DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 14th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claims 1 and 8, Applicant has amended their claim to recite “wherein the elongate element is unthreaded in at least a middle portion of the elongate element between the first arm and the second arm”. And argues that the prior art of Dinkler et al. fails to teach or disclose this structural feature. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. Dinkler et al. teaches that the elongate element is unthreaded in the middle portion as flat 100 is unthreaded along the entire length of the elongate element. As a result, Applicant’s arguments and remarks are not found persuasive to overcome the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Dinkler et al. (US 5,616,117).
Regarding claim 1, Dinkler et al. disclose a two-bladed retractor system comprising a first retractor blade (24); a second retractor blade (25) facing the first retractor blade; a first arm (22) extending from a proximal end (@106) of the first retractor blade and defining a first axis (see figure below); a second arm (23) extending from a proximal end (@106) of the second retractor blade and defining a second axis (see figure below); an elongate element (26) having a length (see figure below) defining a third axis (91), wherein the length is greater than a width (see figure below) and a depth (see figure below) of the elongate element and the elongate element is configured to slidingly receive the first arm and the second arm (column 4, lines 14-23), such that the first axis is parallel to the second axis and the first axis and the second axis are perpendicular to the third axis (figure 1), wherein the elongate element is unthreaded in at least a middle portion of the elongate element between the first arm and the second arm (the elongate element is unthreaded in the middle portion as flat 100 is unthreaded along the entire length of the elongate element).
Regarding claim 2, Dinkler et al. disclose the first retractor blade and the second retractor blade define a surgical opening located between a first retractor blade facing surface and a second retractor blade facing surface (figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Dinkler et al. disclose the first axis does not intersect the surgical opening (figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Dinkler et al. disclose the two-bladed retractor system comprises exactly two retractor blades (figure 1). Regarding claim 5, Dinkler et al. disclose means for moving (32) the first retractor blade relative to the elongate element (column 4, lines 14-23).
Regarding claim 6, Dinkler et al. disclose means for moving (33) the second retractor blade relative to the elongate element (column 4, lines 14-43).
Regarding claim 7, Dinkler et al. disclose a length of the first retractor blade is orthogonal to a length of the first arm and a length of the second retractor blade is orthogonal to a length of the second arm (figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Dinkler et al. disclose a two-blade surgical retractor system comprising an elongate element (26) comprising a first end (see figure below) and a second end (see figure below) with a length (see figure below) therebetween, the elongate element defining a first axis (91) along the length thereof, a first retractor blade (24 + 22) having a first arm (22) extending from a proximal end (@106) of the first retractor blade and a first blade face (see figure below); a second retractor blade (25 + 23) having a second arm (23) extending from a proximal end (@106) of the second retractor blade and a second blade face (see figure below) that faces the first blade face, wherein the first arm and the second arm are sliding received by the elongate element (column 4, lines 14-23) and the second retractor blade defines a reference point (108) located thereon, wherein, when the second arm slides relative to the elongate element, the reference point defined by the second retractor blade moves in a linear direction parallel to the first axis along which the second retractor arm translates and orthogonal to the second retractor blade face (figure 1), wherein the elongate element is unthreaded in at least a middle portion of the elongate element between the first arm and the second arm (the elongate element is unthreaded in the middle portion as flat 100 is unthreaded along the entire length of the elongate element).
Regarding claim 9, Dinkler et al. disclose the first retractor blade and the second retractor blade define a surgical opening located between the first retractor blade face and the second retractor blade face (figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Dinkler et al. disclose the first axis does not intersect the surgical opening (figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Dinkler et al. disclose the two-bladed retractor system comprises exactly two retractor blades (figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Dinkler et al. disclose means for moving (32) the first retractor blade relative to the elongate element (column 4, lines 14-23).
Regarding claim 13, Dinkler et al. disclose means for moving (33) the second retractor blade relative to the elongate element (column 4, lines 14-43).
Regarding claim 14, Dinkler et al. disclose a length of the first retractor blade is orthogonal to a length of the first arm and a length of the second retractor blade is orthogonal to a length of the second arm (figure 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619