DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “warp yarn” of claims 13 and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding the last limitation of claims 1 and 2, “at least a partial region of the tether portion” appears twice and leads to a lack of clarity as to whether the partial regions of the tether portion are the same or different partial regions. If the limitation is intended to mean that a partial region of the tether portion can either be bridged over the seat support portion in a front-rear direction or a width direction of the seat, it is advised the limitation is rewritten as: “wherein at least a partial region of the tether portion is bridged over the seat support portion in at least one of: a front-rear direction of the seat; or a width direction of the seat, at a position below the seat cushion air bag” to ensure clarity. Claims 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending on the clarity of claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear if “at least a partial region of the tether portion” is the same as that of claim 2. Claims 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending on the clarity of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear if “at least a partial region of the tether portion” is the same as that of claim 2. Claims 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending on the clarity of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukawatase (US-10710540-B2) alone.
Fukawatase discloses a vehicle seat and seat cushion airbag.
Claim 1 – Fukawatase teaches a seat cushion air bag structure (title) comprising:
a seat support portion (element 30 in figure 4) disposed below a seat surface of a seat of a vehicle (element 12 figure 4);
a seat cushion air bag (element 36 in figure 4) disposed below the seat surface and above the seat support portion and configured to be deployed and inflated when an impact occurs to the vehicle (“in the event of a collision or emergency braking and, as is shown in figure 2, the seat cushion airbag 36 is inflated” in column 5, lines 10-12); and
a tether portion (element 38 in figure 4),
wherein the tether portion is bridged over the seat support portion in at least one of: at least a partial region of the tether portion in a front-rear direction of the seat (figure 2, and in column 4, lines 42-43, the tether portion “extends in the seat front-rear direction”); or at least a partial region of the tether portion in a width direction of the seat, at a position below the seat cushion air bag.
Fukawatase does not specifically teach the tether portion as containing fabric.
Claim 2 – Fukawatase teaches a seat cushion air bag device (title) comprising:
a seat cushion air bag (element 36 in figure 4) disposed below a seat surface of a seat of a vehicle (element 12 figure 4) and above a seat support portion (element 30 in figure 4) of the seat and configured to be deployed and inflated when an impact occurs to the vehicle (“in the event of a collision or emergency braking and, as is shown in figure 2, the seat cushion airbag 36 is inflated” in column 5, lines 10-12); and
a tether portion (element 38 in figure 4),
wherein the tether portion is bridged over the seat support portion in at least one of: at least a partial region of the tether portion in a front-rear direction of the seat (figure 2, and in column 4, lines 42-43, the tether portion “extends in the seat front-rear direction”); or at least a partial region of the tether portion in a width direction of the seat, at a position below the seat cushion air bag.
Fukawatase does not specifically teach the tether portion as containing fabric.
Fukawatase teaches the tether portion, element 38, in column 4, line 41, as “straps” that are “formed in an elongated belt shape”. Fukawatase also teaches the tether portion as “sewn onto” the air bag. Straps used in automotive restraint and airbag systems are commonly made from strong, flexible, and easily sewn materials such as woven fabric due to its high tensile strength and durability. Utilizing a fabric material for the tether portion would have been logical and nothing more than the use of a known material for its known properties in a predictable manner with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the tether portion of Fukawatase contains fabric.
Claim 3 – Fukawatase teaches the seat support portion includes a seat bar (element 24 in figure 4) bridged to a seat portion of the seat in the width direction (cross section shown in figure 4 means it is in the seat-width direction), and
a seat pan (element 28 in figure 4) having a plate shape and positioned in front of the seat bar in the front-rear direction (figure 4), and
wherein the tether portion is bridged over the seat bar and the seat pan (figure 4).
Claim 4 – Fukawatase teaches the seat support portion includes at least two selected from:
a first seat bar (element 24 in figure 4) bridged to a seat portion of the seat in the width direction (cross section shown in figure 4 means it is in the seat-width direction);
a second seat bar (element 26 in figure 4) bridged to the seat portion in the width direction and positioned in front of the first seat bar in the front-rear direction (figure 4); and
a seat pan (element 28 in figure 4) having a plate shape and positioned in front of the second seat bar (figure 4), and
wherein the tether portion is bridged over the at least two selected from the first seat bar (figure 4), the second seat bar, and the seat pan (figure 4).
Image 1
Claims 5 and 6 – Fukawatase teaches the tether portion is bridged over the seat support portion in at least a partial region of the tether portion in the front-rear direction (figure 2, and in column 4, lines 42-43, the tether portion “extends in the seat front-rear direction”), and
wherein the seat cushion air bag device further comprises a tension applying element (element 34 in figure 4, described as an “inflator” in column 2, line 64, element 36B in figure 2, or element A in Image 1 above) configured to, when the impact occurs, apply tension in the front-rear direction to the tether portion (figure 2).
Claims 7 and 8 – Fukawatase teaches the seat cushion air bag has a downward pressing portion (element A in Image 1 above) configured to protrude downward when the seat cushion air bag is deployed and inflated (Image 1 above), and
wherein the tension applying element is the downward pressing portion (Image 1 above).
Claims 9 and 10 – Fukawatase teaches the seat cushion air bag has an upward pulling portion (element 36B in figure 2) configured to move upward in position when the seat cushion air bag is deployed and inflated (figure 2),
wherein a part of the tether portion positioned at least one of: in front of; or behind the seat cushion air bag in the front-rear direction is integrated with the upward pulling portion (behind the seat cushion air bag in figure 2), and
wherein the tension applying element is the upward pulling portion (figure 2).
Claims 11 and 12 – Fukawatase teaches an electric actuator (element 34, described as an “inflator” in column 2, line 64) connected to the tether portion and configured to pull the tether portion when the impact occurs (connected to the tether portion via the seat cushion air bag, and configured to pull the tether portion when the impact occurs, as shown in figure 2),
wherein the tension applying element is the electric actuator (figure 2).
Claims 13 and 14 – Fukawatase does not teach an angle formed by a direction in which the tether portion is bridged over the seat support portion and a direction in which a warp yarn extends in the tether portion is 0 degrees or 90 degrees.
Fukawatase does not specifically teach the tether portion as containing fabric, and more specifically Fukawatase does not teach the threads of the tether portion being “warp yarn”.
Fukawatase teaches the tether portion, element 38, in column 4, line 41, as “straps” that are “formed in an elongated belt shape”. Fukawatase also teaches the tether portion as “sewn onto” the air bag. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the tether portion of Fukawatase is containing fabric. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use “warp yarn” as the material of the fabric since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the warp yarn threads of the tether portion fabric are woven, where the warp yarn threads are at an angle either zero degrees with the direction of the tether portion, or ninety degrees with the direction of the tether portion.
Conclusion
/T.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636