DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Application Status
This office action is in response to the claims filed 3/20/2025.
Claims 21-37 are currently pending and being examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The 3 filed IDS documents have been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 forms.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one thread formed in a region of the lubricant labyrinth seal” (see claims 27-30) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 27-30:
Claim 27 recites “wherein at least one thread is formed in a region of the lubricant labyrinth seal”. However, due to its lack of sufficient disclosure and omission from the drawings, Examiner cannot reasonably interpret what is meant by the at least one thread without a great deal of confusion and uncertainty. For example, a thread in the tool context usually means a screw-type threading for mating two elements, however, the disclosure does not appear to implement any screwing elements/action, rendering the at least one thread indefinite. MPEP 2173.06 II states “where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.” Because the at least one thread is indefinite, the proper interpretation of claims 27-30 cannot be ascertained and a fair examination of those claims cannot be properly conducted at this time without considerable speculation. Examiner requests Applicant to review and remedy these issues, being careful not to introduce new matter.
Claims 28-30 are therefore also rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-26 and 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa et al. US 8,186,689 in view of Soda et al. US 2007/0080503
Regarding claim 21:
Miyazawa teaches a sealing geometry (21) for a mobile power tool (1) wherein the mobile power tool has a drive unit (driving shaft 12), wherein the sealing geometry is designed to seal off an interior, containing a lubricant (col. 3, lines 64-66), of the drive unit from an exterior outside the drive unit (col. 4, lines 12- 23).
Miyazawa does not teach the sealing geometry having a seal with at least one sealing lip that bears against a mating surface at least when the drive unit is at a standstill, and a lubricant labyrinth seal, wherein the at least one sealing lip and the lubricant labyrinth seal are arranged separate from each other.
Soda teaches a related sealing geometry (1) for a drive unit (2), wherein the sealing geometry is designed to seal off an interior (“OS”), containing a lubricant ([0029]), of the drive unit from an exterior outside the drive unit (“AS”), the sealing geometry having a seal with at least one sealing lip (15/16) that bears against a mating surface (21) at least when the drive unit is at a standstill ([0034], “the lip seal portion 15 is formed so that when the rotation of the rotating shaft 2 is stopped, the leading lip end 16 is brought, with an appropriate interference, into resilient contact with a seal-abutment face 21”), and
a lubricant labyrinth seal (e.g., the lubricant path that comprises 23/24/25), wherein the at least one sealing lip and the lubricant labyrinth seal are arranged separate from each other (shown in FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the sealing geometry of Miyazawa, by providing the sealing geometry with a seal with at least one sealing lip that bears against a mating surface at least when the drive unit is at a standstill, and a lubricant labyrinth seal, wherein the at least one sealing lip and the lubricant labyrinth seal are arranged separate from each other, as taught by Soda, since this would provide a contact seal when the drive unit is at a standstill, and a contactless seal when the drive unit is rotated, leading to reduced friction while maintaining the seal.
Regarding claim 22:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the sealing geometry according to claim 21, as discussed above, wherein the lubricant labyrinth seal is arranged upstream of the at least one sealing lip along a flow path of the lubricant (Soda, envisaged in FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 23:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the sealing geometry according to claim 21, as discussed above, wherein the sealing geometry comprises at least one constriction (Soda, e.g., right angle of 11 may be considered a constriction).
Regarding claim 24:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the sealing geometry according to claim 23, as discussed above, wherein the at least one constriction is elongated (Soda, i.e., it is relatively elongated in the sense that it could have been designed shorter).
Regarding claim 25:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the sealing geometry according to claim 21, as discussed above, wherein the sealing geometry has at least one flow obstacle (Soda, e.g., 6).
Regarding claim 26:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the sealing geometry according to claim 21, as discussed above, wherein the sealing geometry is configured to increase a flow resistance of the lubricant in an exit direction from the interior to the exterior (Soda, described in [0071]).
Regarding claim 31:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the sealing geometry according to claim 21, as discussed above, wherein the at least one sealing lip of the sealing geometry is configured such that, during operation of the drive unit, the at least one sealing lip lifts off from the mating surface (Soda, [0034], last sentence; [0053]).
Regarding claim 32:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the sealing geometry according to claim 31, as discussed above, wherein the sealing geometry is designed such that the lifting off of the at least one sealing lip from the mating surface is a result of a centripetal force brought about by the operation of the drive unit (Soda, [0034], last sentence; [0053]).
Regarding claim 33:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches a mobile power tool wherein the mobile power tool has a drive unit and a sealing geometry, wherein the sealing geometry is designed to seal off an interior, containing a lubricant, of the drive unit from an exterior outside the drive unit, wherein the mobile power tool has the sealing geometry according to claim 1 (addressed in rejection of claim 21).
Regarding claim 34:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the mobile power tool according to claim 33, as discussed above, wherein the at least one sealing lip of the sealing geometry is configured such that, during operation of the drive unit, the at least one sealing lip lifts off from the mating surface (Soda, [0034], last sentence; [0053]).
Regarding claim 35:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the mobile power tool according to claim 34, as discussed above, wherein the sealing geometry is designed such that the lifting off or the reduction in the pressure force arises only if a predefined a minimum rotational speed of a shaft of the mobile power tool is exceeded (Soda, evident from [0034], last sentence; [0053]).
Regarding claim 36:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the mobile power tool according to claim 34, as discussed above, wherein the sealing geometry is designed such that the lifting off or the reduction in the pressure force arises as a result of a centripetal force brought about by the operation of the drive unit (Soda, evident from [0034], last sentence; [0053]).
Regarding claim 37:
The combination of Miyazawa and Soda teaches the mobile power tool according to claim 33, as discussed above, further comprising a contaminant labyrinth seal (Soda, e.g., the lubricant path that comprises 23/24/25), the contaminant labyrinth seal being arranged on the drive unit (see FIG. 1).
Conclusion
/DARIUSH SEIF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731