October 6, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pins and tails” in Claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). In the specification, Applicant describes that “…..the first and second connectors 120a,b may include complementary mating features, such as alternating pins and tails provided on the first connector 120a and complementary pins and tails provided on the second connector 120b.” However, the “pins and tails” are not labeled or provided with reference numbers. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. In Claim 3, Applicant claims that “the first connector comprises alternating pins and tails and the second connector comprises alternating pins and tails complementary to the first connector.” However, the “pins and tails” are not shown or at least are not labeled in the drawings for one of ordinary skill in the art to know what they are and how he “pins and tails” and their interconnection to the first and second connectors and how the first connector and the second connector are configured to interlock without the use of tools to secure the molded back portion to the molded leg portion with the use of the “pins and tails”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinman (U.S. Patent No. 12,053,091 B1) in view of Berenson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,486,083 B2).
Steinman teaches the structure substantially as claimed including a pool chair system comprising: a molded back portion having a first internal cavity 24; a molded leg portion having a second internal cavity 24;
wherein each of the first internal cavity and the second internal cavity have an open inlet 26, 26 and an open outlet 28,28, wherein the outlet 28,28 is at a higher elevation than the corresponding inlet 26,26, and
wherein, as the pool chair is at least partially submerged, each outlet 28,28 is configured to release air as water enters a corresponding cavity through the inlet 26,26 but does not teach that the molded back portion has a first connector and that the molded leg portion has a second connector; wherein the first connector and the second connector are configured to interlock without the use of tools to secure the molded back portion to the molded leg portion.
However, Berenson et al. teach the concept of a modular pool chair system comprising a molded back portion having a first connector 64 and that the molded leg portion having a second connector 62; wherein the first connector 64 and the second connector 62 are configured to interlock without the use of tools to secure the molded back portion to the molded leg portion. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pool chair system, as taught by Steinman, to include a molded back portion having a first connector and a molded leg portion having a second connector; wherein the first connector and the second connector are configured to interlock without the use of tools to secure the molded back portion to the molded leg portion, as taught by Berenson et al., since it would create a pool chair system having back portion and leg portion that are detachably connected to one another which would allow the back portion to be folded over the leg portion or would allow the pool chair to be disassembled, either scenarios allowing the pool chair system to be stored in a more compact condition when not in use. The combination would also allow each of the molded back portion and the molded leg portion are separately fillable with water through their respective inlets, as defi8ned in Claim 7
As for Claim 6, Steinman teaches that each inlet and each outlet is a hole through a surface of the molded back portion or molded leg portion.
As for Claim 9, Steinman teaches that the inlet of the first internal cavity is located in a foot of the molded back portion.
As for Claim 10, Steinman teaches the inlet of the second internal cavity is located in a foot of the molded leg portion.
As for Claim 11, Steinman teaches that the outlet of the first internal cavity is located at a top of a back surface of the molded back portion.
As for Claim 12, Steinman teaches that the outlet of the second internal cavity is located on a bottom surface of the molded leg portion at a peak of a knee bend.
As for Claim 14, Steinman teaches that each inlet and each outlet is always open.
As for Claims 16-17, Steinman teaches that the molded chair portion is a chair back; wherein the molded chair component is a leg rest.
Claims 1-2, 6-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinman (U.S. Patent No. 12,053,091 B1) in view of Wu (U.S. Patent No. 6,189,973 B1) or Arnold, IV et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,567,867 B2).
Steinman teaches the structure substantially as claimed (see the above 103 Rejection of Steinman (U.S. Patent No. 12,053,091 B1) in view of Berenson et al.) but does not teach that the molded back portion has a first connector and that the molded leg portion has a second connector; wherein the first connector and the second connector are configured to interlock without the use of tools to secure the molded back portion to the molded leg portion.
However, Wu and Arnold, IV et al. teach the concept of a molded back portion having a first connector and a seat portion having a second connector; wherein the first connector and the second connector are configured to interlock without the use of tools to secure the molded back portion to the molded leg portion. Both Wu and Arnold, IV et al. also teach first and second connectors that are various dovetail joints used to connect a back portion of a chair to a seat portion of the chair. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pool chair system, as taught by Steinman, to include a molded back portion having a first connector and a molded leg portion having a second connector; wherein the first connector and the second connector are configured to interlock without the use of tools to secure the molded back portion to the molded leg portion, as taught by Wu or Arnold, IV et al., since it would create a pool chair system having back portion and leg portion that are detachably connected to one another which would allow the back portion to be folded over the leg portion or would allow the back portion to be detachably connected to the leg portion and resulting in a pool chair that can be disassembled, with either scenario allowing the pool chair system to be stored in a more compact condition when not in use. The combination would also allow each of the molded back portion and the molded leg portion are separately fillable with water through their respective inlets, as defi8ned in Claim 7
As for Claim 6, Steinman teaches that each inlet and each outlet is a hole through a surface of the molded back portion or molded leg portion.
As for Claim 9, Steinman teaches that the inlet of the first internal cavity is located in a foot of the molded back portion.
As for Claim 10, Steinman teaches that the inlet of the second internal cavity is located in a foot of the molded leg portion.
As for Claim 11, Steinman teaches that the outlet of the first internal cavity is located at a top of a back surface of the molded back portion.
As for Claim 12, Steinman teaches that the outlet of the second internal cavity is located on a bottom surface of the molded leg portion at a peak of a knee bend.
As for Claim 14, Steinman teaches that each inlet and each outlet is always open.
As for Claims 16-17, Steinman teaches that the molded chair portion is a chair back; wherein the molded chair component is a leg rest.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4-5 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636