106) and sidewalls(104a), and open ends in between the sidewalls (fig 2 shows open ends, both right and left of the lighting system); an LED board place inside of the modular housing(406, Fig. 4b) ;c. a plurality of LED light sources placed on the LED board, the LED light sources facing downwardly(col. 11, lines 58-67); and. a lens placed below the LED board(118); wherein the housing is configured to attach to one or more additional modular housings( by means of 310 and 312, and 16, Figs. 3a-3c) to create a lighting fixture with two- or three-dimensional shape; wherein a top of the housing has an opening for attachment to a ceiling by a wire (112a, 112b, fig. 4b.)
Regarding claim 5, the module has two internal compartments, above and below the LED board (fig. 4b)
Regarding claim 7. the housing has a track inside for attachment to a bracket.(figs.3a and 3b, by means of 316).
Regarding claim 8, the end of one module is connected to another end of another module in such configuration that the modular housing and lens of the two modules align (fig. 3e).
Regarding claim 9,compartments inside of the housing formed below and above the LED board continue from one module to another without presence of an end cap.(Figs. 3a-3e)
Regarding claim 11, Shiner discloses a modular light system comprising: a housing with a top, and two or more sidewalls(4b,) . an LED board placed inside of the housing, the LED board creating an upper and a lower compartment(406, Fig. 4b); c. a plurality of LED light sources placed on the LED board in the lower compartment (col. 12 lines 20-23; 516, fig. 5a); d. one or more openings in between the sidewalls(fig. 4b); . a lens placed below the LED board for light to leave the lower compartment(118);and one or more plugs for carrying electricity to the LED board, the plugs placed at the ends( as broadly interpreted, Shiner discloses a plug for carrying electricity to the LED board located on a top end (520, Fig. 5e)); wherein the module is configured to be attached to another module of same or different shape(figs. 3f and 6) .
Regarding 12, a track on inside of the sidewalls (figs. 4b, 5e and 6) for receiving a bracket.
Regarding claim 17,the housing has two ends, the two ends perpendicular to each other(fig. 2).
Regarding claim18, wherein the housing is shaped, (figs, 4a and 4b).
Regarding claim 19. Shiner discloses a modular lighting system comprising: a. a housing with top, and two or more sidewalls (100) ;b. an LED board placed inside of the housing(406), the LED board creating an upper and a lower compartment(figs. 4a and 4b); c. a plurality of LED light sources placed on the LED board in the lower compartment(col. 12 lines 20-23; 516, fig. 5a); d. one or more openings in between the sidewalls(figs. 4a-4b) ;e. a lens placed below the LED board for light to leave the lower compartment(118); and f. one or more plugs for carrying electricity to the LED board (520); g. a plug for making an electric connection placed at one or more the ends(top end, 520, Figs. 5d and 5e), ; and h. a track on inside of the sidewalls for receiving a bracket (fig. 6 and figs 3a-3c); wherein the module is configured to be attached to another module of same or different shape (Fig. 3e).
Regarding claim 20, the housing is configured to attach to another housing without an end cap (figs. 3a-3c).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Garret et al (12,529,457).
Regarding claim 21, Garret discloses a modular lighting system (110,fig. 20) comprising :a. a modular housing with a top (Fig. 4, top side of the device before installation of the PCB ) and sidewalls(120), and open ends in between the sidewalls (162, fig. 19);b. an LED board place inside of the modular housing(152);c. a plurality of LED light sources placed on the LED board(156), the LED light sources facing downwardly(figs. 19 and 20); and . a lens (110)placed below the LED board (as broadly interpreted with respect to placement of the device); wherein the housing is configured to attach to one or more additional modular housings to create a lighting fixture with two- or three-dimensional shape(figs 20-30); wherein the modular housing is triangular (as broadly interpreted, as seen in from a side view , figs 11-13), with curved sidewalls (112,114, when combined with the base 120) and open ends between the sidewalls(162, fig. 19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2,3,13,14,16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Shiner discloses the limitations of independent claims 1,11,19 above . Shiner does not anticipate individually or teach in combination the limitations of claims 2,3,13,14,16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) as shown in the remarks dated 10/23/25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ANABEL TON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875