DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: T1 (page 2, paragraph [0006], line 7, etc.), T2 (page 2, paragraph [0006], line 9, etc.), and T3 (page 3, line 7, etc.). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 17, 20-21, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (EP 0 571 737 A1; cited in IDS filed 12/4/2025)
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura et al. discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig. 19) comprising: an exposure light source 1701 comprising an organic light emitting element 11a (Figs. 1A and 19); and a photoconductor 1704 configured to receive light emitted from the organic light emitting element 11a, wherein a light emitting intensity of the organic light emitting element 11a at end of supply of current to the organic light emitting element is defined as L₀, a period from the end of supply of current to the organic light emitting element 11a to quenching of the organic light emitting element 11a is defined as T1, a period from start of supply of current to the organic light emitting element 11a to the end of supply of current to the organic light emitting element 11a is defined as T2, and T1 and T2 satisfy a relation of a formula (a): (a) T1 < T2 (Fig. 23A).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura et al. discloses wherein T1 and T2 satisfy a relation of a formula (b): (b) T2/T1 > 1.0. (Fig. 23A)
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura et al. discloses wherein a period from the end of supply of current to the organic light emitting element 11a to start of supply of current to the organic light emitting element 11a is defined as T3, and T1 and T3 satisfy a relation of a formula (c): (c) T1 < T3 (Fig. 23A).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura et al. discloses wherein the organic light emitting element 11a has a top emission structure (Figs. 1A, 3B and 19).
Regarding claim 17, Nakamura et al. discloses wherein the organic light emitting element 11a has an interference structure (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Nakamura et al. discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig. 19) comprising: an exposure light source 1701 comprising an organic light emitting element 11a (Figs. 1A and 19); and a photoconductor 1704 configured to receive light emitted from the organic light emitting element 11a, wherein a light emitting intensity of the organic light emitting element 11a at end of supply of current to the organic light emitting element 11a is defined as Lo, a period from the end of supply of current to the organic light emitting element 11a to quenching of the organic light emitting element 11a is defined as T1, a period from the end of supply of current to the organic light emitting element 11a to start of supply of current to the organic light emitting element 11a is defined as T3, and T1 and T3 satisfy a relation of a formula (c): (c) T1 < T3 (Fig. 23A).
Regarding claim 21, Nakamura et al. discloses wherein the organic light emitting element 11a has a top emission structure (Figs. 1A, 3B and 19).
Regarding claim 32, Nakamura et al. discloses wherein the organic light emitting element 11a has an interference structure (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7-10, 13, 22, 26-27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. in view of Miyashita et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. US 2022/0259229 A1; cited in IDS filed 12/4/2025)
Nakamura et al., as discussed above, differs from the instant claimed invention in not discloses (as in claims 5 and 22) the light emitting material emitting fluorescence; (as in claims 7 and 26) the light emitting material having a condensed polycyclic hydrocarbon skeleton; (as in claim 8) wherein the light emitting material is a hydrocarbon compound; (as in claim 9) wherein the light emitting layer comprises a compound different from the light emitting material, and the compound has a condensed polycyclic hydrocarbon skeleton; (as in claims 10 and 27) wherein the condensed polycyclic hydrocarbon skeleton is a naphthalene skeleton, an anthracene skeleton, a phenanthrene skeleton, a fluorene skeleton, a pyrene skeleton, a triphenylene skeleton, a chrysene skeleton, a tetracene skeleton, or a perylene skeleton; and (as in claims 13 and 29) the fluorescence being delayed fluorescence.
Miyashita et al. discloses an image forming apparatus 40 comprising: an exposure light source 28 comprising an organic light emitting element 36; a photoconductor 27; light emitting material emitting fluorescence (paragraphs [0052], [0070], [0076]); the light emitting material having a condensed polycyclic hydrocarbon skeleton (abstract; paragraphs [0021] and [0053]); wherein the light emitting material is a hydrocarbon compound (paragraph [0085]); wherein the condensed polycyclic hydrocarbon skeleton is a naphthalene skeleton, an anthracene skeleton, a phenanthrene skeleton, a fluorene skeleton, a pyrene skeleton, a triphenylene skeleton, a chrysene skeleton, a tetracene skeleton, or a perylene skeleton (paragraph [0028]); and the fluorescence being delayed fluorescence (paragraphs [0052], [0070], and [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the hydrocarbon compound/skeleton as taught by Miyashita et al. to the light emitting element of Nakamura et al. to prevent a deterioration in luminous efficiency (Miyashita et al., paragraph [0110]).
Claim(s) 6 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. in view of Tsujino et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. US 2010/0214390 A1)
Nakamura et al., as discussed above, differs from the instant claimed invention in not discloses the light emitting material emitting phosphorescence.
Tsujino et al. discloses a light emitting element 72 comprising a light emitting layer 727; and a light emitting material emitting phosphorescence (paragraph [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the emitting phosphorescence as taught by Tsujino et al. to the light emitting material of Nakamura et al. because it is common the energy being emitted as fluorescence or phosphorescence.
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. in view of Tsujino et al. as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Miyashita et al.
Nakamura et al. in view of Tsujino et al., as discussed above, differs from the instant claimed invention in not discloses wherein the light emitting material has a condensed polycyclic hydrocarbon skeleton, and wherein the light emitting material is a hydrocarbon compound.
Miyashita et al. discloses an image forming apparatus 40 comprising: an exposure light source 28 comprising an organic light emitting element 36; a photoconductor 27; light emitting material emitting fluorescence (paragraphs [0052], [0070], [0076]); the light emitting material having a condensed polycyclic hydrocarbon skeleton (abstract; paragraphs [0021] and [0053]); and wherein the light emitting material is a hydrocarbon compound (paragraph [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the hydrocarbon compound/skeleton as taught by Miyashita et al. to the light emitting element of Nakamura et al. in view of Tsujino et al. to prevent a deterioration in luminous efficiency (Miyashita et al., paragraph [0110]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12, 14-16, 18-19, 28, and 30-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Other Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koudo (US Pat. Pub. No. US 2023/0185212 A1) discloses an image forming apparatus comprising: an exposure light source comprising an organic light emitting element; a photoconductor; and the light emitting element having an interference structure.
Nishide et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. US 2024/0292738 A1) discloses an organic light emitting element comprising a light emitting material being a hydrocarbon compound and having a hydrocarbon skeleton.
Contact Information
/SOPHIA S CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
Ssc
October 10, 2026