DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Application filed on 3/20/2025 in which claims 1-14 were presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pivotally coupled” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: recites “a body” change to –the body--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 3-4 and 10-11 are claiming that the protector extends along the entire length of the edge and portion of the edge, it is unclear if the protector extends along the entire length or portion of it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Specifically, these claims recite human body parts, of which limitations positively reciting non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1 and 8 change “”to protect a nose” to –is configured to protect--. And “to receive a head” to –for receiving a head--.
Claims 2-7 and 9-14 are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alessi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2014/0157474 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Alessi et al. “Alessi” discloses a visor for a helmet (See Fig. 1), comprising:
a transparent structure (13) having a pair of lateral edges (upper edge adjacent the forehead of the wearer and a lower edge adjacent the nose of the wearer when worn); and
a protector (18) coupled to one of the pair of lateral edges of the transparent structure (Fig. 1 illustrates that the protector is coupled the lower edge adjacent the nose of the wearer), wherein the protector is made of soft material (para. 0030 describe that the material is rubber which was considered as soft) (capable) to protect a nose or chin of a user from any potential cut (when worn).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Alessi discloses a visor wherein the transparent structure (13) is pivotally coupled to a body of the helmet (Figs. 3 and 4 illustrates that the transparent structure is pivotally coupled to the body of the helmet).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Alessi discloses a visor wherein the protector (18) extends along an entire length of the one of the pair of lateral edges of the transparent structure (See Fig. 1 wherein the length is the length where the protector is present).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Alessi discloses a visor wherein the protector (18) extends along a portion of the one of the pair of lateral edges of the transparent structure (as shown in Fig. 1 wherein the protector extends only on the lower edge but not on the upper edge).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Alessi discloses a visor wherein the protector (18) is made of polyurethane, silicon, natural rubber, styrene-butadiene rubber, butyl rubber, nitrile rubber, neoprene rubber, ethylene propylene diene monomer, hydrogenated nitrile rubber, fluoro-silicone rubber, or any combination thereof (para. 0033 discloses rubber).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Alessi et al. “Alessi” discloses a helmet (See Fig. 1), comprising:
a body (10) defining a cavity (12) to receive a head of a user (para. 0030); and
a transparent structure (13) having a pair of lateral edges (upper edge adjacent the forehead of the wearer and a lower edge adjacent the nose of the wearer when worn); and
a protector (18) coupled to one of the pair of lateral edges of the transparent structure (Fig. 1 illustrates that the protector is coupled the lower edge adjacent the nose of the wearer), wherein the protector is made of soft material (para. 0030 describe that the material is rubber which was considered as soft) (capable) to protect a nose or chin of a user from any potential cut (when worn).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alessi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2014/0157474 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Alessi discloses a visor wherein a thickness of the protector (18) is between 1-0.5 inches (25.4 millimeter and 6.35 millimeters).
Alessi does not disclose that the thickness of the protector is between 1 millimeter and 5 millimeters.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protector thickness between 1 millimeter and 5 millimeters in order to customize the intended use of the device, for example a protector made for a hockey helmet may require thicker protector that a device made for bicycle helmet, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered (See PTO-892) pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KHALED ANNIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732