DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 20200387540).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses an electronic device comprising:
a display (Fig. 2(208), [0030]);
at least one processor (Fig. 2(202), [0030]); and
memory (Fig. 2(214)) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively ([0030]), cause the electronic device to:
based on identifying a selection of a screen recording function while displaying a plurality of windows displaying execution of a plurality of applications on a screen of the display, perform the screen recording function for the screen of the display displaying the plurality of windows (Figs. 4A-4C, [0045]: video desktop recording 118 (screen recording function) capturing activities on a desktop);
based on detecting a focused window among the plurality of windows while performing the screen recording function for the screen, record the focused window and an unfocused window (Fig. 3(330): identify a target window (focused window), Figs. 4A-4C, [0045]: detects the presence of one or more windows depicted within a video desktop recording 118 capturing activities on a desktop and identifies a target window (focused window) from among one or more windows; Note: other windows besides target window are interpreted as unfocused windows); and
based on identifying a termination of the screen recording function, store a video in which the focused window and the unfocused window among the plurality of windows are recorded in the memory (Figs. 4A-4C, [0040]: identifies the target window from among the one or more windows detected within the video desktop recording based on closing a window, [0042]: store the updated video desktop recording 118 back in the data store 116, [0043] – [0045]).
As to claim 2, Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: detect, as the focused window, at least one of a window activated and in use by a selection of a user, a window on which a cursor (Fig. 4A(410): pointer) displayed to control the electronic device through an external device connected to the electronic device is located, or a window on which a gaze of the user lingers for a predetermined time, among the plurality of windows (Fig. 4A, [0047]: top-most window or active window due to selection by the user using a pointer 410; Note: since there is “or” between two items listed, Examiner can choose one item from the list to reject the entire limitation).
As to claim 3, Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: record a background image displayed as a background of the plurality of windows, while recording the focused window and the unfocused window among the plurality of windows (Fig. 6, [0045]: identifies a target window (focused window) from among one or more windows, [0051]: determines a target window among a plurality of windows 604, 606, 608, 610. The computing device 102 determines the top-most window by submitting a query, where the query requests enumeration of windows present on the desktop displayed on the computing device 102. Note that Fig. 6 shows background image displayed as a background of the plurality of windows).
As to claim 4, Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
record by expanding a size of the focused window ([0039]: within the video desktop recording, if one of the windows is in a maximized state, the computing device 102 designates that window as the target window (focused window); Note: “maximized state” interpreted as “expanding a size”) and
reducing a size of the unfocused window among the plurality of windows ([0038]: within the video desktop recording, at least one of the windows is in the restored state refers to a window that is not in a maximized state; Note: “restored state that is not in a maximized state” interpreted as “reducing a size” and a restored window (not in a maximized state) is interpreted as a unfocused window).
As to claim 5, Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: record, while displaying the focused window on the screen of the display and not displaying the unfocused window among the plurality of windows (Fig. 7, [0052]: window 702 in a maximized state and automatically designated as a target window (focused window)).
As to claim 6, Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying a selection of screen capture while displaying the plurality of windows on the screen of the display, detect the focused window among the plurality of windows and store the focused window and the unfocused window as an image (Fig. 4A, 6, [0038], [0051]: the computing device 102 determines the top-most window by submitting a query to the operating system executing on the computing device 102, where query requests enumeration of windows present on the desktop displayed on the computing device 102. Therefore, the plurality of windows stored as an image. Note: a target window (focused window) is identified among one or more windows as described in [0045]; other windows beside target window are interpreted as unfocused windows).
As to claim 7, Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
store the image in which a size of the focused window is expanded ([0039]: within the video desktop recording, if one of the windows is in a maximized state, the computing device 102 designates that window as the target window (focused window); Note: “maximized state” interpreted as “expanding a size”) and
a size of the unfocused window is reduced among the plurality of windows ([0038]: within the video desktop recording, at least one of the windows is in the restored state refers to a window that is not in a maximized state; Note: “restored state that is not in a maximized state” interpreted as “reducing a size” and a restored window (not in a maximized state) is interpreted as a unfocused window).
As to claim 8, Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: store the image in which the focused window is displayed on the screen of the display and not displaying the unfocused window among the plurality of windows ([0042]: if the user minimizes (not displaying) a first window and a second window is identified as a new target window; Note: second window becomes new target window (focused window) and minimized first window becomes unfocused window which is not displaying).
As to claims 11-15, it is the operation performed by the claims 1-5. Please see claims 1-5 for detail analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20200387540) in view of O’leary et al. (US 20230098395) and in further view of Krasadakis (US 20170212583).
As to claim 9, Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, based on the electronic device, cause the electronic device to: while performing the screen recording function for the display displaying the plurality of windows according to a selection of the screen recording function, perform the screen recording function, while detecting, as the focused window, at least one of a window selected by a controller communication-connected to the electronic device, a window selected among the plurality of windows (Figs. 4A-4C, [0045], [0047] – [0048]: user selects target window (focused window) among a plurality of windows).
Chen does not specifically teach a head mounted display (HMD) device, performing the screen recording function for the display displaying the plurality of windows in a three-dimensional space, and a window selected by a hand motion of a user, or a window on which a gaze of the user lingers for a predetermined time.
O’leary teaches a head mounted display (HMD) device ([0559]: head mounted display) and performing the screen recording function for the display displaying the plurality of windows in a three-dimensional space (Fig. 6A, [0113]: “three dimensional” scene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s electronic device by incorporating O’leary’ idea of using a head mounted display device in order to provide a user hands-free operation.
Chen (as modified by O’leary) do not explicitly teach a window selected by a hand motion of a user, or a window on which a gaze of the user lingers for a predetermined time.
Krasadakis teaches a window selected by a hand motion of a user, or a window on which a gaze of the user lingers for a predetermined time (Fig. 3, [0057]: gaze 306 causes the UI window to come into focus, [0070]: gaze detector 134 performs a check to see whether a threshold amount of time has elapsed; if the threshold amount of time has been met, the UI window is brought into focus or activated. Note: since there is “or” between two items listed, Examiner can choose one item from the list to reject the entire limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Chen (as modified by O’leary) by adapting Krasadakis’ idea of selecting window by gaze in order to provide a user more flexibility.
As to claim 10, Chen teaches the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: record a background of the plurality of windows as a background image, while recording the focused window and the unfocused window among the plurality of windows (Fig. 6, [0045]: identifies a target window (focused window) from among one or more windows, [0051]: determines a target window among a plurality of windows 604, 606, 608, 610. The computing device 102 determines the top-most window by submitting a query, where the query requests enumeration of windows present on the desktop displayed on the computing device 102. Note that Fig. 6 shows background image displayed as a background of the plurality of windows).
Chen does not expressly teach record the three-dimensional space displayed as a background of the plurality of windows as a background image.
O’leary teaches record the three-dimensional space displayed as a background of the plurality of windows as a background image (Fig. 6A, [0113]: “three dimensional” scene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s electronic device by incorporating O’leary’ idea of including three-dimensional space in order to improve quality of displaying plurality of windows.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) Choi et al. (US 20150220215) teaches record by expanding a size of the focused window and reducing a size of the unfocused window among the plurality of windows (Fig. 3, [0046], [0052] – [0053]).
/AFROZA CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628